$155 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 7, 2015 Check-out: Aug 8, 2015

Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

3 stars
View map of 71 Banyan Drive, Hilo (Big Island of Hawaii), HI 96720

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
195 out of 195
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.6

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mcmonsta
Business
N/A
Jan 24, 2015

Great Grandmas visits

very good location and view, buffet a little pricey but it was very filling.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mruts
Business
Maui, Hawaii
Oct 13, 2014

Perfect Weekend

Staff is great. Room had an amazing view. If all I did was sit on the Lanai and look out over the water my weekend would have been complete.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Not really buffet people but the buffet in the Hotel is amazing.

Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Business Traveler 714
Business
Garden Grove, CA
Jul 4, 2014

Great price and even better location.

You can't ask for a better location. The hotel elevator was old but it did its job to get us from lobby to our floor. The room was in decent condition and the staff was friendly. I didn't encounter any problems at the hotel. Its was easy to check in and out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DMac the Destroyer
Business
Tacoma, WA
Apr 4, 2014

Average hotel in a dreary, quiet town

Hilo is one of the wettest places in the world. We found no dining or night life within a reasonable distance from this hotel, and ended up spending most of our trip traveling to drier climates, up to and usually over an hour's drive away. I'd never stay here again for reasons of seeking sunshine or beach fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

There is no night life in Hilo

Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JALNP
Business
California
Nov 23, 2013

Great Hilo Stay

This hotel after being renovated is fantastic! Clean rooms, clean environment, and friendly staff. I hope to return soon for another visit! Thank you!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Akaka Falls, Lava Tree Park, Kalapana, and Kapoho

Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
808Derek
Business
Oahu, Hawaii
Aug 4, 2013

O'K Hotel

The rooms are old and they're in the process of ronovation now. We had a key card problem at first. They did not belive me. Until they tryed to unlock the door. After the upgraded us to a suite. That was nice !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Friday night Buffet dinner was good. The best thing was the prime rib. I would give it 3 stars out of 5.

Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Franny and Zooey
Business
Haiku, HI
Jun 21, 2013

....

Totally fine +) great location: view of the bay/ near downtown Hilo -) linens: chintzy/ minimal, construction and power outage without warning (we didn't see the note under the door til after the power came back on)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
B. Timothy
Business
Benson, MN
May 16, 2013

Great stay!

We couldn't ask for better. The location is perfect. The rooms are dated but very clean and comfortable. You use them to home out of not live in. Good water pressure in the shower. Good AC. Awesome presentation when you enter the lobby. Great staff and terrific housekeeping. We loved our balcony facing the ocean andCoconut Island. Would stay there every time but would eat elsewhere. Dining area has it all but the food is not the greatest. However, there are plenty of eating places nearby as the hotel has the ideal location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
No more war
Business
Seattle, WA
Apr 21, 2013

Adequate. Possible nice view

Hotel appointments and fixtures are a bit dated but adequately maintained. Water view is quite nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tehani
Business
Hawaii
Apr 17, 2013

one night stay

The hotel was fairly nice. Everything worked out good for us. We only stayed overnight. We went there to visit our nephew that was there at a youth program. I would stay at this hotel again. We had the buffet there it was good but a bit pricey.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top