$107 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 15, 2015 Check-out: May 17, 2015

Hilo Seaside Hotel

2 stars
View map of 126 Banyan Drive, Hilo, HI 96720

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hilo Seaside Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
267 out of 267
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4
Value:
4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NFiori
Business
Hilo, HI
Sep 14, 2014

Hilo Seaside Hotel

Small hotel but comfortable. The pictures give a feel of a larger hotel, but it's rather small and cozy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ivyyue
Business
Tokyo
Sep 9, 2014

it is ok

We had an early check in but for two of us we got 3 single beds. Front desk staff was kind. We paid tip to maid. But she did not clean the hair in the bathroom. Lots of little ants in it. Cooler very noisy. Anyway it is cheap. If you just need a bed to sleep, it is ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Butch Coi
Business
Gainesville FL
Sep 7, 2014

Avoid if possible

This review is for the room that we stayed in. We were in the garden wing. Avoid at all costs. Noisy ac, cramped up space. No room for anything at all. Maybe the other rooms are nicer. We booked the run of the house option-meant they can put us anywhere. Do yourself a favor and make sure you are in the ocean our fern wing. On the plus side, they keep the rooms clean and are reasonably priced. the location is great. We walked to the Japanese gardens and coconut island. Relaxing and peaceful. Having stayed, I wish I spent a little more and had a comfy stay elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ms Montana
Business
Missoula, MT
Sep 5, 2014

Nice staff, clean room, loud planes

This hotel is a quaint, pretty, Hawaiian classic. I really enjoyed the atmosphere and the staff was great. Our room was very clean even though it was older. We had level lors on the windows which allowed us to hear every person who walked by or made phone calls outside. Also, the airplanes flew over at night and early morning and they sounded loud. If you have ear plugs it would be the perfect place. Nice value for Hawaii.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HawaiianGirl
Business
Lahaina, HI
Aug 30, 2014

Getaway

The hotel was still good like the last time I stayed. The only thing I didn't like was the room we were in. It was a little far from the parking lot and I had too many beds in the room. It was only me and my boyfriend and we had one double and two twin beds. We couldn't catch the Wi-Fi since we were too far from the lobby. I would recommend staying here again but I wish we had a better room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ken's House of Pancakes is a good place for breakfast and it is just down the street from the hotel. It is about a 5-10min walk or about 2-3min drive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
K The Frequent Traveler
Business
Los Angeles, California
Aug 26, 2014

Practical

Don't expect this place to be a luxury resort. It's noisy: the hotel is situated between the takeoff runway of the airport and the junction of Big Island's major highways, 11 and 19. Free WI-FI works well for Macs and iOS devices, but not for Windows. Building is old but clean and well-kept. Staff is very friendly. Price is among the lowest of hotels along the beautiful Banyan Drive. Coast access for swimming and paddling is just across the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

For authentic Hawaiian dining enjoyed mostly by locals, try Kuhio Grille at 111 E Puainako St. It's at the Prince Kuhio Plaza, less than a mile south of the airport.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HawaiianGirl
Business
Lahaina, HI
Aug 8, 2014

Short vacation

Very convenient and great place to stay. Great rate for a short stay and very good location. Close to town and good restaurants nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kumquat
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 4, 2014

Surprise blessing!

Rooms were modest but very clean and comfortable. Pool area was also clean, well maintained. The mini-gardens around the interior areas were beautiful-well planned. The first impression was not great as we had to park about a block away in the pouring rain. Though old, the motel was happily well-cared for and more affordable than other places for our 3-room group of 7. Restaurant on property was really outstanding for dinner - another great surprise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Joyce W.
Business
Newbury Park, CA
Aug 3, 2014

Good option for late night arrival in Hilo

This is a simple, clean, efficient hotel. We stayed here after arriving on a late night flight and we were out of the door by 8 am the next morning. The air conditioning was loud enough to drown out any airplane noise (it's 2 miles from the airport). For a cheap stay, I think this is a great stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ocean Pursuits
Business
Plymouth, UK
Jul 29, 2014

Basic accommodation, friendly helpful staff, good value

I would book this hotel again if I needed accommodation in Hilo

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top