$158 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 11, 2014 Check-out: Jul 12, 2014

Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

3 stars
71 Banyan Drive, Hilo (Big Island of Hawaii), HI 96720
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
351 reviews
Paradise

Calm, beautiful, and ralaxing are the words describe this place. If I go to Hilo again, I will... See full review

  • gmsobuz
  • Jan 22, 2013
Perfect in Hilo

This hotel is the perfect place to stay if you are in Hilo. The staff bend over backward to make... See full review

  • Jaws77
  • Jan 14, 2013
Island-style hotel on Hilo waterfront offers value and volcano views
The landmark Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel has long been a favorite for its affordability, waterfront location and easygoing Island atmosphere. Downtown Hilo's shops and attractions are within a few minutes' drive, and the hotel is right on the same road that leads to Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. Choose a room facing Hilo Bay and enjoy bonus views of Hilo town and the volcano Mauna Kea.
Highlights
  • Take the footbridge near the hotel to Coconut Island for a picnic or swim, keeping an eye out for sea turtles
  • Perfect views of the snow-capped volcano Mauna Loa
  • Stock up on groceries at the nearby Hilo Farmers Market
  • Some rooms have private balconies
  • Swimming pool and sundeck
Location
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel sits on the edge of peaceful Hilo Bay along historic Banyan Drive in central Hilo. The hotel looks out onto Coconut Island and the volcano Mauna Kea, which rises behind the town. Liliuokalani Park and Gardens is steps away, and a golf course is just across the street. Hilo offers visitors a view of "real Hawaii" life and easy access to Hawaii Volcanoes National Park.
Rooms
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel accommodations include standard, superior and ocean view rooms; junior suites with a separate living room; and 1-bedroom suites, which include a kitchenette. All feature relaxed Island decor, high-speed Internet access (fees may apply), daily housekeeping service, air conditioning and TV. Most also offer a private balcony.
Dining
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel offers Queen's Court Restaurant, popular for its dinner and breakfast buffets. The hotel's Waioli Lounge offers cocktails and appetizers daily. Hilo offers many additional restaurants and cafes including the nearby Ken's House of Pancakes, a longtime local favorite.
Recreation
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel includes a swimming pool and sundeck. Massage services are also available (fees apply). A 9-hole golf course is just across the street (fees apply).
Transportation
  • Hilo International Airport (3.6 mi/5.7 km)
Attractions
  • Pacific Tsunami Museum (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Lyman Museum (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • Imiloa Astronomy Center of Hawaii (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • Panaewa Rainforest Zoo & Gardens (6 mi/9.7 km)
  • Akaka Falls (10.4 mi/16.7 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (35.1 mi/56.5 km)

Hotel Map

19.7277 -155.0663
Area served
Hilo, Hawaii
Nearby airports
Hilo Airport (ITO) 2 miles/Kona Airport (KOA) 130 miles
Area description
Located on Hilo Bay in quaint Hilo town.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel Rooms

Superior Hotel Room
This guest room has one king, or two double beds. Some rooms also include a balcony.
One Bedroom Banyan View Room
This guest room has one king size bed and one sofa sleeper. This guest room has a kitchenette, air conditioning, alarm clock radio, coffee/tea maker, direct dial telephone, refrigerator and remote control color cable TV.
Deluxe Ocean View
This guest room has one king, two queen beds available. Room also includes a balcony.
Standard Hotel Room
This guest room has one king, or two double beds available. Some with a balcony.

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Queen's Court Dining Room
Serves American Cuisine. Breakfast Hours 6:30 - 9:30 Lunch Hours 11:15 - 1:15 Dinner Hours 5:30 - 9:00 Dress Code Is Casual

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (351)

Ratings and reviews for Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
37 out of 351
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Business Traveler 714
Business
Garden Grove, CA
Jul 4, 2014

Great price and even better location.

You can't ask for a better location. The hotel elevator was old but it did its job to get us from lobby to our floor. The room was in decent condition and the staff was friendly. I didn't encounter any problems at the hotel. Its was easy to check in and out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Fish Lover
Business
SF CA
Jan 17, 2013

Nice Staff, not such a nice room

Nice staff and very friendly. The room was sub par at best. A/C did not function properly, smelled very musty, no iron or board, no blow dryer, (they will send to your room if you call) carpet was dirty, chairs at table were dirty and stained, bathroom was in need of new linoleum, overall, not a place I would choose 1st to stay at next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Del1166
Business
Redding, CA, USA
Feb 21, 2012

Good Times

Had a good experience at the hotel. Thought the food and bar prices were a little high but the accommodations were nice and for the area of Hilo I thought that it was a nice spot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Good places within a few miles to eat.

Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ruby2diamond
Business
Honolulu, HI, USA
Dec 8, 2011

Hilo Gem

We were amazed at the sizing of the room and its location on the property, ocean-view and windows for ventilation. The property is centrally located in order to appreciate all of the great offerings of Hilo town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Poke Bowl from Suisan Retail is a "Can't Miss"!

Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
docgofflorida
Business
gainesville, fl
Nov 26, 2011

bill

good but need better directions to location and happy hour specials

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Honolulul, HI
Jun 25, 2011

Horrid Service!

I've stayed at this hotel several times in the past for business and the treatment I received from the "host" at the Queen Ct Restaurant was absolutely the most horrid and reprehensible I've experienced in my life! As a result, I never dined anywhere within the hotel and I will most likely not stay at this hotel again. Also, the toilet didn't flush and the shower didn't have a plastic liner, just a fabric curtain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Honolulul, HI
Jun 25, 2011

Horrid Service!

I've stayed at this hotel several times in the past for business and the treatment I received from the "host" at the Queen Ct Restaurant was absolutely the most horrid and reprehensible I've experienced in my life! As a result, I never dined anywhere within the hotel and I will most likely not stay at this hotel again. Also, the toilet didn't flush and the shower didn't have a plastic liner, just a fabric curtain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hitraveler
Business
SF Bay
Oct 14, 2010

Hilo Hawaiian

Good for business stay but hotel and facilities are a little dated. Good location in the park and view of Hilo Bay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hitraveler
Business
SF Bay
Oct 14, 2010

Hilo Hawaiian

Good for business stay but hotel and facilities are a little dated. Good location in the park and view of Hilo Bay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Scottsdale, AZ
Oct 12, 2010

Decent hotel

We spent a couple of days in the Big Island to visit the Volcanoes National Park and Mauna Kea. The hotel, in Hilo, was conveniently located to travel to these two destinations. It's also very close to the airport and Hilo's downtown. The hotel has seen better days, but because we didn't intend to spend a lot of time there, it was fine. Rooms are plain but decent. The breakfast buffet is very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top