Hilo Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

2 stars
87 Banyan Drive, Hilo (Big Island of Hawaii), HI 96720
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
93 reviews
Good location

Good location - In fornt of the Hilo bay Staff are quite good and very friendly See full review

  • Eric san
  • Jan 16, 2014
great hotel

Cheap and clean. GrrrrrrrrrrrrrRrrrrrreat¬°!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! See full review

  • stevefbjfcbj
  • Jul 2, 2013
Island-style hotel on Hilo Bay shares aloha with free daily breakfast
Go "Island style" at Uncle Billy's Hilo Bay Hotel, a low-rise waterfront landmark along Hilo's historic Banyan Drive. The relaxed atmosphere extends to free parking, free daily "aloha" breakfast and free in-room high-speed/Wi-Fi Internet, adding extra savings to a value-priced stay. Guests enjoy the hotel's swimming pool, easy footbridge access to Coconut Island and short drive into downtown Hilo, plus lovely views of the bay and Mauna Kea.
Highlights
  • Free daily "aloha" breakfast, free parking and free high-speed/Wi-Fi Internet access
  • Nearby farmers market, convenient for in-room meals
  • Take the footbridge near the hotel to Coconut Island for a picnic or swim, or Mauna Kea views
  • 9-hole golf course across the street
Location
Hilo Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts) sits on the edge of peaceful Hilo Bay along historic Banyan Drive in central Hilo. The hotel looks out onto Coconut Island and the volcano Mauna Kea. Liliuokalani Park and Gardens is within a few minute's walk, and a 9-hole golf course is just across the street. Hilo offers visitors easy access to Hawaii Volcanoes National Park.
Rooms
Hilo Bay Hotel harks back to easygoing Hawaii days with spacious, Island-style rooms. Room types range from standard garden view and standard partial ocean view units, to studio kitchenettes and deluxe oceanfront units. All include free high-speed Internet access, air conditioning, cable TV and private patio. Deluxe oceanfront units also include either a large picture window or patio. All room categories include free breakfast.
Features
Guests of Hilo Bay Hotel enjoy an onsite swimming pool, and a free daily "aloha" breakfast service. Hilo has many restaurants and cafés to choose from, including the nearby Ken's House of Pancakes, a longtime local favorite.
Transportation
  • Hilo International Airport (1.8 mi/2.8 km)
Attractions
  • Panaewa Rainforest Zoo (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Pacific Tsunami Museum (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Lyman Museum (1.8 mi/3 km)
  • Imiloa Astronomy Center of Hawaii (2.6 mi/4 km)
  • Akaka Falls (10.5 mi/16.9 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (28.9 mi/46.6 km)

Hilo Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts) Rooms

Superior Room with Partial Ocean View
Our spacious Superior Rooms have partial ocean views of quiet Hilo Bay. Wake up to or relax at the day's end with views of the Hamakua coastline and majestic Mauna Kea. Rooms come well equipped with two full size beds, air conditioning, cable television, telephones, refrigerator, alarm clocks, hair dryer, coffee and coffee maker, and private lanais. Wake up each morning to watch a beautiful Hawaiian sunrise and come down for our complimentary continental Aloha Breakfast, served daily 6:30am - 8:30am.
Studio Kitchenette
Our large well equipped Studio room with an efficiency kitchen is your home away from home on your visit with us on the Big Island of Hawaii. Standard are 2 burner cook tops, microwave oven, toaster, coffee maker, refrigerator, and utensils and glassware for a party of 4. Two full size beds, or a queen and sofa are basic configurations for these rooms. Rooms also offer air conditioning, cable television, telephones, alarm clocks, and private lanais. Our beautiful tropical garden below and center courtyard offers relaxing views from your private lanai. Wake up each morning to watch a beautiful Hawaiian sunrise and come down for our complimentary continental Aloha Breakfast, served daily 6:30am - 8:30am.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Game room
Services
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

19.7283 -155.0654
Area served
Hilo, HI
Nearby airports
General Lyman Airport- Exit airport and turn right on Highway 11. Cross highway 19 to Banyan Drive and go 1/2 mile to the hotel. Enter on right. Keahole Airport- Take 94M W.
Area description
The center of Hawaiian outdoor life, Volacanoes, diving, Rainforest and Orchid Gardens to Mac Nut Farms surround this port city on a crescent Bay.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Our Leilani Room can comfortably accommodate up to 30 people with room for tables and chairs for your conference needs. Catering options are also available please contact us at 1-800-367-5102 for reservation information.

