$115 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 3, 2014 Check-out: Aug 5, 2014

Holiday Inn Express SAVANNAH-HISTORIC DISTRICT

3 stars
199 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
101 reviews
Great stay!

Came here at the last minute for a one night getaway. Everything was perfect- the location, the... See full review

  • Super girl 0711
  • Jul 14, 2014
Perfect Location!

This hotel is located central to everything in downtown Savannah. When we stay here, we park the... See full review

  • Agentherrmann
  • Dec 9, 2013
Waterfront views and central location in Savannah historic district

Stay at Holiday Inn Express, located in the heart of the historic district and soak up the old-world splendor of Savannah. The contemporary, southern-style property sits on Bay Street just steps from the waterfront and surrounded by Savannah's lush squares, historic houses, boutiques and fine restaurants along lively Broughton and River Streets. The hotel features a graceful lobby with a full-service fireside lounge, a rooftop pool, well-equipped guest rooms with high-speed Internet access and 2,000 square feet of meeting space.

Highlights
  • Overlooks the river
  • An easy walk to the waterfront and Broughton Street
  • Wi-Fi access throughout the hotel
  • 2,000 square feet of state-of-the-art meeting facilities
Rooms

Diverse room choices include guestrooms with one queen, king or two queen beds. Deluxe rooms offer one queen or king bed, plus wet bar, sitting area and pullout sofa bed. All rooms include a refrigerator, microwave, iron with ironing board, coffee maker, flat-screen TV, work desk and Wi-Fi access (free).

Features

Guests can easily walk to many of downtown Savannah's most popular attractions thanks to the hotel's central location overlooking the waterfront. Cross the street from the hotel to the trolley stop and join a trolley tour of Savannah's historic sites. Inside the hotel, guests can relax by the fireplace with a cocktail from the lobby bar, take a dip in the rooftop pool or exercise in the on-site fitness center. The hotel serves complimentary breakfast and offers free Wi-Fi access throughout the property. Guests will find computers at the business center and flexible meeting rooms totaling 2,000 square feet accommodates up to 50 people.  Meeting space includes the 1,365-square-foot Magnolia Room, the 950-square-foot Azalea Room and the Live Oak boardroom, which seats 12.

Transportation
  • Savannah/Hilton Head International Airport (17.5 mi/28  km)
Attractions
  • River Street (across the street)
  • City Hall (2 blocks)
  • Savannah Civic Center (.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Tybee Island (17.4 mi/28 km)
Business
  • Business center with computers
  • High-speed wireless Internet (free)
  • 2,000 square feet of flexible meeting space includes two conference rooms and a boardroom

Hotel Map

32.0803 -81.089
Nearby airports
Savannah/Hilton Head International, (SAV), 12.00, MI, SE;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Express SAVANNAH-HISTORIC DISTRICT also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Free breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Services
Business center
Maid service
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
Cribs available
Temperature control
Ironing board

Dining

Port Royal Tavern
Serving beer, wine, cocktails.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (101)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express SAVANNAH-HISTORIC DISTRICT

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
101 out of 101
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.1

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAVANNAH-HISTORIC DISTRICT

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hilton Head Traveler
St Paul, Minnesota
May 11, 2012

Convenient Location

Great location, nice to have free breakfast, good value compared to other hotels in the area. I would stay here again and recommend to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

Ladies - don't wear heels in Savannah. The streets are cobblestone, and drinking on the street is allowed. Wear flats to avoid injury!

Review of Holiday Inn Express SAVANNAH-HISTORIC DISTRICT

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Altamonte Springs
Jan 2, 2009

One of the best

The Holiday Inn Express Downtown Historic district of Savannah was one of the best hotels I have stayed at. Location was perfect, staff was very friendly and knowledgible. Although the hotel did not have on site dining, except for breakfast, they were very helpful with recommendations and even calling to make reservations. The room was very clean and layed out very nicely. As I am not a bathtub person I found the stand up shower to be a refreshing change. Will definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAVANNAH-HISTORIC DISTRICT

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Guyton Girl
Jackson, GA
Feb 22, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

The view from the King Corner Suite was priceless, just beautiful. Dinner on the Savannah River at Tubby's was most enjoyable and I will go back. Savannah, GA is such a beautiful city and very nice people in the south.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

River Street has something for everyone!!

