$110 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 5, 2015 Check-out: Jan 7, 2015

Hilo Seaside Hotel

2 stars
126 Banyan Drive, Hilo, HI 96720
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
258 reviews
Almost like my second home

I have stayed at the Hilo Seaside Hotel so many times I think I lost count. As always the staff was... See full review

  • Piece of cake
  • Nov 16, 2014
Frequent Vacationer

I have stayed at the Hilo Seaside five times now. As always I am greeted by a friendly and helpful... See full review

  • Piece of cake
  • Jul 8, 2014
Value priced, Island-style Hilo hotel with bay and garden views
The locally owned Hilo Seaside Hotel offers guests Island-style budget accommodations and a convenient location near downtown Hilo and the airport. The hotel is built around a swimming pool and landscaped with gardens and ponds. An on-site restaurant and free parking add extra value. Just across the street, the picturesque Hilo Bay is trimmed in green foliage and dotted with small catamarans.
Highlights
  • Outdoor swimming pool
  • Free parking
  • 9-hole golf course across the street
  • Private guest room balconies with views
  • On-site restaurant open daily
Location
Hilo Seaside Hotel sits across the street from a sheltered bay and just off historic Banyan Drive in central Hilo. Liliuokalani Park and Gardens is within a few minutes' walk, and a 9-hole golf course is just across the street. The sleepy town of Hilo offers visitors a view of "real Hawaii" life and easy access to Hawaii Volcanoes National Park.
Rooms
Hilo Seaside Hotel offers simple Island-style guest accommodations, including a few rooms designated for smokers. Each features views of the hotel gardens or the bay, plus air conditioning, a ceiling fan, TV, mini-refrigerator and private balcony. In-room high-speed Internet access available (fees may apply). Request in advance for an in-room microwave or coffee-maker.
Features
Stay cool at Hilo Seaside Hotel's large outdoor swimming pool, or build a local-style tan on the sundeck. Enjoy a quiet moment in Hilo Seaside Hotel's manicured Japanese rock garden or Hawaiian tropical garden.

The hotel offers dining 7 days a week at Coconut Grill, a steak and seafood restaurant. Hilo is packed with tasty eateries and cafés, including local favorite Ken's House of Pancakes.
Transportation
  • Hilo International Airport (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
Attractions
  • Pacific Tsunami Museum (1.8 mi/2.9 km)
  • Lyman Museum (1.8 mi/2.9 km)
  • Imiloa Astronomy Center of Hawaii (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • Panaewa Rainforest Zoo (5.7 mi/9.1 km)
  • Akaka Falls (10.7 mi/17.3 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (35 mi/56.4 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hilo Seaside Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Hilo Seaside Hotel Rooms

Deluxe
Spacious guest room with one king or two double beds, remote controlled TV, clock radio,refrigerator, A/C, tropical ceiling fan,coffee and tea maker, iron and ironing board, black out drapes and large private lanai with a beautiful view of Hilo Bay. This room is nearest the lobby and restaurant. Free WiFi
Standard Room
Guest room with one king or two double beds located further away from the lobby but offers each guest a quiet atmosphere among our anthurium and orchid gardens. Each room includes a remote controlled TV, clock radio,refrigerator, A/C, tropical ceiling fan,coffee and tea maker, iron and ironing board, and black out drapes. Free WiFi
Superior Garden
Large guest room with one king or two double beds overlooking our Japanese Rock Garden or our Hawaiian Tropical Garden in our quiet area of this quaint hotel.Each room includes a remote controlled TV, clock radio,refrigerator, A/C, tropical ceiling fan,coffee and tea maker, iron and ironing board, and black out drapes. Free WiFi

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities

Dining

Coconut Grill
Located on the lobby level of the hotel and features many local favorites. This is the restaurant that serves our complimentary breakfasts.
Verna's
Local style drive in adjacent to the hotel offering tasty island food to go!
Ken's
While open 24 hours, they are famous for their breakfast items

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (258)

Ratings and reviews for Hilo Seaside Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
258 out of 258
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4
Value:
4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Trikechick
Business
Chico, California
Jan 19, 2014

Comfortable and friendly

Nice Japanese landscaping rooms comfy and clean. Staff super friendly. Excellent moderately priced restaurant attached. Good view of Hilo Bay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ponds restaurant just across street had fine dining. Both the Coconut Grill and Ponds had live music all three nights of our stay.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jaanu
Business
Columbus,OHIO
Dec 27, 2013

Its Good.

