$124 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 10, 2015 Check-out: Aug 11, 2015

Holiday Inn Express SAVANNAH-HISTORIC DISTRICT

3 stars
View map of 199 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
76 reviews
great

We went on an anniversary trip and had a great time, good location and very nice! See full review

  • James K.
  • May 28, 2015
Vacation

Awesome place to see the city and the fireworks over the river! Staff was great and very clean. We... See full review

  • ParaFlight
  • May 9, 2015

Stay at Holiday Inn Express, located in the heart of the historic district and soak up the old-world splendor of Savannah. The contemporary, southern-style property sits on Bay Street just steps from the waterfront and surrounded by Savannah's lush squares, historic houses, boutiques and fine restaurants along lively Broughton and River Streets. The hotel features a graceful lobby with a full-service fireside lounge, a rooftop pool, well-equipped guest rooms with high-speed Internet access and 2,000 square feet of meeting space.

Rooms

Diverse room choices include guestrooms with one queen, king or two queen beds. Deluxe rooms offer one queen or king bed, plus wet bar, sitting area and pullout sofa bed. All rooms include a refrigerator, microwave, iron with ironing board, coffee maker, flat-screen TV, work desk and Wi-Fi access (free).

Property features

Guests can easily walk to many of downtown Savannah's most popular attractions thanks to the hotel's central location overlooking the waterfront. Cross the street from the hotel to the trolley stop and join a trolley tour of Savannah's historic sites. Inside the hotel, guests can relax by the fireplace with a cocktail from the lobby bar, take a dip in the rooftop pool or exercise in the on-site fitness center. The hotel serves complimentary breakfast and offers free Wi-Fi access throughout the property. Guests will find computers at the business center and flexible meeting rooms totaling 2,000 square feet accommodates up to 50 people.  Meeting space includes the 1,365-square-foot Magnolia Room, the 950-square-foot Azalea Room and the Live Oak boardroom, which seats 12.

Highlights
  • Overlooks the river
  • An easy walk to the waterfront and Broughton Street
  • Wi-Fi access throughout the hotel
  • 2,000 square feet of state-of-the-art meeting facilities
Nearby attractions
  • River Street (across the street)
  • City Hall (2 blocks)
  • Savannah Civic Center (.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Tybee Island (17.4 mi/28 km)
Business
  • Business center with computers
  • High-speed wireless Internet (free)
  • 2,000 square feet of flexible meeting space includes two conference rooms and a boardroom
Transportation
  • Savannah/Hilton Head International Airport (17.5 mi/28  km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Express SAVANNAH-HISTORIC DISTRICT also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Free breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
Cribs available
Temperature control
Ironing board

Dining

Port Royal Tavern
The Port Royal Tavern in located in the lobby on the ground floor and is full service bar with beer, wine, cocktails. Open from 4pm-11pm Monday through Saturday with daily happy hour specials from 4:30pm-6:30pm. Be sure to stop by and see Ken!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express SAVANNAH-HISTORIC DISTRICT

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
76 out of 76
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.1

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAVANNAH-HISTORIC DISTRICT

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Peterxyz
Business
Richmond, VA, USA
Mar 2, 2014

Great but....

The hotel and staff were fine but the parking was completely unacceptable. Our car with its contents were parked 3 blocks away from the hotel. It appeared that the valet parking used the same location only they were able to run there faster than I could.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Use a hotel further from the center and use a taxi. It would be safer and cheaper,

Review of Holiday Inn Express SAVANNAH-HISTORIC DISTRICT

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Savannah Lady
Business
SSI, GA
Feb 7, 2010

Happy? Aniversary

Lots of problems at this hotel. 1. Minimal hot water pressure. A shower took 10 minutes. 2. One phone in room did not work. 3. Cleaning staff didn't make the bed. duh! 4. Called for car valet, no answer, had to go find the car parker. Nice people, but lots of problems. I won't stay there again. 5. Automatic doors at front of hotel made loud noise. Could hear it in our room until they locked it up for the night. 6. Microwave was not plugged in. 7. Batteries in TV remote were shot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Dinner st Elizabeth's on 37. As good as any meal that you will ever eat.

