$98 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 19, 2014 Check-out: Aug 20, 2014

Hilo Seaside Hotel

2 stars
126 Banyan Drive, Hilo, HI 96720
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
352 reviews
Frequent Vacationer

I have stayed at the Hilo Seaside five times now. As always I am greeted by a friendly and helpful... See full review

  • Piece of cake
  • Jul 8, 2014
Very nice and cozy inn

Clean, good location, beautiful garden, street parking, good breakfast. See full review

  • Xuzhi
  • Jul 1, 2014
Value priced, Island-style Hilo hotel with bay and garden views
The locally owned Hilo Seaside Hotel offers guests Island-style budget accommodations and a convenient location near downtown Hilo and the airport. The hotel is built around a swimming pool and landscaped with gardens and ponds. An on-site restaurant and free parking add extra value. Just across the street, the picturesque Hilo Bay is trimmed in green foliage and dotted with small catamarans.
Highlights
  • Outdoor swimming pool
  • Free parking
  • 9-hole golf course across the street
  • Private guest room balconies with views
  • On-site restaurant open daily
Location
Hilo Seaside Hotel sits across the street from a sheltered bay and just off historic Banyan Drive in central Hilo. Liliuokalani Park and Gardens is within a few minutes' walk, and a 9-hole golf course is just across the street. The sleepy town of Hilo offers visitors a view of "real Hawaii" life and easy access to Hawaii Volcanoes National Park.
Rooms
Hilo Seaside Hotel offers simple Island-style guest accommodations, including a few rooms designated for smokers. Each features views of the hotel gardens or the bay, plus air conditioning, a ceiling fan, TV, mini-refrigerator and private balcony. In-room high-speed Internet access available (fees may apply). Request in advance for an in-room microwave or coffee-maker.
Features
Stay cool at Hilo Seaside Hotel's large outdoor swimming pool, or build a local-style tan on the sundeck. Enjoy a quiet moment in Hilo Seaside Hotel's manicured Japanese rock garden or Hawaiian tropical garden.

The hotel offers dining 7 days a week at Coconut Grill, a steak and seafood restaurant. Hilo is packed with tasty eateries and cafés, including local favorite Ken's House of Pancakes.
Transportation
  • Hilo International Airport (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
Attractions
  • Pacific Tsunami Museum (1.8 mi/2.9 km)
  • Lyman Museum (1.8 mi/2.9 km)
  • Imiloa Astronomy Center of Hawaii (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • Panaewa Rainforest Zoo (5.7 mi/9.1 km)
  • Akaka Falls (10.7 mi/17.3 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (35 mi/56.4 km)

Hotel Map

19.7281 -155.064
Area served
Located on the eastern side of the Big Island in Hilo Town, and near the University of Hawaii Hilo Campus
Nearby airports
Hilo(ITO) Airport
Area description
The Hilo Seaside Hotel is one of the hotels nearest to the Volcano National Park, located on the shores of Hilo Bay, on historical Banyan Way.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hilo Seaside Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Hilo Seaside Hotel Rooms

Deluxe
Spacious guest room with one king or two double beds, remote controlled TV, clock radio,refrigerator, A/C, tropical ceiling fan,coffee and tea maker, iron and ironing board, black out drapes and large private lanai with a beautiful view of Hilo Bay. This room is nearest the lobby and restaurant. Free WiFi
Standard Room
Guest room with one king or two double beds located further away from the lobby but offers each guest a quiet atmosphere among our anthurium and orchid gardens. Each room includes a remote controlled TV, clock radio,refrigerator, A/C, tropical ceiling fan,coffee and tea maker, iron and ironing board, and black out drapes. Free WiFi
Superior Garden
Large guest room with one king or two double beds overlooking our Japanese Rock Garden or our Hawaiian Tropical Garden in our quiet area of this quaint hotel.Each room includes a remote controlled TV, clock radio,refrigerator, A/C, tropical ceiling fan,coffee and tea maker, iron and ironing board, and black out drapes. Free WiFi

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities

Dining

Coconut Grill
Located on the lobby level of the hotel and features many local favorites. This is the restaurant that serves our complimentary breakfasts.
Verna's
Local style drive in adjacent to the hotel offering tasty island food to go!
Ken's
While open 24 hours, they are famous for their breakfast items

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (352)

Ratings and reviews for Hilo Seaside Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
352 out of 352
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4
Value:
3.9

