Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

3 stars
View map of 201 W. Bay St., Savannah, GA 31401

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
369 out of 369
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.7

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
other
Business
Nashville, TN, USA
Dec 14, 2011

...

Great location. Breakfast staff was very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Oppester
Business
WV
Dec 11, 2011

Great Place

Our second stay at the Inn at Ellis Square, the staff is very helpful and the breakfast at the Inn is very good. Would recommend to anyone looking to stay at a convenient reasonably priced location with parking in Savannah.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ChrisJaz
Business
West Allis, WI, USA
Dec 5, 2011

Weekend away

I have stayed here before and can see it has been updated. The room was beautiful and clean. Enjoyed breakfast each morning. The location could not be any better. Right next to City Market where I could hear the live music from my room. Within walking distance to any historic downtown site you want to go to. Loved it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Take guided tours first and then go back and walk the neighborhood. Otherwise, you'll walk in circles and not know what you are looking at. Shops sell walking tour guide books with 4 sample walking tours. Great $6 investment for sure!

Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Winky
Business
N. GA .Mtns.
Nov 30, 2011

Girl's weekend

Wonderful hotel, staff and location. Very convient to the river. Great view of the parks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great sushi bar right across the street.

Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
RobRed
Business
Mooresville, NC
Nov 28, 2011

Location..Location...Location

If you're coming for a hotel experience, go elsewhere. I actually stayed here years ago when it was still the Days Inn. It' s just been rebranded to seem less generic. It's the same basic place. The breakfast is ok. The parking is very convenient (but extra). This is a great place to come if you are going to walk around the historic district. Good price. GREAT Location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are a ton of restaurants within walking distance, including a 5guys across the street if you are on a budget.

Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Johnny1312
Business
Florida, USA
Nov 27, 2011

Old Hotel, Poor staff, Good location, Poor amenities.

We booked this hotel on a Wednesday and paid 146 for a standard double room Saturday through Sunday. I called the hotel reservation on Thursday and Friday to check for availability for a refrigerator as we needed it for our 2 month old baby s stuff and they said that should be fine. Well on Saturday when we reached the hotel we were greeted by a less than hospitable front desk who said they are out of refrigerators and are very sorry. They did not really care if you call ahead of time and make a request. We decided to do it without it and thought we would manage with the ice machine instead. Then we proceeded to our room which was a standard double bed. Well, I can tell you I have seen better rooms in a motel for 30 bucks/night. The carpets were moldy, the mattresses were hard and the springs were palpable through the fabric. The bathroom was dated and tiny, but clean. The only thing that really looked updated was the flat screen TV. We immediately switched our room and paid the higher amount and updated to the suite. It was night and day different. The suite we got was 344 , which was beautiful with hard floors, french window, nice large bathroom and tall ceilings. This we felt was definitely worth the money and yes there was refrigerator, so we could finally keep our baby's milk. The only drawback to the suites is that the walls were paper thin and we could kind of hear the next door guest. Now the bad part of the suites that are facing that side of the hotel, the next door club called Club One. I can assure you if you are planning on a nice family vacation and hoping to sleep in the night you will not be able to. We were able to hear all the commotion outside the club including the brawls and women screaming at 2 am. To add to our woes, our baby kept waking up in the night due to all the commotion. Next day after a weary night due to lack of sleep I just wanted to get something to eat. If your seeing the continental breakfast with this booking on the website, I can tell you its the bare minimum. Also by 8 am they had run out of some food. Do not expect to find a seat if you are a little late. They really don't have enough seating for all the guests. Now the good part. The hotel is well located in the downtown historic district and once you have parked your car in the next door covered parking for 10 bucks/night you can literally explore all the squares and neighborhood on foot. The city ,market is just 2 minutes from the hotel also. In my opinion, I would not stay here again. I would consider the other neighboring hotels and pay a little more. They also need to get their act together in dealing with customers with request better. Also if you are considering the suites avoid any facing the Club one. Guaranteed you will not sleep. One more thing, I had a few red small rashes on my arm after my stay. We have disinfected our entire clothing since. I wonder what it is ?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Park at your hotel and do the exploration on foot. Tons of place to eat nearby.

Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Savannah visitor
Business
Asheville, NC, USA
Nov 13, 2011

Historic District on a budget

Great! It was easy walking around the historic district. We did not get in our car once. Yes, they have a free continental breakfast but we felt we were in Savannah so did not take advantage of it. We did take advantage of their fitness room. It was small but we both could get a workout including with some weights. We felt we got a good deal

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Olde Pink House is phenonemal and definitely order the she-crab soup.

Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
lulu too
Business
Rock Hill, SC, USA
Nov 13, 2011

Something to be desired

Not happy with some of the staff. Elevator extremely slow. Our "suite" had a crazy configuration especially with the bathroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Jazzed Tapas

Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
College Professor
Business
Atlanta, GA, USA
Nov 13, 2011

Inn at Ellis Square

I have stayed here several times and been satisfied. The location is very good. It is in walking distance of River Street and a number of Savannah's good restaurants. Staff is very friendly. The morning continental breakfast is adequate. Coffee is available all day. Hotel has a parking deck behind it but you pay extra to park. Check in and out has never been a problem for me. A good place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
red soxer
Business
Raleigh, NC, USA
Nov 11, 2011

great 3 day stay!

The rooms were very comfortable and we were able to relax at night when we got back from being out sightseeing and having dinner. The staff was friendly and the continental breakfast was very adequate. Would recommend this hotel to others who are thinking of coming to Savannah.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

we were pleased that we were able to walk to many restaurants in the area , especially on River St. Enjoyed the tour on the touring bus. Excellent.

Back to menu Return to top