$104 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 23, 2015 Check-out: May 24, 2015

Hilo Seaside Hotel

2 stars
View map of 126 Banyan Drive, Hilo, HI 96720

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hilo Seaside Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
283 out of 283
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TeLyF
Business
San Leandro, CA
Aug 29, 2013

a charming good bargain

I have stayed at this hotel twice now, and I have to say that I've overall been pleased. It is clean, secure, comfortable. The lobby is pleasant, the koi pond impressive, the swimming pool nice, the garden outside our room really pretty. From the back, the place looks frightening, but come around the front! I will stay here again next time I am in Hilo!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

the Coconut Grill restaurant is located on-site, and the food is fine!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
GTIBB
Business
Colorado
Aug 26, 2013

QC Manager

Good Value, older hotel but clean. Only gripe is that the Rooms did not have free WIFI. Free WIFI in the lobby only. I had to pay extra in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Don t like one way only
Business
Hawaii
Aug 8, 2013

One-Way

They must think they are Heaven, Why ?? To your room there is only one way in and one way out.... No other way of getting to your room but thru the front desk lobby.... Parking all around the hotel you have to walk to the front lobby then to your room... If your room is close to front lobby your are lucky. Me not so... Way at the back, second floor.... Pack a lunch just to get to and from the only doors in and out of hotel........

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Start in the front, but purchase in the middle or back of markets.... Vendors pay more for their spaces up front so charge more for the same you can purchase towards the middle or back rows...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
hulas
Business
Gresham, Oregon
May 23, 2013

Good stay...and value.

Staff was very good; room was clean on comfortable; did not like the additional charge for wireless connection.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
d of the lums
Business
kailua
Apr 15, 2013

Rustic charmer, not that romantic

The Hilo seaside was a small vintage hotel that like hilo was stuck in the 70's. The hotel and room were clean and accomadating but that is as far as i would go in praising the establishment. The deal was ok and it gave us a place to rest out weary feet and heads at night... period. mahalo

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Cafe Pesto had really good food, ok atmosphere and prices... i would reccomend

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
AR2005
Business
Grand Island, NE
Mar 13, 2013

Ok for the price

The rooms were nothing special but were comfortable. I really enjoyed the complementary breakfast... don't find that at many places any more. Location was hard to find at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
plasm980
Business
Berkeley, CA
Mar 4, 2013

nice clean hotel, and a decent value, but very noisy

the room we had was clean and functional, and the staff is very friendly. unfortunately, the windows don't really seal, so a lot of noise leaks into the room. the proximity the airport makes noise from planes taking off and landing a big deal when trying to sleep. they should install real windows.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Verna's Drive Inn down the street for a cheap, authentic Hawaiian fast food/take-out experience.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Revko
Business
Zürich, Switzerland
Feb 22, 2013

Overnight stay

It was quite noisy but very close to the airport. For an overnight stay was ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hawaii Traveler 2
Business
Canada
Feb 19, 2013

Clean Hotel - Friendly Staff

I will admit when we first pulled up to the hotel, I was a little worried. The hotel is old and could use some updating. The lobby was very clean and once we got to our room I was impressed with how clean and spotless the room was as well. The staff is very friendly. I would stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Good restaurant in the hotel. Friendly staff!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
caseylife
Business
Hawley, Minnesota
Feb 17, 2013

Hilo Seaside Hotel

Nice clean hotel with pool. Staff very helpful with questions concerning where points of interest are located. Staff also arranged (even though they were booked solid) for us to keep one room for one more day. Our flight did not leave until 10:30 PM--check out time is noon. Free Wi-Fi available in lobby, and also free use of computers in lobby. A very nice place considering all you really need is bed. Most of your time is spent at the ocean and sight seeing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Kens house of pancakes Very good food at affordable prices--open 24 hours

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top