$103 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 5, 2015 Check-out: Jan 8, 2015

Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

3 stars
201 W. Bay St., Savannah, GA 31401
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
334 reviews
One night stay

I was blown away by the staircase in the room, it was very easy to park and within walking distance... See full review

  • Tucsontales
  • Oct 21, 2014
Excellent Savannah stay

The Inn is centrally located to Riverstreet as well as the Savannah Market. Excellent value, clean,... See full review

  • Flamingotina
  • Aug 31, 2014
Historic hotel with modern amenities near Savannah’s riverfront

This non-smoking Day's Inn hotel overlooks the Savannah River from Bay Street and sits in front of Ellis Square, one of six historic parks designed by Savannah founder, James Oglethorpe. Recipient of a 2006 historic preservation award, the Inn at Ellis Square occupies the 150-year-old Guckenheimer building. Guests can experience the rich furnishings of this well-preserved building without sacrificing modern conveniences. The property offers high-speed Internet access and flexible meeting and banquet facilities.

Highlights
  • Easy walk to downtown dining and attractions
  • Close to trolley and carriage tours
  • Wireless Internet
  • Historic Savannah Society 2006 historic-preservation award winner
Rooms

The Inn at Ellis Square offers standard, one-room accommodations and suites. Standard rooms offer a king bed or two double beds and suites feature a living area with couch and wet bar, plus large baths with dressing rooms. Amenities for all rooms include complimentary Internet access, cable TV, desk, mini refrigerator, microwave and coffeemaker.

Features

As the recipient of the Historic Savannah Society 2006 historic-preservation award, this 150-year-old property retains many original features. The hotel's decor is heavy on dark wood and warm, earthy furnishings. The hotel serves a complimentary continental breakfast in a room with towering ceilings and arched windows. Dominique's Lounge is a perfect place for guests to gather in the evening for a cocktail. The hotel has a fitness center. The business center offers Internet, copy and fax services. Five conference rooms and banquet facilities totaling 6,000 square feet accommodate up to 200 people. Technical equipment is available for rent.

Transportation
  • Savannah/Hilton Head Airport
Attractions
  • Savannah Visitors Center
  • Lady and Sons restaurant
  • City Market
  • River Street
  • Mercer House
Business
  • Business center
  • Conference facilities and meeting rooms
  • Complimentary Internet, copy and fax services
Policies and fees
  • The hotel will be undergoing renovations from June 28, 2015 until further notice.
  • Parking fee is $16 a day.
  • This is a non-smoking property.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel also booked these hotels.

Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel Rooms

1 bedroom suite
Our executive suites, located in our lovingly restored Guckenheimer building offer the richness and grace of a bygone era. Private bedrooms with King beds, living rooms with queen sleeper sofas and wet bars. Also featured are over sized bath and dressing area, Coffee makers, fridge & microwave, wireless Internet.
Standard Room
Standard rooms offer two double beds, bath separate from vanity, coffee maker, irons and ironing boards, hair dryers, high speed Internet, workspace, cable TV, clock radio.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Three meeting rooms available. Largest meeting room seats 80 guests.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (334)

Ratings and reviews for Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
334 out of 334
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.7

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Savannah Favorite
Illinois
Nov 7, 2012

Savannah Fabulous!!

I spent a night at the Inn at Ellis Square and 2 nights elsewhere in October 2012. When I got to the train station, Hurricane Sandy prevented us from leaving. I called the hotel and got a room on a day by day basis until I could leave. The staff was so nice and helpful. Joyce the housekeeper got me shampoo etc and towels, did garbage and it was not even her room to clean. She did not say she would call someone, she did it!!! My daughter sprained her ankle and I finally got her back to the hotel. Bernisha got a chair with wheels and took my daughter from the lobby to our room on the 6th floor herself. I cannot say enough about this place. Very clean and quiet. Located on Bay street close to everything. I stayed a total of 5 nights and if I ever got to go back to Savannah, I will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SuperDD
Business
San Antonio, Texas
Sep 27, 2012

Perfect location

This hotel is in the middle of everything! You can walk everywhere from here. The staff is very friendly and helpful at all times. The Free breakfast is wonderful with a variety of items to choose from. It's an older hotel, and they may need to replace the air conditioners--sometimes our room wasn't as cool as I like it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't bother eating at Paula Deen's--it's not that great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ron from NC
Business
Charlotte, NC
Sep 26, 2012

Nice Location

Loved the location - within walking distance of most everything we wanted to see. We like historic buildings so the hotel fit the bill. Room was clean and staff was very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
John U
Business
Niag. Falls, NY
Sep 23, 2012

disappointing !!!

Beside lights didn't work, door squeeked loudly; asked to have it fixed; didn't happen. Tub drain was very slow to work. The room was small; bathroom the same. The bed was comfortable, but we discovered BED BUGS THE LAST NIGHT.... WE WON'T STAY THERE AGAIN AND WOULD NOT RECOMMEND IT. !! I told the night manager about the bugs; he just looked at me and made no comment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Thte Rocks Restaurant at the Bohemian was very nice; good food and great service. Nice atmosphere; we ate there twice in three days. Mrs. Wilkes Restaurant was worth the wait. Ruth's Criss was exceptional.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pgoat
Business
missouri
Sep 21, 2012

Excellent location

Plusses: Excellent LOCATION, good-sized room, LOVED having a lighted make up mirror; Staff quickly responded to internet & need for clean towels. Negatives: Decor a little shabby (but clean), breakfast room too small for # of occupants, no bellhop service & couldn't find a luggage cart, room did not get serviced, so had to call down for towels & TP (they brought some up promptly); Seemed to be understaffed;

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Thing3
Business
Olmsted Falls, OH
Sep 17, 2012

Awesome Hotel!

What a beautiful Inn. The staff was wonderful. The rooms were nice & the bartender Jenn was a riot. The location was also terrific. We were within walking distance of everything. Great Trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
T T S I
Business
Hartwell, GA
Sep 13, 2012

Overly impressed

Everything about this hotel was surprisingly impressive. From the check in, oversized quiet clean room, lobby bar and very good AC and bath details are great. The location cannot be beat. Jennifer in the lobby bar can give you some great ifo about where to eat and enjoy yourself...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MathTeacherTraveler
Business
Alexandria VA
Sep 10, 2012

Convenient hotel near everything in Savannah

It was OK. Check in went smooth. Parking lot was a challenge. Couldn't find a spot one night but hotel refunded parking fee. Bed was comfortable. Bartender was very nice. Close to everything in Historic District. Breakfast was just ok but was included.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Make sure to stop in at Churchills on Bay Street is you're looking for a spot for a drink or late night meal.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cespew
Business
az
Aug 28, 2012

great room

We were suprised when we walked into our room how large it was. View could have been better. Easy access to the outside and to all of Historic downtown

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

All sorts of dining available

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Superman929
Business
Sarasota, FL
Aug 21, 2012

Good Weekend trip

Hotel was clean and nice in lobbies, fantastic location near River, main road bay street, and also the city market. Rooms were clean, but beds were pretty worn and need to be replaced. 2 of our 3 rooms were musty smelling and got better once air was turned on. Waitstaff for breakfast, front desk, maids were all very pleasent. Breakfast was ok, similar to my experiences at many others such as Hampton, hilton....For price paid I feel it was reasonable cost for what we got

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Savannah is rich in history, and if you have a fondness for sweets, you have to check out the River side sweets, and get some bearclaws.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BalaFromNJ
Business
Plainsboro, NJ
Aug 8, 2012

Unforgettable

Stopped here for two days to see Savannah. Great rooms, excellent location and true "southern" hospitality and service. Value for money

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top