$177 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 15, 2015 Check-out: Feb 17, 2015

Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

3 stars
71 Banyan Drive, Hilo (Big Island of Hawaii), HI 96720
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
211 reviews
Great Grandmas visits

very good location and view, buffet a little pricey but it was very filling. See full review

  • Mcmonsta
  • Jan 24, 2015
Perfect Weekend

Staff is great. Room had an amazing view. If all I did was sit on the Lanai and look out over the... See full review

  • mruts
  • Oct 13, 2014
Island-style hotel on Hilo waterfront offers value and volcano views
The landmark Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel has long been a favorite for its affordability, waterfront location and easygoing Island atmosphere. Downtown Hilo's shops and attractions are within a few minutes' drive, and the hotel is right on the same road that leads to Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. Choose a room facing Hilo Bay and enjoy bonus views of Hilo town and the volcano Mauna Kea.
Highlights
  • Take the footbridge near the hotel to Coconut Island for a picnic or swim, keeping an eye out for sea turtles
  • Perfect views of the snow-capped volcano Mauna Loa
  • Stock up on groceries at the nearby Hilo Farmers Market
  • Some rooms have private balconies
  • Swimming pool and sundeck
Location
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel sits on the edge of peaceful Hilo Bay along historic Banyan Drive in central Hilo. The hotel looks out onto Coconut Island and the volcano Mauna Kea, which rises behind the town. Liliuokalani Park and Gardens is steps away, and a golf course is just across the street. Hilo offers visitors a view of "real Hawaii" life and easy access to Hawaii Volcanoes National Park.
Rooms
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel accommodations include standard, superior and ocean view rooms; junior suites with a separate living room; and 1-bedroom suites, which include a kitchenette. All feature relaxed Island decor, high-speed Internet access (fees may apply), daily housekeeping service, air conditioning and TV. Most also offer a private balcony.
Dining
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel offers Queen's Court Restaurant, popular for its dinner and breakfast buffets. The hotel's Waioli Lounge offers cocktails and appetizers daily. Hilo offers many additional restaurants and cafes including the nearby Ken's House of Pancakes, a longtime local favorite.
Recreation
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel includes a swimming pool and sundeck. Massage services are also available (fees apply). A 9-hole golf course is just across the street (fees apply).
Transportation
  • Hilo International Airport (3.6 mi/5.7 km)
Attractions
  • Pacific Tsunami Museum (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Lyman Museum (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • Imiloa Astronomy Center of Hawaii (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • Panaewa Rainforest Zoo & Gardens (6 mi/9.7 km)
  • Akaka Falls (10.4 mi/16.7 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (35.1 mi/56.5 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel Rooms

Standard Hotel Room
This guest room has one king, or two double beds available. Some with a balcony.
Superior Hotel Room
This guest room has one king, or two double beds. Some rooms also include a balcony.
One Bedroom Banyan View Room
This guest room has one king size bed and one sofa sleeper. This guest room has a kitchenette, air conditioning, alarm clock radio, coffee/tea maker, direct dial telephone, refrigerator and remote control color cable TV.
Deluxe Ocean View
This guest room has one king, two queen beds available. Room also includes a balcony.

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Queen's Court Dining Room
Serves American Cuisine. Breakfast Hours 6:30 - 9:30 Lunch Hours 11:15 - 1:15 Dinner Hours 5:30 - 9:00 Dress Code Is Casual

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (211)

Ratings and reviews for Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
211 out of 211
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.6

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Jul 8, 2011

overnight stay, June 29 2011

The hotel is located only a few miles away from the airport. Despite that you can see the approaching planes nearby we did not experience any flight noise. Our room was ordinarily furnished. It lacked a simple curtain (only had a full to block out any light), the existence of a refrigerator, an ironing board with iron as well as a hair dryer. The restaurant food had a fair dinner selection and was of good quality. The breakfast buffet was good, too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kris Kalani
Business
Waipahu, HI
Jun 29, 2011

Old Hawaii

Check in was fast & friendly. Room could use some updating. The TV was tiny, furniture/decor must be from 20+ years ago (the furniture on the balcony made noises when you moved it). The view of Coconut Island & Hilo Bay was awesome though! Room did not have a hair dryer, iron or ironing board. Check out was fast & friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Big Island Candies is a must!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Honolulul, HI
Jun 25, 2011

Horrid Service!

