$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2014 Check-out: Aug 25, 2014

Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

3 stars
71 Banyan Drive, Hilo (Big Island of Hawaii), HI 96720
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
351 reviews
Great Hilo Stay

This hotel after being renovated is fantastic! Clean rooms, clean environment, and friendly staff.... See full review

  • JALNP
  • Nov 23, 2013
Great stay!

We couldn't ask for better. The location is perfect. The rooms are dated but very clean and... See full review

  • B. Timothy
  • May 16, 2013
Island-style hotel on Hilo waterfront offers value and volcano views
The landmark Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel has long been a favorite for its affordability, waterfront location and easygoing Island atmosphere. Downtown Hilo's shops and attractions are within a few minutes' drive, and the hotel is right on the same road that leads to Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. Choose a room facing Hilo Bay and enjoy bonus views of Hilo town and the volcano Mauna Kea.
Highlights
  • Take the footbridge near the hotel to Coconut Island for a picnic or swim, keeping an eye out for sea turtles
  • Perfect views of the snow-capped volcano Mauna Loa
  • Stock up on groceries at the nearby Hilo Farmers Market
  • Some rooms have private balconies
  • Swimming pool and sundeck
Location
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel sits on the edge of peaceful Hilo Bay along historic Banyan Drive in central Hilo. The hotel looks out onto Coconut Island and the volcano Mauna Kea, which rises behind the town. Liliuokalani Park and Gardens is steps away, and a golf course is just across the street. Hilo offers visitors a view of "real Hawaii" life and easy access to Hawaii Volcanoes National Park.
Rooms
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel accommodations include standard, superior and ocean view rooms; junior suites with a separate living room; and 1-bedroom suites, which include a kitchenette. All feature relaxed Island decor, high-speed Internet access (fees may apply), daily housekeeping service, air conditioning and TV. Most also offer a private balcony.
Dining
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel offers Queen's Court Restaurant, popular for its dinner and breakfast buffets. The hotel's Waioli Lounge offers cocktails and appetizers daily. Hilo offers many additional restaurants and cafes including the nearby Ken's House of Pancakes, a longtime local favorite.
Recreation
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel includes a swimming pool and sundeck. Massage services are also available (fees apply). A 9-hole golf course is just across the street (fees apply).
Transportation
  • Hilo International Airport (3.6 mi/5.7 km)
Attractions
  • Pacific Tsunami Museum (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Lyman Museum (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • Imiloa Astronomy Center of Hawaii (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • Panaewa Rainforest Zoo & Gardens (6 mi/9.7 km)
  • Akaka Falls (10.4 mi/16.7 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (35.1 mi/56.5 km)

Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel Rooms

Superior Hotel Room
This guest room has one king, or two double beds. Some rooms also include a balcony.
One Bedroom Banyan View Room
This guest room has one king size bed and one sofa sleeper. This guest room has a kitchenette, air conditioning, alarm clock radio, coffee/tea maker, direct dial telephone, refrigerator and remote control color cable TV.
Deluxe Ocean View
This guest room has one king, two queen beds available. Room also includes a balcony.
Standard Hotel Room
This guest room has one king, or two double beds available. Some with a balcony.

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

19.7277 -155.0663
Area served
Hilo, Hawaii
Nearby airports
Hilo Airport (ITO) 2 miles/Kona Airport (KOA) 130 miles
Area description
Located on Hilo Bay in quaint Hilo town.

Dining

Queen's Court Dining Room
Serves American Cuisine. Breakfast Hours 6:30 - 9:30 Lunch Hours 11:15 - 1:15 Dinner Hours 5:30 - 9:00 Dress Code Is Casual

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (351)

Ratings and reviews for Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
351 out of 351
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.6

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
janinelauren
las vegas, nv
Apr 21, 2010

Cute hotel, clean and a really good deal

We booked this vacation not planning on spending much time in the hotel. The hotel is a bit outdated in it's decor, but was clean and well worth the money. The location of the hotel is just a few minutes from downtown Hilo and near all of the major freeways to get around the island. As far as the Hilo side goes, this seemed like the nicest hotel. There's a beautiful view around the back of the hotel of Hilo Bay. Parking was so-so when we got back every night but not really a problem. The hotel itself was pretty quiet. I'd stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
janinelauren
las vegas, nv
Apr 21, 2010

