$143 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 27, 2014 Check-out: Dec 28, 2014

Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

3 stars
71 Banyan Drive, Hilo (Big Island of Hawaii), HI 96720
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
209 reviews
Perfect Weekend

Staff is great. Room had an amazing view. If all I did was sit on the Lanai and look out over the... See full review

  • mruts
  • Oct 13, 2014
Great Hilo Stay

This hotel after being renovated is fantastic! Clean rooms, clean environment, and friendly staff.... See full review

  • JALNP
  • Nov 23, 2013
Island-style hotel on Hilo waterfront offers value and volcano views
The landmark Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel has long been a favorite for its affordability, waterfront location and easygoing Island atmosphere. Downtown Hilo's shops and attractions are within a few minutes' drive, and the hotel is right on the same road that leads to Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. Choose a room facing Hilo Bay and enjoy bonus views of Hilo town and the volcano Mauna Kea.
Highlights
  • Take the footbridge near the hotel to Coconut Island for a picnic or swim, keeping an eye out for sea turtles
  • Perfect views of the snow-capped volcano Mauna Loa
  • Stock up on groceries at the nearby Hilo Farmers Market
  • Some rooms have private balconies
  • Swimming pool and sundeck
Location
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel sits on the edge of peaceful Hilo Bay along historic Banyan Drive in central Hilo. The hotel looks out onto Coconut Island and the volcano Mauna Kea, which rises behind the town. Liliuokalani Park and Gardens is steps away, and a golf course is just across the street. Hilo offers visitors a view of "real Hawaii" life and easy access to Hawaii Volcanoes National Park.
Rooms
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel accommodations include standard, superior and ocean view rooms; junior suites with a separate living room; and 1-bedroom suites, which include a kitchenette. All feature relaxed Island decor, high-speed Internet access (fees may apply), daily housekeeping service, air conditioning and TV. Most also offer a private balcony.
Dining
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel offers Queen's Court Restaurant, popular for its dinner and breakfast buffets. The hotel's Waioli Lounge offers cocktails and appetizers daily. Hilo offers many additional restaurants and cafes including the nearby Ken's House of Pancakes, a longtime local favorite.
Recreation
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel includes a swimming pool and sundeck. Massage services are also available (fees apply). A 9-hole golf course is just across the street (fees apply).
Transportation
  • Hilo International Airport (3.6 mi/5.7 km)
Attractions
  • Pacific Tsunami Museum (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Lyman Museum (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • Imiloa Astronomy Center of Hawaii (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • Panaewa Rainforest Zoo & Gardens (6 mi/9.7 km)
  • Akaka Falls (10.4 mi/16.7 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (35.1 mi/56.5 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel Rooms

Standard Hotel Room
This guest room has one king, or two double beds available. Some with a balcony.
Superior Hotel Room
This guest room has one king, or two double beds. Some rooms also include a balcony.
One Bedroom Banyan View Room
This guest room has one king size bed and one sofa sleeper. This guest room has a kitchenette, air conditioning, alarm clock radio, coffee/tea maker, direct dial telephone, refrigerator and remote control color cable TV.
Deluxe Ocean View
This guest room has one king, two queen beds available. Room also includes a balcony.

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Queen's Court Dining Room
Serves American Cuisine. Breakfast Hours 6:30 - 9:30 Lunch Hours 11:15 - 1:15 Dinner Hours 5:30 - 9:00 Dress Code Is Casual

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (209)

Ratings and reviews for Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
209 out of 209
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.6

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Honolulu
Jan 3, 2009

Very friendly staff

The staff was very friendly and the hotel is nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento
Dec 17, 2008

Close in Hilo

The Hilo Hawaiian Hotel was a nice hotel. The room was very comfortable and way larger than what I expected for the price. The room had not only a king sized bed, but also had a nice veiw with a table to do my work on. The batheroom was also larger than I expected. I had privacy, which is very important to me. The location it self was not central, but not out of the way either. The hotel was only a few minutes from dining, shops, and downtown Hilo. It was also close to the two major freeways on the island. This gave us the option to go anywhere we wanted at a moments notice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

