$105 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 22, 2015 Check-out: May 24, 2015

Hilo Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

2 stars
View map of 87 Banyan Drive, Hilo (Big Island of Hawaii), HI 96720

Hotel Overview

Hilo-Bay-Hotel-(Uncle-Billy's--Hawaiian-Family-Resorts)-Guest-Room
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
98 reviews
Family Trip

Good comfortable room, close in to most sites. Volcano National Park is only 30 miles away. See full review

  • Steven D.
  • Feb 21, 2015
Good location

Good location - In fornt of the Hilo bay Staff are quite good and very friendly See full review

  • Eric san
  • Jan 16, 2014
Ready to experience the Big Island of Hawaii and all of its beauty Hilo! Walk through lush valleys filled with fragrant flowers and fauna of an ancient time. Visit historic sites and museums that take you back in time to a plantation lifestyle. Hike an active volcano, up close and personal. Experience some of the best stargazing in the world atop Mauna Kea. All that you want on the Big Island of Hawaii on an affordable budget, with Uncle Billy's. Uncle Billy's Hilo Bay Hotel, located in the quaint little town of Hilo, offers an island style with memories of past times. Located along historic Banyan Drive amongst 80 year old giant banyan trees, Hilo Bay Hotel is in the heart of it all, minutes from downtown Hilo. Visit specialty shops and unique restaurants, Hilo's open air Farmer's Market, orchid farms, tropical gardens, waterfalls, and Hawaii Volcanoes National Park.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hilo Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts) also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Hilo Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts) Rooms

Superior Room with Partial Ocean View
Our spacious Superior Rooms have partial ocean views of quiet Hilo Bay. Wake up to or relax at the day's end with views of the Hamakua coastline and majestic Mauna Kea. Rooms come well equipped with two full size beds, air conditioning, cable television, telephones, refrigerator, alarm clocks, hair dryer, coffee and coffee maker, and private lanais. Wake up each morning to watch a beautiful Hawaiian sunrise and come down for our complimentary continental Aloha Breakfast, served daily 6:30am - 8:30am.
Studio Kitchenette
Our large well equipped Studio room with an efficiency kitchen is your home away from home on your visit with us on the Big Island of Hawaii. Standard are 2 burner cook tops, microwave oven, toaster, coffee maker, refrigerator, and utensils and glassware for a party of 4. Two full size beds, or a queen and sofa are basic configurations for these rooms. Rooms also offer air conditioning, cable television, telephones, alarm clocks, and private lanais. Our beautiful tropical garden below and center courtyard offers relaxing views from your private lanai. Wake up each morning to watch a beautiful Hawaiian sunrise and come down for our complimentary continental Aloha Breakfast, served daily 6:30am - 8:30am.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Game room
Services
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Our Leilani Room can comfortably accommodate up to 30 people with room for tables and chairs for your conference needs. Catering options are also available please contact us at 1-800-367-5102 for reservation information.

Dining

Uncle Billy's General Store
Forgot your toothbrush at home Not a problem! Uncle Billy's General Store is fully stocked with any bath amenities that you may need. Have a late night craving? We've got you covered with a full assortment of snacks, sandwiches, drinks, coffee, ice cream, and local delicacies. And if you re looking for that perfect souvenir, our general store has a variety of post cards, T-shirts, clothing, and much more. Open Sun-Thur 7:30am to 9:30pm, Fri & Sat 7:30am to 10:00pm.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Hilo Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
12 out of 98
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.5

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hilo Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
RobynMarieB
Business
Boston, MA
Nov 24, 2013

Don't do it!

The room is filthy, the staff unfriendly, it is old, run down and just plain disgusting. There were bugs in the sink area, the floor of the bathroom was dirty, the ceiling in the bathroom was rusted and the 'clean' towels smelled moldy. No matter how cheap this place it isn't worth it...even the grounds are awful. I booked two nights...just horrible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Glenda Fern
Business
Kansas City
Nov 16, 2013

Uncle Billy's

It was very comfortable and the staff were very friendly and agreeable. Even though the hotel is old, and could use new carpeting, I enjoyed my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Uncle Billy's is on the shore, the sound of the surf and the little frogs was soothing at night. The short walk is through the Banyan trees or to Coconut Island, and it is a short drive to Hilo town or state parks. I would suggest going to the farmer's market. Fruit, jewelry, clothes, they have it all.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
GrizzlyAdams
Business
Denver
Sep 29, 2013

