$110 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 5, 2015 Check-out: Jan 7, 2015

Hilo Seaside Hotel

2 stars
126 Banyan Drive, Hilo, HI 96720
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
259 reviews
Almost like my second home

I have stayed at the Hilo Seaside Hotel so many times I think I lost count. As always the staff was... See full review

  • Piece of cake
  • Nov 16, 2014
Frequent Vacationer

I have stayed at the Hilo Seaside five times now. As always I am greeted by a friendly and helpful... See full review

  • Piece of cake
  • Jul 8, 2014
Value priced, Island-style Hilo hotel with bay and garden views
The locally owned Hilo Seaside Hotel offers guests Island-style budget accommodations and a convenient location near downtown Hilo and the airport. The hotel is built around a swimming pool and landscaped with gardens and ponds. An on-site restaurant and free parking add extra value. Just across the street, the picturesque Hilo Bay is trimmed in green foliage and dotted with small catamarans.
Highlights
  • Outdoor swimming pool
  • Free parking
  • 9-hole golf course across the street
  • Private guest room balconies with views
  • On-site restaurant open daily
Location
Hilo Seaside Hotel sits across the street from a sheltered bay and just off historic Banyan Drive in central Hilo. Liliuokalani Park and Gardens is within a few minutes' walk, and a 9-hole golf course is just across the street. The sleepy town of Hilo offers visitors a view of "real Hawaii" life and easy access to Hawaii Volcanoes National Park.
Rooms
Hilo Seaside Hotel offers simple Island-style guest accommodations, including a few rooms designated for smokers. Each features views of the hotel gardens or the bay, plus air conditioning, a ceiling fan, TV, mini-refrigerator and private balcony. In-room high-speed Internet access available (fees may apply). Request in advance for an in-room microwave or coffee-maker.
Features
Stay cool at Hilo Seaside Hotel's large outdoor swimming pool, or build a local-style tan on the sundeck. Enjoy a quiet moment in Hilo Seaside Hotel's manicured Japanese rock garden or Hawaiian tropical garden.

The hotel offers dining 7 days a week at Coconut Grill, a steak and seafood restaurant. Hilo is packed with tasty eateries and cafés, including local favorite Ken's House of Pancakes.
Transportation
  • Hilo International Airport (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
Attractions
  • Pacific Tsunami Museum (1.8 mi/2.9 km)
  • Lyman Museum (1.8 mi/2.9 km)
  • Imiloa Astronomy Center of Hawaii (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • Panaewa Rainforest Zoo (5.7 mi/9.1 km)
  • Akaka Falls (10.7 mi/17.3 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (35 mi/56.4 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hilo Seaside Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Hilo Seaside Hotel Rooms

Deluxe
Spacious guest room with one king or two double beds, remote controlled TV, clock radio,refrigerator, A/C, tropical ceiling fan,coffee and tea maker, iron and ironing board, black out drapes and large private lanai with a beautiful view of Hilo Bay. This room is nearest the lobby and restaurant. Free WiFi
Standard Room
Guest room with one king or two double beds located further away from the lobby but offers each guest a quiet atmosphere among our anthurium and orchid gardens. Each room includes a remote controlled TV, clock radio,refrigerator, A/C, tropical ceiling fan,coffee and tea maker, iron and ironing board, and black out drapes. Free WiFi
Superior Garden
Large guest room with one king or two double beds overlooking our Japanese Rock Garden or our Hawaiian Tropical Garden in our quiet area of this quaint hotel.Each room includes a remote controlled TV, clock radio,refrigerator, A/C, tropical ceiling fan,coffee and tea maker, iron and ironing board, and black out drapes. Free WiFi

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities

Dining

Coconut Grill
Located on the lobby level of the hotel and features many local favorites. This is the restaurant that serves our complimentary breakfasts.
Verna's
Local style drive in adjacent to the hotel offering tasty island food to go!
Ken's
While open 24 hours, they are famous for their breakfast items

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (259)

Ratings and reviews for Hilo Seaside Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
259 out of 259
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4
Value:
4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Buckoff
Business
Kaneohe,Hi.
Sep 23, 2014

