$143 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 27, 2014 Check-out: Dec 28, 2014

Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

3 stars
71 Banyan Drive, Hilo (Big Island of Hawaii), HI 96720
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
209 reviews
Perfect Weekend

Staff is great. Room had an amazing view. If all I did was sit on the Lanai and look out over the... See full review

  • mruts
  • Oct 13, 2014
Great Hilo Stay

This hotel after being renovated is fantastic! Clean rooms, clean environment, and friendly staff.... See full review

  • JALNP
  • Nov 23, 2013

Hilo's best full-service hotel offering outstanding views of the ocean framed by the backdrop of Mauna Kea. The perfect headquarters for exploring the Hawaii Volcanoes National Park.

Get your 5th Night Free.

Quick Tip! For travelers arriving at the Kona International Airport at Keahole, Hilo is located on the east side of the Big Island, approximately 94 miles and a scenic two hour drive away. Resort areas and small country towns along the drive will provide shopping and dining experiences.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel Rooms

Standard Hotel Room
This guest room has one king, or two double beds available. Some with a balcony.
Superior Hotel Room
This guest room has one king, or two double beds. Some rooms also include a balcony.
One Bedroom Banyan View Room
This guest room has one king size bed and one sofa sleeper. This guest room has a kitchenette, air conditioning, alarm clock radio, coffee/tea maker, direct dial telephone, refrigerator and remote control color cable TV.
Deluxe Ocean View
This guest room has one king, two queen beds available. Room also includes a balcony.

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Queen's Court Dining Room
Serves American Cuisine. Breakfast Hours 6:30 - 9:30 Lunch Hours 11:15 - 1:15 Dinner Hours 5:30 - 9:00 Dress Code Is Casual

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (209)

Ratings and reviews for Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
209 out of 209
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.6

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Looks Local
Business
San Diego
Oct 6, 2010

Friendly Staff/Needs Updating

Great place to stay if you're going to the volcano or the Mauna Kea Observatory. They only have grab and go lunch with a very limited selection. You'll probably have to leave the hotel for lunch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Dining is limited in Hilo. For a 24 hour diner, go to Ken's House of Pancakes. For local fast food (loco moco, spam dishes), go to Cafe 100. Good Thai restaurant is Zombats.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Honolulu, Hi
Sep 26, 2010

Hilo Hawaiian review

Hotel was quiet, but noisy at night due to the frogs. Most hotels have a packet of coffee each day, but this hotel only gave one on arrival and had to buy additional packets for subsequent days. Rooms were clean and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
teine santa barbara
Business
santa barbara, ca
Sep 14, 2010

Simple, but does the job

Old building, but great friendly staff. The room has just the essentials -so don't expect anything fancy. Location was key! Food: just down the street from Ken's House of Pancakes --good eats! My only "EEEEEEK!" moment was when I climbed into bed a I heard a fluttering from on top of the covers ... a moth was just hanging out. He was the only one I found and I didn't worry about it the rest of the night, but for a good minute I was pretty freaked out. Over all ... Good stay for a decent price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Waipahu, HI
Sep 8, 2010

Great Hilo Trip

We returned to Hilo for a Family Reunion. The Hilo Hawaiian is the best hotel in Hilo for us. We could have used a refrigerator, but purchased one of those foam ice coolers which worked out well. We found the parking to be just great on this trip. Our sliding door lock was broken but maintenance was sent up right away to repair it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The Blue Kalo cookie kiosk outside the hotel was great!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kenkruger68[@]
Business
Olathe , Kansas
Sep 5, 2010

Great location

Lots of parking, small stores outside front lobby with all your daily needs. Rooms are your typical beach local, some humidity issues. Large room and balcony over looking coconut island. Minutes from the airport and downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ken's house of pancakes, 24hours, large menu, great staff. Dined in four times in five days.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Returning Local
Business
Lansing, Michigan
Aug 31, 2010

A comfortable stay

We travelled about the island quite often, so our stay in the hotel room was not extensive; however, it was very peaceful despite the kokee frogs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Hilo has a city market everyday in the downtown area. Wednesday and Saturday are the most active days with a number of vendors plying their wares. The City also has a number of Hawai'i-based waterfront stores with Hawai'i made products.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Biggviloria
Business
Oahu, HI
Aug 29, 2010

Great location.

Restaurant and bar areas were nice. Staff very friendly and provided excellent service during meals.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pahoa, Hawaii
Aug 23, 2010

A happy relaxing stay.

We were shown a wide variety of activities to choose from but decided that taking in the sights was what we really wanted to do and their help with that was invaluable. It seemed really quiet at the hotel and i think it contributed to a relaxing stay. And I think the lack of crowds was what was missing all the other trips we took. We had a great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Honolulu
Aug 14, 2010

Stay here!

Great place for business traveller. Good size room, free internet access, good restaurant on site. Close to town for business and easy access to Volcano National Park, golf and running paths.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orlando, FL
Aug 13, 2010

ordianary, but fine for Hilo

Hilo is a somewhat run-down town. All hotels seem just OK, so this is probably about as good as you can do in Hilo. Nothing wrong with the place, though. Just very ordinary - a decent place to stay and that's it. The setting is pleasant and the room was clean. I didn't like that they charge $2.00 each for the little packets of coffee for the room (except for the first), but that's a minor thing. Not many dining options nearby for those with picky eaters (kids) in tow! We went to the Big Island simply to see Kiluea. For that, the room was fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Not many dining options within walking distance, especially kid-friendly ones. If you drive short distance toward a shopping center called "Prince Kulio Plaza" (I believe that was the name - Prince something Plaza anyway), you can find typical fast food fare such as McDonalds, Subway, Taco Bell, etc.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top