Dining

Uncle Billy's General Store
Forgot your toothbrush at home Not a problem! Uncle Billy's General Store is fully stocked with any bath amenities that you may need. Have a late night craving? We've got you covered with a full assortment of snacks, sandwiches, drinks, coffee, ice cream, and local delicacies. And if you re looking for that perfect souvenir, our general store has a variety of post cards, T-shirts, clothing, and much more. Open Sun-Thur 7:30am to 9:30pm, Fri & Sat 7:30am to 10:00pm.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (93)

Ratings and reviews for Hilo Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
93 out of 93
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3.4

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hilo Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Andrew old tiger
Berkeley, CA, USA
Nov 2, 2011

Good basic choice

A good clean basic hotel in an absolutely fantastic location. It is a good value for the money. I would rate it three and a half star actually. Amenities are average, the coffee maker is useful for more than coffee (tea, hot water etc). But it would be nice if the rooms had a microwave. The staff is pleasant and helpful. But if there is any problem with the room, there is no maintenance staff after 4 PM. The beds are very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Try snorkeling at Richardson Marine Park nearby.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
billyindex
So. CA
Oct 24, 2011

Great for an over-nighter but not a vacation destination.

My wife and I stayed here overnight because we arrived to the islands a day early for vacation to save $500 on airfare. Good place to get a good nights sleep and included a light breakfast. Also only a couple minutes from the airport and right on the ocean. I would not stay here for a true vacation unless you were on a tight budget. Staff was friendly and helpful. Was exactly what we needed for the night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
jay562
Atlanta, GA, USA
Oct 16, 2011

They should call it the Mold Hotel!

The room was infested with mold and mildew. The AC unit in the window was from the early 1980's. The staff there was very unhelpful. It was so bad that I considered sleeping in my rental car. We left the very next morning and drove as fast as we could away from the ghetto of Hilo.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
alohalatino
pasadena
Oct 5, 2011

It is a good place to stay

The hotel is good, the trees outside on the street are amazing!!! i had a problem getting on line inside the hotel w/ my Ipad and Parking sucks!!! but it is in a good location and affortable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

It is near the Airport!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Uncle Mike
Chicago, IL, USA
Aug 20, 2011

A UHH Parent

I went to Hilo to attend UHH student orientation and to get to know Hilo. At this hotel, I had many chances to talk to domestic and international tourists and local people. Their breakfast was simple but the ocean view was so beautiful. The general store attached to the hotel was also simple but if you check things in the store, you could learn so many things about Hilo, And because it is very close to the bay area, you could learn the people and culture in Hilo. The hotel was not fancy but rather simple. But it gave me a great sense of being in Hilo.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Cafe 100, Ken's House of Pancake, and Full Moon Cafe were great. The coconut ice cream at the general store at the hotel was amazing,

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BeachBetti
Orange County, CA
Jul 8, 2011

Big Room

Big room, gorgeous view. Close to the pool but the pool had people in it all night yelling and screaming.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Southern California
Jun 28, 2011

Enjoyable

Hotel was clean, front desk personnel very friendly and helpful. Nice beachfront for 'discovery'. Close to everything in Hilo. LOVED the wildlife singing all night long, great background noise for us!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ken's Diner...oh boy!! Food Network was right...it is GOOD!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Kauai Island
Jun 27, 2011

Uncle Billy's Hilo Bay Hotel-Hilo

It was a Hawaiian style decor, casual, on Hilo Bay. Perfect for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Oshkosh, WI
Jun 14, 2011

Loved the location, very affordable

Easy to find from the airport, minutes away. Nice breakfast included, Great garden and ocean view. Walked over to Coconut Island park, great photo opportunities! Friendly staff, accomodated us to an early check in (5 hours early!).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out Coconut Island, foot steps away!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Appleton, Wisconsin
Jun 3, 2011

We booked hotels at both Hilo and Kona

We originally booked at Hilo for the whole time we planned to be on the big island. When we got there we found that there were no sand beaches or luau's there so we spent a night in Kona also at "Uncle Billies". I feel we should be refunded some of our money since we did not use both hotel rooms the same night. The rooms were clean and the desk people were friendly. The breakfast could have had different fruit or something different so we did not have to eat EXACTLY the same thing everyday. If you want me to refer other people to you I would need a refund for that one night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The entertainment and recreation was all on the other side of the island. That was fine since we wanted to see the gardens and the volcanoes. It was too bad the lava was not flowing so we could have taken a boat ride and a helicopter to see the lava up close.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top