Review of Holiday Inn Express SAVANNAH-HISTORIC DISTRICT

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Roaming from Frederick
Business
Savannah, Georgia
Apr 8, 2013

Love the location, but . . .

So, the location is right in Savannah's historic district about a 5 minute walk from the river. Our room was comfortable, but you could hear every noise in the hallway and out in the street. If you are hoping to get a good night's sleep, maybe not the best place. We were also disappointed in the staff. When we checked in, the staff was very accommodating and friendly, but Sunday morning when we left, we didn't even get a "good morning" or "how was your room". Just seemed interested in processing us out and moving on to the next person. Next trip to Savannah we will probably look for a different hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

To "Lady and Sons", the riverfront, and most of the squares.

Review of Holiday Inn Express SAVANNAH-HISTORIC DISTRICT

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
rotz
Business
WI
Oct 26, 2009

good location

Leisure trip - balcony nice but truck noise was bad... close to all activities

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pink House Restaurant- fabulous!

Review of Holiday Inn Express SAVANNAH-HISTORIC DISTRICT

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
B-rad83
Business
Athens, GA
Apr 11, 2010

Great location

Great location. Room was fairly noisy and housekeeping wasn't the best but the location definitely made up for any complaints I had. Awesome weekend trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

City Walk was a few blocks away and had some great art gallery's and restaurants. Right next to Paula Dean's Lady and Sons.

Review of Holiday Inn Express SAVANNAH-HISTORIC DISTRICT

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
One Cents
Business
Atlanta, ga
Jul 18, 2010

Great location, average hotel

Great location, but the street noise woke us up everyday by 6/7 am. The breakfast every morning was great with lots of items to pick from. We paid extra for the "view" which was VERY disappointing...it was not a river view, but a view of the traffic on the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Express SAVANNAH-HISTORIC DISTRICT

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Manchester, NH
Sep 21, 2009

great location, hotel and staff

Business trip with an extra day for leisure. The hotel was in a nice,safe location, walking to sites and restaurants. Nice staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We found a nice restaurant with great ambiance called Rocks on River Street. Main entrance on East Bay Street.

Review of Holiday Inn Express SAVANNAH-HISTORIC DISTRICT

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dave1066
Business
Centreville, VA
Jan 5, 2014

Nice Hotel on the river

This is a great hotel on the river. Walking distance from shops and great restaurants. Parking is either street, public pay or valet at $20 a day. Very nice breakfast and a great room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Vic's on the river or the Cotton exchange.

Review of Holiday Inn Express SAVANNAH-HISTORIC DISTRICT

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wedding Attendee
Business
Montgomery, AL, USA
Sep 25, 2011

A Very Nice Place to Stay

Desk emplyees were very nice and accomodating. Valet Employees were very nice and helpfull. Good Breakfast. Very Good Location to Historic and Riverfront Area We needed a late check out and they were very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Express SAVANNAH-HISTORIC DISTRICT

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stepb
Business
Charlotte, NC, USA
Feb 5, 2012

Perfect Location! This hotel definitely delivers!

I'll admit, when I think of H.I.E.s I don't picture luxury or cleanliness, but this location was absolutely amazing. For the price, this was the best location possible; smack dab in the middle of Bay St and only one street away from the main attraction of River St. We had a glitch in our travel plans but the staff was super accommodating and allowed us to push back our reservation without any additional fees. The room, though small, was packed with all of the essentials and was quite modern. My only complaint was that the carpet wasn't as clean as I would have liked and the bathroom door was in a weird location so made it difficult for two people to get ready. All of the staff were extra pleasant and highly knowledgeable about hot spots and attractions. We self parked or they have valet parking. The bar hours weren't great and it would've been nice to have an in house restaurant to order room service. The rooftop pool and jacuzzi delivered and it was an amazing view. This is an excellent place to stay on a budget, especially since breakfast is included.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Crab Shack on Tybee Island - best seafood!! Get to the island about an hour before sunset and drive out to the pier or put your feet in the water. Great place to watch the sun set and then go grab some beers and the most delish seafood!

Back to menu Return to top