$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 21, 2014 Check-out: Sep 22, 2014

Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

3 stars
71 Banyan Drive, Hilo (Big Island of Hawaii), HI 96720
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
208 reviews
Great Hilo Stay

This hotel after being renovated is fantastic! Clean rooms, clean environment, and friendly staff.... See full review

  • JALNP
  • Nov 23, 2013
Great stay!

We couldn't ask for better. The location is perfect. The rooms are dated but very clean and... See full review

  • B. Timothy
  • May 16, 2013
Island-style hotel on Hilo waterfront offers value and volcano views
The landmark Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel has long been a favorite for its affordability, waterfront location and easygoing Island atmosphere. Downtown Hilo's shops and attractions are within a few minutes' drive, and the hotel is right on the same road that leads to Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. Choose a room facing Hilo Bay and enjoy bonus views of Hilo town and the volcano Mauna Kea.
Highlights
  • Take the footbridge near the hotel to Coconut Island for a picnic or swim, keeping an eye out for sea turtles
  • Perfect views of the snow-capped volcano Mauna Loa
  • Stock up on groceries at the nearby Hilo Farmers Market
  • Some rooms have private balconies
  • Swimming pool and sundeck
Location
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel sits on the edge of peaceful Hilo Bay along historic Banyan Drive in central Hilo. The hotel looks out onto Coconut Island and the volcano Mauna Kea, which rises behind the town. Liliuokalani Park and Gardens is steps away, and a golf course is just across the street. Hilo offers visitors a view of "real Hawaii" life and easy access to Hawaii Volcanoes National Park.
Rooms
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel accommodations include standard, superior and ocean view rooms; junior suites with a separate living room; and 1-bedroom suites, which include a kitchenette. All feature relaxed Island decor, high-speed Internet access (fees may apply), daily housekeeping service, air conditioning and TV. Most also offer a private balcony.
Dining
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel offers Queen's Court Restaurant, popular for its dinner and breakfast buffets. The hotel's Waioli Lounge offers cocktails and appetizers daily. Hilo offers many additional restaurants and cafes including the nearby Ken's House of Pancakes, a longtime local favorite.
Recreation
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel includes a swimming pool and sundeck. Massage services are also available (fees apply). A 9-hole golf course is just across the street (fees apply).
Transportation
  • Hilo International Airport (3.6 mi/5.7 km)
Attractions
  • Pacific Tsunami Museum (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Lyman Museum (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • Imiloa Astronomy Center of Hawaii (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • Panaewa Rainforest Zoo & Gardens (6 mi/9.7 km)
  • Akaka Falls (10.4 mi/16.7 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (35.1 mi/56.5 km)

Hotel Map

19.7277 -155.0663
Area served
Hilo, Hawaii
Nearby airports
Hilo Airport (ITO) 2 miles/Kona Airport (KOA) 130 miles
Area description
Located on Hilo Bay in quaint Hilo town.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel Rooms

Superior Hotel Room
This guest room has one king, or two double beds. Some rooms also include a balcony.
One Bedroom Banyan View Room
This guest room has one king size bed and one sofa sleeper. This guest room has a kitchenette, air conditioning, alarm clock radio, coffee/tea maker, direct dial telephone, refrigerator and remote control color cable TV.
Deluxe Ocean View
This guest room has one king, two queen beds available. Room also includes a balcony.
Standard Hotel Room
This guest room has one king, or two double beds available. Some with a balcony.

