$103 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 13, 2015 Check-out: Jan 16, 2015

Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

3 stars
201 W. Bay St., Savannah, GA 31401
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
334 reviews
One night stay

I was blown away by the staircase in the room, it was very easy to park and within walking distance... See full review

  • Tucsontales
  • Oct 21, 2014
Excellent Savannah stay

The Inn is centrally located to Riverstreet as well as the Savannah Market. Excellent value, clean,... See full review

  • Flamingotina
  • Aug 31, 2014
Historic hotel with modern amenities near Savannah’s riverfront

This non-smoking Day's Inn hotel overlooks the Savannah River from Bay Street and sits in front of Ellis Square, one of six historic parks designed by Savannah founder, James Oglethorpe. Recipient of a 2006 historic preservation award, the Inn at Ellis Square occupies the 150-year-old Guckenheimer building. Guests can experience the rich furnishings of this well-preserved building without sacrificing modern conveniences. The property offers high-speed Internet access and flexible meeting and banquet facilities.

Highlights
  • Easy walk to downtown dining and attractions
  • Close to trolley and carriage tours
  • Wireless Internet
  • Historic Savannah Society 2006 historic-preservation award winner
Rooms

The Inn at Ellis Square offers standard, one-room accommodations and suites. Standard rooms offer a king bed or two double beds and suites feature a living area with couch and wet bar, plus large baths with dressing rooms. Amenities for all rooms include complimentary Internet access, cable TV, desk, mini refrigerator, microwave and coffeemaker.

Features

As the recipient of the Historic Savannah Society 2006 historic-preservation award, this 150-year-old property retains many original features. The hotel's decor is heavy on dark wood and warm, earthy furnishings. The hotel serves a complimentary continental breakfast in a room with towering ceilings and arched windows. Dominique's Lounge is a perfect place for guests to gather in the evening for a cocktail. The hotel has a fitness center. The business center offers Internet, copy and fax services. Five conference rooms and banquet facilities totaling 6,000 square feet accommodate up to 200 people. Technical equipment is available for rent.

Transportation
  • Savannah/Hilton Head Airport
Attractions
  • Savannah Visitors Center
  • Lady and Sons restaurant
  • City Market
  • River Street
  • Mercer House
Business
  • Business center
  • Conference facilities and meeting rooms
  • Complimentary Internet, copy and fax services
Policies and fees
  • The hotel will be undergoing renovations from June 28, 2015 until further notice.
  • Parking fee is $16 a day.
  • This is a non-smoking property.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel also booked these hotels.

Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel Rooms

1 bedroom suite
Our executive suites, located in our lovingly restored Guckenheimer building offer the richness and grace of a bygone era. Private bedrooms with King beds, living rooms with queen sleeper sofas and wet bars. Also featured are over sized bath and dressing area, Coffee makers, fridge & microwave, wireless Internet.
Standard Room
Standard rooms offer two double beds, bath separate from vanity, coffee maker, irons and ironing boards, hair dryers, high speed Internet, workspace, cable TV, clock radio.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Three meeting rooms available. Largest meeting room seats 80 guests.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (334)

Ratings and reviews for Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
334 out of 334
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.7

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
John U
Business
Niag. Falls, NY
Sep 23, 2012

disappointing !!!

Beside lights didn't work, door squeeked loudly; asked to have it fixed; didn't happen. Tub drain was very slow to work. The room was small; bathroom the same. The bed was comfortable, but we discovered BED BUGS THE LAST NIGHT.... WE WON'T STAY THERE AGAIN AND WOULD NOT RECOMMEND IT. !! I told the night manager about the bugs; he just looked at me and made no comment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Thte Rocks Restaurant at the Bohemian was very nice; good food and great service. Nice atmosphere; we ate there twice in three days. Mrs. Wilkes Restaurant was worth the wait. Ruth's Criss was exceptional.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Just bad...
Business
NY
Mar 20, 2013

Not great.....

Our hotel room was right next to the bar.....about 20 feet. Great for the day time but not so great when people are partying in the lobby until 5 am and I am trying to sleep. After a couple of calls to the front desk, it was shut down 45 minutes after. But, only because I heard they ran out of alcohol. Our room hasn't been cleaned in the 4 days we were there. We had to ask to have our garbage emptied. The "shower" was more of a bath because the water didn't go down and you'd be standing in a bath by the time your shower was completed. Staff was nice. Good location. Thats about the only positive remarks I could say.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bri Guy Sr.
Business
Fort Myers, Florida
Apr 24, 2013

Construction/Crane/Brick Removal from our wall each day!!

It would have been nice to know the hotel was under construction and that we would be awoken by cranes and brick hammers each morning at 8:00 am. This was not a good experience. Would reccommend besides that--but not for a good long while!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sapphire Grill, Old Pink House, Mrs Wilkes Boarding House--all fantastic!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
tonymc
Business
Powdersville, SC
Apr 28, 2013

Except for the location...

