$104 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 22, 2014

SpringHill Suites by Marriott Savannah Downtown/Historic District

3 stars
150 Montgomery Street, 150 Montgomery Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
169 reviews
Amazing downtown stay!

Amazing service from valet to check in. I will most def be staying here again. See full review

  • AtlantaGayGuy
  • Sep 9, 2014
Great girl's weekend

We were blown away by the beautiful, modern decor. The beds were super comfortable and the hotel... See full review

  • Yogiyo
  • Sep 2, 2014
New hotel with classy, modern suites in the downtown historic district

Recently opened in 2009, the SpringHill Suites by Marriott hotel sits on the west side of the historic district in downtown Savannah, just steps from the Savannah Civic Center. Visitors can walk from the hotel to many of the attractions in downtown Savannah. All the rooms at this new property are one-bedroom suites--50 percent larger than average hotel rooms--decorated in a modern style with oversize glass showers and flat-screen TVs. Guests can use computers in the business center or go online in their rooms with free Wi-Fi access.

Highlights
  • Guest rooms 50 percent larger than average hotel rooms
  • Trolley tours pick up guests in front of the hotel
  • Free Wi-Fi access throughout the property
Rooms

All of the 160 guest rooms in this downtown hotel are suites, boasting 50 percent more space than average hotel rooms, including sitting areas, walk-in glass showers, separate powder rooms, pullout sofa beds and 37-inch flat-screen TVs. Rooms come with either king beds or pairs of queen beds. In-room amenities include free wireless Internet access, microwave, mini refrigerator, silverware, coffee maker and work desk.

Features

The modern décor of the hotel features a mix of contemporary colors and designs with traditional southern style. Step into a columned lobby with plush carpets and sheer drapes in shades of blue, green and teal. The hotel features a complimentary breakfast buffet every morning, high-speed Internet in all guest rooms and public areas, heated pool, whirlpool and an on-site state-of-the-art fitness center. The concierge service can arrange tours or restaurant reservations and trolley tours pick gusts up outside the hotel. Guests can place valuables in the safe at the front desk and a full-service business center has computers and printing services. Groups can book flexible meetings spaces.

Transportation
  • Savannah/Hilton Head Airport (16.4 mi/26.4 km)
Attractions
  • Savannah Civic Center (next door)
  • City Market (.3 mi/.5 km)
  • River Street (.3 mi/.5 km)
  • Savannah Visitors Center (.3 mi/.5 km)
  • Forsyth Park (1 mi/1.6 km)
Business
  • Business center with high-speed Internet (free)
  • Flexible meeting rooms

 

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed SpringHill Suites by Marriott Savannah Downtown/Historic District also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Jogging track
Tennis
Dining
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Bathroom telephone
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (169)

Ratings and reviews for SpringHill Suites by Marriott Savannah Downtown/Historic District

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
169 out of 169
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of SpringHill Suites by Marriott Savannah Downtown/Historic District

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
listen to this
Business
Dublin, GA
Jun 24, 2014

Spend your money elsewhere!

Not good. We were told twice on the phone that there was no charge for parking but when we checked in they told us there is a parking fee. We were standing outside & in lobby with a ton of luggage and the bellman just ignored us as if we were not even on the planet! The sofa bed is so small your feet hang off the end. The tv was cracked. We will NEVER stay here again!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of SpringHill Suites by Marriott Savannah Downtown/Historic District

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
This is ridiculous
Business
Fort Mitchell, KY, USA
Mar 19, 2012

Overnight stay in Savannah

Upon our late evening arrival the room was frigid!!! It was in the low 60's. We could not get any heat and finally just turned the thermostat off. It kept blowing cold air!! We were cold all night! The shower leaked all over the floor. We used several towels to clean it up. There is also a $20 valet parking fee that is not mentioned in the details before arrival.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of SpringHill Suites by Marriott Savannah Downtown/Historic District

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
LindaSF
Business
San Francisco
Aug 19, 2012

This is upscale?

