$105 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 22, 2014 Check-out: Sep 23, 2014

Hilo Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

2 stars
87 Banyan Drive, Hilo (Big Island of Hawaii), HI 96720
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
93 reviews
Good location

Good location - In fornt of the Hilo bay Staff are quite good and very friendly See full review

  • Eric san
  • Jan 16, 2014
great hotel

Cheap and clean. GrrrrrrrrrrrrrRrrrrrreat¡!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! See full review

  • stevefbjfcbj
  • Jul 2, 2013
Island-style hotel on Hilo Bay shares aloha with free daily breakfast
Go "Island style" at Uncle Billy's Hilo Bay Hotel, a low-rise waterfront landmark along Hilo's historic Banyan Drive. The relaxed atmosphere extends to free parking, free daily "aloha" breakfast and free in-room high-speed/Wi-Fi Internet, adding extra savings to a value-priced stay. Guests enjoy the hotel's swimming pool, easy footbridge access to Coconut Island and short drive into downtown Hilo, plus lovely views of the bay and Mauna Kea.
Highlights
  • Free daily "aloha" breakfast, free parking and free high-speed/Wi-Fi Internet access
  • Nearby farmers market, convenient for in-room meals
  • Take the footbridge near the hotel to Coconut Island for a picnic or swim, or Mauna Kea views
  • 9-hole golf course across the street
Location
Hilo Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts) sits on the edge of peaceful Hilo Bay along historic Banyan Drive in central Hilo. The hotel looks out onto Coconut Island and the volcano Mauna Kea. Liliuokalani Park and Gardens is within a few minute's walk, and a 9-hole golf course is just across the street. Hilo offers visitors easy access to Hawaii Volcanoes National Park.
Rooms
Hilo Bay Hotel harks back to easygoing Hawaii days with spacious, Island-style rooms. Room types range from standard garden view and standard partial ocean view units, to studio kitchenettes and deluxe oceanfront units. All include free high-speed Internet access, air conditioning, cable TV and private patio. Deluxe oceanfront units also include either a large picture window or patio. All room categories include free breakfast.
Features
Guests of Hilo Bay Hotel enjoy an onsite swimming pool, and a free daily "aloha" breakfast service. Hilo has many restaurants and cafés to choose from, including the nearby Ken's House of Pancakes, a longtime local favorite.
Transportation
  • Hilo International Airport (1.8 mi/2.8 km)
Attractions
  • Panaewa Rainforest Zoo (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Pacific Tsunami Museum (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Lyman Museum (1.8 mi/3 km)
  • Imiloa Astronomy Center of Hawaii (2.6 mi/4 km)
  • Akaka Falls (10.5 mi/16.9 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (28.9 mi/46.6 km)

Hotel Map

19.7283 -155.0654
Area served
Hilo, HI
Nearby airports
General Lyman Airport- Exit airport and turn right on Highway 11. Cross highway 19 to Banyan Drive and go 1/2 mile to the hotel. Enter on right. Keahole Airport- Take 94M W.
Area description
The center of Hawaiian outdoor life, Volacanoes, diving, Rainforest and Orchid Gardens to Mac Nut Farms surround this port city on a crescent Bay.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hilo Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts) also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Hilo Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts) Rooms

Superior Room with Partial Ocean View
Our spacious Superior Rooms have partial ocean views of quiet Hilo Bay. Wake up to or relax at the day's end with views of the Hamakua coastline and majestic Mauna Kea. Rooms come well equipped with two full size beds, air conditioning, cable television, telephones, refrigerator, alarm clocks, hair dryer, coffee and coffee maker, and private lanais. Wake up each morning to watch a beautiful Hawaiian sunrise and come down for our complimentary continental Aloha Breakfast, served daily 6:30am - 8:30am.
Studio Kitchenette
Our large well equipped Studio room with an efficiency kitchen is your home away from home on your visit with us on the Big Island of Hawaii. Standard are 2 burner cook tops, microwave oven, toaster, coffee maker, refrigerator, and utensils and glassware for a party of 4. Two full size beds, or a queen and sofa are basic configurations for these rooms. Rooms also offer air conditioning, cable television, telephones, alarm clocks, and private lanais. Our beautiful tropical garden below and center courtyard offers relaxing views from your private lanai. Wake up each morning to watch a beautiful Hawaiian sunrise and come down for our complimentary continental Aloha Breakfast, served daily 6:30am - 8:30am.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Game room
Services
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Uncle Billy's General Store
Forgot your toothbrush at home Not a problem! Uncle Billy's General Store is fully stocked with any bath amenities that you may need. Have a late night craving? We've got you covered with a full assortment of snacks, sandwiches, drinks, coffee, ice cream, and local delicacies. And if you re looking for that perfect souvenir, our general store has a variety of post cards, T-shirts, clothing, and much more. Open Sun-Thur 7:30am to 9:30pm, Fri & Sat 7:30am to 10:00pm.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Our Leilani Room can comfortably accommodate up to 30 people with room for tables and chairs for your conference needs. Catering options are also available please contact us at 1-800-367-5102 for reservation information.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (93)

