$148 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 8, 2015 Check-out: Sep 9, 2015

Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

3 stars
View map of 71 Banyan Drive, Hilo (Big Island of Hawaii), HI 96720

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
202 out of 202
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.6

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Taipei
Oct 3, 2008

View

Very beautiful ocean view. The parking lot is underground with handicap access.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The banyan tree park is right across the street.

Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Harrison, NJ
Oct 2, 2008

As good as it gets...for Hilo

There aren't many hotel choices in Hilo, Hawaii. For its location and price, the Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel is, as far as I can tell, as good as it gets for hotels in Hilo. The decor is definitely dated. The ocean view upgrade is definitely worth it, although you shouldn't expect to see beachfront views. It looks out onto Hilo Bay, which is nice in its own right, but you won't hear ocean waves outside the lanai. We never ate at the property, but they seemed to have a decent buffet breakfast/dinner going on. We just preferred to check out the local dining scene, which equated to eating at Ken's House of Pancakes most nights. =)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
USA
Aug 26, 2008

good stay

This hotel was comfortable however the room was very warm and stuffy. It had a weird smell to the room when we first walked in. The air condition wasn't on, and once it was turned on the room wasn't as stuffy. The fridge wasn't on and we had food to place in it but had to turn it on first. The first time I stayed at this hospital the hotel and room was better and the room was more comfortable and not as stuffy. It didn't have a smell at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

national volcano park

Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Baldwinsville, NY
Aug 3, 2008

Scenic View

Very nice view from oceanside. Great location for seeing the east side of Hawaii. But, the waterfalls are only a trickle in August. Good if you are spending a lot of time in the local area or at Volcanoes National Park. For a short visit consider the drive from the west side as the hotels are much nicer. The hotel itself is well located in Hilo. The surrounding parks and gardens are amazing. But this is not a first class hotel, it's age is showing. However, it is clean and the seafood buffet is fantastic. We did not eat any other meals at the hotel. The local places were varied and very interesting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Very nice places to eat, from the pancake shop on the intersection of RT's 9 and 11 to the Italian place in the downtown area.

Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kihei, HI
Jul 10, 2008

good for the money

with this economy this is a good hotel for your buck...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
USA
Mar 17, 2008

The Aloha Spirit is alive at the Castle Hilo Hawaiian

The Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel is located 10 minutes from the airport on the shoreline of Hilo Bay, a very beautiful spot. The hotel staff was very gracious and accommodating throughout our short visit, they made us feel very welcomed. The room was very clean, spacious and comfortable with a balcony so we could enjoy the scenery and fresh air. The restaurant offered a great Hawaiian Seafood Buffet dinner that was popular with guests and local residents as well. The hotel also has ample free parking for guests. The only recommendation we made was to fix the tub drainage, very slow. Other than that, we will definitely stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Birmingham, AL
Mar 1, 2008

My review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

nice grounds,decent room,staff was very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

a car is a must to see anything, be sure to take a helicoptor ride

Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
USA
Feb 14, 2008

Great Location Very Hawaiian

We enjoyed our stay - the only drawback was the room smelled musty when we walked in - and the musty smell transferred on to our stored clothing. Other than that everything was very nice. Great location - great views - the gounds were pleasant to walk around. Would go again, just remember to bring lots of air santitizer ;-)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Hawaii Volcano National Park - a MUST see!! Incredible. Rainforests/ocean/lava - the most amazing experiences all on one island!!!

Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Honolulu, HI
Dec 6, 2007

Friendly but very plain

The Castle Hilo Hawaiian is in an excellent location if you're doing business in Hilo, close to the airport, state offices, and downtown. Hilo is not a fancy place and this hotel is not a fancy hotel. Very friendly and courteous staff, warm atmosphere but everything is very plain and simple - few amenities. Rooms are neat and clean but again, very plain. Ask for an oceanview room if available. The view of Hilo Bay, especially on a sunny day, is gorgeous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the nearby Coconut Grill for dinner - good food in a nostalgic, casual atmosphere.

Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Seattle, WA
Oct 2, 2007

Great location and services. Very helpful.

The hotel was older but well maintained. Staff were great. Food was priced well and was excellent. The location was great. Wonderful views of the ocean, bay and crusie ships going back and forth. We walked to many local events, shopping, dining, and two great beachs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many great sea fool resteraunts within walking distance.

Back to menu Return to top