$154 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 4, 2015 Check-out: Mar 5, 2015

Holiday Inn Express SAVANNAH-HISTORIC DISTRICT

3 stars
View map of 199 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
75 reviews
GOOD HOTEL

I spent one night on January with my family. Neat and clean, walk distance from everything. The 2... See full review

  • mfdad
  • Feb 4, 2015
Great stay

Just across the street for River Street great location for everything to do in Savana See full review

  • Anthony M.
  • Jan 25, 2015
Waterfront views and central location in Savannah historic district

Stay at Holiday Inn Express, located in the heart of the historic district and soak up the old-world splendor of Savannah. The contemporary, southern-style property sits on Bay Street just steps from the waterfront and surrounded by Savannah's lush squares, historic houses, boutiques and fine restaurants along lively Broughton and River Streets. The hotel features a graceful lobby with a full-service fireside lounge, a rooftop pool, well-equipped guest rooms with high-speed Internet access and 2,000 square feet of meeting space.

Highlights
  • Overlooks the river
  • An easy walk to the waterfront and Broughton Street
  • Wi-Fi access throughout the hotel
  • 2,000 square feet of state-of-the-art meeting facilities
Rooms

Diverse room choices include guestrooms with one queen, king or two queen beds. Deluxe rooms offer one queen or king bed, plus wet bar, sitting area and pullout sofa bed. All rooms include a refrigerator, microwave, iron with ironing board, coffee maker, flat-screen TV, work desk and Wi-Fi access (free).

Features

Guests can easily walk to many of downtown Savannah's most popular attractions thanks to the hotel's central location overlooking the waterfront. Cross the street from the hotel to the trolley stop and join a trolley tour of Savannah's historic sites. Inside the hotel, guests can relax by the fireplace with a cocktail from the lobby bar, take a dip in the rooftop pool or exercise in the on-site fitness center. The hotel serves complimentary breakfast and offers free Wi-Fi access throughout the property. Guests will find computers at the business center and flexible meeting rooms totaling 2,000 square feet accommodates up to 50 people.  Meeting space includes the 1,365-square-foot Magnolia Room, the 950-square-foot Azalea Room and the Live Oak boardroom, which seats 12.

Transportation
  • Savannah/Hilton Head International Airport (17.5 mi/28  km)
Attractions
  • River Street (across the street)
  • City Hall (2 blocks)
  • Savannah Civic Center (.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Tybee Island (17.4 mi/28 km)
Business
  • Business center with computers
  • High-speed wireless Internet (free)
  • 2,000 square feet of flexible meeting space includes two conference rooms and a boardroom

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Express SAVANNAH-HISTORIC DISTRICT also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Free breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
Cribs available
Temperature control
Ironing board

Dining

Port Royal Tavern
Serving beer, wine, cocktails.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (75)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express SAVANNAH-HISTORIC DISTRICT

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
75 out of 75
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.1

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAVANNAH-HISTORIC DISTRICT

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
trooper
Business
Bell, FL 32619, USA
Aug 20, 2011

Great Hotel Stay

Check in was very quick.and easy. Location is in the heart of the historic district.Staff very helpful and view from the room and roof top pool was great. Will return again soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the old town trolly. ride all day and stops at 15 locations.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAVANNAH-HISTORIC DISTRICT

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, ga
Aug 2, 2011

Wonderful stay

Since this was just a weekend trip, I must say the location was great.. right across the street was the Savannah River and resturants were in walking distance. Located less than a block was a nice clean park, for morning walk. Only problem was the valet attendents were not to nice, as if they did not want to be there. but whatever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The tour bus stop was right outside our door, which was nice, as stated before everything was in walking distance, and Tybee Island was 15 minutes away...nice.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAVANNAH-HISTORIC DISTRICT

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
May 26, 2011

Excellent Experience

It was a fantastic experience. The hotel staff were very friendly and the room was great! It had everything that we needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything was very close to the motel. Plan on doing a lot of walking but it's so beautiful. The river boat cruise was sort of smelly though.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAVANNAH-HISTORIC DISTRICT

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Brutallyhonest1234
Business
Michigan
May 26, 2011

Awesome experience

Room was beautiful. Very high end. Staff was friendly and helpful. Location was perfect. Right where you need to stay to see everything. I was extremely happy. The price was very reasonable and the beds are very comfortable. They even have pillows that are labeled soft or hard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy the $25 trolly pass (we used the green/orange trolly-I forgot the name.) You can get off and on all day long. It is the best way to get a narrated tour of the city and to use as transportation during your stay. You can buy your tickets at the front desk tax free!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAVANNAH-HISTORIC DISTRICT

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Seminole Dale
Business
Perry, FL
Dec 29, 2010

We were very satisfied

The hotel and room were very clean, and the staff very friendly. We will definitely go back here again. Unfortunately, it was was too cold to swim in the rooftop pool, but we did go up there to look, and there is a good view of the river from up there. I guess we could have gone in the hot tub, but was afraid we would freeze after getting out. We just loved Savannah, and will have to go back, as there is too much to see and do, and two days was not long enough. I liked that it's a non-smoking hotel. The complementary breakfast was good, and we chose to use valet parking in case we wanted to use our car. We ended up not needing it, as we walked everywhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Paula Dean's Restaurant, and take at least one tour. We took a carriage tour, which lasted about an hour. Also, just walk around town to take in the sights, and go walk down by the river, and shop at some of the shops there. Downtown is loaded with lots of great restaurants and places to shop. The parks downtown are also awesome. You will see lots of people walking dogs, and very ample police presence, so we felt safe.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAVANNAH-HISTORIC DISTRICT

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
atlanta
Oct 4, 2010

excellent experience

excellent service, room was perfect, we were walking distance from the wedding and reception we were there for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAVANNAH-HISTORIC DISTRICT

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
One Cents
Business
Atlanta, ga
Jul 18, 2010

Great location, average hotel

Great location, but the street noise woke us up everyday by 6/7 am. The breakfast every morning was great with lots of items to pick from. We paid extra for the "view" which was VERY disappointing...it was not a river view, but a view of the traffic on the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAVANNAH-HISTORIC DISTRICT

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
B-rad83
Business
Athens, GA
Apr 11, 2010

Great location

Great location. Room was fairly noisy and housekeeping wasn't the best but the location definitely made up for any complaints I had. Awesome weekend trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

City Walk was a few blocks away and had some great art gallery's and restaurants. Right next to Paula Dean's Lady and Sons.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAVANNAH-HISTORIC DISTRICT

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Guyton Girl
Business
Jackson, GA
Feb 22, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

The view from the King Corner Suite was priceless, just beautiful. Dinner on the Savannah River at Tubby's was most enjoyable and I will go back. Savannah, GA is such a beautiful city and very nice people in the south.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

River Street has something for everyone!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAVANNAH-HISTORIC DISTRICT

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Savannah Lady
Business
SSI, GA
Feb 7, 2010

Happy? Aniversary

Lots of problems at this hotel. 1. Minimal hot water pressure. A shower took 10 minutes. 2. One phone in room did not work. 3. Cleaning staff didn't make the bed. duh! 4. Called for car valet, no answer, had to go find the car parker. Nice people, but lots of problems. I won't stay there again. 5. Automatic doors at front of hotel made loud noise. Could hear it in our room until they locked it up for the night. 6. Microwave was not plugged in. 7. Batteries in TV remote were shot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Dinner st Elizabeth's on 37. As good as any meal that you will ever eat.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top