$95 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 24, 2014

Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

3 stars
201 W. Bay St., Savannah, GA 31401
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
333 reviews
One night stay

I was blown away by the staircase in the room, it was very easy to park and within walking distance... See full review

  • Tucsontales
  • Oct 21, 2014
Excellent Savannah stay

The Inn is centrally located to Riverstreet as well as the Savannah Market. Excellent value, clean,... See full review

  • Flamingotina
  • Aug 31, 2014
Historic hotel with modern amenities near Savannah’s riverfront

This non-smoking Day's Inn hotel overlooks the Savannah River from Bay Street and sits in front of Ellis Square, one of six historic parks designed by Savannah founder, James Oglethorpe. Recipient of a 2006 historic preservation award, the Inn at Ellis Square occupies the 150-year-old Guckenheimer building. Guests can experience the rich furnishings of this well-preserved building without sacrificing modern conveniences. The property offers high-speed Internet access and flexible meeting and banquet facilities.

Highlights
  • Easy walk to downtown dining and attractions
  • Close to trolley and carriage tours
  • Wireless Internet
  • Historic Savannah Society 2006 historic-preservation award winner
Rooms

The Inn at Ellis Square offers standard, one-room accommodations and suites. Standard rooms offer a king bed or two double beds and suites feature a living area with couch and wet bar, plus large baths with dressing rooms. Amenities for all rooms include complimentary Internet access, cable TV, desk, mini refrigerator, microwave and coffeemaker.

Features

As the recipient of the Historic Savannah Society 2006 historic-preservation award, this 150-year-old property retains many original features. The hotel's decor is heavy on dark wood and warm, earthy furnishings. The hotel serves a complimentary continental breakfast in a room with towering ceilings and arched windows. Dominique's Lounge is a perfect place for guests to gather in the evening for a cocktail. The hotel has a fitness center. The business center offers Internet, copy and fax services. Five conference rooms and banquet facilities totaling 6,000 square feet accommodate up to 200 people. Technical equipment is available for rent.

Transportation
  • Savannah/Hilton Head Airport
Attractions
  • Savannah Visitors Center
  • Lady and Sons restaurant
  • City Market
  • River Street
  • Mercer House
Business
  • Business center
  • Conference facilities and meeting rooms
  • Complimentary Internet, copy and fax services
Policies and fees
  • The hotel will be undergoing renovations from June 28, 2015 until further notice.
  • Parking fee is $16 a day.
  • This is a non-smoking property.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel also booked these hotels.

Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel Rooms

1 bedroom suite
Our executive suites, located in our lovingly restored Guckenheimer building offer the richness and grace of a bygone era. Private bedrooms with King beds, living rooms with queen sleeper sofas and wet bars. Also featured are over sized bath and dressing area, Coffee makers, fridge & microwave, wireless Internet.
Standard Room
Standard rooms offer two double beds, bath separate from vanity, coffee maker, irons and ironing boards, hair dryers, high speed Internet, workspace, cable TV, clock radio.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Three meeting rooms available. Largest meeting room seats 80 guests.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (333)

Ratings and reviews for Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
333 out of 333
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.7

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
gammyjean
Business
Savannah, Georgia
Dec 9, 2012

Girls Get-away

This hotel was perfectly located. We could walk to everything. The parking garage was located close to the hotel and easy to access. The first hitch happened when the room key would not work and I had to go back to the desk. The faucet on the shower was installed backwards and the hot faucet was cold and cold was hot. This was a known fact to the office staff. How would a patron know this? Cold showers are not fun. We had a broken chair that was finally replaced. None of this Kept up from havin fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

We took the trolley and got off wherever we wanted. It was great for the money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lallie
Business
White bear lake mn
Dec 3, 2012

Great location

Nice old hotel well appointed rooms. A bit small room but good for two.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CINDY JANE
Business
ATLANTA,GA
Nov 26, 2012

GREAT BIRTHDAY TRIP

HAD A GREAT TIME. WE ENJOYED THE WARM WEEKEND THERE.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

BELFORD WAS VERY GOOD

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Welalola
Business
Charlotte
Nov 25, 2012

Good

Room was on first floor right by the street; busy street and very noisy until 2-3AM. Hotel is pretty, very well situated in the historic district, walk most of the time. Breakfast was not great, but OK.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We had a fantastic dinner at the Chart House, right across the street from the Inn. The best food we had in Savannah. Be sure to make a reservation, is a busy place.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
lighta75
Business
Weston, FL
Nov 23, 2012

Awsome!

