$105 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 27, 2015 Check-out: Apr 28, 2015

Hilo Seaside Hotel

2 stars
View map of 126 Banyan Drive, Hilo, HI 96720

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hilo Seaside Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
266 out of 266
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4
Value:
4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
garmar
Business
Portland, Oregon
Dec 21, 2013

Great budget hotel

Hilo Seaside Hotel was a great choice for me. My room was immaculate, the staff are friendly and helpful, and the hotel is in a great location for exploring the east side of the island. I was concerned about noise after the other reviews, but it wasn’t bothersome. There is some street noise and an occasional jet landing during the day, but nighttime was pretty quiet. The louvered windows have seals, so you can keep them closed and just use the air conditioning. I’m a light sleeper, so I kept the windows opened and ran the overhead fan (the ac is fairly loud). I was perfectly comfortable and slept great. I had a room overlooking the Koi Pond and Hilo Bay. The balcony was nice to sip a beer and look out over the bay – it was only spoiled by some background noise from the street. The hotel doesn’t look very impressive from parking lot, but the interior has been completely renovated. The rooms now also have free Wi-Fi. The parking lot is a little tight, but I never had a problem finding a space in the parking lot, even after returning late at night. I ate the attached restaurant most night since the food was good, it had reasonable prices, and it even had live entertainment each night. This is not a place to stay if you want to spend lots of time during the day at your hotel, but if that’s the case you should stay in Kona.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Coconut Grill and Verna's Drive In are great choices for food. The Coconut Grill is attached to the hotel, and Verna's Drive In is a short walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LoveTraveling2013
Business
NJ
Dec 8, 2013

Satisfied!

The people were super nice and EVERYTHING was super clean. The restaurant had great food and we ate there a lot, since there wasn't much other places near by. Highly recommended =)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

It had the best food, in my opinion, in that area. NJOY!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Toozie c
Business
Pukalani Hi
Nov 24, 2013

Nice experience

It was nice to have breakfast included and there were three great choices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Great meals at Hawaiian Style Cafe on Hinano St. Delicious and very large portions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lyn F.
Business
Inverness, Fl
Nov 3, 2013

Near the airport

Room was clean, Staff was professional, efficient and friendly. I would suggest this hotel to a friend with the notification not to expect to much. The location was great, the room was very clean, but is very basic, and lacked appeal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ken's Pancake House, is open 24 hours has everything on the menu including pancakes. Food was good, with a fair price , We ate there for a late dinner upon arrival, breakfast and a lunch on the day we left. Found the food to be consistent in quality and serving size.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
GrizzlyAdams
Business
Denver
Nov 2, 2013

my fav hilo hotel

Family owned, very nice people. Very clean for Hilo. My choice budget hotel on east side, or choose VRBO most hotels in Hilo are dirty.. Ive stayed at all the hotels on Banyan Dr and this is my pick. To me its equivalent to a Holiday Inn or Best Western. The mini fridge is a bonus. its cheap and clean and simple. Now for the downsides.. Parking sucks, layout is maze like, $9 bucks a day for in room wifi (was fast tho), AIRPORT NOISE and lots of it, and TRAFFIC NOISE try not to stay in the pool area its next to Kalanianaole Ave and shipping port so the semi trucks roll starting early.. wouldn't be a big deal really but they JAKE BRAKE (downshift stop) for the traffic light and its insanely loud. Not sure if anyone's attempted it but a no jake break zone there makes so much sense... With that said I dont care about parking down the street a bit and airplanes, or lound semi trucks.. to me its a great place to shower and rest your bones. Appreciated the late free 3pm check out. Mahalo A Hui Hou

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

KENS PANCAKE HOUSE ACROSS THE WAY 24/7 GOOD FOOD :)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CarolDave
Business
Florida
Nov 1, 2013

4 days in east Hawaii

adequate value; good location in town; liked our room location; handy parking

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MiWu
Business
Boston, MA
Aug 29, 2013

Convenient spot in Hilo

Hilo Seaside is a great place to base yourself. If you are planning on a resort vacation, you might want to stay somewhere with more of a view and beach frontage, but if you are using your hotel as a base for out of town adventures, this is a good choice. The room was comfortable, with AC and TV. I would value the breakfast at about $10 per person, so if you get a good deal on a room with breakfast included, go for it. (The special breakfast in the attached restaurant includes your choice of a couple pretty large combo plates and a beverage.) The staff was friendly. You can walk to a beach park and a couple of restaurants and shops within a block or two of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ken's House of Pancakes nearby is open 24 hours for late-night post-adventure dining.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TeLyF
Business
San Leandro, CA
Aug 29, 2013

a charming good bargain

I have stayed at this hotel twice now, and I have to say that I've overall been pleased. It is clean, secure, comfortable. The lobby is pleasant, the koi pond impressive, the swimming pool nice, the garden outside our room really pretty. From the back, the place looks frightening, but come around the front! I will stay here again next time I am in Hilo!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

the Coconut Grill restaurant is located on-site, and the food is fine!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
GTIBB
Business
Colorado
Aug 26, 2013

QC Manager

Good Value, older hotel but clean. Only gripe is that the Rooms did not have free WIFI. Free WIFI in the lobby only. I had to pay extra in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Don t like one way only
Business
Hawaii
Aug 8, 2013

One-Way

They must think they are Heaven, Why ?? To your room there is only one way in and one way out.... No other way of getting to your room but thru the front desk lobby.... Parking all around the hotel you have to walk to the front lobby then to your room... If your room is close to front lobby your are lucky. Me not so... Way at the back, second floor.... Pack a lunch just to get to and from the only doors in and out of hotel........

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Start in the front, but purchase in the middle or back of markets.... Vendors pay more for their spaces up front so charge more for the same you can purchase towards the middle or back rows...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top