$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2014 Check-out: Aug 25, 2014

Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

3 stars
71 Banyan Drive, Hilo (Big Island of Hawaii), HI 96720
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
351 reviews
Great Hilo Stay

This hotel after being renovated is fantastic! Clean rooms, clean environment, and friendly staff.... See full review

  • JALNP
  • Nov 23, 2013
Great stay!

We couldn't ask for better. The location is perfect. The rooms are dated but very clean and... See full review

  • B. Timothy
  • May 16, 2013
Island-style hotel on Hilo waterfront offers value and volcano views
The landmark Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel has long been a favorite for its affordability, waterfront location and easygoing Island atmosphere. Downtown Hilo's shops and attractions are within a few minutes' drive, and the hotel is right on the same road that leads to Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. Choose a room facing Hilo Bay and enjoy bonus views of Hilo town and the volcano Mauna Kea.
Highlights
  • Take the footbridge near the hotel to Coconut Island for a picnic or swim, keeping an eye out for sea turtles
  • Perfect views of the snow-capped volcano Mauna Loa
  • Stock up on groceries at the nearby Hilo Farmers Market
  • Some rooms have private balconies
  • Swimming pool and sundeck
Location
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel sits on the edge of peaceful Hilo Bay along historic Banyan Drive in central Hilo. The hotel looks out onto Coconut Island and the volcano Mauna Kea, which rises behind the town. Liliuokalani Park and Gardens is steps away, and a golf course is just across the street. Hilo offers visitors a view of "real Hawaii" life and easy access to Hawaii Volcanoes National Park.
Rooms
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel accommodations include standard, superior and ocean view rooms; junior suites with a separate living room; and 1-bedroom suites, which include a kitchenette. All feature relaxed Island decor, high-speed Internet access (fees may apply), daily housekeeping service, air conditioning and TV. Most also offer a private balcony.
Dining
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel offers Queen's Court Restaurant, popular for its dinner and breakfast buffets. The hotel's Waioli Lounge offers cocktails and appetizers daily. Hilo offers many additional restaurants and cafes including the nearby Ken's House of Pancakes, a longtime local favorite.
Recreation
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel includes a swimming pool and sundeck. Massage services are also available (fees apply). A 9-hole golf course is just across the street (fees apply).
Transportation
  • Hilo International Airport (3.6 mi/5.7 km)
Attractions
  • Pacific Tsunami Museum (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Lyman Museum (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • Imiloa Astronomy Center of Hawaii (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • Panaewa Rainforest Zoo & Gardens (6 mi/9.7 km)
  • Akaka Falls (10.4 mi/16.7 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (35.1 mi/56.5 km)

Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel Rooms

Superior Hotel Room
This guest room has one king, or two double beds. Some rooms also include a balcony.
One Bedroom Banyan View Room
This guest room has one king size bed and one sofa sleeper. This guest room has a kitchenette, air conditioning, alarm clock radio, coffee/tea maker, direct dial telephone, refrigerator and remote control color cable TV.
Deluxe Ocean View
This guest room has one king, two queen beds available. Room also includes a balcony.
Standard Hotel Room
This guest room has one king, or two double beds available. Some with a balcony.

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

19.7277 -155.0663
Area served
Hilo, Hawaii
Nearby airports
Hilo Airport (ITO) 2 miles/Kona Airport (KOA) 130 miles
Area description
Located on Hilo Bay in quaint Hilo town.

Dining

Queen's Court Dining Room
Serves American Cuisine. Breakfast Hours 6:30 - 9:30 Lunch Hours 11:15 - 1:15 Dinner Hours 5:30 - 9:00 Dress Code Is Casual

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (351)

Ratings and reviews for Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
351 out of 351
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.6

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kris Kalani
Waipahu, HI
Jun 29, 2011

Old Hawaii

Check in was fast & friendly. Room could use some updating. The TV was tiny, furniture/decor must be from 20+ years ago (the furniture on the balcony made noises when you moved it). The view of Coconut Island & Hilo Bay was awesome though! Room did not have a hair dryer, iron or ironing board. Check out was fast & friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Big Island Candies is a must!

Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kris Kalani
Waipahu, HI
Jun 29, 2011

Old Hawaii

Check in was fast & friendly. Room could use some updating. The TV was tiny, furniture/decor must be from 20+ years ago (the furniture on the balcony made noises when you moved it). The view of Coconut Island & Hilo Bay was awesome though! Room did not have a hair dryer, iron or ironing board. Check out was fast & friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Big Island Candies is a must!

Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Honolulul, HI
Jun 25, 2011

Horrid Service!

I've stayed at this hotel several times in the past for business and the treatment I received from the "host" at the Queen Ct Restaurant was absolutely the most horrid and reprehensible I've experienced in my life! As a result, I never dined anywhere within the hotel and I will most likely not stay at this hotel again. Also, the toilet didn't flush and the shower didn't have a plastic liner, just a fabric curtain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Honolulul, HI
Jun 25, 2011

Horrid Service!

I've stayed at this hotel several times in the past for business and the treatment I received from the "host" at the Queen Ct Restaurant was absolutely the most horrid and reprehensible I've experienced in my life! As a result, I never dined anywhere within the hotel and I will most likely not stay at this hotel again. Also, the toilet didn't flush and the shower didn't have a plastic liner, just a fabric curtain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Oahu
Jun 16, 2011

Great Value

Not the Marriot, but definitely good value for the price. Also has a nice restaurant with great view on the bottom floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Akaka Falls

Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Oahu
Jun 16, 2011

Great Value

Not the Marriot, but definitely good value for the price. Also has a nice restaurant with great view on the bottom floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Akaka Falls

Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
nghk
San Francisco
Jun 15, 2011

Less than average

The receptionists were cold and unfriendly. The internet charges $41 for one week, but the cable detent is broken. I called the second day but the cable is not replaced until the 6th day. And only after numerous calls. The chamber maid does not leave coffee packs two days in a row. I had to call and have them delivered. Otherwise, it's an older and run of the mill hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ken's Restaurant is good and inexpensive. We wound up eating there almost everyday.

Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
nghk
San Francisco
Jun 15, 2011

Less than average

The receptionists were cold and unfriendly. The internet charges $41 for one week, but the cable detent is broken. I called the second day but the cable is not replaced until the 6th day. And only after numerous calls. The chamber maid does not leave coffee packs two days in a row. I had to call and have them delivered. Otherwise, it's an older and run of the mill hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ken's Restaurant is good and inexpensive. We wound up eating there almost everyday.

Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
May traveller
Turkey
May 21, 2011

Secluded location at Hilo

I think the location was great, only 5 minutes to the city center. And we got our room upgraded to sea view room with additional payment. We had a view of this little coconut island, and it was a romantic atmosphere. There is not much to do at Hilo town center, but there are many natural attractions nearby (rainbow falls, akaka falls, hawaiian botanical garden, etc). [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
May traveller
Turkey
May 21, 2011

Secluded location at Hilo

I think the location was great, only 5 minutes to the city center. And we got our room upgraded to sea view room with additional payment. We had a view of this little coconut island, and it was a romantic atmosphere. There is not much to do at Hilo town center, but there are many natural attractions nearby (rainbow falls, akaka falls, hawaiian botanical garden, etc). [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top