$134 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 27, 2014 Check-out: Dec 28, 2014

Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

3 stars
71 Banyan Drive, Hilo (Big Island of Hawaii), HI 96720
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
209 reviews
Perfect Weekend

Staff is great. Room had an amazing view. If all I did was sit on the Lanai and look out over the... See full review

  • mruts
  • Oct 13, 2014
Great Hilo Stay

This hotel after being renovated is fantastic! Clean rooms, clean environment, and friendly staff.... See full review

  • JALNP
  • Nov 23, 2013
Island-style hotel on Hilo waterfront offers value and volcano views
The landmark Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel has long been a favorite for its affordability, waterfront location and easygoing Island atmosphere. Downtown Hilo's shops and attractions are within a few minutes' drive, and the hotel is right on the same road that leads to Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. Choose a room facing Hilo Bay and enjoy bonus views of Hilo town and the volcano Mauna Kea.
Highlights
  • Take the footbridge near the hotel to Coconut Island for a picnic or swim, keeping an eye out for sea turtles
  • Perfect views of the snow-capped volcano Mauna Loa
  • Stock up on groceries at the nearby Hilo Farmers Market
  • Some rooms have private balconies
  • Swimming pool and sundeck
Location
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel sits on the edge of peaceful Hilo Bay along historic Banyan Drive in central Hilo. The hotel looks out onto Coconut Island and the volcano Mauna Kea, which rises behind the town. Liliuokalani Park and Gardens is steps away, and a golf course is just across the street. Hilo offers visitors a view of "real Hawaii" life and easy access to Hawaii Volcanoes National Park.
Rooms
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel accommodations include standard, superior and ocean view rooms; junior suites with a separate living room; and 1-bedroom suites, which include a kitchenette. All feature relaxed Island decor, high-speed Internet access (fees may apply), daily housekeeping service, air conditioning and TV. Most also offer a private balcony.
Dining
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel offers Queen's Court Restaurant, popular for its dinner and breakfast buffets. The hotel's Waioli Lounge offers cocktails and appetizers daily. Hilo offers many additional restaurants and cafes including the nearby Ken's House of Pancakes, a longtime local favorite.
Recreation
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel includes a swimming pool and sundeck. Massage services are also available (fees apply). A 9-hole golf course is just across the street (fees apply).
Transportation
  • Hilo International Airport (3.6 mi/5.7 km)
Attractions
  • Pacific Tsunami Museum (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Lyman Museum (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • Imiloa Astronomy Center of Hawaii (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • Panaewa Rainforest Zoo & Gardens (6 mi/9.7 km)
  • Akaka Falls (10.4 mi/16.7 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (35.1 mi/56.5 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel Rooms

Standard Hotel Room
This guest room has one king, or two double beds available. Some with a balcony.
Superior Hotel Room
This guest room has one king, or two double beds. Some rooms also include a balcony.
One Bedroom Banyan View Room
This guest room has one king size bed and one sofa sleeper. This guest room has a kitchenette, air conditioning, alarm clock radio, coffee/tea maker, direct dial telephone, refrigerator and remote control color cable TV.
Deluxe Ocean View
This guest room has one king, two queen beds available. Room also includes a balcony.

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Queen's Court Dining Room
Serves American Cuisine. Breakfast Hours 6:30 - 9:30 Lunch Hours 11:15 - 1:15 Dinner Hours 5:30 - 9:00 Dress Code Is Casual

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (209)

Ratings and reviews for Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
209 out of 209
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.6

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kihei, HI
Jul 10, 2008

good for the money

with this economy this is a good hotel for your buck...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Apr 22, 2008

Great location

View was beautiful and staff was very accomodating. Upon our arrival the first night they had made no rooms available with two beds. They gave us a room with a king size bed. We were two senior citizen women and they promised us another room first thing in the morning so moved us as promised to a room with two double beds. We really appreciated the move to the new room. Everyone was very pleasant and maid service was excellent. Dining room was a little spendy so ate at other restaurants. Service was poor in the restaurant. We went in first night and were shown to a table and 30 minutes later we had not even received a menu. Got up and walked out due to poor service. Otherwise, everything was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Ken's Pancake House has excellent food and good service. Japanese park next to hotel is beautiful and so nice for walking tour.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Mar 17, 2008

The Aloha Spirit is alive at the Castle Hilo Hawaiian

The Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel is located 10 minutes from the airport on the shoreline of Hilo Bay, a very beautiful spot. The hotel staff was very gracious and accommodating throughout our short visit, they made us feel very welcomed. The room was very clean, spacious and comfortable with a balcony so we could enjoy the scenery and fresh air. The restaurant offered a great Hawaiian Seafood Buffet dinner that was popular with guests and local residents as well. The hotel also has ample free parking for guests. The only recommendation we made was to fix the tub drainage, very slow. Other than that, we will definitely stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Birmingham, AL
Mar 1, 2008

My review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

nice grounds,decent room,staff was very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

a car is a must to see anything, be sure to take a helicoptor ride

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Feb 14, 2008

Great Location Very Hawaiian

We enjoyed our stay - the only drawback was the room smelled musty when we walked in - and the musty smell transferred on to our stored clothing. Other than that everything was very nice. Great location - great views - the gounds were pleasant to walk around. Would go again, just remember to bring lots of air santitizer ;-)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Hawaii Volcano National Park - a MUST see!! Incredible. Rainforests/ocean/lava - the most amazing experiences all on one island!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Honolulu, HI
Dec 6, 2007

Friendly but very plain

The Castle Hilo Hawaiian is in an excellent location if you're doing business in Hilo, close to the airport, state offices, and downtown. Hilo is not a fancy place and this hotel is not a fancy hotel. Very friendly and courteous staff, warm atmosphere but everything is very plain and simple - few amenities. Rooms are neat and clean but again, very plain. Ask for an oceanview room if available. The view of Hilo Bay, especially on a sunny day, is gorgeous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the nearby Coconut Grill for dinner - good food in a nostalgic, casual atmosphere.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Oct 2, 2007

Great location and services. Very helpful.

The hotel was older but well maintained. Staff were great. Food was priced well and was excellent. The location was great. Wonderful views of the ocean, bay and crusie ships going back and forth. We walked to many local events, shopping, dining, and two great beachs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many great sea fool resteraunts within walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oakland, CA
May 21, 2007

Family Oriented

The Castle Hawaiian Hotel had a very pleasant, friendly staff who were always smiling and just seemed to start my day with a smile on my face as well. The bathroom had extra towels which was put there without us having to ask for them and the room had beds that were so comfortable we fell asleep very quickly. Also, the hotel was right next door to a beautiful, peaceful park which made the morning jog great! My family and I had an enjoyable experience and will certainly stay there on our next trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Three blocks away there's a restaurant that has the most remarkable breakfasts.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kahului, HI
Apr 29, 2007

Like Family

The Hilo Hawaiian Hotel has been a family favorite for years now. Our flight from Maui to Hilo was delayed and the staff when checking in was very accommodating and understanding. We had the seafood dinner buffet that night and everything was delicious, not expensive and we were treated like one of the ohana. The room was spacious, clean. It wasn't difficult to find parking but most the time we had to park next to hotel which was fine. The views of Hilo are gorgeous and the walk along the beach was just as beautiful. The hotel is located right along Bayan Drive so it's really close to downtown Hilo and about a 10 minute drive toward the mall and eateries. It was wonderful and we will definately stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

10 minute drive to Puainako Mall where there's lots of shopping and places to eat.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top