$156 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 3, 2015 Check-out: Apr 6, 2015

Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

3 stars
View map of 71 Banyan Drive, Hilo (Big Island of Hawaii), HI 96720

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
213 reviews
Great hotel

Hotel staff was super friendly and the room was clean, beautiful view and close to the Hilo cruise... See full review

  • Kimberly K.
  • Mar 2, 2015
Beautiful location, right on the water.

Had a room on the 8th floor. Beautiful view of the bay. Room was clean and comfortable. Have stayed... See full review

  • mruts
  • Mar 2, 2015
Island-style hotel on Hilo waterfront offers value and volcano views
The landmark Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel has long been a favorite for its affordability, waterfront location and easygoing Island atmosphere. Downtown Hilo's shops and attractions are within a few minutes' drive, and the hotel is right on the same road that leads to Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. Choose a room facing Hilo Bay and enjoy bonus views of Hilo town and the volcano Mauna Kea.
Highlights
  • Take the footbridge near the hotel to Coconut Island for a picnic or swim, keeping an eye out for sea turtles
  • Perfect views of the snow-capped volcano Mauna Loa
  • Stock up on groceries at the nearby Hilo Farmers Market
  • Some rooms have private balconies
  • Swimming pool and sundeck
Location
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel sits on the edge of peaceful Hilo Bay along historic Banyan Drive in central Hilo. The hotel looks out onto Coconut Island and the volcano Mauna Kea, which rises behind the town. Liliuokalani Park and Gardens is steps away, and a golf course is just across the street. Hilo offers visitors a view of "real Hawaii" life and easy access to Hawaii Volcanoes National Park.
Rooms
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel accommodations include standard, superior and ocean view rooms; junior suites with a separate living room; and 1-bedroom suites, which include a kitchenette. All feature relaxed Island decor, high-speed Internet access (fees may apply), daily housekeeping service, air conditioning and TV. Most also offer a private balcony.
Dining
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel offers Queen's Court Restaurant, popular for its dinner and breakfast buffets. The hotel's Waioli Lounge offers cocktails and appetizers daily. Hilo offers many additional restaurants and cafes including the nearby Ken's House of Pancakes, a longtime local favorite.
Recreation
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel includes a swimming pool and sundeck. Massage services are also available (fees apply). A 9-hole golf course is just across the street (fees apply).
Transportation
  • Hilo International Airport (3.6 mi/5.7 km)
Attractions
  • Pacific Tsunami Museum (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Lyman Museum (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • Imiloa Astronomy Center of Hawaii (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • Panaewa Rainforest Zoo & Gardens (6 mi/9.7 km)
  • Akaka Falls (10.4 mi/16.7 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (35.1 mi/56.5 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel Rooms

Standard Hotel Room
This guest room has one king, or two double beds available. Some with a balcony.
Superior Hotel Room
This guest room has one king, or two double beds. Some rooms also include a balcony.
One Bedroom Banyan View Room
This guest room has one king size bed and one sofa sleeper. This guest room has a kitchenette, air conditioning, alarm clock radio, coffee/tea maker, direct dial telephone, refrigerator and remote control color cable TV.
Deluxe Ocean View
This guest room has one king, two queen beds available. Room also includes a balcony.

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Queen's Court Dining Room
Serves American Cuisine. Breakfast Hours 6:30 - 9:30 Lunch Hours 11:15 - 1:15 Dinner Hours 5:30 - 9:00 Dress Code Is Casual

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
11 out of 213
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ERSA
Business
Princeton Nj
Dec 12, 2011

Rundown

Dissapointing .Outdated carpets bathrooms Strong cigarettte smell on a non smoking hallway Great location and views

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Susi
Business
Everett, WA
Aug 22, 2011

Visiting my parents

I will stay here again. The value is great. You can't beat the location. But the rest of it is just average. Rooms are outdated, but clean. No outside seating/dining to enjoy the water which is so close. You can sit in the lobby, but sipping a cocktail there is a major ordeal. They let me, but I always had to "ask." Quite annoying. Overall, this is the best place to stay in Hilo. This is not a typical party destination. This is a great place to enjoy the views, sleep and get a decent bite to eat inside the hotel. If they touched it up, it would be da' bomb! Aloha.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Louisville, KY
Jul 23, 2011

Hilo Hawiian Hotel

This hotel met my expectations and had all emidies I wanted or needed even though I did not trie the pool. I was going out the days there on tours and other activites.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
GAK Trekker
Business
San Diego, CA
Dec 19, 2010

One Week Stay in Hilo

My room was clean. The hotel was a good location. Close to Mauna Loa, Mauna Kea and Volcanos National Park. Hilo is a very laid back town, not any night life, which I liked for this trip. My only complaint was some noise from the airport. It might not be noticable from the bayside rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Cafe Pesto in downtown was very nice.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Big island, HI
Nov 14, 2010

kick back

It was a neat and comfortable place to stay, I enjoyed staying there. My only concern was my room was next to the elevators and I could hear it going up and down the whole time. I also wish there was an icebox or something because I had no where to put my drinks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Airline Guy
Business
Manhattan Beach, CA
Oct 23, 2010

Hotel in Paradise

Awesome ocean view. Very nice sized room. Extremely comfortable bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

a nice array of restaurants and bars were a short drive from the hotel. For someone with a little bit of get-up-and-go .. it would be a good walk

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Honolulu, Hi
Sep 26, 2010

Hilo Hawaiian review

Hotel was quiet, but noisy at night due to the frogs. Most hotels have a packet of coffee each day, but this hotel only gave one on arrival and had to buy additional packets for subsequent days. Rooms were clean and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
luvhawaii
Business
Seal Beach, Ca
Jul 12, 2010

Best of Hawaii

The room was exceptionly clean with an outstanding view of the immaculate ground and ocean. The restaurant staff and housekeeping showed the aloha spirit. I will return as well as inform others of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ACPPhoto
Business
Portland, OR
Jul 1, 2010

Great hotel on the water

Great deals there, great bar and food too, it sucks that it closes early though. I liked the hotel except for the whooping frogs, but you can't help that in Hilo, they are everywhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

good food and great drinks

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rochester, NY
Apr 26, 2010

fantastic hotel great service

This was a great hotel clean friendly staff and one of the best concierge desks I've ever been to they went out of there way to be helpful I would recommend this hotel to anyone going to Hilo

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The walk to downtown is easy great shopping once your there

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top