When I'm travelling and paying for an upscale hotel I'm looking for a comfortable place to rest my head and relax. Those requirements are the minimum. When we arrived to our room the sofabed was not made up nor were the linens in the room. I called down to reception and was told that linens were available at the reception, if I wanted them to come and get them. I also had to go down to reception if I wanted towels for all of us. If I'm paying for a room for 4 people, I shoud get four towels daily without the hassle and attitude. Poor service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of SpringHill Suites by Marriott Savannah Downtown/Historic District

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dissapointed in Springhil
Business
North Carolina
Dec 12, 2013

Not a good experience

I was given a room with no heat...ordinarily not an issue in Savannah, but it was very cold the weekend I was there. The room wouldn't heat at all and it was 62 degrees in the room when I woke up. The front desk didn't seem to care and told me they had no other rooms available. They sent 'maintenance' up twice to turn the unit off and then back on. I guess they figured I couldn't handle that on my own. Both times, it never heated the room. When I complained again, they now had a room they could move me to. Why they didn't let me know, I'm not sure. This room had the heat (the one next to my 'no heat' room. I turned the heat off because it was 76 degrees when I went in. It never went below 75 degrees in this room. I called the manager of the hotel after I got home and left a message. He never returned my call. I guess they don't care about a guest experience. The front desk asst manager offered to comp my parking but I didn't park a car there so she offered nothing. I wouldn't go back and will make sure Marriott knows that they don't appreciate it when you book through a travel site and not Marriott directly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of SpringHill Suites by Marriott Savannah Downtown/Historic District

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Disappointed Tommy
Business
Gainesville, FL
Jun 9, 2014

Disappointed

My wife and I stayed here over the weekend with our 16 month old. The room is billed a "suite" but it is really just a room with a tall desk between the beds and couch. There is one TV between the two areas that is on a swivel. The carpet was dirty and stained. An odd feature with the room was the use of sliding doors for the separated toilet room and shower room. Both doors opened to the main hotel room. There were no ways to lock the doors and the toilet room door did not close all the way. There was still about a half-inch gap when closed. The shower door to the walk-in shower was glass and leaked all over the tile floor. The lighting in the shower room was terrible. My wife did her make up in the toilet room because it had brighter lights. "Complimentary wifi" was only available in the lobby of the hotel. The room had wired internet available but was very slow. You had to pay $6.95 per day for the faster internet. The hotel only has valet parking for $20 per night. The valet staff was very nice though. City parking is also available about a block away. The walk to Bay Street and River Street was about 10 minutes. Not too bad during the day but not ideal at night considering the neighborhood. For the cost of the hotel though, I would consider staying at a hotel on Bay Street. It would be more convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of SpringHill Suites by Marriott Savannah Downtown/Historic District

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
augusta, ga
Jan 1, 2011

Savannah Marriott Springhill Suites

Room was OK, but expected a "suite" to be larger. This was a small room with a tiny desk/sitting area. Breakfast area in hotel way too small and understaffed for the size of the hotel. People waiting in line and stepping on each other. Breakfast itself was good, but the crowded atmosphere made it unpleasant. Had to use valet parking (an extra 12$/day) which also was pretty crowded. Overall, would not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of SpringHill Suites by Marriott Savannah Downtown/Historic District

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Runner Amy K
Business
Tampa, FL
Sep 14, 2014

Not the best but our family had a good trip nonetheless.

The hotel room was not cleaned all that well. There were old pretzel pieces, hair balls and other miscellaneous debris in the corners of the room. The shower curtain had leftover toothpaste on it from the prior guest, I guess. They tried to fix it but for the price and the fact that it's a new hotel (built in 2009), it didn't live up to the online reviews. The pretzel and hair balls were never called. I'm a rewards member for this particular hotel chain which is why I chose this particular hotel and the location was pretty good. I had never been to Savannah and wanted to be in the historic district. I called the hotel the same evening that the hotel reservation was made and I spoke with Tony at the front desk. He told me I could still get get credit for my hotel stay and that all I had to do was provide them with my rewards number upon my check in. That information from Tony turn out to be false because Amy at the front desk upon my arrival told me that they could not do such a thing since I booked it on online and not through the hotel website-- prettying frustrating. Savannah was beautiful but when I would go back for another visit I will not stay in this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Take the trolley tour… they pick up from most hotels via a shuttle. The tour is a great way to see the city as you can get on and off at different points.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of SpringHill Suites by Marriott Savannah Downtown/Historic District

