$107 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 16, 2014 Check-out: Nov 18, 2014

Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

3 stars
201 W. Bay St., Savannah, GA 31401
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
332 reviews
Excellent Savannah stay

The Inn is centrally located to Riverstreet as well as the Savannah Market. Excellent value, clean,... See full review

  • Flamingotina
  • Aug 31, 2014
Right Down Town Savannah

The Inn at Ellis Square has a great location for experiencing the downtown experience of Savannah.... See full review

  • Gordon from NC
  • Jul 28, 2014
Historic hotel with modern amenities near Savannah’s riverfront

This non-smoking Day's Inn hotel overlooks the Savannah River from Bay Street and sits in front of Ellis Square, one of six historic parks designed by Savannah founder, James Oglethorpe. Recipient of a 2006 historic preservation award, the Inn at Ellis Square occupies the 150-year-old Guckenheimer building. Guests can experience the rich furnishings of this well-preserved building without sacrificing modern conveniences. The property offers high-speed Internet access and flexible meeting and banquet facilities.

Highlights
  • Easy walk to downtown dining and attractions
  • Close to trolley and carriage tours
  • Wireless Internet
  • Historic Savannah Society 2006 historic-preservation award winner
Rooms

The Inn at Ellis Square offers standard, one-room accommodations and suites. Standard rooms offer a king bed or two double beds and suites feature a living area with couch and wet bar, plus large baths with dressing rooms. Amenities for all rooms include complimentary Internet access, cable TV, desk, mini refrigerator, microwave and coffeemaker.

Features

As the recipient of the Historic Savannah Society 2006 historic-preservation award, this 150-year-old property retains many original features. The hotel's decor is heavy on dark wood and warm, earthy furnishings. The hotel serves a complimentary continental breakfast in a room with towering ceilings and arched windows. Dominique's Lounge is a perfect place for guests to gather in the evening for a cocktail. The hotel has a fitness center. The business center offers Internet, copy and fax services. Five conference rooms and banquet facilities totaling 6,000 square feet accommodate up to 200 people. Technical equipment is available for rent.

Transportation
  • Savannah/Hilton Head Airport
Attractions
  • Savannah Visitors Center
  • Lady and Sons restaurant
  • City Market
  • River Street
  • Mercer House
Business
  • Business center
  • Conference facilities and meeting rooms
  • Complimentary Internet, copy and fax services
Policies and fees
  • The hotel will be undergoing renovations from June 28, 2015 until further notice.
  • Parking fee is $16 a day.
  • This is a non-smoking property.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

32.0814 -81.0939
Area served
Savannah, GA.
Nearby airports
Savannah International. I-95 to Exit 99A, I-16 E Montgomery Sreet to Bay Street.
Area description
Local attractions include River Street, City Market, Telfair Museum, Owens-Thomas House, Ships of the Sea, Lady & Sons Restaurant, Dinner Cruising, Trolley & horse drawn carriage tours.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel also booked these hotels.

Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel Rooms

1 bedroom suite
Our executive suites, located in our lovingly restored Guckenheimer building offer the richness and grace of a bygone era. Private bedrooms with King beds, living rooms with queen sleeper sofas and wet bars. Also featured are over sized bath and dressing area, Coffee makers, fridge & microwave, wireless Internet.
Standard Room
Standard rooms offer two double beds, bath separate from vanity, coffee maker, irons and ironing boards, hair dryers, high speed Internet, workspace, cable TV, clock radio.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Three meeting rooms available. Largest meeting room seats 80 guests.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (332)

Ratings and reviews for Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
86 out of 332
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.6

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Miney
Business
Thailand
Sep 9, 2014

Big room and good location

We stayed 10 nights here. Big room make us feel comfortable also location is good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
william lawrence a
Business
charlotte nc
Jul 17, 2014

love savanna

Hotel is in a great location, you pay extra for parking, room is a little cramped, but nice, could use a small refrigerator, maybe a microwave. Enjoyed out stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
wifemomteachertoo
Business
georgia
Jun 30, 2014

quick trip

quick trip for my daughter and me....hotel looked great on line. very loud in the foyer...hard to hear anything...checked in...clerk was cordial, not extremely friendly. elevator was extremely slow...took the stairs most of the time. room was very disappointing...picture over one bed was just gone...hole in the wall exposing wires to light fixture...funny smell in the room...bathroom...toilet was dirty...inside and out....the last night we were there, we only had bath towels...no hand towels or wash clothes....parking...not a great situation....very small spaces....my car got swiped by a mirror and will have to have some work....and then there is this issue with the lot across the street...not really where one wants to park with a 13 year old....you have to walk past the gentleman's club to get back to the hotel....hotel looks great on the outside and great online....reality is not always as it looks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Accidental Ex Patriot
Business
Italy
Jun 1, 2014

