$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 25, 2014 Check-out: Sep 28, 2014

Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

3 stars
71 Banyan Drive, Hilo (Big Island of Hawaii), HI 96720
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
208 reviews
Great Hilo Stay

This hotel after being renovated is fantastic! Clean rooms, clean environment, and friendly staff.... See full review

  • JALNP
  • Nov 23, 2013
Great stay!

We couldn't ask for better. The location is perfect. The rooms are dated but very clean and... See full review

  • B. Timothy
  • May 16, 2013
Island-style hotel on Hilo waterfront offers value and volcano views
The landmark Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel has long been a favorite for its affordability, waterfront location and easygoing Island atmosphere. Downtown Hilo's shops and attractions are within a few minutes' drive, and the hotel is right on the same road that leads to Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. Choose a room facing Hilo Bay and enjoy bonus views of Hilo town and the volcano Mauna Kea.
Highlights
  • Take the footbridge near the hotel to Coconut Island for a picnic or swim, keeping an eye out for sea turtles
  • Perfect views of the snow-capped volcano Mauna Loa
  • Stock up on groceries at the nearby Hilo Farmers Market
  • Some rooms have private balconies
  • Swimming pool and sundeck
Location
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel sits on the edge of peaceful Hilo Bay along historic Banyan Drive in central Hilo. The hotel looks out onto Coconut Island and the volcano Mauna Kea, which rises behind the town. Liliuokalani Park and Gardens is steps away, and a golf course is just across the street. Hilo offers visitors a view of "real Hawaii" life and easy access to Hawaii Volcanoes National Park.
Rooms
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel accommodations include standard, superior and ocean view rooms; junior suites with a separate living room; and 1-bedroom suites, which include a kitchenette. All feature relaxed Island decor, high-speed Internet access (fees may apply), daily housekeeping service, air conditioning and TV. Most also offer a private balcony.
Dining
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel offers Queen's Court Restaurant, popular for its dinner and breakfast buffets. The hotel's Waioli Lounge offers cocktails and appetizers daily. Hilo offers many additional restaurants and cafes including the nearby Ken's House of Pancakes, a longtime local favorite.
Recreation
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel includes a swimming pool and sundeck. Massage services are also available (fees apply). A 9-hole golf course is just across the street (fees apply).
Transportation
  • Hilo International Airport (3.6 mi/5.7 km)
Attractions
  • Pacific Tsunami Museum (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Lyman Museum (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • Imiloa Astronomy Center of Hawaii (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • Panaewa Rainforest Zoo & Gardens (6 mi/9.7 km)
  • Akaka Falls (10.4 mi/16.7 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (35.1 mi/56.5 km)

Hotel Map

19.7277 -155.0663
Area served
Hilo, Hawaii
Nearby airports
Hilo Airport (ITO) 2 miles/Kona Airport (KOA) 130 miles
Area description
Located on Hilo Bay in quaint Hilo town.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel Rooms

Superior Hotel Room
This guest room has one king, or two double beds. Some rooms also include a balcony.
One Bedroom Banyan View Room
This guest room has one king size bed and one sofa sleeper. This guest room has a kitchenette, air conditioning, alarm clock radio, coffee/tea maker, direct dial telephone, refrigerator and remote control color cable TV.
Deluxe Ocean View
This guest room has one king, two queen beds available. Room also includes a balcony.
Standard Hotel Room
This guest room has one king, or two double beds available. Some with a balcony.

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Queen's Court Dining Room
Serves American Cuisine. Breakfast Hours 6:30 - 9:30 Lunch Hours 11:15 - 1:15 Dinner Hours 5:30 - 9:00 Dress Code Is Casual

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (208)

Ratings and reviews for Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
208 out of 208
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.6

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
collage mom
colorado springs co
Sep 11, 2009

our 2ed trip

nice place to stay if you don't mind an older hotel. Love the views from the rooms. good for long term stays while visiting the collage kids who don't want to do collage near home!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

best bf is at Kens. short walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SANDG
Oahu, Hawaii
Sep 8, 2009

