$134 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 4, 2015 Check-out: Jun 5, 2015

Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

3 stars
View map of 201 W. Bay St., Savannah, GA 31401

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
367 out of 367
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.7

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kevin in Michigan
Business
Michigan
May 1, 2012

Great hotel for Savannah vacation

The Inn at Ellis Square is in a great location in historic section of Savannah. Awesome overall deal. Would definitely stay here again and recommend to friends and family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Beaches at Tybee Island are great and provide nice balance to the historic sites and activities in Savannah.

Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Honey Kitty
Business
Boston, MA, USA
May 1, 2012

Savannah

The hotel was very nice, lovely decor. The location was great, it made it easy to walk around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Don380
Business
Jekyll Island Airport, Jekyll Island, GA 31527, USA
Apr 25, 2012

Great Hotel

Great hotel and easy to get into registration and on to parking...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Clairie's for breakfast...

Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
starsoccer19
Business
Bellevue, WA, USA
Apr 20, 2012

Great Location!

We found for the price, this hotel had a great location. It was easy to walk everywhere and catch a trolley. Super close to City Market area with shops, restaurants and at night music and bars. I would certainly stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
The Momster
Business
Sackets Harbor, NY, USA
Apr 9, 2012

Unfortunate end to a good vacation

This was the second hotel of our vacation. The location is very good. The continental breakfast was a free for all grab and push experience without much substance. The room upon entering was very musty and damp... this did not improve during our stay only increased due to the closet sized bathroom without adequate ventilation. The tub would not drain in time for the next person - gross. In order to get some relief from the wet room the air conditioner had to be on 24/7 - it was loud and cold at night as the bed was so close to it you had a breaze on you all night long. The pool was inoperable- children were not happy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The Civil War Paddle Boat ride to Fort Jackson is a must. The diner, boat ride, and Night time Fort visit were wonderful. The Fort at night is creapily eerie and the demonstrations of gun and cannon fire are not to be missed. Old tents and campfires set up for that added touch. Wonderful.

Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Gregg L.
Business
Nashville, TN, USA
Apr 9, 2012

Paid for location...

Booked with the Inn at Ellis Square over a couple of other choices to save ~$30.00 per night - bad choice. Other than the location, this hotel is one of the poorest I've stayed in, yet one of the most expensive I've stayed at for a non-suite room. The good - Location is GREAT! Right around the corner from a couple of really good eateries and a handful of bar/clubs. It sits right on Bay street in the middle of the 2.2 mile historical area, so it is walking distance to pretty much anything to see in Savannah. The bad - Very dirty hotel, with a more than obvious lack of maintenance. Hallway smelled of urine. Room was surprisingly small. Outdated & smelly heater/AC system. The floor in room looked like it was 3 years over due for a good shampooing. Urine spots on the bathroom floor in front of toilet & when I took a wet towel to clean the spots up, the towel was filthy brown just from wiping the floor in front of the toilet. The toilet only flushed completely if the handle was held for the entire 10+ seconds of the flush cycle. There were curly hairs in the bathtub which rinsed down easily, but still... (yuck). The bathtub/shower faucet was difficult to adjust and broke completely on the last morning (I didn't get to finish my shower). I informed the desk upon leaving & the desk staff was very non-concerned but stated they would have maintenance look in to it. Parking is $11.00 per night (NOT included in the $160.00 per day cost) which seemed unreasonable since the parking structure is owned by the hotel and on the hotel grounds. In retrospect, I would have gladly paid the additional money for the Hilton or other more reputable hotel. This place is absolutely a last resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
1906
Business
Columbia, SC
Apr 6, 2012

Great trip!

Savannah was wonderful and this hotel was the perfect location. I wish I had known I could have had a suite. It was a little tight for a family of four. However, the price was comparably reasonable and the location was great. We could walk everywhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Everywhere is a close walk so don't drive if you plan to drink.

Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
OneEye
Business
Pordenone, Italy
Apr 5, 2012

Great Savannah Location

The Inn at Ellis Square has a perfect location on Bay St., an easy walk to the attractions on River St. It's in a historical building & hasn't been renovated in some time, but is still quite nice. The staff was friendly & efficient. We asked the concierge to book us tickets on a "haunted" tour, which she did with a smile...even though we caught her right before time to go home. Breakfast was utter chaos due to the crowds during spring break. Hopefully breakfast is better during other times of the year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
tmatt
Business
ATL
Mar 25, 2012

Great location and amenities

Clean, fancy hotel. Bar is a little expensive (Maker's Mark was +/- $8 per shot), and the continental breakfast was just that- a continental breakfast. Overall, great stay though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
1st Time Savannah Tourist
Business
Rochester, NY, USA
Mar 10, 2012

Good value for the money

Fabulous location convenient to River Street and the tour locations. The wood floors and tall ceilings in our suite were a nice touch. The cost of parking was half of another location nearby. The staff didn't exactly fall over themselves to be helpful and the continental breakfast wasn't much of a draw, but we were in the heart of Savannah so we weren't looking for a hotel where we were going to stay indoors much. I would return to the Inn at Ellis Square and recommend it to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Olde Pink House is quintessential Savannah, but get there early for the downstairs dining (by 6:00 p.m. you've missed the boat) and make sure you have a flashlight app to read the menu. It's VERY dark inside.

Back to menu Return to top