$98 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 3, 2015 Check-out: Jun 4, 2015

Hilo Seaside Hotel

2 stars
View map of 126 Banyan Drive, Hilo, HI 96720

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hilo Seaside Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
286 out of 286
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
GrizzlyAdams
Business
Denver
Nov 2, 2013

my fav hilo hotel

Family owned, very nice people. Very clean for Hilo. My choice budget hotel on east side, or choose VRBO most hotels in Hilo are dirty.. Ive stayed at all the hotels on Banyan Dr and this is my pick. To me its equivalent to a Holiday Inn or Best Western. The mini fridge is a bonus. its cheap and clean and simple. Now for the downsides.. Parking sucks, layout is maze like, $9 bucks a day for in room wifi (was fast tho), AIRPORT NOISE and lots of it, and TRAFFIC NOISE try not to stay in the pool area its next to Kalanianaole Ave and shipping port so the semi trucks roll starting early.. wouldn't be a big deal really but they JAKE BRAKE (downshift stop) for the traffic light and its insanely loud. Not sure if anyone's attempted it but a no jake break zone there makes so much sense... With that said I dont care about parking down the street a bit and airplanes, or lound semi trucks.. to me its a great place to shower and rest your bones. Appreciated the late free 3pm check out. Mahalo A Hui Hou

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

KENS PANCAKE HOUSE ACROSS THE WAY 24/7 GOOD FOOD :)

Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CarolDave
Business
Florida
Nov 1, 2013

4 days in east Hawaii

adequate value; good location in town; liked our room location; handy parking

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MiWu
Business
Boston, MA
Aug 29, 2013

Convenient spot in Hilo

Hilo Seaside is a great place to base yourself. If you are planning on a resort vacation, you might want to stay somewhere with more of a view and beach frontage, but if you are using your hotel as a base for out of town adventures, this is a good choice. The room was comfortable, with AC and TV. I would value the breakfast at about $10 per person, so if you get a good deal on a room with breakfast included, go for it. (The special breakfast in the attached restaurant includes your choice of a couple pretty large combo plates and a beverage.) The staff was friendly. You can walk to a beach park and a couple of restaurants and shops within a block or two of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ken's House of Pancakes nearby is open 24 hours for late-night post-adventure dining.

Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TeLyF
Business
San Leandro, CA
Aug 29, 2013

a charming good bargain

I have stayed at this hotel twice now, and I have to say that I've overall been pleased. It is clean, secure, comfortable. The lobby is pleasant, the koi pond impressive, the swimming pool nice, the garden outside our room really pretty. From the back, the place looks frightening, but come around the front! I will stay here again next time I am in Hilo!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

the Coconut Grill restaurant is located on-site, and the food is fine!

Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
GTIBB
Business
Colorado
Aug 26, 2013

QC Manager

Good Value, older hotel but clean. Only gripe is that the Rooms did not have free WIFI. Free WIFI in the lobby only. I had to pay extra in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Don t like one way only
Business
Hawaii
Aug 8, 2013

One-Way

They must think they are Heaven, Why ?? To your room there is only one way in and one way out.... No other way of getting to your room but thru the front desk lobby.... Parking all around the hotel you have to walk to the front lobby then to your room... If your room is close to front lobby your are lucky. Me not so... Way at the back, second floor.... Pack a lunch just to get to and from the only doors in and out of hotel........

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Start in the front, but purchase in the middle or back of markets.... Vendors pay more for their spaces up front so charge more for the same you can purchase towards the middle or back rows...

Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
hulas
Business
Gresham, Oregon
May 23, 2013

Good stay...and value.

Staff was very good; room was clean on comfortable; did not like the additional charge for wireless connection.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
d of the lums
Business
kailua
Apr 15, 2013

Rustic charmer, not that romantic

The Hilo seaside was a small vintage hotel that like hilo was stuck in the 70's. The hotel and room were clean and accomadating but that is as far as i would go in praising the establishment. The deal was ok and it gave us a place to rest out weary feet and heads at night... period. mahalo

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Cafe Pesto had really good food, ok atmosphere and prices... i would reccomend

Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
AR2005
Business
Grand Island, NE
Mar 13, 2013

Ok for the price

The rooms were nothing special but were comfortable. I really enjoyed the complementary breakfast... don't find that at many places any more. Location was hard to find at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
plasm980
Business
Berkeley, CA
Mar 4, 2013

nice clean hotel, and a decent value, but very noisy

the room we had was clean and functional, and the staff is very friendly. unfortunately, the windows don't really seal, so a lot of noise leaks into the room. the proximity the airport makes noise from planes taking off and landing a big deal when trying to sleep. they should install real windows.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Verna's Drive Inn down the street for a cheap, authentic Hawaiian fast food/take-out experience.

Back to menu Return to top