$105 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 3, 2015 Check-out: Aug 6, 2015

Hilo Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

2 stars
View map of 87 Banyan Drive, Hilo (Big Island of Hawaii), HI 96720

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hilo Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
87 out of 87
Amenities:
2.7
Cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.3

66% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hilo Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Amanda Elizibeth
Business
Montana
Mar 9, 2013

Good if booked in a package deal

This hotel is dated, you will hear this a lot. However the location is easy to find, on the "beach" with good views of the ocean if you opt for a superior room. Staff is very friendly and breakfast isnt bad(light though so if you like a big breakfast this will not be to standard)Rooms have a mini fridge and coffee pot but no microwave. Beds are hard and temputure in showers can fluctuate quickly so keep them short. Parking is frustrating if you try to park in the hotels lot so avoid it after 5 pm and park on the side of the road. You CAN park here even though the signs say no parking, if you look below you will notice another sign that says on Thursdays. You can park here any day but Thursday which is when the police do drills out there. Hotel is expensive for Hilo unless you book it in a package deal. If you expecting a resort this hotel and Hilo are not for you, go to Kona. But for those of you looking for a place to sleep for the night in-between your big island adventures this will fit the bill just fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Down the street is a restaurant called coconut grill that has killer cocktails from 2-6 pm for only $4. Tip good the first night and drinks are way stronger your next visit. 4 awesome drinks for under $18 is hard to come by so don't pass thus up.

Review of Hilo Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Zoloto
Business
Canada
Feb 26, 2013

Great Grampa Willie

Staff very nice, room cleaned everyday, just a place to sleep no more. very old and sonewhat shabby, breakfast was the same for 7 days, I wouldn't recommend, however if you're desperate, it'll do. Lovely Banyon trees OMG

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Beaches

Review of Hilo Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
linbid
Business
Medicine Hat, Alberta
Jan 16, 2013

Okay, nothing special

Not bad for the money. It is an aging and tired hotel. Could use some sprucing up. Would recommend it for the location, which is excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Tours can be arranged at the concierge desk at the Hilo Hawaiian hotel next door.

Review of Hilo Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Deechie
Business
Cary, IL
Jan 15, 2013

Cheap does not always mean acceptable

Our experience was not good at this hotel. It was very old and not kept up at all. I was not expecting a room air conditioner in a hotel. It smelled moldy which I am allergic to. The bathroom had mildew in between the tiles and was not what I considered even standard. The continental breakfast consisted of toast, english muffins, mini muffins and some tropical fruit. There was no cereal, dry or hot, nor was there any yogurt, hard boiled eggs or real orange juice, items I would expect to see in any other continental breakfast. We had to go out to breakfast instead of eating at the hotel. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilo Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lolalicious
Business
San Francisco
Jan 14, 2013

Great waterside hotel

We were traveling from one side of the big island to the other and needed one night s stay in hilo at a hotel This fit the bill . Reasonably priced , great staff , sounds of the ocean at night Delilious fresh papaya for breakfast Would stay here again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Check local websites before leaving home to see what's special going on

Review of Hilo Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gene Douglass
Business
red springs, nc
Dec 29, 2012

great hotel

Great family hotel, a great value for Hilo. I enjoyed my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilo Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lucas 5
Business
Ventura, California
Dec 18, 2012

Graduation

This is the second trip to Hilo that we have spent at Uncle Billy's and in the 4 years since our last trip, the rooms our exactly the same. No remodel or update to the rooms at all. We love the open style of the lobby and garden but would have liked the rooms to have been nicer. We went knowing what it was like but would have enjoyed a nice surprize

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat a Ken's House of Pancakes for breakfast or lunch. Great portions and good food

Review of Hilo Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RASSLS
Business
Chapel Hill NC
Nov 2, 2012

A friendly laid back place

Wonderful supportive staff. There was a tsunami warming while in Hilo and the staff was spot-on organized, supportive and efficient. All guests had to leave all hotels in the area for nearby shelters. After 5 hours and the all clear, we returned to staff anxious to serve and get us back into our rooms. This facility is older and yes could use some updates and refurbishing here and there. However for a clean convenient facility, that provides helpful and friendly staff and a good value, we were happy. Folks that demand marble floors and the latest furnishings won't be happy. Folks seeking value, cleanliness, helpful people, and a laid back pretty floral setting will be happy. We even saw staff quickly coming to the aid of a guest having a health crisis. They did a good job.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ponds restaurant at the south end of Banyon Drive served terrific mahi mahi and sumptuous desserts. Ken's Pancake house can't be beat for a good value meal any time of day.

Review of Hilo Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jackieo
Business
London
Oct 24, 2012

Very faded

The room itself was fine but the whole hotel is in need of a lick of paint. Breakfast was papaya or toast which was also very basic. Staff very nice though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ken's house of pancakes is excellent - the menu covers all sort of diner food, burgers, sandwiches etc as well as local food & good value. Short walk up Banyan Drive

Review of Hilo Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Maile from Hawaii
Business
Honokaa, HI
Oct 14, 2012

A so-so stay

The hotel isn't bad. I literally slept in the room, that's all I did. The room was clean and the furniture in good condition. The ceiling needed some work, but how often do you spend staring at the ceiling? I was quite irritated by the fact that the air conditioner was set in such a location as to not really cool the room. On top of that, the a/c shut itself off half-way through the night and the room became quite stuff, thereby waking me up. It did that at least two more times before I checked out of the room. Other than that, it was quiet and peaceful and the staff was SUPER friendly and knowledgeable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top