$140 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 6, 2015 Check-out: May 9, 2015

Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

3 stars
View map of 71 Banyan Drive, Hilo (Big Island of Hawaii), HI 96720

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
233 out of 233
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.6

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Susan and Richard
Business
Tucson, Arizona
Oct 11, 2009

Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Beautiful area near the airport, ocean, and Japanese gardens. Perfect place to stay in Hilo!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sawbones
Business
San Antonio, TX
Oct 5, 2009

Very Pleasant Stay

Very good location for our stay. We traveled the surrounding areas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
salsabor
Business
San Francisco, CA
Sep 27, 2009

Decent hotel

I had blood stains on the bed cover. Pretty disgusting. Once I reported it to the front desk, I got free breakfast. They tried to do more, but it had been a prepaid stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Zotya
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Sep 23, 2009

Pretty good selection

The hotel is simply perfect! Great location, quiet, lots of parking, nice staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Germany
Sep 20, 2009

Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

- good location to start trips through the island - not for a family beach vacation or "honeymoon"

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
hnl
Sep 12, 2009

Quiet restful

good hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
collage mom
Business
colorado springs co
Sep 11, 2009

our 2ed trip

nice place to stay if you don't mind an older hotel. Love the views from the rooms. good for long term stays while visiting the collage kids who don't want to do collage near home!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

best bf is at Kens. short walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SANDG
Business
Oahu, Hawaii
Sep 8, 2009

Hilo getaway

The room was quite large, very comfortable and clean. We were on the side of the hotel without a view but that was okay since our stay was so short and we arrived in the night. There should be a few "basic" necessities (iron /iron board and blow dryer) that most hotels now have in the room. We did order an iron which was brought very quickly. Hotel buffet a bit pricey and sometimes the smell of food permeated throughout the hotel lobby. Staff was very friendly and professional. The location of this hotel can't be beat as it is convenient and reminiscent of "old" Hawai'i. Easy, good and free parking are a plus. Walking in the nearby gardens was beautiful and relaxing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Unique to Hawai'i (Big Island) is the "open market" with its fresh fruits and vegetables and trinkets. There's also a host of little stores with great deals and delicious foods in walking distance of the open market; right across the ocean front.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Fi Bach
Business
Nottinghamshire, UK
Sep 7, 2009

Very nice, but could do better

This hotel is in a great location - but it's also in a time warp (renovation is needed, come on Castle Resorts spend some money) Even so, we still had a great stay. Our room had a view of the Banyan Trees Coffee machine in the room - but as mentioned, you had to pay for refills. No ironing board either had to ask for one. We ate at the restaurant on the first morning, food cold and not too good. Would love to come back to Hilo and stay there again. It is an old hotel, but still has a lot going for it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kaneohe, HI
Sep 2, 2009

Local style

I noticed that a lot of Kamaaina stay at that hotel. It's in a good location within three minutes from the airport. Relaxing bay front property. The only thing I would have to say is that it sucks having to pay for an ocean front room just to have a refrigerator for our medications.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Small local style diner, Coqui's, had cheap food that was good, and they give a lot too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top