$107 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 15, 2015 Check-out: May 17, 2015

Hilo Seaside Hotel

2 stars
View map of 126 Banyan Drive, Hilo, HI 96720

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hilo Seaside Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
267 out of 267
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4
Value:
4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KAL Orb
Business
Houston, tx
Nov 12, 2014

Short trip to the island

This hotel is in a perfect location. It is near Hilo airport, a short drive to beaches and tropical gardens. The staff was friendly and helpful too. The hotel is nice and quiet so you can get plenty of rest between outings.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Papous
Business
Ottawa, Canada
Nov 11, 2014

Good for airport departure.

Our stay was 1 and 1/2 days to catch a late flight. We where pleasantly surprised by the decor and work in process in the interior. Nice pool area. Attached to a very good restaurant. Very friendly service. They were able to accommodate us with an early arrival. It is not a Hilton Hotel but good value for the price. Room needs new decor but clean. We would have liked to see a microwave and a safe in the room capable of accommodating a laptop but seemed very secure premises . Good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Zip Line Botanical Adventures. Excellent staff, good experience.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DZone
Business
San Diego
Oct 29, 2014

Best bang for the buck!!!

Had a great experience with the desk staff, we booked at 6:00am but we were allowed a early check in so we didn't have to sleep in our car and stay busy until check in time. Obviously it isn't a 5 star hotel, but why would you want to sit in a resort in Hawaii??? I wanna be on the beach, hiking, snorkeling, and site seeing. My last trip to Maui we wasted $1,800 on a resort and were there from 10:00pm till 6:00am only to sleep. This time around we went with a cheaper Hotel and spent the extra cash on us. Great for the price, I will stay here again if I come back to the big island :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sofiene B
Business
Tunisia
Oct 22, 2014

Nice and clean, free parking

Very clean place to stay at. We enjoyed our stay in the very simple but functional and clean room. No worries about insects or reptiles since protection was already installed on every window.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dmitry M
Business
Moscow, Russia
Oct 20, 2014

Nice airport hotel

Good location close to airport. Stayed here for visit to volcano park. Ideal location for people who don't have a car. Bus stop is about 10 min walking. Comfort, not expensive

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Experienced Euro Traveler
Business
Honolulu, HI
Oct 15, 2014

Wknd Getaway

It was Ironman weekend in Kona, so had to stay in Hilo. This was the cheapest I could find w/ decent ratings. Overall, the building was a bit old. The amenities are sparse and very limited open times, but we mainly used it to sleep, so it was very comfortable, clean and well maintained. it's walking distance to a few restaurants which came in handy for a late night dinner or early breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jose mechanical engineer
Business
Wellington, Fl
Oct 11, 2014

Great Hilo Stay

The location was great being close to the airport. The restaurants around the area are good. The hotel staff were very helpful and hardworking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
2 boys 2 girls
Business
Dallas, Oregon
Sep 30, 2014

Great value for the price!

We always stay here. I find the location perfect to watch sunsets. Several(actually more like 6)restaurants in walking distance if you like to eat local and we do. We also got a pretty good breakfast this time as a perk. Nice people!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

When you travel, especially to Hawaii, don't eat the same old, same old you eat at home. Break the rut and eat local. Take a chance. You just might like it. Also, check out the Hilo Saturday Market.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Buckoff
Business
Kaneohe,Hi.
Sep 23, 2014

GREAT LOCATION AND RELAXING GET-AWAY

Hotel swimming pool was convenient and the lust tropical flowers and shrubbery made a relaxing spot to lounge around at. Spent most of my time site seeing,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

In House restaurant and closest hotel to airport. Very clean and right on the Hilo Bay.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
missindabay
Business
Tampa, FL
Sep 20, 2014

Love Hilo Seaside

We got a renovated room over the fishpond. It was 5 years since my last visit, and they have renovated a lot since. New windows, carpet, paint, linens, added parking, and coffee and wifi in room, it just gets better over time. Centrally located for East side and Central Big Island attractions. The staff is so friendly and completes the family feel of this place. Slight negatives shower was a little low, and parking can be tight on weekends. Plenty of great restaurants and sandwich shops around. I was totally happy here, and can't wait until I can visit again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Go to Coconut Grill and have the Tiki Coconut Shrimp! Very nice presentation and it tastes awesome!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top