$148 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 23, 2015 Check-out: Apr 26, 2015

Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

3 stars
View map of 71 Banyan Drive, Hilo (Big Island of Hawaii), HI 96720

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
213 out of 213
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.6

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Scottsdale, AZ
Oct 12, 2010

Decent hotel

We spent a couple of days in the Big Island to visit the Volcanoes National Park and Mauna Kea. The hotel, in Hilo, was conveniently located to travel to these two destinations. It's also very close to the airport and Hilo's downtown. The hotel has seen better days, but because we didn't intend to spend a lot of time there, it was fine. Rooms are plain but decent. The breakfast buffet is very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lee-lee
Business
Brisbane, Australia
Oct 12, 2010

Hilo hideaway

This hotel was nice enough. Clean, friendly staff, and on the water. Bay - no beach. We had a bayview room which was nice. This place is certainly nothing fancy, and there is nothing really around within close walking distance to see. The town of Hilo proper is about a half hour stroll away. But - the food was decent and so was happy hour when we could find a staff member to serve us (it was quiet season). Downsides were that internet was about $10 a day and all you got was one coffee/tea serve in the room, if you wanted more, you had to pay extra, which I thought was a bit weak if your are staying several nights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The 24 hour pancake cafe up the road (I think it was 'Ken's') is well worth the walk, if you get tired of the hotel food. They do everything - not just pancakes. ;)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Richmond, VA
Oct 11, 2010

Underwhelmed

Poorly lit hallways, mold growing on the ceiling of the bathroom, uncomfortable beds,tiny television, and questionable cleanliness. Nothing was bad enough to make me want to leave after arriving at 8:30 p.m., but absolutely nothing makes me want to go back. Overpriced for what is was and the decor is sorely in need of updating. Do not eat the food in the lobby restaurant - it was greasy and over seasoned and led to indigestion. We only stayed for one night, but it was the worst one of our trip to the islands. Please don't get me wrong. The hotel is perfectly serviceable for those on a budget - young families and frat boys for example, but this is definitely not the type of place for a "luxury" getaway or honeymoon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Nihon Japanese restaurant was very delicious and authentic. Great food and service. Don't bother eating at the hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Secramento, CA
Oct 7, 2010

Not bad for location

Its probably best hotel in Hilo area. The price is not bad and actually the room was clean. Stayed only one night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Looks Local
Business
San Diego
Oct 6, 2010

Friendly Staff/Needs Updating

Great place to stay if you're going to the volcano or the Mauna Kea Observatory. They only have grab and go lunch with a very limited selection. You'll probably have to leave the hotel for lunch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Dining is limited in Hilo. For a 24 hour diner, go to Ken's House of Pancakes. For local fast food (loco moco, spam dishes), go to Cafe 100. Good Thai restaurant is Zombats.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Honolulu, Hi
Sep 26, 2010

Hilo Hawaiian review

Hotel was quiet, but noisy at night due to the frogs. Most hotels have a packet of coffee each day, but this hotel only gave one on arrival and had to buy additional packets for subsequent days. Rooms were clean and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
teine santa barbara
Business
santa barbara, ca
Sep 14, 2010

Simple, but does the job

Old building, but great friendly staff. The room has just the essentials -so don't expect anything fancy. Location was key! Food: just down the street from Ken's House of Pancakes --good eats! My only "EEEEEEK!" moment was when I climbed into bed a I heard a fluttering from on top of the covers ... a moth was just hanging out. He was the only one I found and I didn't worry about it the rest of the night, but for a good minute I was pretty freaked out. Over all ... Good stay for a decent price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Waipahu, HI
Sep 8, 2010

Great Hilo Trip

We returned to Hilo for a Family Reunion. The Hilo Hawaiian is the best hotel in Hilo for us. We could have used a refrigerator, but purchased one of those foam ice coolers which worked out well. We found the parking to be just great on this trip. Our sliding door lock was broken but maintenance was sent up right away to repair it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The Blue Kalo cookie kiosk outside the hotel was great!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kenkruger68[@]
Business
Olathe , Kansas
Sep 5, 2010

Great location

Lots of parking, small stores outside front lobby with all your daily needs. Rooms are your typical beach local, some humidity issues. Large room and balcony over looking coconut island. Minutes from the airport and downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ken's house of pancakes, 24hours, large menu, great staff. Dined in four times in five days.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Returning Local
Business
Lansing, Michigan
Aug 31, 2010

A comfortable stay

We travelled about the island quite often, so our stay in the hotel room was not extensive; however, it was very peaceful despite the kokee frogs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Hilo has a city market everyday in the downtown area. Wednesday and Saturday are the most active days with a number of vendors plying their wares. The City also has a number of Hawai'i-based waterfront stores with Hawai'i made products.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top