$156 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 3, 2015 Check-out: Apr 6, 2015

Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

3 stars
View map of 71 Banyan Drive, Hilo (Big Island of Hawaii), HI 96720

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
213 out of 213
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.6

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
LAS VEGAS
Apr 22, 2009

Good family location

I think the breakfast buffet was way over priced @ 15.00, usually most hotels inc. breakfast in the package.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Short distance to town by car.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Providence, RI
Apr 22, 2009

No, no no.

We were honestly only in Hilo for one night and two days as a stopover on our way back home from Maui (STAY THERE INSTEAD!) to see the Volcano. I don't regret seeing the Volcano, but after our fantastic accomodations at the Royal Lahaina Resort in Maui, this was just sketchy and awful. The bed had bedbugs, our room smelled like smoke and we could smell other guests smoking in their rooms even though it was supposedly a non-smoking hotel, the area underneath our balcony was occupied by hooligans and to top it all off the ancient smoke alarm kept going off for no reason. Also, when checking in I was informed that I was going to be having two double beds because I "did not specify" that I wanted a king. Now, when you a book a room type (there is only one here) that comes with a choice of double bed or king, you specify WHEN YOU CHECK IN. I have NEVER had that problem before in all my years of traveling.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Real McCoys
Business
Kailua-Kona, HI
Apr 22, 2009

Awesome facilities

It was an ideal location for us to stay while visiting our family. The scenery from our balcony was breathtaking,view of the ocean as well as the mountain. The only thing that was not pleasant was the room next door was practicing his musical instrument at 7:00 AM. Yikes! That was a challenge trying to sleep in a little later after a night out with family. We finally got up at 8:00 and left the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Japanese park, Liliokulani Park, was a wondering safe area to walk and relax.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Springfield, MO
Mar 3, 2009

The good and bad

The front desk clerk, [...] was great and very helpful. We were very disappointed when we asked about tours and things to do during our stay. We were told we would have to purchase a $126.00 per person tour to see the lava flow and that the most time we would spend at the volcano national park would be one hour. That was far from true and the park ranger gave us directions to see the lava flow for free. The hotel is old and needs to be updated but the biggest complaint we had was the very bad smell coming from the resturant both nights. They said it was the seafood buffet but as a seafood lover, I've never smelled anything like that and hope I never do again. Be sure to remind guest this part of the island is noncommercial and it rains a lot on this side. The town is friendly and quaint but not a lot to do. If you want to relax and have a quite visit this would be a good place to stay. When the sun does shine it is beautiful to look out at Coconut Island and the volcano in the distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Honolulu
Jan 3, 2009

Very friendly staff

The staff was very friendly and the hotel is nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento
Dec 17, 2008

Close in Hilo

The Hilo Hawaiian Hotel was a nice hotel. The room was very comfortable and way larger than what I expected for the price. The room had not only a king sized bed, but also had a nice veiw with a table to do my work on. The batheroom was also larger than I expected. I had privacy, which is very important to me. The location it self was not central, but not out of the way either. The hotel was only a few minutes from dining, shops, and downtown Hilo. It was also close to the two major freeways on the island. This gave us the option to go anywhere we wanted at a moments notice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

A hint would be to go to the Macnut farm first and then to the crator. By doing that you will pass the Hilo mall, food, and coffee. It is a great way to use your time wisely while having fun.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Summerfield
Nov 23, 2008

Extremely convenient location

The Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel was easy to find, parking was a breeze and the surroundings were lovely. We were only there one night and had a room overlooking the banyan drive in front of the hotel--ringside balcony seats to the birds in the treetops. This is not a luxury hotel in the rooms, however. The wallpaper and bedding are outdated and because of lack of a fan in the bathroom, it smelled like a locker room. It was just perfect for our needs that one night. We would go back knowing it was a clean and safe place to sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Right in the middle of Hilo, this hotel is close to the quaint and walkable downtown. Lots of shops, a farmer's market and the Pacific Tsunami Museum. A street in driving distance has the chain eateries, grocery stores and a mall. We drove to see the lava flow at Kalapana from Hilo. Also near the Kilauea National Volcanic Park.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsboro
Oct 18, 2008

GREAT PLACE TO STAY

This is one of the nice hotel that I stayed at in a long time. It is a older hotel but it is keep up realy good. The room seemed much larger than most I stayed in. The people are nice the staff makes you feel like you are at home. If you have kids under the age of 7 this is a good place to stay. I would stay their again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Blaine
Oct 14, 2008

Dining Experience

The fist morning we went into the hotel dining room for breakfast. They brought the menus and I asked for coffee, which they brought that right away. However, we sat there for over a half an hour and no one took our order. So we walked out and never ate there all the time we were there. We also filled out a form telling them about the incident.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We ate most of our meals at Ken's House of Pancakes. Prices were cheaper, service was great, everone was so friendly. They were always very busy, but still gave us great service. Many of the locals ate there too. We weren't the only ones that ate there from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Westminster, CA
Oct 7, 2008

My review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

We travel to Hawaii quite often. It was our original home. Of the various hotels we have been fortunate to stay at, this hotel has to be the best yet. We couldn't have asked for a better and more beautiful setting for the money we spent! As far as hotels, the Hilo Hawaiian was certainly a fantastic value and we will have no hesitation recommending it to our friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top