$148 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 23, 2015 Check-out: Apr 26, 2015

Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

3 stars
View map of 71 Banyan Drive, Hilo (Big Island of Hawaii), HI 96720

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
213 out of 213
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.6

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
wattmax
Business
honolulu
Apr 24, 2010

hilo hawaiian

overall good experience. rooms comfortable, helpful and nice staff. clean room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
pui
Business
Seattle, WA
Apr 22, 2010

nice and quiet

Stuffs are nice. Room is clean. The only thing we felt bad about was that we just knew that the Coconut Island is right behind the hotel !!!! This is our fault tho.. ha ha.. I said this is fantastic.. not so fancy but nice place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

We got there late on the 1st night so we had to eat the buffet at the hotel. Total for 3 people was $68 something (after deducted 15% off from the coupon we received ). The food was not worth $ 68 .. but well.. There is a better food, KEN pancake, outside. I just said..

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
janinelauren
Business
las vegas, nv
Apr 21, 2010

Cute hotel, clean and a really good deal

We booked this vacation not planning on spending much time in the hotel. The hotel is a bit outdated in it's decor, but was clean and well worth the money. The location of the hotel is just a few minutes from downtown Hilo and near all of the major freeways to get around the island. As far as the Hilo side goes, this seemed like the nicest hotel. There's a beautiful view around the back of the hotel of Hilo Bay. Parking was so-so when we got back every night but not really a problem. The hotel itself was pretty quiet. I'd stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
trees lover
Business
sf,ca
Apr 17, 2010

In the midst of Banyan grove

I like the most is the location. The hotel is not only located in the midst of the banyan grove, but also has access to walk to a park and the ocean. The banyan trees are very impressive. They are talk and old, like an old frien welcome you with open arms before you get to the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Within a short distant from the hotel, you can catch a free bus to the shopping mall or any part of the city. It is a good way to know the town.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Apr 2, 2010

Not surprising..previous reviews correct

Not many choices of hotels in Hilo. Castle Hilo Hawaiian probably the best choice. However, it is a substandard hotel. It is outdated. Doesn't look clean. Musty, very humid. I did upgrade to ocean view room. That did make the stay a little brighter. I only stayed at this hotel one day and believe me that was enough The onl1y restaurant available, the food was only OK. Breakfast was greasy. Dinner - fish & chips was good, but the soup was just average.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Hilo Airport

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Yokohama, Japan
Mar 28, 2010

Old and grungy, but decent

We had read all about the hotel options in Hilo and were prepared, so arriving at the very outdated and extremely unimpressive Hilo Hawaiian was no shocker. Nothing was horrible, but being sandwiched between the Hilton Hawaiian Village and Waikoloa Beach Marriott in our trip, we just could not wait to get checked out of there. Everything was dark and sort of depressing, our toilet was semi-broken, was always running and a struggle to get it to flush. They only provide one complimentary set of coffee - you have to pay for them replace the used instant packs. We had breakfast in the hotel once (which has a nice view of the volcano on clear mornings/days), but highly recommend the nearby Ken's where we ate for dinner and breakfast - a great deal and TONS of yummy options in the menu. It was a nice spot for venturing off to the volcano and was close enough to Hilo town and grocery stores, restaurants, etc so you don't feel totally cut off from the world.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ken's House of Pancakes

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose, CA
Mar 19, 2010

Good value through [...]

We were looking for a place to get a good night's rest and we got that. The service was good and the breakfast spread was substantial and with the 20% coupon they gave us was reasonably priced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MA & H
Business
Denver, CO
Mar 10, 2010

Fine location, great price.

We only stayed one night as we were waiting for more family members to join us in travel to another part of the island. We explored the grounds around the hotel and they were fantastic!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
the mikester
Business
redding ca
Feb 21, 2010

nice rooms,good service,beautiful locati

site seeing easy, service friendly, relaxing

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DFlyer
Business
NEOhio
Feb 19, 2010

Very nice

Satisfactory, laundry facilities useful. Pushy attempts to pay for upgraded room on bay side

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top