$125 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 30, 2015 Check-out: Jul 1, 2015

Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

3 stars
View map of 201 W. Bay St., Savannah, GA 31401

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
369 reviews
Great location

Inn at Ellis Square had a great location and if you get this hotel at a discounted price it can't... See full review

  • Tom
  • May 27, 2015
Perfect Location

Great hotel, very nice staff and the location was perfect. It was close to everything. The hotel... See full review

  • Margaret V.
  • Mar 1, 2015

This non-smoking Day's Inn hotel overlooks the Savannah River from Bay Street and sits in front of Ellis Square, one of six historic parks designed by Savannah founder, James Oglethorpe. Recipient of a 2006 historic preservation award, the Inn at Ellis Square occupies the 150-year-old Guckenheimer building. Guests can experience the rich furnishings of this well-preserved building without sacrificing modern conveniences. The property offers high-speed Internet access and flexible meeting and banquet facilities.

Rooms

The Inn at Ellis Square offers standard, one-room accommodations and suites. Standard rooms offer a king bed or two double beds and suites feature a living area with couch and wet bar, plus large baths with dressing rooms. Amenities for all rooms include complimentary Internet access, cable TV, desk, mini refrigerator, microwave and coffeemaker.

Property features

As the recipient of the Historic Savannah Society 2006 historic-preservation award, this 150-year-old property retains many original features. The hotel's decor is heavy on dark wood and warm, earthy furnishings. The hotel serves a complimentary continental breakfast in a room with towering ceilings and arched windows. Dominique's Lounge is a perfect place for guests to gather in the evening for a cocktail. The hotel has a fitness center. The business center offers Internet, copy and fax services. Five conference rooms and banquet facilities totaling 6,000 square feet accommodate up to 200 people. Technical equipment is available for rent.

Highlights
  • Easy walk to downtown dining and attractions
  • Close to trolley and carriage tours
  • Wireless Internet
  • Historic Savannah Society 2006 historic-preservation award winner

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel also booked these hotels.

Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel Rooms

1 bedroom suite
Our executive suites, located in our lovingly restored Guckenheimer building offer the richness and grace of a bygone era. Private bedrooms with King beds, living rooms with queen sleeper sofas and wet bars. Also featured are over sized bath and dressing area, Coffee makers, fridge & microwave, wireless Internet.
Standard Room
Standard rooms offer two double beds, bath separate from vanity, coffee maker, irons and ironing boards, hair dryers, high speed Internet, workspace, cable TV, clock radio.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Three meeting rooms available. Largest meeting room seats 80 guests.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
369 out of 369
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.7

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Singram10
Business
Orlando, florida
Jan 2, 2014

Great Hotel

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights for NYE, and it was perfect! The location is great, only a block away from River street and to Central Market. It was very easy for us to get around. The hotel was very clean and the staff was kind and professional. Beautiful place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Metsrbest
Business
Germantown, MD
Jan 1, 2014

Stay at Ellis Inn

Great stay right after Christmas. Staff was outstanding and breakfast was great. More than enough good food to be more like a brunch. Did not give a five star rating for location only because it is not by the river but a block away. But still in an excellent location. The only thing to keep in mind is the elevators are slow so my family and I spent most of our time using the stairs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A.Lure restaurant was great.

Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
pofLoveBirds
Business
Gray, ga
Jan 28, 2014

Great stay!

We stayed here for a short weekend trip. We had a great time! Perfect location to walk downtown or to River street. Parking was the biggest hiccup, $13 per night in a garage. Staff was super nice and helpful. Clean rooms, great service! We will be coming back! :-)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tubby's...great food, fun atmosphere, perfect view of the River. Highly recommend!

Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
wamjlk
Business
Palatka, Fl
Feb 24, 2014

Great location

Staff was super nice and helpful. Can't beat location and price was good. Love Savannah and the people there, can"t wait to go back. Will stay longer next time so I can take more tours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Doc P
Business
Portsmouth, Virginia
Mar 10, 2014

A nice surprise in a great location

Looking at the cost as compared to other hotels in the area, I thought the place would probably be a little spartan. However, the staff was top notch and the rooms were very clean. The location was great to see Savannah or get on the highway. The parking garage is just next door. The only complaint I have is that the TV reception was rather poor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Apr 13, 2007

Conveniently located to everything in the Historical District

The staff was very friendly and the view was very lovely of the Historical Histrict. The room was large and very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The 'River Front' is just across the street from the hotel.Shops and dinning were limitless. The prices were very reasonable and the food and drinks we had were very good. The staff at all the places we went were very friendly and courteous. We loved our trip and will definately go again.

Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Charleston, SC
Apr 11, 2011

Loved the staff and the room!

We had confusing reservations. The first night was under one name, and the second night was under two other names. The staff was so wonderful and made it work to where our rooms were nearby and we did not have to check out of one room to move into another. Loved [...] and their fiery co-worker. The staff really went above and beyond to ensure our group had a wonderful stay! I will never stay anywhere else in Savannah! What a fantastic hotel experience. Plus! The rooms are beautiful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out Club One for a super fun show and dancing experience!

Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
College Professor
Business
Atlanta, GA, USA
Nov 13, 2011

Inn at Ellis Square

I have stayed here several times and been satisfied. The location is very good. It is in walking distance of River Street and a number of Savannah's good restaurants. Staff is very friendly. The morning continental breakfast is adequate. Coffee is available all day. Hotel has a parking deck behind it but you pay extra to park. Check in and out has never been a problem for me. A good place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MyAimIsTrue
Business
Florida
Nov 10, 2011

Great location!!!

In terms of location it does not get any better than the Inn at Ellis Square. It's an older building so it has some quirks, and the room was on the small side but it was clean and comfortable and the bathroom surprisingly spacious. The staff was friendly and helpful and the free continental breakfast was pleasant. I would stay at this hotel again and again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Olde Pink House restaurant is within walking distance and instead of going to the restaurant itself try the Planter's Tavern in the basement. The food is beyond delicious, the ambience befitting of a city such as Savannah, and there's much less of a wait than what you may have upstairs. The Planter's Tavern is like a hidden gem waiting to be discovered.

Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ChrisJaz
Business
West Allis, WI, USA
Dec 5, 2011

Weekend away

I have stayed here before and can see it has been updated. The room was beautiful and clean. Enjoyed breakfast each morning. The location could not be any better. Right next to City Market where I could hear the live music from my room. Within walking distance to any historic downtown site you want to go to. Loved it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Take guided tours first and then go back and walk the neighborhood. Otherwise, you'll walk in circles and not know what you are looking at. Shops sell walking tour guide books with 4 sample walking tours. Great $6 investment for sure!

Back to menu Return to top