$105 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 4, 2015 Check-out: Jun 7, 2015

Hilo Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

2 stars
View map of 87 Banyan Drive, Hilo (Big Island of Hawaii), HI 96720

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hilo Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
109 out of 109
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
4
Value:
3.4

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hilo Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
The Per
Business
California
Jun 2, 2012

what I expected and needed

This hotel was what I needed for a one-night stopover in Hilo. Nice staff, laundry facilities on site, A/C wall units in room, and overall the room was well-cleaned, despite everything needing an upgrade. Hotel is close to the Hilo Airport and on Banyan Drive. Shop next door if you need quick food, beverage or laundry detergent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the restaurant(s) at the Hilo Hawaiian Hotel a door or two down Banyan Drive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Eastgirl
Business
Tennessee, USA
Apr 4, 2012

Stayed for two nights

The hotel location is very good but the facitities are old.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Hilo farmer's market is good place to buy fruits.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Branda
Business
Honolulu, HI, USA
Mar 26, 2012

Reasonable Priced getaway

Had a wonderful weekend at this hotel loved the complimentary breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jimnm
Business
albuquerque, nm
Mar 20, 2012

Good hotel for the price

It is a nice, but older, hotel. The location is great, as is the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Doug1930
Business
Andover, MN
Mar 2, 2012

Clean but needs help

The hotel was clean and was OK for the one night that we stayed there but I would not plan this as my vacation spot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
onnow
Business
Sunnyvale, CA, USA
Feb 21, 2012

Good for the price

Pro: * Price * Location Con: * Very limited parking spaces

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
winter getaway traveler
Business
Michigan
Feb 16, 2012

Winter vacation spot

Hotel clean, the staff was friendly and helpful with all questions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Andrew old tiger
Business
Berkeley, CA, USA
Nov 2, 2011

Good basic choice

A good clean basic hotel in an absolutely fantastic location. It is a good value for the money. I would rate it three and a half star actually. Amenities are average, the coffee maker is useful for more than coffee (tea, hot water etc). But it would be nice if the rooms had a microwave. The staff is pleasant and helpful. But if there is any problem with the room, there is no maintenance staff after 4 PM. The beds are very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Try snorkeling at Richardson Marine Park nearby.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
billyindex
Business
So. CA
Oct 24, 2011

Great for an over-nighter but not a vacation destination.

My wife and I stayed here overnight because we arrived to the islands a day early for vacation to save $500 on airfare. Good place to get a good nights sleep and included a light breakfast. Also only a couple minutes from the airport and right on the ocean. I would not stay here for a true vacation unless you were on a tight budget. Staff was friendly and helpful. Was exactly what we needed for the night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
jay562
Business
Atlanta, GA, USA
Oct 16, 2011

They should call it the Mold Hotel!

The room was infested with mold and mildew. The AC unit in the window was from the early 1980's. The staff there was very unhelpful. It was so bad that I considered sleeping in my rental car. We left the very next morning and drove as fast as we could away from the ghetto of Hilo.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top