$148 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 8, 2015 Check-out: Sep 9, 2015

Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

3 stars
View map of 71 Banyan Drive, Hilo (Big Island of Hawaii), HI 96720

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
202 out of 202
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.6

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Houston, TX
Jul 8, 2011

overnight stay, June 29 2011

The hotel is located only a few miles away from the airport. Despite that you can see the approaching planes nearby we did not experience any flight noise. Our room was ordinarily furnished. It lacked a simple curtain (only had a full to block out any light), the existence of a refrigerator, an ironing board with iron as well as a hair dryer. The restaurant food had a fair dinner selection and was of good quality. The breakfast buffet was good, too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kris Kalani
Couples
Waipahu, HI
Jun 29, 2011

Old Hawaii

Check in was fast & friendly. Room could use some updating. The TV was tiny, furniture/decor must be from 20+ years ago (the furniture on the balcony made noises when you moved it). The view of Coconut Island & Hilo Bay was awesome though! Room did not have a hair dryer, iron or ironing board. Check out was fast & friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Big Island Candies is a must!

Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Honolulul, HI
Jun 25, 2011

Horrid Service!

I've stayed at this hotel several times in the past for business and the treatment I received from the "host" at the Queen Ct Restaurant was absolutely the most horrid and reprehensible I've experienced in my life! As a result, I never dined anywhere within the hotel and I will most likely not stay at this hotel again. Also, the toilet didn't flush and the shower didn't have a plastic liner, just a fabric curtain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Oahu
Jun 16, 2011

Great Value

Not the Marriot, but definitely good value for the price. Also has a nice restaurant with great view on the bottom floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Akaka Falls

Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
nghk
Couples
San Francisco
Jun 15, 2011

Less than average

The receptionists were cold and unfriendly. The internet charges $41 for one week, but the cable detent is broken. I called the second day but the cable is not replaced until the 6th day. And only after numerous calls. The chamber maid does not leave coffee packs two days in a row. I had to call and have them delivered. Otherwise, it's an older and run of the mill hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ken's Restaurant is good and inexpensive. We wound up eating there almost everyday.

Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
May traveller
Family
Turkey
May 21, 2011

Secluded location at Hilo

I think the location was great, only 5 minutes to the city center. And we got our room upgraded to sea view room with additional payment. We had a view of this little coconut island, and it was a romantic atmosphere. There is not much to do at Hilo town center, but there are many natural attractions nearby (rainbow falls, akaka falls, hawaiian botanical garden, etc). [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
chelitame
Family
San Diego
May 9, 2011

WHAT TO EXPECT

My husband and I had to go to Hilo to visit his stepdad. The hotel has a perfect location in Hilo. The food is decent and somewhat expensive. But at a walking distance you have a pancake house "THE PLACE" at Hilo you have to eat the locals say also there is a place near the pond, very decent food also. We took a tour to the volcano on a bike adventure, I really recommend this tour. They picked us up at the hotel. Also the front desk tours booth give you maps and suggestions on what you can go see near by. We ended up renting a car at the airport and driving to the near district of KONA (pretty place with small beaches though) Near the Hotel there is a farmers market with excellent fruit choices, pineapples, mangos etc. Also we went to Waipio Valley with our rented jeep, they do not allow rental cars down the hill so we took the van tour (NOT WORTH IT).. Hilo in general is cloudy, rainy, and somewhat boring with really good food, the cows are grass fead. The hotel is totally outdated, no room service, do not expect much, but at least it has clean bathrooms. Also at a decent driving distance you can go see several waterfalls.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Newfoundland Girl
Couples
Greensboro, NC
May 9, 2011

Wish It Hadn't Rained!

Our room had two double beds with plenty of room to move around, and our balcony overlooked the park beside the ocean. It was very quiet, clean and comfortable. I liked that the dressing area was separate from the tub and tiolet. Having parking in the basement was a plus because it rained so hard during our stay. Food at the hotel restaurant was mediocre and expensive. The hotel was a perfect location from which to explore the beautiful area north of Hilo and the Volcano National Park.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Belmont, ca
May 8, 2011

Nice ocean view

The hotel was ok. Clearly an aging property in need of some renovation. We had an ocean view room that was nice, although we were close to the elevators and could hear the machinery.. The weather was cool and rainy, so we didn't use the air conditioner or try the pool. The bathtub was the smallest bathtub I have ever seen in a hotel. We only stayed for one night and didn't use the restaurant. Ken's house of pancakes is just a short walk away for breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ken's house of pancakes

Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Retired Me
Family
Boston, MA
Mar 13, 2011

Great Location

Rooms were spacious, with lovely balconey overlooking Hilo Bay and looking out to Mauna Kea. Just hope it is as nice since the tsunami hit this week.Breakfast and Dinner options at the hotel were okay, but lunch was none existent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Many great restaurants were within a few minutes drive, as well as many of hte attractions for the area.

Back to menu Return to top