$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 31, 2014 Check-out: Nov 1, 2014

Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

3 stars
71 Banyan Drive, Hilo (Big Island of Hawaii), HI 96720
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
209 reviews
Perfect Weekend

Staff is great. Room had an amazing view. If all I did was sit on the Lanai and look out over the... See full review

  • mruts
  • Oct 13, 2014
Great Hilo Stay

This hotel after being renovated is fantastic! Clean rooms, clean environment, and friendly staff.... See full review

  • JALNP
  • Nov 23, 2013
Island-style hotel on Hilo waterfront offers value and volcano views
The landmark Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel has long been a favorite for its affordability, waterfront location and easygoing Island atmosphere. Downtown Hilo's shops and attractions are within a few minutes' drive, and the hotel is right on the same road that leads to Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. Choose a room facing Hilo Bay and enjoy bonus views of Hilo town and the volcano Mauna Kea.
Highlights
  • Take the footbridge near the hotel to Coconut Island for a picnic or swim, keeping an eye out for sea turtles
  • Perfect views of the snow-capped volcano Mauna Loa
  • Stock up on groceries at the nearby Hilo Farmers Market
  • Some rooms have private balconies
  • Swimming pool and sundeck
Location
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel sits on the edge of peaceful Hilo Bay along historic Banyan Drive in central Hilo. The hotel looks out onto Coconut Island and the volcano Mauna Kea, which rises behind the town. Liliuokalani Park and Gardens is steps away, and a golf course is just across the street. Hilo offers visitors a view of "real Hawaii" life and easy access to Hawaii Volcanoes National Park.
Rooms
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel accommodations include standard, superior and ocean view rooms; junior suites with a separate living room; and 1-bedroom suites, which include a kitchenette. All feature relaxed Island decor, high-speed Internet access (fees may apply), daily housekeeping service, air conditioning and TV. Most also offer a private balcony.
Dining
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel offers Queen's Court Restaurant, popular for its dinner and breakfast buffets. The hotel's Waioli Lounge offers cocktails and appetizers daily. Hilo offers many additional restaurants and cafes including the nearby Ken's House of Pancakes, a longtime local favorite.
Recreation
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel includes a swimming pool and sundeck. Massage services are also available (fees apply). A 9-hole golf course is just across the street (fees apply).
Transportation
  • Hilo International Airport (3.6 mi/5.7 km)
Attractions
  • Pacific Tsunami Museum (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Lyman Museum (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • Imiloa Astronomy Center of Hawaii (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • Panaewa Rainforest Zoo & Gardens (6 mi/9.7 km)
  • Akaka Falls (10.4 mi/16.7 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (35.1 mi/56.5 km)

Hotel Map

19.7277 -155.0663
Area served
Hilo, Hawaii
Nearby airports
Hilo Airport (ITO) 2 miles/Kona Airport (KOA) 130 miles
Area description
Located on Hilo Bay in quaint Hilo town.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel Rooms

Superior Hotel Room
This guest room has one king, or two double beds. Some rooms also include a balcony.
One Bedroom Banyan View Room
This guest room has one king size bed and one sofa sleeper. This guest room has a kitchenette, air conditioning, alarm clock radio, coffee/tea maker, direct dial telephone, refrigerator and remote control color cable TV.
Deluxe Ocean View
This guest room has one king, two queen beds available. Room also includes a balcony.
Standard Hotel Room
This guest room has one king, or two double beds available. Some with a balcony.

