$98 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 30, 2014 Check-out: Dec 2, 2014

Hilo Seaside Hotel

2 stars
126 Banyan Drive, Hilo, HI 96720
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
257 reviews
Almost like my second home

I have stayed at the Hilo Seaside Hotel so many times I think I lost count. As always the staff was... See full review

  • Piece of cake
  • Nov 16, 2014
Frequent Vacationer

I have stayed at the Hilo Seaside five times now. As always I am greeted by a friendly and helpful... See full review

  • Piece of cake
  • Jul 8, 2014
Value priced, Island-style Hilo hotel with bay and garden views
The locally owned Hilo Seaside Hotel offers guests Island-style budget accommodations and a convenient location near downtown Hilo and the airport. The hotel is built around a swimming pool and landscaped with gardens and ponds. An on-site restaurant and free parking add extra value. Just across the street, the picturesque Hilo Bay is trimmed in green foliage and dotted with small catamarans.
Highlights
  • Outdoor swimming pool
  • Free parking
  • 9-hole golf course across the street
  • Private guest room balconies with views
  • On-site restaurant open daily
Location
Hilo Seaside Hotel sits across the street from a sheltered bay and just off historic Banyan Drive in central Hilo. Liliuokalani Park and Gardens is within a few minutes' walk, and a 9-hole golf course is just across the street. The sleepy town of Hilo offers visitors a view of "real Hawaii" life and easy access to Hawaii Volcanoes National Park.
Rooms
Hilo Seaside Hotel offers simple Island-style guest accommodations, including a few rooms designated for smokers. Each features views of the hotel gardens or the bay, plus air conditioning, a ceiling fan, TV, mini-refrigerator and private balcony. In-room high-speed Internet access available (fees may apply). Request in advance for an in-room microwave or coffee-maker.
Features
Stay cool at Hilo Seaside Hotel's large outdoor swimming pool, or build a local-style tan on the sundeck. Enjoy a quiet moment in Hilo Seaside Hotel's manicured Japanese rock garden or Hawaiian tropical garden.

The hotel offers dining 7 days a week at Coconut Grill, a steak and seafood restaurant. Hilo is packed with tasty eateries and cafés, including local favorite Ken's House of Pancakes.
Transportation
  • Hilo International Airport (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
Attractions
  • Pacific Tsunami Museum (1.8 mi/2.9 km)
  • Lyman Museum (1.8 mi/2.9 km)
  • Imiloa Astronomy Center of Hawaii (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • Panaewa Rainforest Zoo (5.7 mi/9.1 km)
  • Akaka Falls (10.7 mi/17.3 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (35 mi/56.4 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hilo Seaside Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Hilo Seaside Hotel Rooms

Deluxe
Spacious guest room with one king or two double beds, remote controlled TV, clock radio,refrigerator, A/C, tropical ceiling fan,coffee and tea maker, iron and ironing board, black out drapes and large private lanai with a beautiful view of Hilo Bay. This room is nearest the lobby and restaurant. Free WiFi
Standard Room
Guest room with one king or two double beds located further away from the lobby but offers each guest a quiet atmosphere among our anthurium and orchid gardens. Each room includes a remote controlled TV, clock radio,refrigerator, A/C, tropical ceiling fan,coffee and tea maker, iron and ironing board, and black out drapes. Free WiFi
Superior Garden
Large guest room with one king or two double beds overlooking our Japanese Rock Garden or our Hawaiian Tropical Garden in our quiet area of this quaint hotel.Each room includes a remote controlled TV, clock radio,refrigerator, A/C, tropical ceiling fan,coffee and tea maker, iron and ironing board, and black out drapes. Free WiFi

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities

Dining

Coconut Grill
Located on the lobby level of the hotel and features many local favorites. This is the restaurant that serves our complimentary breakfasts.
Verna's
Local style drive in adjacent to the hotel offering tasty island food to go!
Ken's
While open 24 hours, they are famous for their breakfast items

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (257)

Ratings and reviews for Hilo Seaside Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
257 out of 257
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4
Value:
4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Billy1985
Business
Austria
Jan 5, 2013

