$155 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 10, 2015 Check-out: Jul 12, 2015

Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

3 stars
View map of 71 Banyan Drive, Hilo (Big Island of Hawaii), HI 96720

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
236 out of 236
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.6

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kaneohe, HI
Sep 2, 2009

Local style

I noticed that a lot of Kamaaina stay at that hotel. It's in a good location within three minutes from the airport. Relaxing bay front property. The only thing I would have to say is that it sucks having to pay for an ocean front room just to have a refrigerator for our medications.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Small local style diner, Coqui's, had cheap food that was good, and they give a lot too.

Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Spokane, WA
Aug 22, 2009

honeymoon

Our honeymoon was great itself...at first when we came to the hotel, we loved it. It was all nice and beautiful. It has great king beds, tv, fridge, and coffee maker. Makes you feel like at home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Right outside the hotel is great views, coconut island and parks.

Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dissatisfied Mom!
Business
Hercules, CA
Aug 19, 2009

Horrible!

Unfriendly staff (not all, but the 2 I dealt with were extremely unfriendly and not helpful at all!) Sheets are changed every 4 days, and bathrooms and sinks are not cleaned unless you ask them to-that's what I was told on the 2nd day we were there and even when I complained and asked that the rooms be cleaned every day, I couldn't tell the difference! I had 3 rooms, traveling with family and there was no daily cleaning in any of the rooms!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
I<3Kens
Business
Honolulu
Aug 17, 2009

Nice... needs improvement though

This hotel has prime location with a nice view and easy parking. The rooms are pretty big too. The hotel staff was very friendly while I was there. Definitely something to be expected in Hilo. My only complaint is that this hotel is in dire need of refurbishing. The beds, carpet, furniture, tv's, and bathrooms are all very old. The elevators smell like sweat and hydraulic fluid. The furniture in the lobby smells like mildew. The AC in the rooms are pretty weak... especially in the hotter summer months. I did enjoy my stay here, but this hotel could stand to make some big improvements. By the way... I hate to say this... but Nani Loa just recently remodeled their rooms. They're fantastic.... and about 10-20 bucks less per night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

KENS!!! 24 hours, great food, great service! You'll actually pass it on your way from the airport! Look them up! You won't be disappointed!

Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Leilani Lou
Business
Chicago, IL
Aug 5, 2009

Clean and Adequate Accomodations

We stayed in Hilo for one night. We wanted to experience the "other side of the island." We only spent a few minutes in the room other than sleeping. But, the room could use some serious updating. I felt like I was in a time warp-with the Brady Bunch on their trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Eat at Ken's Pancake House for breakfast. Yum.

Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oahu, HI
Jul 20, 2009

Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

The receptionist couldn't find our reservation in the computer at first. Told me to go use their computer service to print out my itinerary, which I would have to pay for it. To, than, go on schooling me how I need to double check my hotel reservation in the future. Needles to say, I asked her to make a phone call to their reservation specialist, and of course, our reservations were in order. Aloha you say?! Breakfast buffet was awful. Old, dried up fruit, bread pudding undercooked, check came before I had time to finish my meal. They were in a rush?! Information desk extra helpful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Rainbow Falls, close to Hilo downtown.

Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
papa the traveler
Business
san francisco
Jul 17, 2009

good location and near hilo airport

visited our families living in hilo area after checking in.got back in the evening after seing our folks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

we arrived in hilo a bit early and after lunch we went to the hotel to check in and the staff are very helpful and allowed us to our room. we left the hotel and visited our folks living in hilo.been in different hotel worldwide and glad to have a place to stay.

Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
PC, HAWAII
Jul 17, 2009

Classic Hilo

We chose this location because of the closeness to Hilo town. We had an AWESOME oceanview-Mauna Kea, Coconut Island, old Hilo town, the break water wall. We visited the Volcano Nat'l Park, walked the rainforest, visited Kalapana's black sand beach, the Tsunami Center and the Lapahoehoe Museum. We also visited family and had some time to relax and swim at the pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gr8pumpkin
Business
Germantown, MD
Jul 14, 2009

Clean, Near the airport, Nice staff

We chose this hotel because it was close to the airport and not too far from Volcano Park. We only stayed one night flying in from Lihue. The food in the lounge was very good and the rooms were spotless. We got a great night's sleep in the comfortable bed. The ocean view looked like it would have been great, but the front view was ok, too. A good, no frills place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Answerlady
Business
Greenville, SC
Jul 5, 2009

Good Value

My traveling companion loved the location on the ocean as she was able to swim in the Pacific

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The breakfast buffet is well worth the price.

Back to menu Return to top