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Queen's Court Dining Room
Serves American Cuisine. Breakfast Hours 6:30 - 9:30 Lunch Hours 11:15 - 1:15 Dinner Hours 5:30 - 9:00 Dress Code Is Casual

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (209)

Ratings and reviews for Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
209 out of 209
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.6

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Hawaiin Chick
Business
Sparta, MI
Jun 23, 2010

Unworth the Price

We traveled here for our honeymoon. Our trip was good except this hotel was not very accommodating. The hotel cleaned the towels, sheets, etc. every fourth day. That made me feel as though our room was not very clean and maintained. The internet had a fee and the other hotel I stayed at in Oahu did not. There was not a complimentary breakfast either. I do not know why I had to pay so much for so little.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

I do not recommend staying on this side of the island if you plan to visit the Big Island of Hawaii. The touristy side of the island is the Kona side. Also, the hotels on the Hilo side seem old and not very nice.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Javelin
Business
Lander, WY
Jul 11, 2010

Hilo Hawaiian not good

Hotel was old, very dated. Clean but did not feel clean. A/C did not work. Could not wait to leave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Hilo Bay Cafe in the Wal-Mart shopping center had fantastic high quality food. Has to be the best in town.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MR Family traveler
Business
Seattle
Nov 20, 2011

Smells

Dingy, dark, smelly. Smells like cat urine. Smokes wafts up the balcony to the smoke free room. Close to airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Alpha Dog California
Business
San Jose, CA
Jul 3, 2012

Wish there was a better hotel in Hilo...

Hotel selections in Hilo are slim, there seems to be a lack of national chains which is disappointing because chains have quality standards. We choose this hotel in attempt to get the best of what looked like a bad set of choices going in. I don't know if this was the case, but our experience was awful. The room was dingy and had a funky smell. The room has not been updated since the hotel was built, save for a new flat panel TV. There were a massive amount of "body fluid" stains on the mattress and sheets, we had to have housekeeping replace them. On top of that, the hotel charged extra for internet and didn't provide coffee for the coffee machine. Bottom line, wish we could have found a decent hotel in Hilo, but this wasn't it. The location was good but not much else. We felt "nickle and dimed" by a horrendously dirty hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
KtBL
Business
Denver, CO
Oct 30, 2012

out of date, good location

This hotel is woefully out of date and is not a pleasant stay. Beds are uncomfortable, and room was not very clean. good location in Hilo though. No WiFi in the rooms either, which is a pain. good for one night to crash, but nothing more....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Eat at Lucy's Taqueria!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
N/A
Jun 20, 2010

Convenient location, unclean room

We stayed in the ocean view room for one night. The room was not very clean, with both of our beds having several strands of hair between sheets. The room decor and all the furniture in the room looked old and need some updating. In addition, our room was close to the elevators and the ice machine so it kept us up at night. I would recommend staying somewhere else if you have the option.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix, AZ
May 3, 2009

Hawaii Trip

Would never stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Cafe Pesto

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
Jan 29, 2011

Not impressed at all.

+ Beautiful view. Close to volcanoes. Bed ok. - Bathtub ring; sliding glass door not clean; very old and outdated; wallpaper scraped, patched, and faded; Lighting insufficient; Internet "hookup" on dresser - not a user-friendly location - not wireless. Mirror old and stained; hairdryer, iron and ironing board not included; ice machine removed from all but two floors; very disappointing; could have been a truck stop but paid 3x price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
troutnahook
Business
Idaho
Apr 24, 2010

Rude

The front desk staff was rude and unfriendly. When asked about restaurants the woman up front stated; there are many you have to find them. Evidently they don't like blonde white women for some reason. The room had roaches.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Don't bother

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Providence, RI
Apr 22, 2009

No, no no.

We were honestly only in Hilo for one night and two days as a stopover on our way back home from Maui (STAY THERE INSTEAD!) to see the Volcano. I don't regret seeing the Volcano, but after our fantastic accomodations at the Royal Lahaina Resort in Maui, this was just sketchy and awful. The bed had bedbugs, our room smelled like smoke and we could smell other guests smoking in their rooms even though it was supposedly a non-smoking hotel, the area underneath our balcony was occupied by hooligans and to top it all off the ancient smoke alarm kept going off for no reason. Also, when checking in I was informed that I was going to be having two double beds because I "did not specify" that I wanted a king. Now, when you a book a room type (there is only one here) that comes with a choice of double bed or king, you specify WHEN YOU CHECK IN. I have NEVER had that problem before in all my years of traveling.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top