$116 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 28, 2014 Check-out: Sep 29, 2014

Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

3 stars
201 W. Bay St., Savannah, GA 31401
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
330 reviews
Excellent Savannah stay

The Inn is centrally located to Riverstreet as well as the Savannah Market. Excellent value, clean,... See full review

  • Flamingotina
  • Aug 31, 2014
Right Down Town Savannah

The Inn at Ellis Square has a great location for experiencing the downtown experience of Savannah.... See full review

  • Gordon from NC
  • Jul 28, 2014
Historic hotel with modern amenities near Savannah’s riverfront

This non-smoking Day's Inn hotel overlooks the Savannah River from Bay Street and sits in front of Ellis Square, one of six historic parks designed by Savannah founder, James Oglethorpe. Recipient of a 2006 historic preservation award, the Inn at Ellis Square occupies the 150-year-old Guckenheimer building. Guests can experience the rich furnishings of this well-preserved building without sacrificing modern conveniences. The property offers high-speed Internet access and flexible meeting and banquet facilities.

Highlights
  • Easy walk to downtown dining and attractions
  • Close to trolley and carriage tours
  • Wireless Internet
  • Historic Savannah Society 2006 historic-preservation award winner
Rooms

The Inn at Ellis Square offers standard, one-room accommodations and suites. Standard rooms offer a king bed or two double beds and suites feature a living area with couch and wet bar, plus large baths with dressing rooms. Amenities for all rooms include complimentary Internet access, cable TV, desk, mini refrigerator, microwave and coffeemaker.

Features

As the recipient of the Historic Savannah Society 2006 historic-preservation award, this 150-year-old property retains many original features. The hotel's decor is heavy on dark wood and warm, earthy furnishings. The hotel serves a complimentary continental breakfast in a room with towering ceilings and arched windows. Dominique's Lounge is a perfect place for guests to gather in the evening for a cocktail. The hotel has a fitness center. The business center offers Internet, copy and fax services. Five conference rooms and banquet facilities totaling 6,000 square feet accommodate up to 200 people. Technical equipment is available for rent.

Transportation
  • Savannah/Hilton Head Airport
Attractions
  • Savannah Visitors Center
  • Lady and Sons restaurant
  • City Market
  • River Street
  • Mercer House
Business
  • Business center
  • Conference facilities and meeting rooms
  • Complimentary Internet, copy and fax services
Policies and fees
  • The hotel will be undergoing renovations from June 28, 2015 until further notice.
  • Starting 18 July, parking fee will be $16 a day.
  • This is a non-smoking property.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

32.0814 -81.0939
Area served
Savannah, GA.
Nearby airports
Savannah International. I-95 to Exit 99A, I-16 E Montgomery Sreet to Bay Street.
Area description
Local attractions include River Street, City Market, Telfair Museum, Owens-Thomas House, Ships of the Sea, Lady & Sons Restaurant, Dinner Cruising, Trolley & horse drawn carriage tours.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel also booked these hotels.

Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel Rooms

1 bedroom suite
Our executive suites, located in our lovingly restored Guckenheimer building offer the richness and grace of a bygone era. Private bedrooms with King beds, living rooms with queen sleeper sofas and wet bars. Also featured are over sized bath and dressing area, Coffee makers, fridge & microwave, wireless Internet.
Standard Room
Standard rooms offer two double beds, bath separate from vanity, coffee maker, irons and ironing boards, hair dryers, high speed Internet, workspace, cable TV, clock radio.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Three meeting rooms available. Largest meeting room seats 80 guests.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (330)

Ratings and reviews for Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
330 out of 330
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.7

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ChrisJaz
West Allis, WI, USA
Dec 5, 2011

Weekend away

I have stayed here before and can see it has been updated. The room was beautiful and clean. Enjoyed breakfast each morning. The location could not be any better. Right next to City Market where I could hear the live music from my room. Within walking distance to any historic downtown site you want to go to. Loved it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Take guided tours first and then go back and walk the neighborhood. Otherwise, you'll walk in circles and not know what you are looking at. Shops sell walking tour guide books with 4 sample walking tours. Great $6 investment for sure!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Winky
N. GA .Mtns.
Nov 30, 2011

Girl's weekend

Wonderful hotel, staff and location. Very convient to the river. Great view of the parks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great sushi bar right across the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
RobRed
Mooresville, NC
Nov 28, 2011

Location..Location...Location

If you're coming for a hotel experience, go elsewhere. I actually stayed here years ago when it was still the Days Inn. It' s just been rebranded to seem less generic. It's the same basic place. The breakfast is ok. The parking is very convenient (but extra). This is a great place to come if you are going to walk around the historic district. Good price. GREAT Location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are a ton of restaurants within walking distance, including a 5guys across the street if you are on a budget.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Johnny1312
Florida, USA
Nov 27, 2011

Old Hotel, Poor staff, Good location, Poor amenities.