Hilo getaway

The room was quite large, very comfortable and clean. We were on the side of the hotel without a view but that was okay since our stay was so short and we arrived in the night. There should be a few "basic" necessities (iron /iron board and blow dryer) that most hotels now have in the room. We did order an iron which was brought very quickly. Hotel buffet a bit pricey and sometimes the smell of food permeated throughout the hotel lobby. Staff was very friendly and professional. The location of this hotel can't be beat as it is convenient and reminiscent of "old" Hawai'i. Easy, good and free parking are a plus. Walking in the nearby gardens was beautiful and relaxing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Unique to Hawai'i (Big Island) is the "open market" with its fresh fruits and vegetables and trinkets. There's also a host of little stores with great deals and delicious foods in walking distance of the open market; right across the ocean front.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Fi Bach
Nottinghamshire, UK
Sep 7, 2009

Very nice, but could do better

This hotel is in a great location - but it's also in a time warp (renovation is needed, come on Castle Resorts spend some money) Even so, we still had a great stay. Our room had a view of the Banyan Trees Coffee machine in the room - but as mentioned, you had to pay for refills. No ironing board either had to ask for one. We ate at the restaurant on the first morning, food cold and not too good. Would love to come back to Hilo and stay there again. It is an old hotel, but still has a lot going for it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Kaneohe, HI
Sep 2, 2009

Local style

I noticed that a lot of Kamaaina stay at that hotel. It's in a good location within three minutes from the airport. Relaxing bay front property. The only thing I would have to say is that it sucks having to pay for an ocean front room just to have a refrigerator for our medications.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Small local style diner, Coqui's, had cheap food that was good, and they give a lot too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Spokane, WA
Aug 22, 2009

honeymoon

Our honeymoon was great itself...at first when we came to the hotel, we loved it. It was all nice and beautiful. It has great king beds, tv, fridge, and coffee maker. Makes you feel like at home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Right outside the hotel is great views, coconut island and parks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dissatisfied Mom!
Hercules, CA
Aug 19, 2009

Horrible!

Unfriendly staff (not all, but the 2 I dealt with were extremely unfriendly and not helpful at all!) Sheets are changed every 4 days, and bathrooms and sinks are not cleaned unless you ask them to-that's what I was told on the 2nd day we were there and even when I complained and asked that the rooms be cleaned every day, I couldn't tell the difference! I had 3 rooms, traveling with family and there was no daily cleaning in any of the rooms!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
I<3Kens
Honolulu
Aug 17, 2009

Nice... needs improvement though

This hotel has prime location with a nice view and easy parking. The rooms are pretty big too. The hotel staff was very friendly while I was there. Definitely something to be expected in Hilo. My only complaint is that this hotel is in dire need of refurbishing. The beds, carpet, furniture, tv's, and bathrooms are all very old. The elevators smell like sweat and hydraulic fluid. The furniture in the lobby smells like mildew. The AC in the rooms are pretty weak... especially in the hotter summer months. I did enjoy my stay here, but this hotel could stand to make some big improvements. By the way... I hate to say this... but Nani Loa just recently remodeled their rooms. They're fantastic.... and about 10-20 bucks less per night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

KENS!!! 24 hours, great food, great service! You'll actually pass it on your way from the airport! Look them up! You won't be disappointed!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Leilani Lou
Chicago, IL
Aug 5, 2009

Clean and Adequate Accomodations

We stayed in Hilo for one night. We wanted to experience the "other side of the island." We only spent a few minutes in the room other than sleeping. But, the room could use some serious updating. I felt like I was in a time warp-with the Brady Bunch on their trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Eat at Ken's Pancake House for breakfast. Yum.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Oahu, HI
Jul 20, 2009

Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

The receptionist couldn't find our reservation in the computer at first. Told me to go use their computer service to print out my itinerary, which I would have to pay for it. To, than, go on schooling me how I need to double check my hotel reservation in the future. Needles to say, I asked her to make a phone call to their reservation specialist, and of course, our reservations were in order. Aloha you say?! Breakfast buffet was awful. Old, dried up fruit, bread pudding undercooked, check came before I had time to finish my meal. They were in a rush?! Information desk extra helpful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Rainbow Falls, close to Hilo downtown.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
papa the traveler
san francisco
Jul 17, 2009

good location and near hilo airport

visited our families living in hilo area after checking in.got back in the evening after seing our folks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

we arrived in hilo a bit early and after lunch we went to the hotel to check in and the staff are very helpful and allowed us to our room. we left the hotel and visited our folks living in hilo.been in different hotel worldwide and glad to have a place to stay.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search