$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 9, 2015 Check-out: Aug 10, 2015

SpringHill Suites by Marriott Savannah Downtown/Historic District

3 stars
View map of 150 Montgomery Street, 150 Montgomery Street, Savannah, GA 31401

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
175 reviews
Attending son's graduation in Parris Island

It was a great place to stay and would recommend it especially to the family and friends of... See full review

  • Liz R.
  • Apr 10, 2015
Quick stay

Nice accomadations for the money. 5-10 minute walk to the water. Would stay again. See full review

  • Rick S.
  • Feb 23, 2015

Recently opened in 2009, the SpringHill Suites by Marriott hotel sits on the west side of the historic district in downtown Savannah, just steps from the Savannah Civic Center. Visitors can walk from the hotel to many of the attractions in downtown Savannah. All the rooms at this new property are one-bedroom suites--50 percent larger than average hotel rooms--decorated in a modern style with oversize glass showers and flat-screen TVs. Guests can use computers in the business center or go online in their rooms with free Wi-Fi access.

Rooms

All of the 160 guest rooms in this downtown hotel are suites, boasting 50 percent more space than average hotel rooms, including sitting areas, walk-in glass showers, separate powder rooms, pullout sofa beds and 37-inch flat-screen TVs. Rooms come with either king beds or pairs of queen beds. In-room amenities include free wireless Internet access, microwave, mini refrigerator, silverware, coffee maker and work desk.

Property features

The modern décor of the hotel features a mix of contemporary colors and designs with traditional southern style. Step into a columned lobby with plush carpets and sheer drapes in shades of blue, green and teal. The hotel features a complimentary breakfast buffet every morning, high-speed Internet in all guest rooms and public areas, heated pool, whirlpool and an on-site state-of-the-art fitness center. The concierge service can arrange tours or restaurant reservations and trolley tours pick gusts up outside the hotel. Guests can place valuables in the safe at the front desk and a full-service business center has computers and printing services. Groups can book flexible meetings spaces.

Highlights
  • Guest rooms 50 percent larger than average hotel rooms
  • Trolley tours pick up guests in front of the hotel
  • Free Wi-Fi access throughout the property
Nearby attractions
  • Savannah Civic Center (next door)
  • City Market (.3 mi/.5 km)
  • River Street (.3 mi/.5 km)
  • Savannah Visitors Center (.3 mi/.5 km)
  • Forsyth Park (1 mi/1.6 km)
Business
  • Business center with high-speed Internet (free)
  • Flexible meeting rooms

 

Transportation
  • Savannah/Hilton Head Airport (16.4 mi/26.4 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed SpringHill Suites by Marriott Savannah Downtown/Historic District also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Jogging track
Tennis
Dining
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Bathroom telephone
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for SpringHill Suites by Marriott Savannah Downtown/Historic District

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
74 out of 175
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of SpringHill Suites by Marriott Savannah Downtown/Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Christopher S.
Business
N/A
Jun 30, 2015

Family Fun

Great location! Very close to everything. Very clean and well maintained. The breakfast was wonderful! The kids loved the waffles!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of SpringHill Suites by Marriott Savannah Downtown/Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sean M.
Business
Lithia
May 4, 2015

Stop in Savannah

Stopped in Savannah for the evening. Booked this room because of it's location to all the activity and past experiences with Springhill Suites on family trips. Room met our expectations. Good value for the size and location. Staff was extremely helpful in sharing their favorite spots downtown. Walked to dinner at one of the recommended spots...very pleased.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of SpringHill Suites by Marriott Savannah Downtown/Historic District

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
hockey
Business
N/A
Jan 28, 2015

Nice modern room layout

We liked the nice modern room layout with separate suite area including little tables by the sofa and desk, and separate rooms for shower and toilet. King size bed was comfortable enough but not the best also only had one hook for towel(s). The complimentary breakfast had tons of choices and was great. We loved our long weekend and walked everywhere from hotel, never needing car, which they have mandatory valet charge of $20/day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of SpringHill Suites by Marriott Savannah Downtown/Historic District

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveled with an infant
Business
Tennessee
Sep 26, 2014

Was robbed...

We did not know the hotel only had valet parking which resulted in an unexpected $20 per day charge. The hotel/staff and overall visit was pleasant and we had no complaints. However, when we got home we discovered our pistol had been stolen from the glove compartment. We had no reason to think the valet was capable of stealing but our car only left the garage one day and was always locked. No one other than the valets had access to our vehicle the whole trip. Take anything valuable or important out of the car with you!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Olde Pink House has an amazing Pork tenderloin!!!

Review of SpringHill Suites by Marriott Savannah Downtown/Historic District

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Runner Amy K
Business
Tampa, FL
Sep 14, 2014

Not the best but our family had a good trip nonetheless.

The hotel room was not cleaned all that well. There were old pretzel pieces, hair balls and other miscellaneous debris in the corners of the room. The shower curtain had leftover toothpaste on it from the prior guest, I guess. They tried to fix it but for the price and the fact that it's a new hotel (built in 2009), it didn't live up to the online reviews. The pretzel and hair balls were never called. I'm a rewards member for this particular hotel chain which is why I chose this particular hotel and the location was pretty good. I had never been to Savannah and wanted to be in the historic district. I called the hotel the same evening that the hotel reservation was made and I spoke with Tony at the front desk. He told me I could still get get credit for my hotel stay and that all I had to do was provide them with my rewards number upon my check in. That information from Tony turn out to be false because Amy at the front desk upon my arrival told me that they could not do such a thing since I booked it on online and not through the hotel website-- prettying frustrating. Savannah was beautiful but when I would go back for another visit I will not stay in this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Take the trolley tour… they pick up from most hotels via a shuttle. The tour is a great way to see the city as you can get on and off at different points.

Review of SpringHill Suites by Marriott Savannah Downtown/Historic District

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Yogiyo
Business
Madison, Al
Sep 2, 2014

Great girl's weekend

We were blown away by the beautiful, modern decor. The beds were super comfortable and the hotel staff was extremely friendly. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to all my family and friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Make sure to ask the concierge about any spots that you may want to visit. Everything is a shore walk or short drive from the hotel

Review of SpringHill Suites by Marriott Savannah Downtown/Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Larry D1
Business
Washington DC
Aug 13, 2014

Good

Hotel was good, people nice. But when I booked it was not specified that there is only a Valet Parking. I don't like Valet Parking, I don't want to let unknown people to drive my car.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of SpringHill Suites by Marriott Savannah Downtown/Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Visitor from atl
Business
Atlanta
Aug 11, 2014

Weekend with mom

This hotel was both clean and modern with a friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of SpringHill Suites by Marriott Savannah Downtown/Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
awillis
Business
Hickory, NC
Aug 9, 2014

Great location

Great location, great deal on the room. The only issue was that the pool was closed the entire time we were there, this was not noted on the Web site. This was a disappointment, since my kids wanted to swim. Since the pool was closed I asked if I could not be charged for the valet parking, the lady at the front desk was happy to credit the cost of the parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of SpringHill Suites by Marriott Savannah Downtown/Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SmithJ
Business
Seattle, Washington
Aug 1, 2014

Savannah

This was a great hotel at a good price. Unfortunately the pool was under construction so my kids missed out on swming but the rest was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top