$107 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 16, 2014 Check-out: Nov 18, 2014

Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

3 stars
201 W. Bay St., Savannah, GA 31401
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
332 reviews
Excellent Savannah stay

The Inn is centrally located to Riverstreet as well as the Savannah Market. Excellent value, clean,... See full review

  • Flamingotina
  • Aug 31, 2014
Right Down Town Savannah

The Inn at Ellis Square has a great location for experiencing the downtown experience of Savannah.... See full review

  • Gordon from NC
  • Jul 28, 2014
Historic hotel with modern amenities near Savannah’s riverfront

This non-smoking Day's Inn hotel overlooks the Savannah River from Bay Street and sits in front of Ellis Square, one of six historic parks designed by Savannah founder, James Oglethorpe. Recipient of a 2006 historic preservation award, the Inn at Ellis Square occupies the 150-year-old Guckenheimer building. Guests can experience the rich furnishings of this well-preserved building without sacrificing modern conveniences. The property offers high-speed Internet access and flexible meeting and banquet facilities.

Highlights
  • Easy walk to downtown dining and attractions
  • Close to trolley and carriage tours
  • Wireless Internet
  • Historic Savannah Society 2006 historic-preservation award winner
Rooms

The Inn at Ellis Square offers standard, one-room accommodations and suites. Standard rooms offer a king bed or two double beds and suites feature a living area with couch and wet bar, plus large baths with dressing rooms. Amenities for all rooms include complimentary Internet access, cable TV, desk, mini refrigerator, microwave and coffeemaker.

Features

As the recipient of the Historic Savannah Society 2006 historic-preservation award, this 150-year-old property retains many original features. The hotel's decor is heavy on dark wood and warm, earthy furnishings. The hotel serves a complimentary continental breakfast in a room with towering ceilings and arched windows. Dominique's Lounge is a perfect place for guests to gather in the evening for a cocktail. The hotel has a fitness center. The business center offers Internet, copy and fax services. Five conference rooms and banquet facilities totaling 6,000 square feet accommodate up to 200 people. Technical equipment is available for rent.

Transportation
  • Savannah/Hilton Head Airport
Attractions
  • Savannah Visitors Center
  • Lady and Sons restaurant
  • City Market
  • River Street
  • Mercer House
Business
  • Business center
  • Conference facilities and meeting rooms
  • Complimentary Internet, copy and fax services
Policies and fees
  • The hotel will be undergoing renovations from June 28, 2015 until further notice.
  • Parking fee is $16 a day.
  • This is a non-smoking property.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

32.0814 -81.0939
Area served
Savannah, GA.
Nearby airports
Savannah International. I-95 to Exit 99A, I-16 E Montgomery Sreet to Bay Street.
Area description
Local attractions include River Street, City Market, Telfair Museum, Owens-Thomas House, Ships of the Sea, Lady & Sons Restaurant, Dinner Cruising, Trolley & horse drawn carriage tours.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel also booked these hotels.

Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel Rooms

1 bedroom suite
Our executive suites, located in our lovingly restored Guckenheimer building offer the richness and grace of a bygone era. Private bedrooms with King beds, living rooms with queen sleeper sofas and wet bars. Also featured are over sized bath and dressing area, Coffee makers, fridge & microwave, wireless Internet.
Standard Room
Standard rooms offer two double beds, bath separate from vanity, coffee maker, irons and ironing boards, hair dryers, high speed Internet, workspace, cable TV, clock radio.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Three meeting rooms available. Largest meeting room seats 80 guests.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (332)

Ratings and reviews for Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
332 out of 332
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.7

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ann C
Business
New Hampshire
Apr 26, 2013

Great location and getting a much needed renovation!

We love Savannah and have visited the city many times. This was our first stay at this property. The hotel suited our needs, but the room was very musty smelling and will benefit from the current renovation plan! We would stay here again once the work is complete. The staff was very helpful, but we did come back to our room at 4:30pm and found that house keeping hadn't been there yet. That was a bit of a surprise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveller154678
Business
D.C.
Apr 25, 2013

Fine and near to historical district

Staff was nice. We arrived late and needed to check out late.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bri Guy Sr.
Business
Fort Myers, Florida
Apr 24, 2013

Construction/Crane/Brick Removal from our wall each day!!

It would have been nice to know the hotel was under construction and that we would be awoken by cranes and brick hammers each morning at 8:00 am. This was not a good experience. Would reccommend besides that--but not for a good long while!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sapphire Grill, Old Pink House, Mrs Wilkes Boarding House--all fantastic!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sculptorpapa
Business
Raleigh
Apr 22, 2013

Particularly Friendly Staff

We enjoyed our stay. The location was very convenient, the river view great, and breakfast above average. Thanks to all the very friendly staff for making it a pleasant stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveling hippy
Business
Little Rock
Apr 22, 2013

Nice place to stay

Pros: This hotel was located in the heart of the historic area and right in the middle of everything. Staff at checking and cleaning service were very friendly and acclimating. When I had trouble with the smoke detector beeping, they wee quick to have the batteries replaced. Cons: While I would stay here again, there were a few things to mention. I don't think that they had a The air on in the hotel as the elevators and upstairs hallways were stifling. Room air conditioner struggled to cool the room as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out Huey's on the River. Excellent

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
stacy old dad
Business
salisbury nc
Apr 14, 2013

walser stay

It was a perfect stay and location was excellent for touring area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jim 4737
Business
FL
Mar 31, 2013

Noisy First Night

After one night we asked for a room change. The first night we were on the first floor facing the main road. We didn't sleep. Traffic was very busy and the room was very noisy. Our air conditioning unit was loud. After we moved to the fourth floor, it was very quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the Old Pink House Restaurant. Wonderful experience.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DAF and family
Business
Tuscaloosa, AL
Mar 28, 2013

Great location for exploring Savannah

Nice hotel but main attraction is location near central part of Bay St., making it a perfect base to explore historic Sannah on foot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't miss The Old Pink House for a great Low Country dining experience!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Savannah visitor from FL
Business
St. Lucie, Florida
Mar 27, 2013

Location is great, everything else just ok

Fantastic location. But it was a small room for 4, the bathroom door wouldn't close, there were only 3 bath towels in the room for 4 of us and we had to ask 3 times for another towel before they brought one, a very dirty pool was our view from the window. The continental breakfast actually included hot food as well, but it was so crowded we had to wait in long lines at each station, and there was only one person working the breakfast room so people waited 10-15 minutes for food trays and coffee to be re-filled.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MsAnn
Business
Atkabta
Mar 25, 2013

Great family getaway.

Traveling with Grandpa and Grandma and early 20's was great place. Near the hop on hop off trolly and close to market and pubs and resturants. Would stay here again. Staff was extremly helpful and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Churchills Emglish pub was really great as well as the Irish pub down on the riverfront with live music.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top