We got what we paid for. Everything went well. We stayed her for a night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
garmar
Business
Portland, Oregon
Dec 21, 2013

Great budget hotel

Hilo Seaside Hotel was a great choice for me. My room was immaculate, the staff are friendly and helpful, and the hotel is in a great location for exploring the east side of the island. I was concerned about noise after the other reviews, but it wasn’t bothersome. There is some street noise and an occasional jet landing during the day, but nighttime was pretty quiet. The louvered windows have seals, so you can keep them closed and just use the air conditioning. I’m a light sleeper, so I kept the windows opened and ran the overhead fan (the ac is fairly loud). I was perfectly comfortable and slept great. I had a room overlooking the Koi Pond and Hilo Bay. The balcony was nice to sip a beer and look out over the bay – it was only spoiled by some background noise from the street. The hotel doesn’t look very impressive from parking lot, but the interior has been completely renovated. The rooms now also have free Wi-Fi. The parking lot is a little tight, but I never had a problem finding a space in the parking lot, even after returning late at night. I ate the attached restaurant most night since the food was good, it had reasonable prices, and it even had live entertainment each night. This is not a place to stay if you want to spend lots of time during the day at your hotel, but if that’s the case you should stay in Kona.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Coconut Grill and Verna's Drive In are great choices for food. The Coconut Grill is attached to the hotel, and Verna's Drive In is a short walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LoveTraveling2013
Business
NJ
Dec 8, 2013

Satisfied!

The people were super nice and EVERYTHING was super clean. The restaurant had great food and we ate there a lot, since there wasn't much other places near by. Highly recommended =)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

It had the best food, in my opinion, in that area. NJOY!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Toozie c
Business
Pukalani Hi
Nov 24, 2013

Nice experience

It was nice to have breakfast included and there were three great choices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Great meals at Hawaiian Style Cafe on Hinano St. Delicious and very large portions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lyn F.
Business
Inverness, Fl
Nov 3, 2013

Near the airport

Room was clean, Staff was professional, efficient and friendly. I would suggest this hotel to a friend with the notification not to expect to much. The location was great, the room was very clean, but is very basic, and lacked appeal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ken's Pancake House, is open 24 hours has everything on the menu including pancakes. Food was good, with a fair price , We ate there for a late dinner upon arrival, breakfast and a lunch on the day we left. Found the food to be consistent in quality and serving size.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
GrizzlyAdams
Business
Denver
Nov 2, 2013

my fav hilo hotel

Family owned, very nice people. Very clean for Hilo. My choice budget hotel on east side, or choose VRBO most hotels in Hilo are dirty.. Ive stayed at all the hotels on Banyan Dr and this is my pick. To me its equivalent to a Holiday Inn or Best Western. The mini fridge is a bonus. its cheap and clean and simple. Now for the downsides.. Parking sucks, layout is maze like, $9 bucks a day for in room wifi (was fast tho), AIRPORT NOISE and lots of it, and TRAFFIC NOISE try not to stay in the pool area its next to Kalanianaole Ave and shipping port so the semi trucks roll starting early.. wouldn't be a big deal really but they JAKE BRAKE (downshift stop) for the traffic light and its insanely loud. Not sure if anyone's attempted it but a no jake break zone there makes so much sense... With that said I dont care about parking down the street a bit and airplanes, or lound semi trucks.. to me its a great place to shower and rest your bones. Appreciated the late free 3pm check out. Mahalo A Hui Hou

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

KENS PANCAKE HOUSE ACROSS THE WAY 24/7 GOOD FOOD :)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CarolDave
Business
Florida
Nov 1, 2013

4 days in east Hawaii

adequate value; good location in town; liked our room location; handy parking

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MiWu
Business
Boston, MA
Aug 29, 2013

Convenient spot in Hilo

Hilo Seaside is a great place to base yourself. If you are planning on a resort vacation, you might want to stay somewhere with more of a view and beach frontage, but if you are using your hotel as a base for out of town adventures, this is a good choice. The room was comfortable, with AC and TV. I would value the breakfast at about $10 per person, so if you get a good deal on a room with breakfast included, go for it. (The special breakfast in the attached restaurant includes your choice of a couple pretty large combo plates and a beverage.) The staff was friendly. You can walk to a beach park and a couple of restaurants and shops within a block or two of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ken's House of Pancakes nearby is open 24 hours for late-night post-adventure dining.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TeLyF
Business
San Leandro, CA
Aug 29, 2013

a charming good bargain

I have stayed at this hotel twice now, and I have to say that I've overall been pleased. It is clean, secure, comfortable. The lobby is pleasant, the koi pond impressive, the swimming pool nice, the garden outside our room really pretty. From the back, the place looks frightening, but come around the front! I will stay here again next time I am in Hilo!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

the Coconut Grill restaurant is located on-site, and the food is fine!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top