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Queen's Court Dining Room
Serves American Cuisine. Breakfast Hours 6:30 - 9:30 Lunch Hours 11:15 - 1:15 Dinner Hours 5:30 - 9:00 Dress Code Is Casual

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (208)

Ratings and reviews for Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
208 out of 208
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.6

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Monrovia, IN
May 16, 2010

Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Hilo is not the "resort" side of the island. The hotels are old and dated. Our concierge was very good. We went to a current lava flow, the volcano. Banyon trees were beautiful. Concierge was very good with dining options outside the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There is an IHOP on Highway 11 on the back side of a shopping mall. We did not eat at the hotel. Found IHOP good and cheaper for breakfast. Shopping in downtown was junky. I suggest staying at a resort in Kona.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
On the road too much
Outback of Indiana
May 8, 2010

Good hotel, just don't eat there

Really enjoyed the location and the rooms were good. Underwhelmed with the amenities. Only meals that I saw were buffets. One I tried was the worst ever. Not cheap either, probably why they give discount coupons. Plan on eating out. Staff was excellent. They seem to be in process of updating (e.g., old, small TVs), which will make the hotel even better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Mile from hotel. The Pond has best food we ate in Hawaii, good prices, excellent service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Rochester, NY
Apr 26, 2010

fantastic hotel great service

This was a great hotel clean friendly staff and one of the best concierge desks I've ever been to they went out of there way to be helpful I would recommend this hotel to anyone going to Hilo

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The walk to downtown is easy great shopping once your there

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dana Point, CA
Apr 24, 2010

Great location, average rooms

Nice location in Hilo, next to the Liliokalani Park and at the water's edge. Did not try the restaurant. Service was good - they accomodated an early check-in. Rooms needed new wallpaper and bathroom flooring. Size of rooms was fine. Reasonable price and value for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ken's Pancake House is awesome! It's just a couple of blocks from the hotel. Has a bit of local charm, and open 24 hours per day. Great pancakes, omelettes, and local items. Can get anything on the menu at any time of day.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
troutnahook
Idaho
Apr 24, 2010

Rude

The front desk staff was rude and unfriendly. When asked about restaurants the woman up front stated; there are many you have to find them. Evidently they don't like blonde white women for some reason. The room had roaches.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: In Hotel

Don't bother

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
wattmax
Business
honolulu
Apr 24, 2010

hilo hawaiian

overall good experience. rooms comfortable, helpful and nice staff. clean room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
pui
Seattle, WA
Apr 22, 2010

nice and quiet

Stuffs are nice. Room is clean. The only thing we felt bad about was that we just knew that the Coconut Island is right behind the hotel !!!! This is our fault tho.. ha ha.. I said this is fantastic.. not so fancy but nice place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

We got there late on the 1st night so we had to eat the buffet at the hotel. Total for 3 people was $68 something (after deducted 15% off from the coupon we received ). The food was not worth $ 68 .. but well.. There is a better food, KEN pancake, outside. I just said..

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
janinelauren
las vegas, nv
Apr 21, 2010

Cute hotel, clean and a really good deal

We booked this vacation not planning on spending much time in the hotel. The hotel is a bit outdated in it's decor, but was clean and well worth the money. The location of the hotel is just a few minutes from downtown Hilo and near all of the major freeways to get around the island. As far as the Hilo side goes, this seemed like the nicest hotel. There's a beautiful view around the back of the hotel of Hilo Bay. Parking was so-so when we got back every night but not really a problem. The hotel itself was pretty quiet. I'd stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
trees lover
sf,ca
Apr 17, 2010

In the midst of Banyan grove

I like the most is the location. The hotel is not only located in the midst of the banyan grove, but also has access to walk to a park and the ocean. The banyan trees are very impressive. They are talk and old, like an old frien welcome you with open arms before you get to the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Within a short distant from the hotel, you can catch a free bus to the shopping mall or any part of the city. It is a good way to know the town.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Phoenix, AZ
Apr 2, 2010

Not surprising..previous reviews correct

Not many choices of hotels in Hilo. Castle Hilo Hawaiian probably the best choice. However, it is a substandard hotel. It is outdated. Doesn't look clean. Musty, very humid. I did upgrade to ocean view room. That did make the stay a little brighter. I only stayed at this hotel one day and believe me that was enough The onl1y restaurant available, the food was only OK. Breakfast was greasy. Dinner - fish & chips was good, but the soup was just average.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Hilo Airport

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search