$98 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 19, 2014 Check-out: Aug 20, 2014

Hilo Seaside Hotel

2 stars
126 Banyan Drive, Hilo, HI 96720
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
351 reviews
Frequent Vacationer

I have stayed at the Hilo Seaside five times now. As always I am greeted by a friendly and helpful... See full review

  • Piece of cake
  • Jul 8, 2014
Very nice and cozy inn

Clean, good location, beautiful garden, street parking, good breakfast. See full review

  • Xuzhi
  • Jul 1, 2014
Value priced, Island-style Hilo hotel with bay and garden views
The locally owned Hilo Seaside Hotel offers guests Island-style budget accommodations and a convenient location near downtown Hilo and the airport. The hotel is built around a swimming pool and landscaped with gardens and ponds. An on-site restaurant and free parking add extra value. Just across the street, the picturesque Hilo Bay is trimmed in green foliage and dotted with small catamarans.
Highlights
  • Outdoor swimming pool
  • Free parking
  • 9-hole golf course across the street
  • Private guest room balconies with views
  • On-site restaurant open daily
Location
Hilo Seaside Hotel sits across the street from a sheltered bay and just off historic Banyan Drive in central Hilo. Liliuokalani Park and Gardens is within a few minutes' walk, and a 9-hole golf course is just across the street. The sleepy town of Hilo offers visitors a view of "real Hawaii" life and easy access to Hawaii Volcanoes National Park.
Rooms
Hilo Seaside Hotel offers simple Island-style guest accommodations, including a few rooms designated for smokers. Each features views of the hotel gardens or the bay, plus air conditioning, a ceiling fan, TV, mini-refrigerator and private balcony. In-room high-speed Internet access available (fees may apply). Request in advance for an in-room microwave or coffee-maker.
Features
Stay cool at Hilo Seaside Hotel's large outdoor swimming pool, or build a local-style tan on the sundeck. Enjoy a quiet moment in Hilo Seaside Hotel's manicured Japanese rock garden or Hawaiian tropical garden.

The hotel offers dining 7 days a week at Coconut Grill, a steak and seafood restaurant. Hilo is packed with tasty eateries and cafés, including local favorite Ken's House of Pancakes.
Transportation
  • Hilo International Airport (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
Attractions
  • Pacific Tsunami Museum (1.8 mi/2.9 km)
  • Lyman Museum (1.8 mi/2.9 km)
  • Imiloa Astronomy Center of Hawaii (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • Panaewa Rainforest Zoo (5.7 mi/9.1 km)
  • Akaka Falls (10.7 mi/17.3 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (35 mi/56.4 km)

Hilo Seaside Hotel Rooms

Deluxe
Spacious guest room with one king or two double beds, remote controlled TV, clock radio,refrigerator, A/C, tropical ceiling fan,coffee and tea maker, iron and ironing board, black out drapes and large private lanai with a beautiful view of Hilo Bay. This room is nearest the lobby and restaurant. Free WiFi
Standard Room
Guest room with one king or two double beds located further away from the lobby but offers each guest a quiet atmosphere among our anthurium and orchid gardens. Each room includes a remote controlled TV, clock radio,refrigerator, A/C, tropical ceiling fan,coffee and tea maker, iron and ironing board, and black out drapes. Free WiFi
Superior Garden
Large guest room with one king or two double beds overlooking our Japanese Rock Garden or our Hawaiian Tropical Garden in our quiet area of this quaint hotel.Each room includes a remote controlled TV, clock radio,refrigerator, A/C, tropical ceiling fan,coffee and tea maker, iron and ironing board, and black out drapes. Free WiFi

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hilo Seaside Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

19.7281 -155.064
Area served
Located on the eastern side of the Big Island in Hilo Town, and near the University of Hawaii Hilo Campus
Nearby airports
Hilo(ITO) Airport
Area description
The Hilo Seaside Hotel is one of the hotels nearest to the Volcano National Park, located on the shores of Hilo Bay, on historical Banyan Way.

Dining

Coconut Grill
Located on the lobby level of the hotel and features many local favorites. This is the restaurant that serves our complimentary breakfasts.
Verna's
Local style drive in adjacent to the hotel offering tasty island food to go!
Ken's
While open 24 hours, they are famous for their breakfast items

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (351)

Ratings and reviews for Hilo Seaside Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
351 out of 351
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4
Value:
3.9

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
d of the lums
kailua
Apr 15, 2013

Rustic charmer, not that romantic

The Hilo seaside was a small vintage hotel that like hilo was stuck in the 70's. The hotel and room were clean and accomadating but that is as far as i would go in praising the establishment. The deal was ok and it gave us a place to rest out weary feet and heads at night... period. mahalo

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Cafe Pesto had really good food, ok atmosphere and prices... i would reccomend

Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
AR2005
Grand Island, NE
Mar 13, 2013

Ok for the price

The rooms were nothing special but were comfortable. I really enjoyed the complementary breakfast... don't find that at many places any more. Location was hard to find at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
plasm980
Berkeley, CA
Mar 4, 2013

nice clean hotel, and a decent value, but very noisy

the room we had was clean and functional, and the staff is very friendly. unfortunately, the windows don't really seal, so a lot of noise leaks into the room. the proximity the airport makes noise from planes taking off and landing a big deal when trying to sleep. they should install real windows.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Verna's Drive Inn down the street for a cheap, authentic Hawaiian fast food/take-out experience.

Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Revko
Zürich, Switzerland
Feb 22, 2013

Overnight stay

It was quite noisy but very close to the airport. For an overnight stay was ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hawaii Traveler 2
Canada
Feb 19, 2013

Clean Hotel - Friendly Staff

I will admit when we first pulled up to the hotel, I was a little worried. The hotel is old and could use some updating. The lobby was very clean and once we got to our room I was impressed with how clean and spotless the room was as well. The staff is very friendly. I would stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Good restaurant in the hotel. Friendly staff!

Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
caseylife
Hawley, Minnesota
Feb 17, 2013

Hilo Seaside Hotel

Nice clean hotel with pool. Staff very helpful with questions concerning where points of interest are located. Staff also arranged (even though they were booked solid) for us to keep one room for one more day. Our flight did not leave until 10:30 PM--check out time is noon. Free Wi-Fi available in lobby, and also free use of computers in lobby. A very nice place considering all you really need is bed. Most of your time is spent at the ocean and sight seeing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Kens house of pancakes Very good food at affordable prices--open 24 hours

Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Aloha Ellen
California
Feb 7, 2013

Great deal

Staff incredibly helpful and friendly, great bargain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Hilo Seaside is perfect for my needs. While it's not the most luxurious accommodations, the price can't be beat. The staff was helpful -- I couldn't check in, room not ready as I was early -- let me stay in a special lounge so I could watch Super Bowl! That's super!

Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mainer04074
scarborough, maine
Feb 6, 2013

GREAT FIND!

we stayed here for 8 days and were very pleased. the hotel was clean and comfortable, staff is friendly and accomodating, and the location is great. it is a well run family owned hotel and an excellent value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Hilo farmers market, Richardson's Beach, Isles Restaurant for breakfast

Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Billy1985
Austria
Jan 5, 2013

Average

Compared to the other Seaside Hotels in the chain (Maui & Kona), it's far not so good as the others. The airport is very close and all the planes are flying over the Hotel what is very noisy. Futhermore it was promised to us to get a King size bed and finally when we got there nobody wanted to know anything about it. I would say, it's good average, but definetly a Hotel to stay for long.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
mundrucz
calgary, alberta
Dec 20, 2012

visiting the big island

very stinky , towels not very clean, thank god we only stayed one night

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top