$119 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 11, 2014 Check-out: Aug 13, 2014

SpringHill Suites by Marriott Savannah Downtown/Historic District

3 stars
150 Montgomery Street, 150 Montgomery Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
229 reviews
Perfect!

Great location! Walking distance to River Street and most attractions. Concierge service was... See full review

  • MarineMomRosa
  • Jun 22, 2014
A great venue,couldn't ask for a better place.

Only thing that I did not appreciate was the cup with sign asking for tips at the front check in... See full review

  • Unice
  • Jun 20, 2014
New hotel with classy, modern suites in the downtown historic district

Recently opened in 2009, the SpringHill Suites by Marriott hotel sits on the west side of the historic district in downtown Savannah, just steps from the Savannah Civic Center. Visitors can walk from the hotel to many of the attractions in downtown Savannah. All the rooms at this new property are one-bedroom suites--50 percent larger than average hotel rooms--decorated in a modern style with oversize glass showers and flat-screen TVs. Guests can use computers in the business center or go online in their rooms with free Wi-Fi access.

Highlights
  • Guest rooms 50 percent larger than average hotel rooms
  • Trolley tours pick up guests in front of the hotel
  • Free Wi-Fi access throughout the property
Rooms

All of the 160 guest rooms in this downtown hotel are suites, boasting 50 percent more space than average hotel rooms, including sitting areas, walk-in glass showers, separate powder rooms, pullout sofa beds and 37-inch flat-screen TVs. Rooms come with either king beds or pairs of queen beds. In-room amenities include free wireless Internet access, microwave, mini refrigerator, silverware, coffee maker and work desk.

Features

The modern décor of the hotel features a mix of contemporary colors and designs with traditional southern style. Step into a columned lobby with plush carpets and sheer drapes in shades of blue, green and teal. The hotel features a complimentary breakfast buffet every morning, high-speed Internet in all guest rooms and public areas, heated pool, whirlpool and an on-site state-of-the-art fitness center. The concierge service can arrange tours or restaurant reservations and trolley tours pick gusts up outside the hotel. Guests can place valuables in the safe at the front desk and a full-service business center has computers and printing services. Groups can book flexible meetings spaces.

Transportation
  • Savannah/Hilton Head Airport (16.4 mi/26.4 km)
Attractions
  • Savannah Civic Center (next door)
  • City Market (.3 mi/.5 km)
  • River Street (.3 mi/.5 km)
  • Savannah Visitors Center (.3 mi/.5 km)
  • Forsyth Park (1 mi/1.6 km)
Business
  • Business center with high-speed Internet (free)
  • Flexible meeting rooms

 

Hotel Map

32.0784 -81.0969
Area served
Midtown Abercorn Street
Nearby airports
Savannah/Hilton Head International Airport, (SAV), 10.40, MI, SE; Jacksonville International Airport, (JAX), 130.00, MI, N;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed SpringHill Suites by Marriott Savannah Downtown/Historic District also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Jogging track
Tennis
Dining
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Bathroom telephone
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (229)

Ratings and reviews for SpringHill Suites by Marriott Savannah Downtown/Historic District

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
229 out of 229
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of SpringHill Suites by Marriott Savannah Downtown/Historic District

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
listen to this
Dublin, GA
Jun 24, 2014

Spend your money elsewhere!

Not good. We were told twice on the phone that there was no charge for parking but when we checked in they told us there is a parking fee. We were standing outside & in lobby with a ton of luggage and the bellman just ignored us as if we were not even on the planet! The sofa bed is so small your feet hang off the end. The tv was cracked. We will NEVER stay here again!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of SpringHill Suites by Marriott Savannah Downtown/Historic District

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
augusta, ga
Jan 1, 2011

Savannah Marriott Springhill Suites

Room was OK, but expected a "suite" to be larger. This was a small room with a tiny desk/sitting area. Breakfast area in hotel way too small and understaffed for the size of the hotel. People waiting in line and stepping on each other. Breakfast itself was good, but the crowded atmosphere made it unpleasant. Had to use valet parking (an extra 12$/day) which also was pretty crowded. Overall, would not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of SpringHill Suites by Marriott Savannah Downtown/Historic District

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
LindaSF
San Francisco
Aug 19, 2012

This is upscale?