Overall, a positive experience

The impressive, brick hotel was in a great location, convenient to many historic sites, good restaurants and pleasant walks both day and evening, but our room, being on the street side was terribly noisy beginning early each morning. It didn't help that a road crew was ripping up the street outside our window. I'd go again, but I'd surely ask for an inside room. The staff is pleasant and several were more than that -- genuinely helpful and cordial. The breakfast was not outstanding, as have been many hotel breakfasts that I have enjoyed throughout the country and abroad, but it was certainly adequate, with sufficient variety to get the day off to a good start. We didn't have a car, but I observed that parking is no problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We were lucky enough to discover the Olde Pink House (restaurant) for dinner one evening. It was a marvelous dining experience for the ambience, for the happy atmosphere, wonderful menu and fabulous, friendly service, AND live music. I'd go back to Savannah just to eat there again. Should you go, feel free to explore the rest of the historic house for a taste of gracious Savannah living in the early19th Century.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TerryAlpha
Business
Atlanta
May 27, 2014

A good trip but the hotel has something to improve

The hotel is not bad overall, particularly its location. They charged 15 dollars for parking, which surprised me since when I booked in orbiz, it only mentioned that parking is available. It could be clearer. When I came in to ask when to checkin, the clerk told me 4 pm. But the webpage said 3 pm. We have to wait for one extra hour to get into our room. When we were tired and wanted to have a room to rest, it is really not good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Metsrbest
Business
Germantown, MD
Jan 1, 2014

Stay at Ellis Inn

Great stay right after Christmas. Staff was outstanding and breakfast was great. More than enough good food to be more like a brunch. Did not give a five star rating for location only because it is not by the river but a block away. But still in an excellent location. The only thing to keep in mind is the elevators are slow so my family and I spent most of our time using the stairs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A.Lure restaurant was great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
globaldad
Business
North Dakota
Dec 30, 2013

ok hotel in very good location

Positives: staff friendly and helpful; rooms of decent size Negatives: continental breakfast mediocre (quantities limited, not very tasty, watery coffee) --and the space was way overcrowded when the hotel was fully booked. Parking ($13) is a challenge on weekends, to find a space. Half the rooms face a very noisy street; make sure to get an even-numbered room!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Sweet Potato restaurant. Lots of dandy small and cheap restaurants to be found using yelp.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Doctormamma
Business
Saint Marys, GA
Jul 25, 2013

Poor condition/under construction

We stayed here for my husband's fathers funeral and I thought it would be nice to stay in a nice place on bay street. we are from Savannah so we are very familiar with what is available in the area. Our room was stale, had an odor and was very hard to keep a temperature that was comfortable near both beds. However, construction (drilling) started at 7am both days, literally outside our window on our wall as men were on a scaffold when I opened the curtains. They ripped out the pool one week before we arrived which is another reason I booked this hotel. When I called to complain a few days after the funeral, they stated the manager said there was nothing they could do because I did not complain while we were there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great French breakfast in walking distance, great for breakfast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pat J.
Business
Cary, NC
May 13, 2013

Great location in Savannah!

The Inn at Ellis Square is ideally located to visit the historic district of Savannah. The rooms are small but clean and have been renovated. The breakfast was good but I would like it to start earlier than 7 am since we were in Savannah for an event and needed to be there by 7:30 on Saturday. They have taken out the swimming pool and are putting in a courtyard. I would still like to have a pool, indoors would be ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Riverstreet is amazing! Just across Bay Street and down the steps is an excellent attraction with shops, restaurants, waterfront, and seasonal attractions. Be sure to check out River Street Sweets for the best pralines in Savannah. And just for fun, ride the free water taxi across the Savannah River.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveller154678
Business
D.C.
Apr 25, 2013

Fine and near to historical district

Staff was nice. We arrived late and needed to check out late.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top