$105 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 12, 2015 Check-out: Mar 13, 2015

Hilo Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

2 stars
View map of 87 Banyan Drive, Hilo (Big Island of Hawaii), HI 96720

Hotel Overview

Hilo-Bay-Hotel-(Uncle-Billy's--Hawaiian-Family-Resorts)-Guest-Room
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
97 reviews
Family Trip

Good comfortable room, close in to most sites. Volcano National Park is only 30 miles away. See full review

  • Steven D.
  • Feb 21, 2015
Good location

Good location - In fornt of the Hilo bay Staff are quite good and very friendly See full review

  • Eric san
  • Jan 16, 2014
Island-style hotel on Hilo Bay shares aloha with free daily breakfast
Go "Island style" at Uncle Billy's Hilo Bay Hotel, a low-rise waterfront landmark along Hilo's historic Banyan Drive. The relaxed atmosphere extends to free parking, free daily "aloha" breakfast and free in-room high-speed/Wi-Fi Internet, adding extra savings to a value-priced stay. Guests enjoy the hotel's swimming pool, easy footbridge access to Coconut Island and short drive into downtown Hilo, plus lovely views of the bay and Mauna Kea.
Highlights
  • Free daily "aloha" breakfast, free parking and free high-speed/Wi-Fi Internet access
  • Nearby farmers market, convenient for in-room meals
  • Take the footbridge near the hotel to Coconut Island for a picnic or swim, or Mauna Kea views
  • 9-hole golf course across the street
Location
Hilo Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts) sits on the edge of peaceful Hilo Bay along historic Banyan Drive in central Hilo. The hotel looks out onto Coconut Island and the volcano Mauna Kea. Liliuokalani Park and Gardens is within a few minute's walk, and a 9-hole golf course is just across the street. Hilo offers visitors easy access to Hawaii Volcanoes National Park.
Rooms
Hilo Bay Hotel harks back to easygoing Hawaii days with spacious, Island-style rooms. Room types range from standard garden view and standard partial ocean view units, to studio kitchenettes and deluxe oceanfront units. All include free high-speed Internet access, air conditioning, cable TV and private patio. Deluxe oceanfront units also include either a large picture window or patio. All room categories include free breakfast.
Features
Guests of Hilo Bay Hotel enjoy an onsite swimming pool, and a free daily "aloha" breakfast service. Hilo has many restaurants and cafés to choose from, including the nearby Ken's House of Pancakes, a longtime local favorite.
Transportation
  • Hilo International Airport (1.8 mi/2.8 km)
Attractions
  • Panaewa Rainforest Zoo (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Pacific Tsunami Museum (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Lyman Museum (1.8 mi/3 km)
  • Imiloa Astronomy Center of Hawaii (2.6 mi/4 km)
  • Akaka Falls (10.5 mi/16.9 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (28.9 mi/46.6 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hilo Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts) also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Hilo Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts) Rooms

Superior Room with Partial Ocean View
Our spacious Superior Rooms have partial ocean views of quiet Hilo Bay. Wake up to or relax at the day's end with views of the Hamakua coastline and majestic Mauna Kea. Rooms come well equipped with two full size beds, air conditioning, cable television, telephones, refrigerator, alarm clocks, hair dryer, coffee and coffee maker, and private lanais. Wake up each morning to watch a beautiful Hawaiian sunrise and come down for our complimentary continental Aloha Breakfast, served daily 6:30am - 8:30am.
Studio Kitchenette
Our large well equipped Studio room with an efficiency kitchen is your home away from home on your visit with us on the Big Island of Hawaii. Standard are 2 burner cook tops, microwave oven, toaster, coffee maker, refrigerator, and utensils and glassware for a party of 4. Two full size beds, or a queen and sofa are basic configurations for these rooms. Rooms also offer air conditioning, cable television, telephones, alarm clocks, and private lanais. Our beautiful tropical garden below and center courtyard offers relaxing views from your private lanai. Wake up each morning to watch a beautiful Hawaiian sunrise and come down for our complimentary continental Aloha Breakfast, served daily 6:30am - 8:30am.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Game room
Services
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Our Leilani Room can comfortably accommodate up to 30 people with room for tables and chairs for your conference needs. Catering options are also available please contact us at 1-800-367-5102 for reservation information.

