$43 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 22, 2015 Check-out: Aug 25, 2015

Howard Johnson Express Inn Savannah GA

2 stars
View map of 17003 Abercorn Street, Savannah, GA 31419

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
26 reviews
mini vacation

It was a great location and the room was wonderful every one was friendly See full review

  • honda grammy
  • May 25, 2014
fantastic service

the staff was freindly and eafer to help and i wud recomend this hotel to all my frinds See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Oct 16, 2010
Have fun with the whole family at this Howard Johnson Express Inn Savannah GA conveniently located off Interstate 95 near exciting attractions. Stroll the Savannah Riverfront with shops, restaurants, historic buildings and museums. Experience one of the many festivals along River Street, take care of shopping at Savannah Festival Outlet Center just seconds away, or visit the premier flea market of Georgia, Kellers Fleamarket. Enjoy a hearty meal at Cracker Barrel next door. Start your morning refreshed with a complimentary Rise and Dine continental breakfast reading the newspaper. Complimentary car and large-vehicle parking makes exploring simple. After a long day of sightseeing, unwind at the seasonal outdoor pool. Plan your exciting day from the comfort of your guest room with complimentary wireless Internet access, refrigerator and microwave. Smoke-free and handicapped-accessible rooms are also available.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Express Inn Savannah GA also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
General
Air conditioned
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Vending machines
Services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
RV or truck parking
Truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Microwave
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Express Inn Savannah GA

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
26 out of 26
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.4
Value:
3.6

65% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn Savannah GA

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
AngeC
Business
Detroit
Apr 29, 2014

DO NOT STAY HERE!

This place was disgusting! They have white crusty residue on the comforter. There was use tissue smashed in between the wall and the safe. The refrigerator was full of mold. This was a horrible hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn Savannah GA

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
doomaflotchi
Business
North Carolina
Apr 8, 2012

Avoid this place!

We checked in late at night as we were travelling and wanted a place along the highway. We were just looking for a place that was clean and had a bed. The lobby was adequate so we proceeded to drive around to our room. As we were parking, we noticed two police cars circling the parking lot of the hotel next door so we were a bit skeptical but it was late so we went on in. When we got into the room, the first thing my daughter and her friend noticed were that there were many stains on the comforter. Needless to say, we removed that from the bed. Consequently, they were cold during the night. The sheets themselves seemed okay but we were kinda nervous. Also, the door wasn't easy to close. Luckily, there was a door guard bar so we were able to feel somewhat secure. The final thing that we noticed, however, was that there was a used dirty towel hanging on the back of the bathroom door! Whoever "cleaned" this room, clearly just gave it a lick and a swipe and considered it done. I will never stay here again and don't recommend that anyone else do either!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn Savannah GA

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
atlanta,ga
Jul 16, 2010

Scary!!!!

The pictures on the website are totally different than what it actually looks like. The pool is very small and has like 5 lounge chairs, the bathrooms look like they tried to paint over holes in wall, the grout looked like it hadnt been cleaned in years. There were cigarette burns in the blankets and while I was waiting to check in with the extremely rude receptionist, another couple had to move 2 rooms because they both smelt like cat pee then they charged $10 extra for the move that was their fault. It was the hotel experience from the twillight zone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The only good thing is that it is 5 mins from the mall.

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn Savannah GA

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Reston, Va
May 10, 2009

Disappointed

-Hotel was at decent location -Staff wanted to watch TV rather than attend to us.Didn't even acknowlege us any of the mornings we were there. Didn't even say "goodbye" or "hope you enjoyed your stay" as we checked out. Will never stay at that hotel again. -Was really diappointed with Orbitz who charged $90 higher than what the hotel would've charged if I had paid direct.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn Savannah GA

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Mar 1, 2008

poor staff

given room 101 made me suspicious. Toilet was not functioning,gave me a plunger to fix, and couldn't; asked for another room and told that they had none. checked out and had to find a room for the next two hours and fifty miles south, and 4 exits later. Worst exoerience in my 50 years of traveling

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn Savannah GA

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Chookie
Business
Atlanta, GA, USA
Feb 9, 2012

Okay hotel

Not close to Savannah downtown. Breakfast was very simple. Smiles weird.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn Savannah GA

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mays
Business
Atlanta, GA, USA
Mar 19, 2012

Great weekend gateway

Room was very clean and comfortableRoom like the fact that they had microwaves and refrigerator only thing is they need new flat screen tv,s other than that it was a great experience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Close to all the shopping areas

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn Savannah GA

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
jazzyga
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jul 14, 2009

OK for a short stay

This hotel was convient for where I needed to be in Savannah; it is not convient to downtown Savannah. The room seem clean on the surface but is old and had a smoke smell (non-smoking room) that had tried to be covered up. We were there for a short stay and the price and the convience to where we needed to be worked out OK. I would not stay there more than one night. Hotel needs a face lift in the rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Short Walk to Cracker Barrel.

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn Savannah GA

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Valdosta, Ga
Apr 22, 2009

Relocating

would not recommend

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn Savannah GA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
jacksonville, FL
May 31, 2010

a good place stay for the money

it was a nice place to stay away from home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top