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
honneymooner
Business
charleston, south carolina
Nov 14, 2011

great location

The location is perfect. you can walk to any part of the historic distance. BIG THING TO KNOW!!! They charge $15.00 a day for parking there!!! They only have valet since their garage is under the hotel. THERE IS A PARKING GARAGE 1/2 A BLOCK DOWN THAT IS MUCH CHEAPER!! We parked on Fri. at 2:00 and pulled out of the garage at 2:30p.m. on sun and only paid $12.00. The people were nice. The morning girl and house keeping were AMAZING!! We booked a King Bed and called 4 days before our trip and verified our reservation. When we got there we had two queen beds. I went to the lobby and they said they were over 100% booked due to a computer glitch and couldn't do anything that night but to check in the morning as there were a bunch of groups leaving. The room was immaculate. Cleaned to perfection. Only problem was 2 beds (we were on our honeymoon. Nothing like 2 beds to make you feel honeymoon-ish). The next morning we went to the lobby and they gave up a new room. We gave permission to move our belongings while we went sightseeing and they did a great job! We come back and go to the desk and they send us to a new room, only to find that this was not really our room being our stuff wasn't there. The housekeeping ladies were fantastic. They helped us figure everything out. we finally get to our real room and it is not as clean s teh other rooms. mirrors not wiped down, bedspread dirty, not vaccuumed... by now my husband was irritated by the moving around, so we just took it. for what we paid for that hotel we should have had free parking and a clean room. Now mind you the first 2 rooms we were in were immaculate.. when we moved from the second room to the third, the housekeeping supervisor came in and redid the room and my husband had only sat on the bed. So I do not think that the dirty room is the norm for this hotel, i think someone just got a little slack. the internet was great but no vending machines, the only option was to buy from the lobby which was $2.00 for a 20 oz drink. The evening clerks were big on pushing the pool and hot tub that were both heated but were outside and it was 40 degrees that night.. really, asked about some places to go and things to do and they were not much help. I get that they might not hang out there, but they should know the area, between two of them we should have gotten something.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Park in the garage 1/2 block up. If you park on the second floor you can see your car from the hotel .(any floor above 3) It costs us $12.00 to park for the weekend where as the hotel charges $15.00 a day.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of SpringHill Suites by Marriott Savannah Downtown/Historic District

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Wife Beth
Business
Oklahoma
Jul 20, 2012

Great Savannah Trip

The hotel was within walking distance to most things we wanted to do. Check in time is very late. We had to wait in the lobby for the room to be done. Two of the days they did not even get to us to clean the room until nearly 4:00 when we were back and tired. The breakfast was very nice and had a big variety to choose from. There was always fresh coffee in the lobby also. The main drawback was no parking. You are pretty much forced to use valet parking. That was a problem throughout Savannah.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of SpringHill Suites by Marriott Savannah Downtown/Historic District

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
cambr9
Business
Charlotte, NC
Feb 18, 2013

Overall a good experience

This is a sleek, modern-looking hotel in a convenient location. A few comments: (1) This booking site asks whether you want a smoking or non-smoking room, but be warned -- the hotel is entirely non-smoking. (2) The TV is awkwardly positioned within the room, askew from the beds. (3) The water closet (toilet) is separate from the shower, and in both rooms, the door is a sliding door without a lock, and with very little privacy. (4) There was an irregular but incessant clicking noise that came from inside the bathroom ceiling (I don't know what caused it). (5) The light between the beds (which is the only light in the main part of the room) made a VERY loud steady hum, which was annoying. On the whole, the hotel was clean and comfortable, though the above issues need to be addressed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top