$119 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 21, 2014 Check-out: Sep 22, 2014

Holiday Inn Express SAVANNAH-HISTORIC DISTRICT

3 stars
199 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
69 reviews
Great stay!

Came here at the last minute for a one night getaway. Everything was perfect- the location, the... See full review

  • Super girl 0711
  • Jul 14, 2014
Perfect Location!

This hotel is located central to everything in downtown Savannah. When we stay here, we park the... See full review

  • Agentherrmann
  • Dec 9, 2013
Waterfront views and central location in Savannah historic district

Stay at Holiday Inn Express, located in the heart of the historic district and soak up the old-world splendor of Savannah. The contemporary, southern-style property sits on Bay Street just steps from the waterfront and surrounded by Savannah's lush squares, historic houses, boutiques and fine restaurants along lively Broughton and River Streets. The hotel features a graceful lobby with a full-service fireside lounge, a rooftop pool, well-equipped guest rooms with high-speed Internet access and 2,000 square feet of meeting space.

Highlights
  • Overlooks the river
  • An easy walk to the waterfront and Broughton Street
  • Wi-Fi access throughout the hotel
  • 2,000 square feet of state-of-the-art meeting facilities
Rooms

Diverse room choices include guestrooms with one queen, king or two queen beds. Deluxe rooms offer one queen or king bed, plus wet bar, sitting area and pullout sofa bed. All rooms include a refrigerator, microwave, iron with ironing board, coffee maker, flat-screen TV, work desk and Wi-Fi access (free).

Features

Guests can easily walk to many of downtown Savannah's most popular attractions thanks to the hotel's central location overlooking the waterfront. Cross the street from the hotel to the trolley stop and join a trolley tour of Savannah's historic sites. Inside the hotel, guests can relax by the fireplace with a cocktail from the lobby bar, take a dip in the rooftop pool or exercise in the on-site fitness center. The hotel serves complimentary breakfast and offers free Wi-Fi access throughout the property. Guests will find computers at the business center and flexible meeting rooms totaling 2,000 square feet accommodates up to 50 people.  Meeting space includes the 1,365-square-foot Magnolia Room, the 950-square-foot Azalea Room and the Live Oak boardroom, which seats 12.

Transportation
  • Savannah/Hilton Head International Airport (17.5 mi/28  km)
Attractions
  • River Street (across the street)
  • City Hall (2 blocks)
  • Savannah Civic Center (.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Tybee Island (17.4 mi/28 km)
Business
  • Business center with computers
  • High-speed wireless Internet (free)
  • 2,000 square feet of flexible meeting space includes two conference rooms and a boardroom

Hotel Map

32.0803 -81.089
Nearby airports
Savannah/Hilton Head International, (SAV), 12.00, MI, SE;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Express SAVANNAH-HISTORIC DISTRICT also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Free breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Services
Business center
Maid service
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
Cribs available
Temperature control
Ironing board

Dining

Port Royal Tavern
Serving beer, wine, cocktails.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (69)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express SAVANNAH-HISTORIC DISTRICT

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
69 out of 69
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.1

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAVANNAH-HISTORIC DISTRICT

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mimi KD
Birmingham, AL
Jul 18, 2013

Wonderful Hotel!

Top notch bedding and amenities! Great location just across the street from River Walk. The roof top pool and hot tub were a huge hit! What a view for relaxing. Highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Restaurants on the River Walk were very good. Highly recommend Boar's Head and Dockside. Loved the carriage tour and the Trolley tour as well.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAVANNAH-HISTORIC DISTRICT

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Toni1987
Ironton, Oh
Jun 22, 2013

Savannah

This hotel is located one block back from River Street, and is within walking distance of practically everything you want to do there. The room was beautiful, and I paid less for it than the older, rundown room I stayed in at Myrtle Beach a few days before.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAVANNAH-HISTORIC DISTRICT

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
K.a.t.i.e
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Jun 10, 2013

Fantastic

Great location. Friendly staff that was extremely helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAVANNAH-HISTORIC DISTRICT

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sam and Louie
Iowa
May 1, 2013

Perfect location

Beautiful room, clean, spacious. The staff was very pleasant, brought chocolates to the room in evening and checked to see if we needed anything. Location was perfect for walking/touring Savannah. Excellent breakfast included.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Free city transit system and tour companies come right to the corner. Easy walks to river and shopping and restaurants. Didn't need to use car.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAVANNAH-HISTORIC DISTRICT

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Roaming from Frederick
Savannah, Georgia
Apr 8, 2013

Love the location, but . . .

So, the location is right in Savannah's historic district about a 5 minute walk from the river. Our room was comfortable, but you could hear every noise in the hallway and out in the street. If you are hoping to get a good night's sleep, maybe not the best place. We were also disappointed in the staff. When we checked in, the staff was very accommodating and friendly, but Sunday morning when we left, we didn't even get a "good morning" or "how was your room". Just seemed interested in processing us out and moving on to the next person. Next trip to Savannah we will probably look for a different hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

To "Lady and Sons", the riverfront, and most of the squares.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAVANNAH-HISTORIC DISTRICT

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sharpchic
Kingslad, GA
Jan 28, 2013

Perfect location

Plenty of parking at garage steps away from hotel. Located right in the heart of all the best restaurants and clubs. Free breakfast bar is added bonus. Spacious rooms with comfy beds and spacious bathroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great local fare mixed in with chain restaurants

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAVANNAH-HISTORIC DISTRICT

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
clegghouse
Phenix City, AL
Dec 10, 2012

Fun weekend

Hotel was great and staff was excellent. The only negative was parking situation - had to pay the $20 extra to park and pay gratuities every time we needed our car, but overall, it was great and the hotel in the perfect location. Breakfast was great also.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAVANNAH-HISTORIC DISTRICT

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TN Visitor
Knoxville TN
Oct 1, 2012

A positive experience

We stayed here for a weekend getaway. We had visited Savannah before and promised ourselves that we would stay in a hotel in the historic district next time so that we did not have to try to find a parking space. This worked out very well. The room was clean, everything worked, and the staff was friendly. The public parking garage is directly behind the hotel and was very convenient. We had a comfortable and quiet stay. Only one guest rudely let his door slam a four AM two mornings in a row. Other than that, we slept quite well. We will certainly stay here again on future visits.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAVANNAH-HISTORIC DISTRICT

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Maclapa
Miami, FL
Sep 18, 2012

Perfect location!

Great location for walking around historic downtown. Clean room, comfortable bed and nice staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If your looking to have a really nice meal go to Vic's on the River. Really good food!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAVANNAH-HISTORIC DISTRICT

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GeneGene
Business
Memphis, TN
Aug 4, 2012

Unofficial business trip

We enjoyed our stay at Holiday Inn Express. The complimentary breakfast did not disappoint. The free w-fi was definitely a plus as well. My only issues were the slow elevators and the lack of waste baskets in the room. Otherwise, I have no complaints. I would stay as here again. The location is great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Please go to the Pink House Restaurant! The food and service was phenomenal!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search