A hint would be to go to the Macnut farm first and then to the crator. By doing that you will pass the Hilo mall, food, and coffee. It is a great way to use your time wisely while having fun.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Summerfield
Nov 23, 2008

Extremely convenient location

The Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel was easy to find, parking was a breeze and the surroundings were lovely. We were only there one night and had a room overlooking the banyan drive in front of the hotel--ringside balcony seats to the birds in the treetops. This is not a luxury hotel in the rooms, however. The wallpaper and bedding are outdated and because of lack of a fan in the bathroom, it smelled like a locker room. It was just perfect for our needs that one night. We would go back knowing it was a clean and safe place to sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Right in the middle of Hilo, this hotel is close to the quaint and walkable downtown. Lots of shops, a farmer's market and the Pacific Tsunami Museum. A street in driving distance has the chain eateries, grocery stores and a mall. We drove to see the lava flow at Kalapana from Hilo. Also near the Kilauea National Volcanic Park.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsboro
Oct 18, 2008

GREAT PLACE TO STAY

This is one of the nice hotel that I stayed at in a long time. It is a older hotel but it is keep up realy good. The room seemed much larger than most I stayed in. The people are nice the staff makes you feel like you are at home. If you have kids under the age of 7 this is a good place to stay. I would stay their again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Blaine
Oct 14, 2008

Dining Experience

The fist morning we went into the hotel dining room for breakfast. They brought the menus and I asked for coffee, which they brought that right away. However, we sat there for over a half an hour and no one took our order. So we walked out and never ate there all the time we were there. We also filled out a form telling them about the incident.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We ate most of our meals at Ken's House of Pancakes. Prices were cheaper, service was great, everone was so friendly. They were always very busy, but still gave us great service. Many of the locals ate there too. We weren't the only ones that ate there from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Westminster, CA
Oct 7, 2008

My review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

We travel to Hawaii quite often. It was our original home. Of the various hotels we have been fortunate to stay at, this hotel has to be the best yet. We couldn't have asked for a better and more beautiful setting for the money we spent! As far as hotels, the Hilo Hawaiian was certainly a fantastic value and we will have no hesitation recommending it to our friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Taipei
Oct 3, 2008

View

Very beautiful ocean view. The parking lot is underground with handicap access.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The banyan tree park is right across the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Harrison, NJ
Oct 2, 2008

As good as it gets...for Hilo

There aren't many hotel choices in Hilo, Hawaii. For its location and price, the Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel is, as far as I can tell, as good as it gets for hotels in Hilo. The decor is definitely dated. The ocean view upgrade is definitely worth it, although you shouldn't expect to see beachfront views. It looks out onto Hilo Bay, which is nice in its own right, but you won't hear ocean waves outside the lanai. We never ate at the property, but they seemed to have a decent buffet breakfast/dinner going on. We just preferred to check out the local dining scene, which equated to eating at Ken's House of Pancakes most nights. =)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 26, 2008

good stay

This hotel was comfortable however the room was very warm and stuffy. It had a weird smell to the room when we first walked in. The air condition wasn't on, and once it was turned on the room wasn't as stuffy. The fridge wasn't on and we had food to place in it but had to turn it on first. The first time I stayed at this hospital the hotel and room was better and the room was more comfortable and not as stuffy. It didn't have a smell at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

national volcano park

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baldwinsville, NY
Aug 3, 2008

Scenic View

Very nice view from oceanside. Great location for seeing the east side of Hawaii. But, the waterfalls are only a trickle in August. Good if you are spending a lot of time in the local area or at Volcanoes National Park. For a short visit consider the drive from the west side as the hotels are much nicer. The hotel itself is well located in Hilo. The surrounding parks and gardens are amazing. But this is not a first class hotel, it's age is showing. However, it is clean and the seafood buffet is fantastic. We did not eat any other meals at the hotel. The local places were varied and very interesting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Very nice places to eat, from the pancake shop on the intersection of RT's 9 and 11 to the Italian place in the downtown area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top