$158 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 9, 2015 Check-out: Sep 10, 2015

Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

3 stars
View map of 71 Banyan Drive, Hilo (Big Island of Hawaii), HI 96720

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
202 out of 202
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.6

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sue in VA
Business
Virginia
Jun 21, 2009

Older, but still nice

The building is older, but the room was comfortable and the view (spend the money and upgrade to an oceanview) was beautiful!! The staff went out of their way to help us and were very friendly. We had a maintenance issue and they were ready to fix it within minutes of our call to the front desk. Great tips and hints on places to see/go. Folks need to remember, this is Hilo, if you need nightlife/discos/parties you're on the wrong side of the island. We were not disappointed and would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The beach at Richardson State Park is great for snorkling - no need to go to Kona and pay the big bucks for an "adventure".

Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Boise, ID
Jun 9, 2009

adequate

Adequate accommadation for the night,I wouldn't spend a week

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
New Jersey
Jun 8, 2009

Overall good stay

My fiancee and I travelled to both Oahu and the Big Island during our stay to visit the graduate schools of Hawaii. We were not looking for any sort of luxurious hotel and this hotel seemed to be the best of the options on Orbitz in terms of quality. On Banyan Drive, where I assume the majority (not many) of Hilo's hotels are located, this is the nicest looking on the row. We stayed in a standard room with a king size bed (which you can request by calling the hotel yourself) on the street side. In our opinion, paying the extra money for the waterfront side is just not worth it simply because you don't spend much time in the hotel and also because you can go outside to where those rooms overlook and see the view yourself from the ground floor. It is only a view of Hilo Bay, downtown Hilo and Coconut Island (nothing spectacular, but at the same time pretty). The front desk is friendly and helpful especially with directions and the girls at the tour desk are also helpful in helping you with taxis and things to do. However, if you are renting a car, you can visit almost all the attractions yourself and save a great deal of money in the meantime. If you want to go to the Volcanoes or lava flow or anything, just drive yourself. It is really a waste to pay for tours. The food from the bar is good, but the seafood buffet is not really worth it!! ($40 per person and the quality of the food is not very good. we regret doing it). Free parking at hotel, rooms were neat and clean, not at all noisy, BUT NO REFRIGERATOR, MICROWAVE, BREAKFAST, OR FREE INTERNET - the biggest downfalls of the stay here. Other than that, a good stay and in a great location for the money. Ken's pancake house is good and advanced auto has good deals on rental cars. Hotel could use some updating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rhodak
Family
Huntington Beach, CA
May 28, 2009

Its probably the best hotel in Hilo

Good food and good people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Kens House of Pancakes

Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Myrtle Beach, SC
May 14, 2009

Good choice, great concierge service

Superb views of huge Hilo Bay - great street with unbelievable Banyan Trees - next to Japanese gardens, overlooking a park - straight on view of Mauna Kea when emerged from the clouds. Wonderful deck for relaxing and enjoying the peaceful view. Clean rooms, very compfortable beds. Restaurant only open certain hours was inconvenient for vacationers not rising early, especially since there is only one other "breakfast" place in town! Concierge desk was unbelievably helpful in pointing us to activities to accomplish in a short time frame. Arranged for great tour for us as well as mapping out our free time for best things to do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Have to include scenic route on Highway 19 and be sure and go to the botanical garden - incredible setting leading down to ocean - every conceivable flower. Can't go to Hawaii big island without seeing Volcanoes National Park.

Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
thntan
Family
Vancouver, BC
May 9, 2009

Quiet and comfortable in a nice location

We enjoyed our stay in this clean and well-located hotel with free parking and an on-site laundry room - useful when you have children. A complimentary breakfast and in room coffee would be nice. In room coffee is available only for the first day and after that it is $2 per package.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The Farmers' Market is a very good place for fresh fruits and locally prepared food. Sombat's is a good, popular Thai restaurant just outside Banyan Drive (where the hotel is located). Read the Guide Book - The Big Island Revealed by Andrew Doughty.

Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
hawaii
May 8, 2009

Acceptable

View was exceptional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Phoenix, AZ
May 3, 2009

Hawaii Trip

Would never stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Cafe Pesto

Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Raleigh, NC
May 2, 2009

Just ok

This hotel was just average. The room was clean and big enough, but it wasn't anything special. We were surprised that the hotel didn't offer free internet access (even the cheapest hotels here offer it). The cost for connecting was $14 per day, which is absurd. The staff were polite, but not overly friendly. We only ate one breakfast in the dining room. The food was very expensive and not worth the price. Better, cheaper food was available other places. Would I stay there again? Only if the Hilo Hawaiian joins the 21st century and adds free internet access to their rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kaneohe, HI
May 2, 2009

A Real Sleeper

The stay was very pleasant. The seafood buffet was great and a real bargain. The staff could not have been nicer. The only problem is that the whole establishment needs an overhaul. The elevators show a lot of wear. I would definitely go back though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Do not pass up the seafood buffet.

Back to menu Return to top