I booked when I was on the way to the city and it was so easy to book!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Savannah Favorite
Business
Illinois
Nov 7, 2012

Savannah Fabulous!!

I spent a night at the Inn at Ellis Square and 2 nights elsewhere in October 2012. When I got to the train station, Hurricane Sandy prevented us from leaving. I called the hotel and got a room on a day by day basis until I could leave. The staff was so nice and helpful. Joyce the housekeeper got me shampoo etc and towels, did garbage and it was not even her room to clean. She did not say she would call someone, she did it!!! My daughter sprained her ankle and I finally got her back to the hotel. Bernisha got a chair with wheels and took my daughter from the lobby to our room on the 6th floor herself. I cannot say enough about this place. Very clean and quiet. Located on Bay street close to everything. I stayed a total of 5 nights and if I ever got to go back to Savannah, I will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Erinanne
Business
Palm Harbor,FL
Oct 23, 2012

Anniversay getaway

When arrived it took 45 mins to check in and they had three people at the desk but only two working. I did have a small problem with my room keys and after two trips downstairs we got it resolved. Great location near everything we wanted. Never needed to take the car out of parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lady and sons is worth the wait. Make sure to make reservations because you need one there. Also loved b&d burgers. And Leopolds has AMAZING ice cream!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
conphuzer
Business
wisconsin
Oct 21, 2012

great hotel, great location

My mother and I, along with my sister in law and niece, stayed at this hotel Sept. 22 -24. It is in a good location, about a block from the end of River Walk. Check in was easy, we arrived early and were able to get into our rooms right away, and parking was only $10 a day. We were able to leave the vehicle there the day we checked out, until 5pm, which we were really happy about. The rooms are arranged like a motel, where you have rooms that open onto the outside, so you never heard people running through the halls! Our rooms were very clean, and had nice bathrooms and closet space. Breakfast was your standard hotel continental breakfast, breads, eggs, waffles, fruit, donuts, juice coffee, etc. It was always fresh and we were satisfied with it. The breakfast area was kept clean and nice to sit and relax in. There was also a nice outdoor patio, if you wanted to eat outside. The lobby was comfortable, with a couch and chairs. There was a computer in the lobby, which was free to use. The concierge desk was there also, and the young man was always very helpful to us. The front desk staff were all very nice also. We ate at Vinny VanGoGo's pizzeria, in City Market. Cheap but great pizza! Doesn't open until 4pm though! We also ate at Paula Deene's Restaurant, had the buffet both times, and they had a few different items on it each time. Went to Tybee Island, so my mom could see there beach, which is awesome! Then had supper at The Crab Shack, which is an experience in itself! Went on the Bonaventure Cemetery evening tour. Very disappointing and we wouldn't recommend it to anyone. You have to drive there yourself, which is no big deal, but just wanted to add that in case anyone was wondering. It was expensive and you really didn't see much of the beautiful cemetery. It really seemed that the guide spent more time on some things and less on everything else. He didn't even show us Johnny Mercers site, which is very beautiful to see. We also did the Haunted Hearse Tour, which is just fun! Had a great time again! They picked us up across the street from the Best Western, at the Doubletree. I think they pick people up close to wherever they are staying. There are only 6 people in each hearse. Thanks to Brett again this year. We would stay here again, as we felt that it was not an expensive hotel and it was within walking distance to everything in the area

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joe Warren
Business
Hanson, Ma 02341
Oct 15, 2012

Wonderful 25th Anniversary celebration

The complimentary breakfast was way above what we had expected. The concierge was very helpful and knowledgeable. The rooms, however, could use some sound proofing from outside the building as well as from partying in other rooms.. Very clean and well taken care of and the location was perfect for walking to all our attractions. I'd stay there again if I could have a different room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Do your homework and then talk to the concierge especially if the visit is a short one

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MS HOLLY
Business
Wisconsin
Oct 15, 2012

Old Girls just want to have fun

The hotel location was great close to everything and in walking distance to many things. Hotel was very clean & comfortable. Staff was very friendly. ( They need a different brand coffee if there was something they lacked )

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The Rock for Cocktails amazing views for sunset

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top