Cute hotel, clean and a really good deal

We booked this vacation not planning on spending much time in the hotel. The hotel is a bit outdated in it's decor, but was clean and well worth the money. The location of the hotel is just a few minutes from downtown Hilo and near all of the major freeways to get around the island. As far as the Hilo side goes, this seemed like the nicest hotel. There's a beautiful view around the back of the hotel of Hilo Bay. Parking was so-so when we got back every night but not really a problem. The hotel itself was pretty quiet. I'd stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
trees lover
sf,ca
Apr 17, 2010

In the midst of Banyan grove

I like the most is the location. The hotel is not only located in the midst of the banyan grove, but also has access to walk to a park and the ocean. The banyan trees are very impressive. They are talk and old, like an old frien welcome you with open arms before you get to the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Within a short distant from the hotel, you can catch a free bus to the shopping mall or any part of the city. It is a good way to know the town.

Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
trees lover
sf,ca
Apr 17, 2010

In the midst of Banyan grove

I like the most is the location. The hotel is not only located in the midst of the banyan grove, but also has access to walk to a park and the ocean. The banyan trees are very impressive. They are talk and old, like an old frien welcome you with open arms before you get to the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Within a short distant from the hotel, you can catch a free bus to the shopping mall or any part of the city. It is a good way to know the town.

Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Phoenix, AZ
Apr 2, 2010

Not surprising..previous reviews correct

Not many choices of hotels in Hilo. Castle Hilo Hawaiian probably the best choice. However, it is a substandard hotel. It is outdated. Doesn't look clean. Musty, very humid. I did upgrade to ocean view room. That did make the stay a little brighter. I only stayed at this hotel one day and believe me that was enough The onl1y restaurant available, the food was only OK. Breakfast was greasy. Dinner - fish & chips was good, but the soup was just average.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Hilo Airport

Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Phoenix, AZ
Apr 2, 2010

Not surprising..previous reviews correct

Not many choices of hotels in Hilo. Castle Hilo Hawaiian probably the best choice. However, it is a substandard hotel. It is outdated. Doesn't look clean. Musty, very humid. I did upgrade to ocean view room. That did make the stay a little brighter. I only stayed at this hotel one day and believe me that was enough The onl1y restaurant available, the food was only OK. Breakfast was greasy. Dinner - fish & chips was good, but the soup was just average.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Hilo Airport

Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Yokohama, Japan
Mar 28, 2010

Old and grungy, but decent

We had read all about the hotel options in Hilo and were prepared, so arriving at the very outdated and extremely unimpressive Hilo Hawaiian was no shocker. Nothing was horrible, but being sandwiched between the Hilton Hawaiian Village and Waikoloa Beach Marriott in our trip, we just could not wait to get checked out of there. Everything was dark and sort of depressing, our toilet was semi-broken, was always running and a struggle to get it to flush. They only provide one complimentary set of coffee - you have to pay for them replace the used instant packs. We had breakfast in the hotel once (which has a nice view of the volcano on clear mornings/days), but highly recommend the nearby Ken's where we ate for dinner and breakfast - a great deal and TONS of yummy options in the menu. It was a nice spot for venturing off to the volcano and was close enough to Hilo town and grocery stores, restaurants, etc so you don't feel totally cut off from the world.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ken's House of Pancakes

Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Yokohama, Japan
Mar 28, 2010

Old and grungy, but decent

We had read all about the hotel options in Hilo and were prepared, so arriving at the very outdated and extremely unimpressive Hilo Hawaiian was no shocker. Nothing was horrible, but being sandwiched between the Hilton Hawaiian Village and Waikoloa Beach Marriott in our trip, we just could not wait to get checked out of there. Everything was dark and sort of depressing, our toilet was semi-broken, was always running and a struggle to get it to flush. They only provide one complimentary set of coffee - you have to pay for them replace the used instant packs. We had breakfast in the hotel once (which has a nice view of the volcano on clear mornings/days), but highly recommend the nearby Ken's where we ate for dinner and breakfast - a great deal and TONS of yummy options in the menu. It was a nice spot for venturing off to the volcano and was close enough to Hilo town and grocery stores, restaurants, etc so you don't feel totally cut off from the world.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ken's House of Pancakes

Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Jose, CA
Mar 19, 2010

Good value through [...]

We were looking for a place to get a good night's rest and we got that. The service was good and the breakfast spread was substantial and with the 20% coupon they gave us was reasonably priced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Jose, CA
Mar 19, 2010

Good value through [...]

We were looking for a place to get a good night's rest and we got that. The service was good and the breakfast spread was substantial and with the 20% coupon they gave us was reasonably priced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top