$86 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 21, 2015 Check-out: Sep 22, 2015

Hilo Seaside Hotel

2 stars
View map of 126 Banyan Drive, Hilo, HI 96720

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
249 reviews
Great hotel and people

Clean and practical. Everything we needed was right there. The staff was extremely helpful with... See full review

  • Glenn G.
  • Aug 22, 2015
Graduation celebration

Traveled with my 5yr old daughter for my baby cousin's high school graduation in May. This was our... See full review

  • Manu Samoa Fans
  • Aug 4, 2015
The locally owned Hilo Seaside Hotel offers guests Island-style budget accommodations and a convenient location near downtown Hilo and the airport. The hotel is built around a swimming pool and landscaped with gardens and ponds. An on-site restaurant and free parking add extra value. Just across the street, the picturesque Hilo Bay is trimmed in green foliage and dotted with small catamarans.
Location
Hilo Seaside Hotel sits across the street from a sheltered bay and just off historic Banyan Drive in central Hilo. Liliuokalani Park and Gardens is within a few minutes' walk, and a 9-hole golf course is just across the street. The sleepy town of Hilo offers visitors a view of "real Hawaii" life and easy access to Hawaii Volcanoes National Park.
Rooms
Hilo Seaside Hotel offers simple Island-style guest accommodations, including a few rooms designated for smokers. Each features views of the hotel gardens or the bay, plus air conditioning, a ceiling fan, TV, mini-refrigerator and private balcony. In-room high-speed Internet access available (fees may apply). Request in advance for an in-room microwave or coffee-maker.
Property features
Stay cool at Hilo Seaside Hotel's large outdoor swimming pool, or build a local-style tan on the sundeck. Enjoy a quiet moment in Hilo Seaside Hotel's manicured Japanese rock garden or Hawaiian tropical garden.

The hotel offers dining 7 days a week at Coconut Grill, a steak and seafood restaurant. Hilo is packed with tasty eateries and cafés, including local favorite Ken's House of Pancakes.
Highlights
  • Outdoor swimming pool
  • Free parking
  • 9-hole golf course across the street
  • Private guest room balconies with views
  • On-site restaurant open daily
Nearby attractions
  • Pacific Tsunami Museum (1.8 mi/2.9 km)
  • Lyman Museum (1.8 mi/2.9 km)
  • Imiloa Astronomy Center of Hawaii (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • Panaewa Rainforest Zoo (5.7 mi/9.1 km)
  • Akaka Falls (10.7 mi/17.3 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (35 mi/56.4 km)
Transportation
  • Hilo International Airport (3.2 mi/5.1 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hilo Seaside Hotel also booked these hotels.

★★
$89
3.1 / 5 144 reviews
★★★
$148
3.4 / 5 202 reviews
★★★★
$285
4.0 / 5 4 reviews

Hilo Seaside Hotel Rooms

Deluxe
Spacious guest room with one king or two double beds, remote controlled TV, clock radio, refrigerator, A/C, tropical ceiling fan,coffee and tea maker, iron and ironing board, black out drapes and large private lanai with a beautiful view of Hilo Bay. This room is nearest the lobby and restaurant. Free WiFi.
Standard Room
Guest room with one king or two double beds located further away from the lobby but offers each guest a quiet atmosphere among our anthurium and orchid gardens. Each room includes a remote controlled TV, clock radio,refrigerator, A/C, tropical ceiling fan,coffee and tea maker, iron and ironing board, and black out drapes. Free WiFi.
Superior Garden
Large guest room with one king or two double beds overlooking our Japanese Rock Garden or our Hawaiian Tropical Garden in our quiet area of this quaint hotel.Each room includes a remote controlled TV, clock radio,refrigerator, A/C, tropical ceiling fan,coffee and tea maker, iron and ironing board, and black out drapes. Free WiFi.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities

Dining

Coconut Grill
Located on the lobby level of the hotel and features many local favorites. This is the restaurant that serves our complimentary breakfasts.
Verna's
Local style drive in adjacent to the hotel offering tasty island food to go!
Ken's
While open 24 hours, they are famous for their breakfast items

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Hilo Seaside Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
249 out of 249
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4
Value:
4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Glenn G.
Family
N/A
Aug 22, 2015

Great hotel and people

Clean and practical. Everything we needed was right there. The staff was extremely helpful with information and super friendly. We will go back definitely.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Manu Samoa Fans
Family
El Paso
Aug 4, 2015

Graduation celebration

Traveled with my 5yr old daughter for my baby cousin's high school graduation in May. This was our first time flying to Hilo. The original check-in time was 3pm but the receptionist let us check-in earlier! Parking is tight, especially at night but I'm grateful the hotel has night security. On the day of the graduation my daughter and I didn't get back to the hotel until 1am after celebrating with family downtown, and the security guard on duty escorted us to our parking spot and back to the hotel safely! We didn't stay in our hotel room during the day but we did manage to take a dip in the pool which was nice and cool, especially with the heat! I always placed the 'do not disturb' sign on the door so didn't really need cleaning service. However, whenever I asked for clean towels or toiletries I always received them promptly and never had issues with the staff. The a/c is swamp cooler type so it can get pretty warm in the room but taking a dip in the pool can fix that! Our room came with a mini fridge too and the tv has basic local channels. No elevators and our room was towards the back of the hotel and on the second floor. The first time walking to our room felt kind of like a maze but you get used to it and there's nothing wrong with getting some exercise in! Did not get a chance to eat at the hotel restaurant or try the nearby ones but they were always packed! Checking out was quick and simple, and I love how the hotel is 5-10mins from the airport! For the price and location, much better than others! And we always enjoy local hospitality wherever we travel! Thank you again Hilo Seaside Hotel and we will definitely stay with you guys again for future visits!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
D L.
Friends
N/A
Jun 3, 2015

Travel pleasure

Hotel is located in good location, but the room so old.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
john b.
Single
Grove City
May 31, 2015

Awsome hotel

The staff was very friendly. I plan on staying here on my next visit to Hilo,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
valentin78
Couples
houston
May 5, 2015

Trip around Hilo

I would definitely recommend this place. The room was clean, wi-fi working great, friendly staff and good location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
valentin78
Couples
Houston
May 5, 2015

Trip around hilo

Great place. The room was clean and the staff friendly. 1.5 miles from downtown. Free parking and wi-fi in room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Aggies 75
Family
N/A
Feb 4, 2015

I rated it between 2 and 3

The hotel is clean and quiet. For a night, it is OK since all other hotels in that town are expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

For the convenient to go up the volcano, it is ok to stay for one night.

Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Marie66
Couples
Waconia
Jan 25, 2015

Good for Zhilo

Hotel was clean. Good location. Rating would have been lower if on mainland. Good for a one night stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Frances L.
Couples
N/A
Jan 23, 2015

day trip to Hilo

Breakfast was included - this was a terrific advantage - and.. it was an excellent breakfast. Wifi - didn't work in our room - but it did work in the lobby. Maid forgot to make up our room until we complained. The handicapped room was very small and not very suitable for wheel chair access - (those wheel chairs take up a lot of space) Staff were friendly . oh - and the room was very noisy - ask for a room away from the highway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jackie and Ken
Couples
N/A
Jan 21, 2015

good overnight choice

Good choice for 1 night, convent to attractions.. Older hotel butveryclean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top