$155 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 7, 2015 Check-out: Aug 8, 2015

Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

3 stars
View map of 71 Banyan Drive, Hilo (Big Island of Hawaii), HI 96720

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
193 out of 193
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.6

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
fkearney8
Business
Seattle, WA
Nov 30, 2011

Almost great

I'd say this place could be excellent with a few minor tweaks. - No room service. For a place of this class and price I'd expect there to be room service. They have a restaurant and lounge, but no room service. - Cleaning schedule: our room was never serviced during a 3 night stay. The 1st morning, I don't know why they didn't service the room. We weren't there for a long time but when we came back - no service. I didn't mind too much. But then the 2nd morning, they left a note saying we had the "do not disturb" sign up when they came to service the room. I guess that's fine, but I would have liked it if they tried again later. Not getting the room serviced at all takes my review down a notch. However, my general feeling was that the place was well-run and they took care of their guests. I believe the room-servicing was more of an accident than normal operating procedure. The staff was very friendly. The location is very nice, and their breakfast buffet is pricey (like everything else in Hawaii) but a good value (relative to other Hawaii values, anyway). If you don't care about room service, I'd definitely recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Hit the Hilo Farmer's Market nearby to get some lunches or snacks.

Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
riki651
Business
Honolulu, HI, USA
Nov 28, 2011

see the family

The hotel lanai had grass growing. if not grass something green growing in the lanai. the ac is really small. there's dust on the lamp. the TV was nice. the bed sheets had stain already there. it was like they didn't wash it enough. other than that the dinner was nice because it was a buffet. the parking was free which was really nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Only night life there is in the hotels. otherwise good luck looking for a bar. safer at the hotel next to yours or at the same hotel if any.

Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
docgofflorida
Business
gainesville, fl
Nov 26, 2011

bill

good but need better directions to location and happy hour specials

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MR Family traveler
Business
Seattle
Nov 20, 2011

Smells

Dingy, dark, smelly. Smells like cat urine. Smokes wafts up the balcony to the smoke free room. Close to airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JK of DC
Business
Washington, DC, USA
Nov 13, 2011

Nice view of the bay from the deluxe rooms

The original standard room smelled musty and had a 'good' view of the parking lot. For a reasonable cost we upgraded the following day to a deluxe room on the next floor up. This was much the same, except that it smelled fresher and had a great view of the bay and of Mauna Kea. Not sure the vacuuming was done particularly well, as found 2 chocolate bars, a camera battery, and a piece of volcanic rock on the floor of the room. No room service available. Lunches are limited to pre-prepared box sandwiches and soup.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Ken's 24/7 Pancake House

Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RANDY B
Business
Calabasas, CA, USA
Nov 9, 2011

HILO HAWAIIAN

GREAT STAFF- VERY HELPFUL- AVERAGE ROOMS - GREAT VIEW

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

RUEBENS MEXICAN FOOD... OUTSTANDING

Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cozmic
Business
Iowa, USA
Oct 31, 2011

Great place

This hotel has the greatest view! We had an absolutely fantastic time! The staff was very helpful and the restaurant and lounge are great. The balcony room overlooking coconut island was spectacular, and the island and Leilukiloni Japanese park are right next door within short walking distance. The bay is right next to the hotel with many kinds of brightly colored fish, puffer fish, and sea turtles to watch. This is a great place to relax on the balcony and watch the comings and goings in the bay. The rooms are very clean and the staff is great. Can't wait to go again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ken's house of pancakes is a few blocks away, and has the best french fries I have ever had in my life :)

Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
STARUB
Business
Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Oct 25, 2011

A Staff With "Malama"

"Malama" means "care" in Hawaiian, and the Hilo Hawaiian staff were friendly, responsive and helpful in every way. The HH will be our choice for future visits to Hilo! Mahalo!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Enjoy walking to and around the nearby parks. Beautiful!

Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rhondak0000
Business
Texas
Sep 28, 2011

Hilo Hawaiian

There aren't many places to stay on Hilo. This is the truely authentic side of the Big Island. The island is beautiful and there is so much to see. From our experience, Hilo Hawaiian is the best hotel if you want to be close to the volcano, amazing waterfalls and rain forest environment. If what you are looking for is a 5 star resort on the golden coast, try resorts in Kona. This hotel was exactly what we wanted- close to Volcanoes National Park, with some scenery and close to local shops and eateries. My 9 year old son loved exploring coconut island, a walking bridge distance away! It's a nice hotel with friendly people and clean rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Ken's house of pancakes! Ate there 3 times in 2 days!

Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kieu
Business
El Monte, CA, USA
Sep 25, 2011

Hilo trip

Location was great. Located right along the shore, providing an awesome view if you have an oceanview room. Close drive to Hilo airport. Lots of parking with open and underground parking options.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top