I knew it was gonna be gross, but it was really gross

After reading reviews I knew this hotel was gonna be gross but I only needed 2 nts in hilo on a quick trip wish I would hav listened to my gut and stayed anywhere eles.. Where to start.. Uncle Billy must not be a real person because I can't imagine anyone would want to put their name on this dump. - arrived at 8pm to checkin to find nobody around for 20 mins as I stand there exhausted from 7 hr flight and just want a shower.. A single staff member arrives to checkin me in acting as if I'm interrupting her hiding somewhere out back.. Takes my credit card and proceeds to write down the number on a scratch piece of paper and says that's the "imprint" they take.. Uh sketchy.. I used a prepaid card with a few hundred on it thank god.. Coming from someone who has had several things stolen, phones cash etc from hotel rooms in Hawaii I don't like the idea of someone writing my cc number down on a scratch piece of paper.. The rooms are dirty, very dirty. Expected that. I believe the hot water is cut off to the rooms when empty because the shower would not get hot for an hr. ( not a good feeling after flying 7hrs, and wanting a shower) it's noisy. Expected that. Planes, frogs, birds all there no big deal to me.. What did suck was the idiot staff who would use a METAL rake on the CONCRETE parking lot in a idiotic attempt to rake leaves off the sidewalk and parking lot each morning at approximately 7am.. Just outside the rooms.. Ever heard of a BROOM? It does the same thing except it doesn't sound like metal nails on a chalkboard.. Check out was requested late to accommodate a 8pm flt. Told yes over phone and then no when I get there.. 12pm comes and they say I can stay til 12:30. Lol thanks for 30 mins.. I rush to take a shower and no hot water again staff bagging at the door to basically kick me out at 12:31 as I stand in a cold shower.. Rediculious.. I believe the hot water was turned off.. I've traveled the world, was a groupie or tour kid sleeping in 29.99 a nt dumps and I can say this place is the worst, most dirty, rude staff, dump I've ever been in.. Couldn't wait to leave and never ever return.. I don't write reviews normally but this place made me so angry with there anti aloha attitudes I just had to review it.. Straight garbage.. Spend a 1000 bucks and paint yr halls and recarpet.. Can't believe people stay here.. Would be condemned on mainland

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Kens pancake house was great food.. 24/7

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nancie C
Business
Seattle,WA
May 24, 2013

I love Uncle Billy's!

I love Uncle Billy's! I love the Hawaiian hospitality! I had a wonderful stay here and greatly look forward to coming back! It is my favorite hotel on the Big Island!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Hilo farmers market is fantastic!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
PeterGuo
Business
New York City
May 5, 2013

good for student

the staff there is extremely friendly and helpful. That girl is so sweet! I like her!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gene Douglass
Business
red springs, nc
Dec 29, 2012

great hotel

Great family hotel, a great value for Hilo. I enjoyed my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Maile from Hawaii
Business
Honokaa, HI
Oct 14, 2012

A so-so stay

The hotel isn't bad. I literally slept in the room, that's all I did. The room was clean and the furniture in good condition. The ceiling needed some work, but how often do you spend staring at the ceiling? I was quite irritated by the fact that the air conditioner was set in such a location as to not really cool the room. On top of that, the a/c shut itself off half-way through the night and the room became quite stuff, thereby waking me up. It did that at least two more times before I checked out of the room. Other than that, it was quiet and peaceful and the staff was SUPER friendly and knowledgeable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
The Per
Business
California
Jun 2, 2012

what I expected and needed

This hotel was what I needed for a one-night stopover in Hilo. Nice staff, laundry facilities on site, A/C wall units in room, and overall the room was well-cleaned, despite everything needing an upgrade. Hotel is close to the Hilo Airport and on Banyan Drive. Shop next door if you need quick food, beverage or laundry detergent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the restaurant(s) at the Hilo Hawaiian Hotel a door or two down Banyan Drive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kauai Island
Jun 27, 2011

Uncle Billy's Hilo Bay Hotel-Hilo

It was a Hawaiian style decor, casual, on Hilo Bay. Perfect for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Coqui monster
Business
Los Angeles, CA
May 10, 2011

Uncle Billy's stay on May 2011

When I first entered the lobby, I noticed that Uncle Billy's was designed for a tropical environment with no glass and plenty of ceiling fans. The rooms were adequately clean and offered lots of privacy. At night, birds and coqui frogs would come out at create a ton of noise. That was the only thing I did not like about the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Downtown has many tour offices to schedule some fun into your trip. They range from lava hikes to helicopter rides and are reasonably priced.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top