$115 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 3, 2014 Check-out: Aug 5, 2014

Holiday Inn Express SAVANNAH-HISTORIC DISTRICT

3 stars
199 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
101 reviews
Great stay!

Came here at the last minute for a one night getaway. Everything was perfect- the location, the... See full review

  • Super girl 0711
  • Jul 14, 2014
Perfect Location!

This hotel is located central to everything in downtown Savannah. When we stay here, we park the... See full review

  • Agentherrmann
  • Dec 9, 2013
Waterfront views and central location in Savannah historic district

Stay at Holiday Inn Express, located in the heart of the historic district and soak up the old-world splendor of Savannah. The contemporary, southern-style property sits on Bay Street just steps from the waterfront and surrounded by Savannah's lush squares, historic houses, boutiques and fine restaurants along lively Broughton and River Streets. The hotel features a graceful lobby with a full-service fireside lounge, a rooftop pool, well-equipped guest rooms with high-speed Internet access and 2,000 square feet of meeting space.

Highlights
  • Overlooks the river
  • An easy walk to the waterfront and Broughton Street
  • Wi-Fi access throughout the hotel
  • 2,000 square feet of state-of-the-art meeting facilities
Rooms

Diverse room choices include guestrooms with one queen, king or two queen beds. Deluxe rooms offer one queen or king bed, plus wet bar, sitting area and pullout sofa bed. All rooms include a refrigerator, microwave, iron with ironing board, coffee maker, flat-screen TV, work desk and Wi-Fi access (free).

Features

Guests can easily walk to many of downtown Savannah's most popular attractions thanks to the hotel's central location overlooking the waterfront. Cross the street from the hotel to the trolley stop and join a trolley tour of Savannah's historic sites. Inside the hotel, guests can relax by the fireplace with a cocktail from the lobby bar, take a dip in the rooftop pool or exercise in the on-site fitness center. The hotel serves complimentary breakfast and offers free Wi-Fi access throughout the property. Guests will find computers at the business center and flexible meeting rooms totaling 2,000 square feet accommodates up to 50 people.  Meeting space includes the 1,365-square-foot Magnolia Room, the 950-square-foot Azalea Room and the Live Oak boardroom, which seats 12.

Transportation
  • Savannah/Hilton Head International Airport (17.5 mi/28  km)
Attractions
  • River Street (across the street)
  • City Hall (2 blocks)
  • Savannah Civic Center (.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Tybee Island (17.4 mi/28 km)
Business
  • Business center with computers
  • High-speed wireless Internet (free)
  • 2,000 square feet of flexible meeting space includes two conference rooms and a boardroom

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Free breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Services
Business center
Maid service
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
Cribs available
Temperature control
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Express SAVANNAH-HISTORIC DISTRICT also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

32.0803 -81.089
Nearby airports
Savannah/Hilton Head International, (SAV), 12.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Dining

Port Royal Tavern
Serving beer, wine, cocktails.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (101)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express SAVANNAH-HISTORIC DISTRICT

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
101 out of 101
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.1

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAVANNAH-HISTORIC DISTRICT

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Super girl 0711
Statesboro, ga
Jul 14, 2014

Great stay!

Came here at the last minute for a one night getaway. Everything was perfect- the location, the amazing room and top notch staff!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAVANNAH-HISTORIC DISTRICT

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York
Jun 7, 2008

Wonderful hotel, fit well in neighborhood

Easy to find, located near everything you would want to see and experience in the beautiful city of Savannah. The staff were friendly and very professional. The breakfast offered was somewhat satisfactory. A local newspaper would of been nice as well as the USA Today paper. The room was perfect, linens and bed were clean and comfortable. Although the extra pillow in the closet did not have a cover on it and the next day the maid service didnt put one on it even though I left it on the bed. I was very happy to hear when I asked as to why my wireless internet wasnt working in the room a DSL cable was offered along with the Username/password which I didnt realize was required until I inquired at the front desk. (a proper placard with this info would of been appreciated on the desk in room)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Most every place we dined was delicious. Especially the Lady and Sons. The Savannah Candy Company was also wonderful and their Pralines are second to none in my opinion!

Review of Holiday Inn Express SAVANNAH-HISTORIC DISTRICT

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York
Jun 7, 2008

Wonderful hotel, fit well in neighborhood

Easy to find, located near everything you would want to see and experience in the beautiful city of Savannah. The staff were friendly and very professional. The breakfast offered was somewhat satisfactory. A local newspaper would of been nice as well as the USA Today paper. The room was perfect, linens and bed were clean and comfortable. Although the extra pillow in the closet did not have a cover on it and the next day the maid service didnt put one on it even though I left it on the bed. I was very happy to hear when I asked as to why my wireless internet wasnt working in the room a DSL cable was offered along with the Username/password which I didnt realize was required until I inquired at the front desk. (a proper placard with this info would of been appreciated on the desk in room)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Most every place we dined was delicious. Especially the Lady and Sons. The Savannah Candy Company was also wonderful and their Pralines are second to none in my opinion!

Review of Holiday Inn Express SAVANNAH-HISTORIC DISTRICT

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Toni1987
Ironton, Oh
Jun 22, 2013

Savannah

This hotel is located one block back from River Street, and is within walking distance of practically everything you want to do there. The room was beautiful, and I paid less for it than the older, rundown room I stayed in at Myrtle Beach a few days before.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAVANNAH-HISTORIC DISTRICT

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hello From TN
TN
Nov 27, 2011

Perfect Thanksgiving Stay!

Managed to get one of the few rooms with a balcony...nice views of the river! Couldn't be be pleased with the location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The hearse tours leave from across the street. We had so much fun on the tour and learned a lot about the haunted history of Savannah!

Review of Holiday Inn Express SAVANNAH-HISTORIC DISTRICT

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Melrose Park
Oct 28, 2008

great location

The hotel was very nice and clean. Location was perfect for getting around. My only disappointment was the workout facility was extremely small and equipment not adequate. Pool was nice though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Located near everything ...dining variety, shopping, historic homes and museums.

Review of Holiday Inn Express SAVANNAH-HISTORIC DISTRICT

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Atlanta, GA
Feb 3, 2008

Great Location

My wife and I were very pleased with the hotel. It was very convenient to the riverfront, shops, and dining. There are approximately 25 dining options within jusy a few blocks. Concierge was a nice service and very helpful. I was somewhat caught by surprise by the $8 daily parking fee and difficulty in finding a space since the lot is a municipal lot and shared by another hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lady & Sons Restaurant operated by Paula Dean who is well known because of the Food Network. Also highly recommend Mrs. wilkes for great southern home cooking

Review of Holiday Inn Express SAVANNAH-HISTORIC DISTRICT

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Agentherrmann
Georgia
Dec 9, 2013

Perfect Location!

This hotel is located central to everything in downtown Savannah. When we stay here, we park the car and walk everywhere. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the room was comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Be sure and eat at the Olde Pink House located just behind the hotel.

Review of Holiday Inn Express SAVANNAH-HISTORIC DISTRICT

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 28, 2008

Don't want to share this secret!

The Holiday Inn Express, in Savannah's Historic District, is without a doubt the best value in the district. I attended a conference at another hotel and several of my collegues remarked that their accomadations were sub-par. I was so happy that I chose to stay off-site. The hotel staff is very attentive and the room was delightful. Located within walking distance of many historic Savannah destinations, I know it will be on my list of great finds!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Express SAVANNAH-HISTORIC DISTRICT

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Mar 29, 2008

Great Location

Nice hotel. Great location. Bad parking! They charge $10.00 a day. Close to everthing and brand new. Great breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top