Average

Compared to the other Seaside Hotels in the chain (Maui & Kona), it's far not so good as the others. The airport is very close and all the planes are flying over the Hotel what is very noisy. Futhermore it was promised to us to get a King size bed and finally when we got there nobody wanted to know anything about it. I would say, it's good average, but definetly a Hotel to stay for long.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
mundrucz
Business
calgary, alberta
Dec 20, 2012

visiting the big island

very stinky , towels not very clean, thank god we only stayed one night

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Honolulu Mike
Business
Honolulu, HI
Dec 10, 2012

I should have taken more time to select my hotel

Located beneath the HIlo Airport and major highway, my room was very noisy. It would have been nice to enjoy the nice ocean breeze, but I had to close the windows and turn on the AC just to sleep. The bed was uncomfortable primarily due to poor sheet sizes. The main needs a lesson on how to make the bed so that the sheets don't ruffel up whole sleeping. Terrible view facing a run dowm restuarant. Yuck!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

I highly recommend the Hilo Bay Cafe, which is not on the bay. 315 Makaala Street, Hilo, HI.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
tcd1
Business
Honolulu
Nov 15, 2012

Similar to other Hilo hotels

It's not super clean or fancy, but it is right in Hilo. All the cheap hotels in the area are similar. This one is fine and the staff is nice. Just don't expect it to be up to chain hotel standards.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jbagua
Business
Honolulu
Nov 14, 2012

Hilo - Veteran's Day Weekend

Excellent staff, we stopped by the hotel at about 715am to see if we could check in earlier than 3pm. Diana was able to provide us with a nice, clean room. We were so happy to be able to rest a little before starting our Hilo excursion.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ken's for breakfast, lunch, or dinner.....

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RAPSOMD
Business
Lusby, Maryland
Oct 10, 2012

Don't Judge a Book By Its Cover

When first arriving, the appearance of the building had us worry. When encountering the super nice and accommodating staff, we were comforted. The room was old, but very clean and comfortable. If we are able to return to Hilo, we would stay here again. If you book on-line - your party gets free breakfast. The breakfast was better than the average continential breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Volcanos National Park is about 50 miles away. A beautiful drive and well worth the time. Stop in at the visitor center for a Park Ranger to give you the "must dos" for your visit.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Visitor from Spain
Business
Orba, Alicante Spain
Sep 19, 2012

Convenient and quaint

It is conveniently located on the east side of the island, and provides a comfortable place to stay surrounded by the impressive banyan trees and beautiful ocean-side scenery. The room we stayed in was clean and basically equipped. Unfortunately, the thin walls and open windows didn't keep our neighbors noise to an acceptable level.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Good food, especially the salad bar and ribs.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
very unsatisified
Business
hawaii
Sep 15, 2012

Hilo Seaside Hotel

If you want to relax? DON'T STAY HERE! If you want a good night's sleep? DON'T STAY HERE! My company booked me a room in this dump for a week, and it's possibly the worst Hotel I have ever stayed in! The A/C made so much noise that I could'n't run it! The jalousy windows would not close properly so I was able to hear ever noise coming from outside my room! On Wednesday nights, you have the amplified "Revival" from next door blasting until 10:30 at night! Worst stay ever, if you're on vacation, spend an extra dollar for a decent hotel. Do not stay here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
1smart12
Business
Clovis CA
Sep 10, 2012

Great for the price

Where do I start?? from the late night check in to the late day check out the staff was so accommodating. The food at the restaurant was outstanding. To be honest if you are a lite sleeper bring ear plugs, but who sleeps in Hawaii. The beach is right out side the front door, sunsets are beautiful. I'm going to get all the sleep I need when I'm dead, enjoy the time now. The next party starts on our trip back next month. Mahalo

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Ken's is on the corner great breakfast, lunch or dinner. Coconut restaurant is in the hotel. Across the bay is another restaurant. 40+ will love this place. town is only a mile away for the youngsters.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jbagua
Business
Honolulu
Sep 5, 2012

Father's Funeral

Perfect location, execellent value. Clean rooms, helpful staff, and an extraordinary deal if purchasing the Room w/ Breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ken is the place!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top