Apparently, the only thing that keeps this place in business is its location. The staff is aloof, distant, and act as if they are doing you a favor to go to the trouble to check you in. The rooms are filthy. Years of hair, nail clippings, and dirt are accumulated in the corners of the cruise-ship size bathrooms. They wait until you check out to spring the $13 per night parking fee on you. They should take some of the revenue from the parking fees to clean up the urine stench and stains from the stairwells of the parking garage. If you still have the courage to book this dump, insist on an even-numbered room (if you're in the new section, not sure about the old section) so that you are not kept awake all night with the traffic noise from Bay Street. The AC unit is loud enought to keep you awake, but not loud enough to drown out the traffic noise. Being on the Bay Street side with a view of the River ain't worth being kept awake all night from the traffic noise and boistrous partiers on the street. Find a place a block or two back from Bay Street, you'll be almost as close to the river and likely treated with more respect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't miss the wine shop, MatterofFactors

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Doctormamma
Business
Saint Marys, GA
Jul 25, 2013

Poor condition/under construction

We stayed here for my husband's fathers funeral and I thought it would be nice to stay in a nice place on bay street. we are from Savannah so we are very familiar with what is available in the area. Our room was stale, had an odor and was very hard to keep a temperature that was comfortable near both beds. However, construction (drilling) started at 7am both days, literally outside our window on our wall as men were on a scaffold when I opened the curtains. They ripped out the pool one week before we arrived which is another reason I booked this hotel. When I called to complain a few days after the funeral, they stated the manager said there was nothing they could do because I did not complain while we were there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great French breakfast in walking distance, great for breakfast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Rude Love
Business
Charlotte NC
Jul 19, 2010

Horrible Customer Service

My wife and I have travelled to Savannah on numerous occasions and stayed on or near Bay St. Our expereince at the Inn at Ellis Park was our worst by far!! Not only did it take an act of Congress to get someone in their reservations department to assist with changing our reservation, we were not able to check in until 2 hours after our check in time!! The front desk crew were not overly interested in going out of their way to help or assist you. The bar at the hotel did not take credit cards because the machine was down!! It always seemed like something was wrong. I look forward to my next trip to Savannah and also not having to stay at the Inn at Ellis Park!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Jul 17, 2010

HORRIBLE!

Horrible customer service. Took forty minutes to check in and they had me running all over the hotel trying to do it. As I was waiting, watched the staff openly mock and insult guests. Room was not very nice considering the cost of the hotel and was not clean. I could write a lot more about the bad things...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jul 6, 2011

Inn at Ellis

The Inn at Ellis was a horrible experience. The maid service skipped our room during the first night of our stay. So, it was nice coming back to a dirty room with no clean towels after walking around in 90+ degree heat all day. The hotel had no parking for guests of the hotel. We were told that people staying at the hotel tend to invite friends to visit them downtown, and those friends use the hotel parking garage as well, and that there was nothing they could do about it. So, we ended up having to park at a garage two squares away from the hotel. Finally, the bed's were as hard as plywood and had springs that protruded from the surface. I think the Inn at Ellis needs to pump a few more dollars into their recent restoration and buy some new beds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
May 11, 2009

Disappointed

Went to Savannah for a special Mother's Day Weekend. The hotel was a huge disappointment because the room we got had many issues. First, you could tell the bedding in one bed hadn't been changed; there were loose hairs scattered under the blanket all over the sheets as if someone had just slept there. Second, the toilet rim had dried urine on it and the floor in front of the toilet had dried urine on it. After checking in, we went to walk around town and asked the front desk to send housecleaning up to take care of the urine issues. When we got back 4 hours later, the housekeeper had left our door propped open with the deadbolt lock!!! All of our things were still in there but we were lucky not to be robbed due to the housekeeper's carelessness. (And she didn't even clean the urine on the toilet) Then the cable didn't work but it went back on a few hours later. We took showers and the water pressure was great but the tub didn't drain so a 10 minute shower caused the water to be up over the ankles. The tubs weren't clean either because they all have a rubber mat glued to the bottom (unremovable) that have gotten pretty dirty. Housecleaning cannot do anything about that because the grime is just permanent. There were more issues but let's just say that we finally got a second room and an upgrade to a suite the next day. The room was definitely cleaner but the drapes were broken and wouldn't close and there was no water pressure in that room. And the door to the room was very heavy and slammed into you everytime you walked out. The breakfast in the morning was okay; very unhealthy choices but it wasn't disgusting or unclean. There was no water to drink at breakfast which was weird. The parking costs $9/night of your stay which in Savannah seemed just fine. The great thing is that the day you check-out, you could leave your car in the garage til 3pm so you could check out in the morning, throw your things in your trunk and still walk around town and have lunch if you'd like. The location was great but the hotel itself was less clean than several Motel 6-type hotels I've stayed at. I will not be visiting again although the staff I communicated there weren't unfriendly. They weren't overly nice but not unfriendly either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at B&D Burgers on Broughton for a good burger. They have turkey and veggie burgers as well as some sandwiches and fantastic sweet potato fries. We really enjoyed it! And take a trolley tour! Gives you a great overview of the city and its history.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Michigan
Apr 23, 2009

Cleaning not high on to do list

This hotel although was in a great location they need to have staff training. My daughter and I where staying in Savannah on vacation. When we went to freshen up and looked at the toilet which on top seemed clean but the outside of the tank was crusted with vomit. House cleaning came up to wipe down just toilet and left chunks of vomit on the floor. We asked for another room and were moved. Not once did anyone apologize for the dried cake on vomit or the inconvenience of switching rooms. In our other room we decided to place a sticker on the shower tile in a very easy to see place for the three days we were there not once was this sticker moved or cleaned. The front desk staff did not once greet us with a hello as we came in or out of the hotel. One lady even ran and hid not only from us but other guest. I was very surprised at this behavior. This could be a good hotel if they would train their staff to be more professional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top