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Donna maui
Maui, hawaii
Jun 23, 2014

Mini vacay

Easy to find and close to the airport. Friendly people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Titan1
Oahu
Jun 21, 2014

Family vacation

We had a room close to the pool, laundromat, vending machine and ice machine. The room was basic and almost had everything we needed. The one thing that was a con about amenities was the microwave. You had to go down to the front desk and ask for a key where the microwave was located. They call it the Hospitality room. The key only works once so you have to go down for another key if you want the microwave again. The location was perfect and close to everything. The room was okay in cleanliness. We had some incidents with little bugs crawling around. The room comfort was good also. The staff was very friendly. They always said hi with a smile. The value was good. I would stay again. Also they have a Koi Pond with a variety of Koi. The lobby is very open aired.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
maleshka06
Boise, ID
Jun 16, 2014

Great hotel for a price!

We had a wonderful time. Price was right, friendly personnel and clean. It’s nothing fancy, but good secured place and clean. We are busy travelers and drove all over around island, so if you looking for 4 star hotel you wouldn't like this one. It met all our needs and it was nice. If it's your first time in Big Island I would recommend spend money to stay on Kona side. Kona side had most beautiful beaches. To get to Kona side from Hilo it will take you about 2 hours. Also, Hilo is the rainiest city in USA it rains everyday :) Great hotel for busy travelers! who is on vacation not just to enjoy drinks on the beach, but for those who are exploring the island.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Cafe 100 loco mocos must have! few blocks fromt he hotel

Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
springbok722
Oahu, Hawaii
Jun 9, 2014

Simple, clean, and comfortable

Lovely hotel with pool and pond. Centrally located near the coast in Hilo. Good bargain for budget travelers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Piece of cake
Business
Kansas
Jun 1, 2014

A good place to stay on a working vacation.

I have stayed at the Hilo Seaside Hotel four times in the last year and a half. I have always been treated well. The staff is courteous and professional. They have been very helpful with information about the location and where to find specific cuisine. The rooms have always been clean. The Coconut Grille is located on the premises so you don't need to leave to find local style food, which is very good. If you choose to leave there are several eating establishments within walking distance. I will be making travel plans soon and will stay at the Hilo Seaside Hotel again. I have brought friends and they enjoyed their stays also. A very satisfied guest

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

There are pleasant surprises down almost any road along the coast. Do a little exploring and you will be amazed at the things you will find.

Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bervik
Mesa AZ
May 28, 2014

Seaside - Hilo

Clean room, nice view and great staff. Hotel is dated, could use renovating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Laomei
Near Portland Oregon
May 27, 2014

Doesn't get any better!

If you're looking for a reasonably priced,comfortable & clean place to stay in Hilo the Hilo Seaside is the place for you.I stayed 5 nights & it was all good.Friendly staff,decent food in the restaurant,onsite pay washers & dryers,swimming pool,cable tv......what more could you want.Oh,I forgot to mention,it's on Banyan Drive,a good place to stroll & check out the very cool scene,also,a couple of good beaches to take the keiki to swim & hang out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Free breakfast! A little small but good enough.

Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Born and Raised in Hilo
Waianae, Hawaii
May 25, 2014

Fantastic Stay Last Minute for a Funeral

The staff was outstanding, I could not have enjoyed my stay any better. I would refer people and go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ponds located right across the hotel, is Awesome, the staff took care of me and a guest.

Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MRtRjd
Hawaii
May 16, 2014

Mini Vacay

Friendly staff, good food. Enjoyed a relaxing atmosphere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
amirbatkovic
San Diego
Apr 27, 2014

Great budget hotel :)

The first night I came to Hilo Seaside Hotel with my fiance we were kindly met by the very nice staff. They alway smile and always help. Even on our last day they helped us a lot by not charging us extra for late check out as we had forgotten our time. Our room was cleaned every day while we were out on our road trip across the Island of Hawaii. Everything was perfect about this hotel just for few things, that they should improve themselves. They should build better parking spot and maybe somehow cover not so attractive back of the hotel, because there are some old cars and some rubbish behind the fence. Also, prices at the restaurant could be a little cheaper. :) But overall I will give this hotel 90 out of 100! Mahalo, Hilo Seaside Hotel staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

There is a great shopping center 5 minutes from hotel.

Back to menu Return to top