I've stayed at this hotel several times in the past for business and the treatment I received from the "host" at the Queen Ct Restaurant was absolutely the most horrid and reprehensible I've experienced in my life! As a result, I never dined anywhere within the hotel and I will most likely not stay at this hotel again. Also, the toilet didn't flush and the shower didn't have a plastic liner, just a fabric curtain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oahu
Jun 16, 2011

Great Value

Not the Marriot, but definitely good value for the price. Also has a nice restaurant with great view on the bottom floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Akaka Falls

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
nghk
Business
San Francisco
Jun 15, 2011

Less than average

The receptionists were cold and unfriendly. The internet charges $41 for one week, but the cable detent is broken. I called the second day but the cable is not replaced until the 6th day. And only after numerous calls. The chamber maid does not leave coffee packs two days in a row. I had to call and have them delivered. Otherwise, it's an older and run of the mill hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ken's Restaurant is good and inexpensive. We wound up eating there almost everyday.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
May traveller
Business
Turkey
May 21, 2011

Secluded location at Hilo

I think the location was great, only 5 minutes to the city center. And we got our room upgraded to sea view room with additional payment. We had a view of this little coconut island, and it was a romantic atmosphere. There is not much to do at Hilo town center, but there are many natural attractions nearby (rainbow falls, akaka falls, hawaiian botanical garden, etc). [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
chelitame
Business
San Diego
May 9, 2011

WHAT TO EXPECT

My husband and I had to go to Hilo to visit his stepdad. The hotel has a perfect location in Hilo. The food is decent and somewhat expensive. But at a walking distance you have a pancake house "THE PLACE" at Hilo you have to eat the locals say also there is a place near the pond, very decent food also. We took a tour to the volcano on a bike adventure, I really recommend this tour. They picked us up at the hotel. Also the front desk tours booth give you maps and suggestions on what you can go see near by. We ended up renting a car at the airport and driving to the near district of KONA (pretty place with small beaches though) Near the Hotel there is a farmers market with excellent fruit choices, pineapples, mangos etc. Also we went to Waipio Valley with our rented jeep, they do not allow rental cars down the hill so we took the van tour (NOT WORTH IT).. Hilo in general is cloudy, rainy, and somewhat boring with really good food, the cows are grass fead. The hotel is totally outdated, no room service, do not expect much, but at least it has clean bathrooms. Also at a decent driving distance you can go see several waterfalls.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Newfoundland Girl
Business
Greensboro, NC
May 9, 2011

Wish It Hadn't Rained!

Our room had two double beds with plenty of room to move around, and our balcony overlooked the park beside the ocean. It was very quiet, clean and comfortable. I liked that the dressing area was separate from the tub and tiolet. Having parking in the basement was a plus because it rained so hard during our stay. Food at the hotel restaurant was mediocre and expensive. The hotel was a perfect location from which to explore the beautiful area north of Hilo and the Volcano National Park.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Belmont, ca
May 8, 2011

Nice ocean view

The hotel was ok. Clearly an aging property in need of some renovation. We had an ocean view room that was nice, although we were close to the elevators and could hear the machinery.. The weather was cool and rainy, so we didn't use the air conditioner or try the pool. The bathtub was the smallest bathtub I have ever seen in a hotel. We only stayed for one night and didn't use the restaurant. Ken's house of pancakes is just a short walk away for breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ken's house of pancakes

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Colorado Couple
Business
Denver, CO
Mar 16, 2011

Comfortable, safe stay

We visited all the Big Island sights with Hilo as our base. Castle Hawaiian has the quietest air conditioners we've ever encountered. Location was great. Great information while handling the tsunami alert evacuation 3-11-11.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Big Island Ohana Cafe in downtown Hilo was a good breakfast spot. Don't miss the Farmers Market. Hilo Bay Cafe near Walmart is also a must meal.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top