GREAT LOCATION AND RELAXING GET-AWAY

Hotel swimming pool was convenient and the lust tropical flowers and shrubbery made a relaxing spot to lounge around at. Spent most of my time site seeing,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

In House restaurant and closest hotel to airport. Very clean and right on the Hilo Bay.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
missindabay
Business
Tampa, FL
Sep 20, 2014

Love Hilo Seaside

We got a renovated room over the fishpond. It was 5 years since my last visit, and they have renovated a lot since. New windows, carpet, paint, linens, added parking, and coffee and wifi in room, it just gets better over time. Centrally located for East side and Central Big Island attractions. The staff is so friendly and completes the family feel of this place. Slight negatives shower was a little low, and parking can be tight on weekends. Plenty of great restaurants and sandwich shops around. I was totally happy here, and can't wait until I can visit again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Go to Coconut Grill and have the Tiki Coconut Shrimp! Very nice presentation and it tastes awesome!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NFiori
Business
Hilo, HI
Sep 14, 2014

Hilo Seaside Hotel

Small hotel but comfortable. The pictures give a feel of a larger hotel, but it's rather small and cozy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ivyyue
Business
Tokyo
Sep 9, 2014

it is ok

We had an early check in but for two of us we got 3 single beds. Front desk staff was kind. We paid tip to maid. But she did not clean the hair in the bathroom. Lots of little ants in it. Cooler very noisy. Anyway it is cheap. If you just need a bed to sleep, it is ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Butch Coi
Business
Gainesville FL
Sep 7, 2014

Avoid if possible

This review is for the room that we stayed in. We were in the garden wing. Avoid at all costs. Noisy ac, cramped up space. No room for anything at all. Maybe the other rooms are nicer. We booked the run of the house option-meant they can put us anywhere. Do yourself a favor and make sure you are in the ocean our fern wing. On the plus side, they keep the rooms clean and are reasonably priced. the location is great. We walked to the Japanese gardens and coconut island. Relaxing and peaceful. Having stayed, I wish I spent a little more and had a comfy stay elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ms Montana
Business
Missoula, MT
Sep 5, 2014

Nice staff, clean room, loud planes

This hotel is a quaint, pretty, Hawaiian classic. I really enjoyed the atmosphere and the staff was great. Our room was very clean even though it was older. We had level lors on the windows which allowed us to hear every person who walked by or made phone calls outside. Also, the airplanes flew over at night and early morning and they sounded loud. If you have ear plugs it would be the perfect place. Nice value for Hawaii.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HawaiianGirl
Business
Lahaina, HI
Aug 30, 2014

Getaway

The hotel was still good like the last time I stayed. The only thing I didn't like was the room we were in. It was a little far from the parking lot and I had too many beds in the room. It was only me and my boyfriend and we had one double and two twin beds. We couldn't catch the Wi-Fi since we were too far from the lobby. I would recommend staying here again but I wish we had a better room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ken's House of Pancakes is a good place for breakfast and it is just down the street from the hotel. It is about a 5-10min walk or about 2-3min drive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
K The Frequent Traveler
Business
Los Angeles, California
Aug 26, 2014

Practical

Don't expect this place to be a luxury resort. It's noisy: the hotel is situated between the takeoff runway of the airport and the junction of Big Island's major highways, 11 and 19. Free WI-FI works well for Macs and iOS devices, but not for Windows. Building is old but clean and well-kept. Staff is very friendly. Price is among the lowest of hotels along the beautiful Banyan Drive. Coast access for swimming and paddling is just across the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

For authentic Hawaiian dining enjoyed mostly by locals, try Kuhio Grille at 111 E Puainako St. It's at the Prince Kuhio Plaza, less than a mile south of the airport.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HawaiianGirl
Business
Lahaina, HI
Aug 8, 2014

Short vacation

Very convenient and great place to stay. Great rate for a short stay and very good location. Close to town and good restaurants nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kumquat
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 4, 2014

Surprise blessing!

Rooms were modest but very clean and comfortable. Pool area was also clean, well maintained. The mini-gardens around the interior areas were beautiful-well planned. The first impression was not great as we had to park about a block away in the pouring rain. Though old, the motel was happily well-cared for and more affordable than other places for our 3-room group of 7. Restaurant on property was really outstanding for dinner - another great surprise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top