$148 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 8, 2015 Check-out: Sep 9, 2015

Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

3 stars
View map of 71 Banyan Drive, Hilo (Big Island of Hawaii), HI 96720

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
202 out of 202
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.6

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
chinosjp
Couples
Chino, CA
May 26, 2010

Needs renovation. It's not 1990 anymore!

This hotel is being maintained well but... it needs renovation. This hotel was GREAT in the 1990s. The Banyan Drive location is beautiful. The TV in the room was an old 19 inch model.... much TOO small. The bathroom was ancient with a single sink, with coffeemaker and NO HAIR DRYER!!! No exhaust fan in shower-toilet area. Chairs on balcony were rusty steel with no padding. Beds were good. Internet was a mess. $10 per day with Warner Cable Oceanic. The hotel cannot provide ANY help with internet connection. Computers in the lobby are 50 cents per minute. Hotel restaurants were a bit expensive. The nightly buffet was $35.50 per person.... but included crab legs. Mai Tais were awful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Walking in the area along Banyan Drive is very nice. These huge trees, planted in the 1930s through the 1950s are amazing.

Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Dallas, TX
May 24, 2010

desperately needs rennovation!

Stayed in Hilo just one night in between our round trip around the island. The hotel structure itself is well built- you could tell it was once a luxury hotel but once inside it was like taking a trip back to the 80s except everything looked old not new. The rooms reminded me of the older motels in the continental US. Our bedding smelled... it was obvious maybe the sheets were washed but the cover had not been. The bathroom was old, shower had slight mildew and shower head was pasty with lime build up. The TV was an old one I have not seen in 10 years? The hallways were dark and kind of damp. The staff so so compared to rest of the island. When we got in late to check in, the first thing they wanted was a printout confirmation from [...] why? for the price? luckily we usually have it handy. but no one else ever asks for it. we stayed an extra hour beyond checkout time (noon) for free which gave us extra time in Puna before leaving but literally as soon as it was 1:05PM I was literally kicked out in a rush by the cleaning staff from the room as I hastily finished packing my suit case. The location on the bay is excellent. I think the hotel like the rest of Hilo reflected the a place that was once a shining luxury area but now rather run down, and replaced by the hotels of kona and kohala.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
CALABASAS, CA
May 24, 2010

NOT BAD FOR THE COST

THE HOTEL HAD MOST ANYTHING YOU NEEDED-WOULD BE NICE TO HAVE A HAIR DRYER IN THE ROOM AND NOT HAVE TO PAY FOR COFFEE IN YOUR ROOM

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BTH
Family
bradenton fl.
May 24, 2010

not bad for one night

only stayed one night, went on a lava boat tour early that morning, what a experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KHenao
Business
San Antonio, TX
May 18, 2010

Castle Hillo Hawaiian

...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Lahaina, HI
May 18, 2010

The staff has the Aloha spirit

It was the first time staying there. The staff at the front desk, the bell persons and the lounge staff were great. The only draw back was the shower head and pressure was too slow. Overall the stay was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Monrovia, IN
May 16, 2010

Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Hilo is not the "resort" side of the island. The hotels are old and dated. Our concierge was very good. We went to a current lava flow, the volcano. Banyon trees were beautiful. Concierge was very good with dining options outside the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There is an IHOP on Highway 11 on the back side of a shopping mall. We did not eat at the hotel. Found IHOP good and cheaper for breakfast. Shopping in downtown was junky. I suggest staying at a resort in Kona.

Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
On the road too much
Couples
Outback of Indiana
May 8, 2010

Good hotel, just don't eat there

Really enjoyed the location and the rooms were good. Underwhelmed with the amenities. Only meals that I saw were buffets. One I tried was the worst ever. Not cheap either, probably why they give discount coupons. Plan on eating out. Staff was excellent. They seem to be in process of updating (e.g., old, small TVs), which will make the hotel even better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Mile from hotel. The Pond has best food we ate in Hawaii, good prices, excellent service.

Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Rochester, NY
Apr 26, 2010

fantastic hotel great service

This was a great hotel clean friendly staff and one of the best concierge desks I've ever been to they went out of there way to be helpful I would recommend this hotel to anyone going to Hilo

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The walk to downtown is easy great shopping once your there

Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Dana Point, CA
Apr 24, 2010

Great location, average rooms

Nice location in Hilo, next to the Liliokalani Park and at the water's edge. Did not try the restaurant. Service was good - they accomodated an early check-in. Rooms needed new wallpaper and bathroom flooring. Size of rooms was fine. Reasonable price and value for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ken's Pancake House is awesome! It's just a couple of blocks from the hotel. Has a bit of local charm, and open 24 hours per day. Great pancakes, omelettes, and local items. Can get anything on the menu at any time of day.

Back to menu Return to top