$134 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 27, 2015

Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

3 stars
View map of 201 W. Bay St., Savannah, GA 31401

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
350 out of 350
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.7

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Savannah Favorite
Business
Illinois
Nov 7, 2012

Savannah Fabulous!!

I spent a night at the Inn at Ellis Square and 2 nights elsewhere in October 2012. When I got to the train station, Hurricane Sandy prevented us from leaving. I called the hotel and got a room on a day by day basis until I could leave. The staff was so nice and helpful. Joyce the housekeeper got me shampoo etc and towels, did garbage and it was not even her room to clean. She did not say she would call someone, she did it!!! My daughter sprained her ankle and I finally got her back to the hotel. Bernisha got a chair with wheels and took my daughter from the lobby to our room on the 6th floor herself. I cannot say enough about this place. Very clean and quiet. Located on Bay street close to everything. I stayed a total of 5 nights and if I ever got to go back to Savannah, I will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Erinanne
Business
Palm Harbor,FL
Oct 23, 2012

Anniversay getaway

When arrived it took 45 mins to check in and they had three people at the desk but only two working. I did have a small problem with my room keys and after two trips downstairs we got it resolved. Great location near everything we wanted. Never needed to take the car out of parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lady and sons is worth the wait. Make sure to make reservations because you need one there. Also loved b&d burgers. And Leopolds has AMAZING ice cream!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
conphuzer
Business
wisconsin
Oct 21, 2012

great hotel, great location

My mother and I, along with my sister in law and niece, stayed at this hotel Sept. 22 -24. It is in a good location, about a block from the end of River Walk. Check in was easy, we arrived early and were able to get into our rooms right away, and parking was only $10 a day. We were able to leave the vehicle there the day we checked out, until 5pm, which we were really happy about. The rooms are arranged like a motel, where you have rooms that open onto the outside, so you never heard people running through the halls! Our rooms were very clean, and had nice bathrooms and closet space. Breakfast was your standard hotel continental breakfast, breads, eggs, waffles, fruit, donuts, juice coffee, etc. It was always fresh and we were satisfied with it. The breakfast area was kept clean and nice to sit and relax in. There was also a nice outdoor patio, if you wanted to eat outside. The lobby was comfortable, with a couch and chairs. There was a computer in the lobby, which was free to use. The concierge desk was there also, and the young man was always very helpful to us. The front desk staff were all very nice also. We ate at Vinny VanGoGo's pizzeria, in City Market. Cheap but great pizza! Doesn't open until 4pm though! We also ate at Paula Deene's Restaurant, had the buffet both times, and they had a few different items on it each time. Went to Tybee Island, so my mom could see there beach, which is awesome! Then had supper at The Crab Shack, which is an experience in itself! Went on the Bonaventure Cemetery evening tour. Very disappointing and we wouldn't recommend it to anyone. You have to drive there yourself, which is no big deal, but just wanted to add that in case anyone was wondering. It was expensive and you really didn't see much of the beautiful cemetery. It really seemed that the guide spent more time on some things and less on everything else. He didn't even show us Johnny Mercers site, which is very beautiful to see. We also did the Haunted Hearse Tour, which is just fun! Had a great time again! They picked us up across the street from the Best Western, at the Doubletree. I think they pick people up close to wherever they are staying. There are only 6 people in each hearse. Thanks to Brett again this year. We would stay here again, as we felt that it was not an expensive hotel and it was within walking distance to everything in the area

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joe Warren
Business
Hanson, Ma 02341
Oct 15, 2012

Wonderful 25th Anniversary celebration

The complimentary breakfast was way above what we had expected. The concierge was very helpful and knowledgeable. The rooms, however, could use some sound proofing from outside the building as well as from partying in other rooms.. Very clean and well taken care of and the location was perfect for walking to all our attractions. I'd stay there again if I could have a different room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Do your homework and then talk to the concierge especially if the visit is a short one

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MS HOLLY
Business
Wisconsin
Oct 15, 2012

Old Girls just want to have fun

The hotel location was great close to everything and in walking distance to many things. Hotel was very clean & comfortable. Staff was very friendly. ( They need a different brand coffee if there was something they lacked )

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The Rock for Cocktails amazing views for sunset

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SuperDD
Business
San Antonio, Texas
Sep 27, 2012

Perfect location

This hotel is in the middle of everything! You can walk everywhere from here. The staff is very friendly and helpful at all times. The Free breakfast is wonderful with a variety of items to choose from. It's an older hotel, and they may need to replace the air conditioners--sometimes our room wasn't as cool as I like it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't bother eating at Paula Deen's--it's not that great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ron from NC
Business
Charlotte, NC
Sep 26, 2012

Nice Location

Loved the location - within walking distance of most everything we wanted to see. We like historic buildings so the hotel fit the bill. Room was clean and staff was very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
John U
Business
Niag. Falls, NY
Sep 23, 2012

disappointing !!!

Beside lights didn't work, door squeeked loudly; asked to have it fixed; didn't happen. Tub drain was very slow to work. The room was small; bathroom the same. The bed was comfortable, but we discovered BED BUGS THE LAST NIGHT.... WE WON'T STAY THERE AGAIN AND WOULD NOT RECOMMEND IT. !! I told the night manager about the bugs; he just looked at me and made no comment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Thte Rocks Restaurant at the Bohemian was very nice; good food and great service. Nice atmosphere; we ate there twice in three days. Mrs. Wilkes Restaurant was worth the wait. Ruth's Criss was exceptional.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pgoat
Business
missouri
Sep 21, 2012

Excellent location

Plusses: Excellent LOCATION, good-sized room, LOVED having a lighted make up mirror; Staff quickly responded to internet & need for clean towels. Negatives: Decor a little shabby (but clean), breakfast room too small for # of occupants, no bellhop service & couldn't find a luggage cart, room did not get serviced, so had to call down for towels & TP (they brought some up promptly); Seemed to be understaffed;

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Thing3
Business
Olmsted Falls, OH
Sep 17, 2012

Awesome Hotel!

What a beautiful Inn. The staff was wonderful. The rooms were nice & the bartender Jenn was a riot. The location was also terrific. We were within walking distance of everything. Great Trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top