Dining

Uncle Billy's General Store
Forgot your toothbrush at home Not a problem! Uncle Billy's General Store is fully stocked with any bath amenities that you may need. Have a late night craving? We've got you covered with a full assortment of snacks, sandwiches, drinks, coffee, ice cream, and local delicacies. And if you re looking for that perfect souvenir, our general store has a variety of post cards, T-shirts, clothing, and much more. Open Sun-Thur 7:30am to 9:30pm, Fri & Sat 7:30am to 10:00pm.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (97)

Ratings and reviews for Hilo Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
97 out of 97
Amenities:
2.8
Cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3.3

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hilo Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Maile from Hawaii
Business
Honokaa, HI
Oct 14, 2012

A so-so stay

The hotel isn't bad. I literally slept in the room, that's all I did. The room was clean and the furniture in good condition. The ceiling needed some work, but how often do you spend staring at the ceiling? I was quite irritated by the fact that the air conditioner was set in such a location as to not really cool the room. On top of that, the a/c shut itself off half-way through the night and the room became quite stuff, thereby waking me up. It did that at least two more times before I checked out of the room. Other than that, it was quiet and peaceful and the staff was SUPER friendly and knowledgeable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chill2012
Business
Honolulu, Hawaii
Sep 19, 2012

serves its purpose

If you are going to tour Big Island, this is a hotel that provides a spacious room, a clean shower and sink, and a few other basic amenities (including a pool, but I did not try it). Wifi is free and available everywhere in the hotel, too. However, the breakfast was very basic and the breakfast room tends to fill up so you have to share tables with strangers. It is; however, easily accessible from the airport, and downtown Hilo and its attractions are nearby, too. I don't think it stands out over the other hotels in the area, although it's not the worst, either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bully rodrigues
Business
cali.
Sep 8, 2012

good location to conduct business in east side of island

good hotel,friendly people, free wi-fi a big plus,easy access to town

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Karen51
Business
Boston, MA
Aug 28, 2012

Uncle Billy's is Alright.

This hotel is getting run down, but the staff are SO nice, and it has a nice location right on the bay, and close to the airport that fit our agenda perfectly. The complimentary breakfast is above average for what you would usually expect, and the woman who oversees it does a wonderful job. We were delighted to see several mongoose darting about the gardens. There is even a small swimming pool.Room had refrigerator. Overall good and priced fairly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Knightro829
Business
Orlando, FL
Aug 6, 2012

Good value and location

One of the most reasonably priced places to stay in the vicinity of Volcanoes National Park. Good location; 5 minutes from Hilo International Airport and about 30-40 minutes to Volcanoes National Park. Amenities are sparse, and it's not the cleanest hotel I've stayed in. Continental breakfast is pretty bare-bones. For folks like my wife and I, who were up and out at 6 AM each morning and back around 9 PM, it made for a completely adequate and well priced place to sleep, which is just what we needed, but nothing more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Volcanoes National Park is a science geek's candy store. 30-40 minutes from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
The Honeym00ning Couple
Business
Chicago
Jul 9, 2012

Worst... hotel... ever....

You have to be kidding me. How this place remains in business is a mystery to me. It must be entirely first time guests, as the location is very close to the Hilo airport and Hilo Bay. Where to start? The "windows" to the outside are not in fact solid paned windows but rather slats that you can either open like blinds or attempt to close as far as possible. When "closed" they don't do the least bit to keep out the noise from outside. If you are a fan of the Philharmonic Orchestra of Hawaiian Night Frogs, this will not be a problem for you. If on the other hand you prefer sleep instead of the chirping of frogs all night you will be sorely disappointed by staying here. Next comes the air conditioners. One second it hums away quickly enough, then the next second it jacks into high gear and it's as if you are a spectator at a NASCAR race. How about the beds. The linens were not blatantly dirty but I certainly didn't feel like I was sleeping on a clean bed and my wife was disgusted. On our stay, we were the lucky recipients of a room with a door to an adjacent room where someone proceeded to turn the lights on and off repeatedly for hours. The bathrooms were acceptable and clean. The hotel staff was very friendly. As mentioned, the location is good. However there is another hotel next door that was I think $5 cheaper and I can't imagine it could be nearly as bad as this place. It almost ruined our honeymoon, as we barely slept at all and it caused my wife to get extremely upset with me for not paying attention to all of the terrible reviews. Don't make the same mistake I made. I would have rather stayed in our hotel in Kona for $100 more per night and woken at 3:30am to drive to Hilo to make our 8am flight. I certainly would have gotten more sleep. No amount of savings was worth the awful experience we had here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
leo Y
Business
san diego
Jun 30, 2012

good location

good location and best price! have nice sea view! have free park and very good service!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
The Per
Business
California
Jun 2, 2012

what I expected and needed

This hotel was what I needed for a one-night stopover in Hilo. Nice staff, laundry facilities on site, A/C wall units in room, and overall the room was well-cleaned, despite everything needing an upgrade. Hotel is close to the Hilo Airport and on Banyan Drive. Shop next door if you need quick food, beverage or laundry detergent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the restaurant(s) at the Hilo Hawaiian Hotel a door or two down Banyan Drive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Eastgirl
Business
Tennessee, USA
Apr 4, 2012

Stayed for two nights

The hotel location is very good but the facitities are old.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Hilo farmer's market is good place to buy fruits.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Branda
Business
Honolulu, HI, USA
Mar 26, 2012

Reasonable Priced getaway

Had a wonderful weekend at this hotel loved the complimentary breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top