$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 4, 2015 Check-out: Jun 5, 2015

Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

3 stars
View map of 71 Banyan Drive, Hilo (Big Island of Hawaii), HI 96720

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
233 out of 233
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.6

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Karate Master Tom
Business
Billings, Montana
Nov 15, 2009

Nothing Special

Nothing really stood out about this hotel at all - good or bad. It was just your average, ordinary hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Manu Kani 'Eu
Business
Makawao, HI
Nov 10, 2009

Convenient, free parking

I only saw my room during the late night and early morning. I was in Hilo for a family funeral and so did not have much time in my room. The lobby area had been re-done since I last stayed there a few years; however, the rooms are still a little lacking. For the price it was great and can't beat the convenience. The restaurant and bar are great too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Go during the weekend for the seafood buffet.

Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Honolulu
Nov 9, 2009

Whirlwind Overnighter

The Hilo Hawaiian is easily one of the nicer hotels in Hilo -- it's just that all of the hotels in Hilo are a tad sketchy. The age of the hotel makes it feel a little kitschy and worn-out, but the staff at the Hilo Hawaiian are super friendly, and our stay was uninterrupted and private. Parking is free and plentiful. A slightly earlier check-in time would have been nice (3pm just feels late to me). The infestation of Coqui frogs is especially apparent from this hotel as soon as the sun goes down.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

There are some very nice waterfront park areas within easy walking distance.

Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Travelin' Bruce
Business
Clay Center, Nebraska
Oct 28, 2009

Just OK

We spent a lot of time sightseeing and hiking in the nearby National park plus other sightseeing excursions on the western side of the island. The hotel location was very easy to get to and from. The location, overlooking Hilo Bay was great, the rooms were clean and comfortable, but we could easily hear noises from the rooms next door, such as the people using the bathroom and so on.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Be sure to check out the very scenic drive just north of Hilo along the old highway. It has great fresh fruit stands, beautiful short hikes and a very good botanical garden plus some excellent shore access areas.

Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Travelin' Bruce
Business
Clay Center, Nebraska
Oct 28, 2009

Just OK

We spent a lot of time sightseeing and hiking in the nearby National park plus other sightseeing excursions on the western side of the island. The hotel location was very easy to get to and from. The location, overlooking Hilo Bay was great, the rooms were clean and comfortable, but we could easily hear noises from the rooms next door, such as the people using the bathroom and so on.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Be sure to check out the very scenic drive just north of Hilo along the old highway. It has great fresh fruit stands, beautiful short hikes and a very good botanical garden plus some excellent shore access areas.

Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Susan and Richard
Business
Tucson, Arizona
Oct 11, 2009

Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Beautiful area near the airport, ocean, and Japanese gardens. Perfect place to stay in Hilo!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sawbones
Business
San Antonio, TX
Oct 5, 2009

Very Pleasant Stay

Very good location for our stay. We traveled the surrounding areas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
salsabor
Business
San Francisco, CA
Sep 27, 2009

Decent hotel

I had blood stains on the bed cover. Pretty disgusting. Once I reported it to the front desk, I got free breakfast. They tried to do more, but it had been a prepaid stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Zotya
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Sep 23, 2009

Pretty good selection

The hotel is simply perfect! Great location, quiet, lots of parking, nice staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Germany
Sep 20, 2009

Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

- good location to start trips through the island - not for a family beach vacation or "honeymoon"

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top