We booked this hotel on a Wednesday and paid 146 for a standard double room Saturday through Sunday. I called the hotel reservation on Thursday and Friday to check for availability for a refrigerator as we needed it for our 2 month old baby s stuff and they said that should be fine. Well on Saturday when we reached the hotel we were greeted by a less than hospitable front desk who said they are out of refrigerators and are very sorry. They did not really care if you call ahead of time and make a request. We decided to do it without it and thought we would manage with the ice machine instead. Then we proceeded to our room which was a standard double bed. Well, I can tell you I have seen better rooms in a motel for 30 bucks/night. The carpets were moldy, the mattresses were hard and the springs were palpable through the fabric. The bathroom was dated and tiny, but clean. The only thing that really looked updated was the flat screen TV. We immediately switched our room and paid the higher amount and updated to the suite. It was night and day different. The suite we got was 344 , which was beautiful with hard floors, french window, nice large bathroom and tall ceilings. This we felt was definitely worth the money and yes there was refrigerator, so we could finally keep our baby's milk. The only drawback to the suites is that the walls were paper thin and we could kind of hear the next door guest. Now the bad part of the suites that are facing that side of the hotel, the next door club called Club One. I can assure you if you are planning on a nice family vacation and hoping to sleep in the night you will not be able to. We were able to hear all the commotion outside the club including the brawls and women screaming at 2 am. To add to our woes, our baby kept waking up in the night due to all the commotion. Next day after a weary night due to lack of sleep I just wanted to get something to eat. If your seeing the continental breakfast with this booking on the website, I can tell you its the bare minimum. Also by 8 am they had run out of some food. Do not expect to find a seat if you are a little late. They really don't have enough seating for all the guests. Now the good part. The hotel is well located in the downtown historic district and once you have parked your car in the next door covered parking for 10 bucks/night you can literally explore all the squares and neighborhood on foot. The city ,market is just 2 minutes from the hotel also. In my opinion, I would not stay here again. I would consider the other neighboring hotels and pay a little more. They also need to get their act together in dealing with customers with request better. Also if you are considering the suites avoid any facing the Club one. Guaranteed you will not sleep. One more thing, I had a few red small rashes on my arm after my stay. We have disinfected our entire clothing since. I wonder what it is ?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Park at your hotel and do the exploration on foot. Tons of place to eat nearby.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
lulu too
Rock Hill, SC, USA
Nov 13, 2011

Something to be desired

Not happy with some of the staff. Elevator extremely slow. Our "suite" had a crazy configuration especially with the bathroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Jazzed Tapas

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
College Professor
Business
Atlanta, GA, USA
Nov 13, 2011

Inn at Ellis Square

I have stayed here several times and been satisfied. The location is very good. It is in walking distance of River Street and a number of Savannah's good restaurants. Staff is very friendly. The morning continental breakfast is adequate. Coffee is available all day. Hotel has a parking deck behind it but you pay extra to park. Check in and out has never been a problem for me. A good place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Savannah visitor
Asheville, NC, USA
Nov 13, 2011

Historic District on a budget

Great! It was easy walking around the historic district. We did not get in our car once. Yes, they have a free continental breakfast but we felt we were in Savannah so did not take advantage of it. We did take advantage of their fitness room. It was small but we both could get a workout including with some weights. We felt we got a good deal

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Olde Pink House is phenonemal and definitely order the she-crab soup.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
red soxer
Raleigh, NC, USA
Nov 11, 2011

great 3 day stay!

The rooms were very comfortable and we were able to relax at night when we got back from being out sightseeing and having dinner. The staff was friendly and the continental breakfast was very adequate. Would recommend this hotel to others who are thinking of coming to Savannah.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

we were pleased that we were able to walk to many restaurants in the area , especially on River St. Enjoyed the tour on the touring bus. Excellent.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MyAimIsTrue
Florida
Nov 10, 2011

Great location!!!

In terms of location it does not get any better than the Inn at Ellis Square. It's an older building so it has some quirks, and the room was on the small side but it was clean and comfortable and the bathroom surprisingly spacious. The staff was friendly and helpful and the free continental breakfast was pleasant. I would stay at this hotel again and again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Olde Pink House restaurant is within walking distance and instead of going to the restaurant itself try the Planter's Tavern in the basement. The food is beyond delicious, the ambience befitting of a city such as Savannah, and there's much less of a wait than what you may have upstairs. The Planter's Tavern is like a hidden gem waiting to be discovered.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Marcus R.
Billerica, MA, USA
Oct 26, 2011

Dated, but clean, convenient, affordable

Pros: Pd $95 for one Saturday night, so very affordable. Very convenient location to city center. Nice to see the trend of WiFi without an extra charge. Cons: Website says they just completed a $6 million (US) renovation. Lobby is nice, but my hall and room were about 30 years dated, except for the newer TV.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search