Review of Holiday Inn Express SAVANNAH-HISTORIC DISTRICT

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
pamiam
cherry hill, nj
Jun 29, 2009

fantastic hospitality

the service was super friendly. the room was beautiful and had a very nice view. the bartender, [...], was the most personable bartender i have ever met (and i am a bartender!!). two things i didn't like: no place to eat late night (and no delivery) had to scrounge change and eat out of the vending machines. and the valet parking. i like having access to my car at all times.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAVANNAH-HISTORIC DISTRICT

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Atlanta, GA
May 26, 2011

Excellent Experience

It was a fantastic experience. The hotel staff were very friendly and the room was great! It had everything that we needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything was very close to the motel. Plan on doing a lot of walking but it's so beautiful. The river boat cruise was sort of smelly though.

Review of Holiday Inn Express SAVANNAH-HISTORIC DISTRICT

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Seminole Dale
Perry, FL
Dec 29, 2010

We were very satisfied

The hotel and room were very clean, and the staff very friendly. We will definitely go back here again. Unfortunately, it was was too cold to swim in the rooftop pool, but we did go up there to look, and there is a good view of the river from up there. I guess we could have gone in the hot tub, but was afraid we would freeze after getting out. We just loved Savannah, and will have to go back, as there is too much to see and do, and two days was not long enough. I liked that it's a non-smoking hotel. The complementary breakfast was good, and we chose to use valet parking in case we wanted to use our car. We ended up not needing it, as we walked everywhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Paula Dean's Restaurant, and take at least one tour. We took a carriage tour, which lasted about an hour. Also, just walk around town to take in the sights, and go walk down by the river, and shop at some of the shops there. Downtown is loaded with lots of great restaurants and places to shop. The parks downtown are also awesome. You will see lots of people walking dogs, and very ample police presence, so we felt safe.

Review of Holiday Inn Express SAVANNAH-HISTORIC DISTRICT

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Brutallyhonest1234
Michigan
May 26, 2011

Awesome experience

Room was beautiful. Very high end. Staff was friendly and helpful. Location was perfect. Right where you need to stay to see everything. I was extremely happy. The price was very reasonable and the beds are very comfortable. They even have pillows that are labeled soft or hard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy the $25 trolly pass (we used the green/orange trolly-I forgot the name.) You can get off and on all day long. It is the best way to get a narrated tour of the city and to use as transportation during your stay. You can buy your tickets at the front desk tax free!

Review of Holiday Inn Express SAVANNAH-HISTORIC DISTRICT

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Saint Francisvill
Dec 29, 2008

Great hotel for mini-vacation

The hotel is very conveniently located on Bay Street. Easy to get to all restaurants and River Street. Parking garage next door or valet parking. I loved that it was next to one of the squares in Savannah. The main thing I noticed was that the hotel has done away with the bathtub and had a wonderful large shower with glass doors - also the king sized bed was very comfortable and they had a new flat screen tv. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone planning to stay in Savannah for pleasure or business.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

River Street with all the shops. Wonderful views from the walkway by the river -- can see container ships going out. You are very close up too. Really neat area - has old cobblestone streets.

Review of Holiday Inn Express SAVANNAH-HISTORIC DISTRICT

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hilton Head Traveler
St Paul, Minnesota
May 11, 2012

Convenient Location

Great location, nice to have free breakfast, good value compared to other hotels in the area. I would stay here again and recommend to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

Ladies - don't wear heels in Savannah. The streets are cobblestone, and drinking on the street is allowed. Wear flats to avoid injury!

Review of Holiday Inn Express SAVANNAH-HISTORIC DISTRICT

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
trooper
Bell, FL 32619, USA
Aug 20, 2011

Great Hotel Stay

Check in was very quick.and easy. Location is in the heart of the historic district.Staff very helpful and view from the room and roof top pool was great. Will return again soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the old town trolly. ride all day and stops at 15 locations.

Review of Holiday Inn Express SAVANNAH-HISTORIC DISTRICT

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Feb 9, 2008

In Town and Quiet!

Everyone here was so friendly. The atmosphere was wonderful. The room was quiet although just below us was the Savannah downtown traffic. The beds were heavenly, clean and new! The concierge was so friendly and constantly smilin'! He was a tribute to grand southern hospitality! Close and convenient to River Street shopping and restaurants. The park was located just behind the hotel. Wonderful breakfast every morning with a good variety of food. Parking was a slight issue on Friday as the deck filled up quickly. The weather in Savannah in the wintertime is perfect for being outside whether you are walking or just sitting by the river. We will definitely be back and will be certain to stay in this Holiday Inn.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Great food and shopping within a few minutes walk from the Hotel.

Back to menu Return to top