When I'm travelling and paying for an upscale hotel I'm looking for a comfortable place to rest my head and relax. Those requirements are the minimum. When we arrived to our room the sofabed was not made up nor were the linens in the room. I called down to reception and was told that linens were available at the reception, if I wanted them to come and get them. I also had to go down to reception if I wanted towels for all of us. If I'm paying for a room for 4 people, I shoud get four towels daily without the hassle and attitude. Poor service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of SpringHill Suites by Marriott Savannah Downtown/Historic District

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
This is ridiculous
Fort Mitchell, KY, USA
Mar 19, 2012

Overnight stay in Savannah

Upon our late evening arrival the room was frigid!!! It was in the low 60's. We could not get any heat and finally just turned the thermostat off. It kept blowing cold air!! We were cold all night! The shower leaked all over the floor. We used several towels to clean it up. There is also a $20 valet parking fee that is not mentioned in the details before arrival.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of SpringHill Suites by Marriott Savannah Downtown/Historic District

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Disappointed Tommy
Gainesville, FL
Jun 9, 2014

Disappointed

My wife and I stayed here over the weekend with our 16 month old. The room is billed a "suite" but it is really just a room with a tall desk between the beds and couch. There is one TV between the two areas that is on a swivel. The carpet was dirty and stained. An odd feature with the room was the use of sliding doors for the separated toilet room and shower room. Both doors opened to the main hotel room. There were no ways to lock the doors and the toilet room door did not close all the way. There was still about a half-inch gap when closed. The shower door to the walk-in shower was glass and leaked all over the tile floor. The lighting in the shower room was terrible. My wife did her make up in the toilet room because it had brighter lights. "Complimentary wifi" was only available in the lobby of the hotel. The room had wired internet available but was very slow. You had to pay $6.95 per day for the faster internet. The hotel only has valet parking for $20 per night. The valet staff was very nice though. City parking is also available about a block away. The walk to Bay Street and River Street was about 10 minutes. Not too bad during the day but not ideal at night considering the neighborhood. For the cost of the hotel though, I would consider staying at a hotel on Bay Street. It would be more convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of SpringHill Suites by Marriott Savannah Downtown/Historic District

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dissapointed in Springhil
North Carolina
Dec 12, 2013

Not a good experience

I was given a room with no heat...ordinarily not an issue in Savannah, but it was very cold the weekend I was there. The room wouldn't heat at all and it was 62 degrees in the room when I woke up. The front desk didn't seem to care and told me they had no other rooms available. They sent 'maintenance' up twice to turn the unit off and then back on. I guess they figured I couldn't handle that on my own. Both times, it never heated the room. When I complained again, they now had a room they could move me to. Why they didn't let me know, I'm not sure. This room had the heat (the one next to my 'no heat' room. I turned the heat off because it was 76 degrees when I went in. It never went below 75 degrees in this room. I called the manager of the hotel after I got home and left a message. He never returned my call. I guess they don't care about a guest experience. The front desk asst manager offered to comp my parking but I didn't park a car there so she offered nothing. I wouldn't go back and will make sure Marriott knows that they don't appreciate it when you book through a travel site and not Marriott directly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of SpringHill Suites by Marriott Savannah Downtown/Historic District

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
augusta, ga
Jan 1, 2011

Savannah Marriott Springhill Suites

Room was OK, but expected a "suite" to be larger. This was a small room with a tiny desk/sitting area. Breakfast area in hotel way too small and understaffed for the size of the hotel. People waiting in line and stepping on each other. Breakfast itself was good, but the crowded atmosphere made it unpleasant. Had to use valet parking (an extra 12$/day) which also was pretty crowded. Overall, would not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of SpringHill Suites by Marriott Savannah Downtown/Historic District

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Crazy 8
Augusta, Georgia
Aug 8, 2010

Weekend Review

Hotel was great, breakfast was fulfilling, and hotels staff was helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Close to all the good restsaurants.

Review of SpringHill Suites by Marriott Savannah Downtown/Historic District

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Villa Rica, GA
Sep 24, 2010

$12/Day Parking...Unmentioned

On noisy street. Costs $12/day to park. Valet parking service only. Take tip money. A Marriott "Boutique" hotel. Otherwise, good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take 2 rolls of quarters for parking. Costs at Visitors Center, costs at beach, costs at Day Spa, costs $12/day at hotel, costs, costs, costs to park.

Review of SpringHill Suites by Marriott Savannah Downtown/Historic District

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mscounselor
Florida
Jan 2, 2010

Ipod goe missing

The Hotel was very nice very clean . The satff was friendly and . the location was great near alot of nice places to visit. I was there on a home trip for a weekend with my mother and relatives. I am a native of Savannah born and raised. So i knew where everything is. Stayed at the hotel because of space with the family not available. The worse part of the trip was I left my Ipod and all its cables along with my phone charger. After contacting the hotel about my items that were left they told me that there staff was good about turning things in and could not locate it , but did find my pillow and offerred to send it to me . I quetsioned them about not finding the Ipod seeing I left it in the room on the sink. I thought this was hard to miss. But anyway I guess I am just a guest who needs to be more careful about my stuff seeing they could care less or offer to help replace it . I will miss it because i will miss all my music stored on it . So to whomever got it there at the hotel go ahead and enjoy it and Happy New year....my new year will be musicless. thanks for nothing unhappy floridain

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top