Ratings and reviews for Hilo Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
93 out of 93
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3.4

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hilo Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lolalicious
San Francisco
Jan 14, 2013

Great waterside hotel

We were traveling from one side of the big island to the other and needed one night s stay in hilo at a hotel This fit the bill . Reasonably priced , great staff , sounds of the ocean at night Delilious fresh papaya for breakfast Would stay here again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Check local websites before leaving home to see what's special going on

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gene Douglass
red springs, nc
Dec 29, 2012

great hotel

Great family hotel, a great value for Hilo. I enjoyed my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
carriewonguni
new york, NY
Dec 29, 2012

very nice place to stay

The staff there are so friendly. They are always so nice and patient with any questions you have. they have a beautiful garden facing the ocean. The price/value is really good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

the vietamese place by the river. they have some nice pho there! and coconut grill nearby is good for parties!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lucas 5
Ventura, California
Dec 18, 2012

Graduation

This is the second trip to Hilo that we have spent at Uncle Billy's and in the 4 years since our last trip, the rooms our exactly the same. No remodel or update to the rooms at all. We love the open style of the lobby and garden but would have liked the rooms to have been nicer. We went knowing what it was like but would have enjoyed a nice surprize

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat a Ken's House of Pancakes for breakfast or lunch. Great portions and good food

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RASSLS
Chapel Hill NC
Nov 2, 2012

A friendly laid back place

Wonderful supportive staff. There was a tsunami warming while in Hilo and the staff was spot-on organized, supportive and efficient. All guests had to leave all hotels in the area for nearby shelters. After 5 hours and the all clear, we returned to staff anxious to serve and get us back into our rooms. This facility is older and yes could use some updates and refurbishing here and there. However for a clean convenient facility, that provides helpful and friendly staff and a good value, we were happy. Folks that demand marble floors and the latest furnishings won't be happy. Folks seeking value, cleanliness, helpful people, and a laid back pretty floral setting will be happy. We even saw staff quickly coming to the aid of a guest having a health crisis. They did a good job.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ponds restaurant at the south end of Banyon Drive served terrific mahi mahi and sumptuous desserts. Ken's Pancake house can't be beat for a good value meal any time of day.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jackieo
London
Oct 24, 2012

Very faded

The room itself was fine but the whole hotel is in need of a lick of paint. Breakfast was papaya or toast which was also very basic. Staff very nice though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ken's house of pancakes is excellent - the menu covers all sort of diner food, burgers, sandwiches etc as well as local food & good value. Short walk up Banyan Drive

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Maile from Hawaii
Honokaa, HI
Oct 14, 2012

A so-so stay

The hotel isn't bad. I literally slept in the room, that's all I did. The room was clean and the furniture in good condition. The ceiling needed some work, but how often do you spend staring at the ceiling? I was quite irritated by the fact that the air conditioner was set in such a location as to not really cool the room. On top of that, the a/c shut itself off half-way through the night and the room became quite stuff, thereby waking me up. It did that at least two more times before I checked out of the room. Other than that, it was quiet and peaceful and the staff was SUPER friendly and knowledgeable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chill2012
Honolulu, Hawaii
Sep 19, 2012

serves its purpose

If you are going to tour Big Island, this is a hotel that provides a spacious room, a clean shower and sink, and a few other basic amenities (including a pool, but I did not try it). Wifi is free and available everywhere in the hotel, too. However, the breakfast was very basic and the breakfast room tends to fill up so you have to share tables with strangers. It is; however, easily accessible from the airport, and downtown Hilo and its attractions are nearby, too. I don't think it stands out over the other hotels in the area, although it's not the worst, either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bully rodrigues
Business
cali.
Sep 8, 2012

good location to conduct business in east side of island

good hotel,friendly people, free wi-fi a big plus,easy access to town

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Karen51
Boston, MA
Aug 28, 2012

Uncle Billy's is Alright.

This hotel is getting run down, but the staff are SO nice, and it has a nice location right on the bay, and close to the airport that fit our agenda perfectly. The complimentary breakfast is above average for what you would usually expect, and the woman who oversees it does a wonderful job. We were delighted to see several mongoose darting about the gardens. There is even a small swimming pool.Room had refrigerator. Overall good and priced fairly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search