$116 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 28, 2014 Check-out: Jul 29, 2014

Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

3 stars
201 W. Bay St., Savannah, GA 31401
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
506 reviews
A nice surprise in a great location

Looking at the cost as compared to other hotels in the area, I thought the place would probably be... See full review

  • Doc P
  • Mar 10, 2014
Great location

Staff was super nice and helpful. Can't beat location and price was good. Love Savannah and the... See full review

  • wamjlk
  • Feb 24, 2014
Historic hotel with modern amenities near Savannah’s riverfront

This non-smoking Day's Inn hotel overlooks the Savannah River from Bay Street and sits in front of Ellis Square, one of six historic parks designed by Savannah founder, James Oglethorpe. Recipient of a 2006 historic preservation award, the Inn at Ellis Square occupies the 150-year-old Guckenheimer building. Guests can experience the rich furnishings of this well-preserved building without sacrificing modern conveniences. The property offers high-speed Internet access and flexible meeting and banquet facilities.

Highlights
  • Easy walk to downtown dining and attractions
  • Close to trolley and carriage tours
  • Wireless Internet
  • Historic Savannah Society 2006 historic-preservation award winner
Rooms

The Inn at Ellis Square offers standard, one-room accommodations and suites. Standard rooms offer a king bed or two double beds and suites feature a living area with couch and wet bar, plus large baths with dressing rooms. Amenities for all rooms include complimentary Internet access, cable TV, desk, mini refrigerator, microwave and coffeemaker.

Features

As the recipient of the Historic Savannah Society 2006 historic-preservation award, this 150-year-old property retains many original features. The hotel's décor is heavy on dark wood and warm, earthy furnishings. The hotel serves a complimentary continental breakfast in a room with towering ceilings and arched windows. Dominique's Lounge is a perfect place for guests to gather in the evening for a cocktail. The hotel has a fitness center. The business center offers Internet, copy and fax services. Five conference rooms and banquet facilities totaling 6,000 square feet accommodate up to 200 people. Technical equipment is available for rent.

Transportation
  • Savannah/Hilton Head Airport
Attractions
  • Savannah Visitors Center
  • Lady and Sons restaurant
  • City Market
  • River Street
  • Mercer House
Business
  • Business center
  • Conference facilities and meeting rooms
  • Complimentary Internet, copy and fax services
Policies and fees
  • Starting 18 July, parking fee will be $16 a day.
  • This is a non-smoking property.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel Rooms

1 bedroom suite
Our executive suites, located in our lovingly restored Guckenheimer building offer the richness and grace of a bygone era. Private bedrooms with King beds, living rooms with queen sleeper sofas and wet bars. Also featured are over sized bath and dressing area, Coffee makers, fridge & microwave, wireless Internet.
Standard Room
Standard rooms offer two double beds, bath separate from vanity, coffee maker, irons and ironing boards, hair dryers, high speed Internet, workspace, cable TV, clock radio.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

32.0814 -81.0939
Area served
Savannah, GA.
Nearby airports
Savannah International. I-95 to Exit 99A, I-16 E Montgomery Sreet to Bay Street.
Area description
Local attractions include River Street, City Market, Telfair Museum, Owens-Thomas House, Ships of the Sea, Lady & Sons Restaurant, Dinner Cruising, Trolley & horse drawn carriage tours.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Three meeting rooms available. Largest meeting room seats 80 guests.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (506)

Ratings and reviews for Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
506 out of 506
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.7

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
savannahtravler
USA
Sep 8, 2011

Location makes up for what it lacks in comfort

The hotel was in the best location - close to shopping, dining, etc. Would stay again just because of the location. It loses points because the beds and pillows were terrible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
savannahtravler
USA
Sep 8, 2011

Location makes up for what it lacks in comfort

The hotel was in the best location - close to shopping, dining, etc. Would stay again just because of the location. It loses points because the beds and pillows were terrible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marissa1082
Chicago, IL
Sep 8, 2011

Great location

My husband and I stayed at this hotel over Labor Day weekend. We booked a King suite through Orbitz, but when we arrived at check in, they had a room with two double beds for the price of the king suite. I had told the lady checking us in that our reservation was for a King suite, but she was little help and booked us for the double bed room. I called Orbitz and was VERY pleased with how fast they were able to have the hotel move us to the King suite that was originally booked. Other than that, great hotel and will likely stay again if we are back in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
traveling gal
Richmond, VA, USA
Sep 8, 2011

great location

from the check in to the check out the staff were extremely helpful.The room was very clean and neat everything I needed was there.I would recommend this to others as well as return there myself.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
traveling gal
Richmond, VA, USA
Sep 8, 2011

great location

from the check in to the check out the staff were extremely helpful.The room was very clean and neat everything I needed was there.I would recommend this to others as well as return there myself.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marissa1082
Chicago, IL
Sep 8, 2011

Great location

My husband and I stayed at this hotel over Labor Day weekend. We booked a King suite through Orbitz, but when we arrived at check in, they had a room with two double beds for the price of the king suite. I had told the lady checking us in that our reservation was for a King suite, but she was little help and booked us for the double bed room. I called Orbitz and was VERY pleased with how fast they were able to have the hotel move us to the King suite that was originally booked. Other than that, great hotel and will likely stay again if we are back in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Poorly Treated
Atlanta, GA, USA
Sep 6, 2011

Good location. Bad Staff

Overall the location was great: right on Ellis Square and a block from the river. However our room was on the bottom floor right on a busy corner. I was woken up many times by cars blaring music outside. The staff was very very poor. The attendants at the front desk were rude and didn't act like they felt like serving us very much. They never warned us about the $10 dollar parking fee and never appolagized, just blamed it on "the new girl" and talked poorly of their coworkers in front of us. I would have gone back to the hotel if it weren't for the staff. Super turned off and would never wish to stay here again because of it!!! Paid too much of my hard earned money to be treated so poorly and disrespectfully.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ms Chaz
Florida
Sep 6, 2011

Perfect Path to Paula's

The hotel is a handsome old building that has been lovingly restored. The staff was courteous and helpful, and the location was great--within walking distance of the attractions we wanted to see. Only a couple of blocks away from Paula Deen's. Would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Poorly Treated
Atlanta, GA, USA
Sep 6, 2011

Good location. Bad Staff

Overall the location was great: right on Ellis Square and a block from the river. However our room was on the bottom floor right on a busy corner. I was woken up many times by cars blaring music outside. The staff was very very poor. The attendants at the front desk were rude and didn't act like they felt like serving us very much. They never warned us about the $10 dollar parking fee and never appolagized, just blamed it on "the new girl" and talked poorly of their coworkers in front of us. I would have gone back to the hotel if it weren't for the staff. Super turned off and would never wish to stay here again because of it!!! Paid too much of my hard earned money to be treated so poorly and disrespectfully.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Rae59
North Carolina
Aug 25, 2011

Guest Rights

There is a thing called guests rights but this hotel doesn't seem to abide by them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top