$58 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 19, 2014 Check-out: Oct 22, 2014

Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Savannah Midtown, GA

2 stars
7576 White Bluff Road, Savannah, GA 31406
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
25 reviews
Vacation getaway

My stay was good. Comfortable room.The staff was friendly.The breakfast had a good variety but the... See full review

  • Bigredga36
  • Jun 7, 2014
Savannah

The front desk clerk was very nice and the free breakfast was better than average See full review

  • Lax16
  • Nov 11, 2013
Standard rooms and a variety of suites in midtown Savannah

Situated on White Bluff Road near Hunter Army Airfield, Country Inn and Suites offers non-smoking rooms and suites in the southern part of the city, about a 10- to 15-minute drive from the downtown historic district. The hotel sits close to abundant shopping at the Oglethorpe Mall and restaurants. Be sure to visit local favorite, Sweet Potatoes. Southside attractions are also nearby including the Wormsloe Plantation, Skidaway Island State Park and Savannah State University. Business travelers can find free Wi-Fi and meeting space for 30 people.

Highlights
  • Adjacent to Oglethorpe Mall, Hunter Army Airfield and just minutes from downtown
  • Free wireless Internet access throughout the hotel
  • Indoor swimming pool and hot tub
Rooms

The hotel offers spacious guest rooms and a variety of suites, including one-bedroom, two-bedroom and whirlpool suites. Adjoining rooms are available. All accommodations offer one king or two queen beds. Amenities include complimentary high-speed Internet access, coffee maker, hairdryer, iron with ironing board and cable TV. Suites also feature sofa beds, microwave and refrigerator. Rollaway beds and cribs are available by request.

Features

Guests at Country Inn and Suites enjoy a complimentary breakfast buffet every morning which includes hot and cold items like fruits, pastries, eggs, sausage, waffles and cereals. The hotel also hosts evening social hours Monday through Thursday. On-site amenities include an indoor pool, hot tub, fitness center, guest laundry facilities, and free parking. Old Town Trolley Tours offers shuttle service from the hotel to the tour trolleys in the downtown historic district. Groups have access to meeting space for up to 30 guests with presentation equipment and free Wi-Fi access available.

Transportation
  • Savannah/Hilton Head Airport (19.9 mi/30.7 km)
Attractions
  • Oglethorpe Mall (.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Wormsloe Plantation Historic Site (5.2 mi/8.3 km)
  • Savannah Historic District (5.3 mi/31.8 km)
  • Skidaway Island State Park (7.8 mi/12.5 km)
  • Tybee Island (21.5 mi/34.4 km)
Business
  • Meeting space for up to 30 people
  • Audiovisual equipment available
  • High-speed Internet throughout the property (free)

Hotel Map

32.0077 -81.1181
Area served
City Center
Nearby airports
SAVANNAH INTL ARPT, (SAV), 15.00, MI, NW;
Area description
Downtown, This hotel is located near downtown.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Savannah Midtown, GA also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
FEMA approved
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Golf
Tennis
Outdoor tennis
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Express checkout
Security
Shops/Commercial services
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible rooms
Brailled elevators
Room
DVD player
Television with cable
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Fire alarm with light
Sofa bed
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms

Dining

Breakfast Room
-Hotel lobby
Kyoto's
-.1 mile or 2 minutes south
Longhorn's
-.10 mile or 1 minute south
Mary's Steak and Seafood
-1 mile or 1 minute south
Outback Steak House
-2 miles or 4 minutes south
Pearl's Elegant Pelican
-4 miles or 5 minutes southwest
Shoney's
-.10 mile or 1 mile south

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (25)

Ratings and reviews for Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Savannah Midtown, GA

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
25 out of 25
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Savannah Midtown, GA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bigredga36
Albany,Ga
Jun 7, 2014

Vacation getaway

My stay was good. Comfortable room.The staff was friendly.The breakfast had a good variety but the eggs had a wet taste and waffle mix was water down.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The hotel is centrally located it is out of the path of heavy traffic. It is near an Air Force base so you et to see planes coming in for landing an there is the nose but it's not to the point that you can't sleep at night.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Savannah Midtown, GA

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
mattsue007
stewartsville ohio
Apr 28, 2014

noisy room

the rooms should have been cleaner around the toilet was dirty and the furnace or whatever kicked on every half an hour was loud and would wake me from my sleep every night. They were also kidsor teenagers running up and down the halls on 2 different nights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

go on the tour bus its very educational and helped a lot with things to do.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Savannah Midtown, GA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lax16
Savannah
Nov 11, 2013

Savannah

The front desk clerk was very nice and the free breakfast was better than average

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Savannah Midtown, GA

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Cronz
N. Caldwell, NJ
Jun 14, 2013

Disappointing

Room was dirty, linens were torn, bathroom was moldy, pool area was rusty, our room had only 3 small drawers-too small for our clothes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Savannah Midtown, GA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ken and Mary A.
North Caldwell, NJ
Sep 21, 2010

As quaint as a Bed and Breakfast

We arrived and were taken to our room early. We made numerous trips to the historic district. We traveled looking at houses also. Everything was so accessible from the hotel. We even printed our boarding passes after we checked out. This was one of our best trips to date.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Savannah Midtown, GA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Salisbury, Connecticut
Jul 29, 2010

Perfectly decent for not-great location

The location is not the best although it is on a major bus line. Travelled by cab due to heat. Good pool and spa. Was told corporate told them to keep FOX news or weather channel on Breakfast room TV. Breakfast very good. Complained about FOX news and staff handled it very well and someone discreetly changed it to Good Morning America. Country Innns and Suites Corporate should be told to avoid FOX news as it is not mainstream enough. Commentator called women girls on national TV. Local staff, however, handled the situation in an excellent manner and made the stay much better. Ordinary but decent experience, better than average pool and spa.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Savannah Midtown, GA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
South Carolina
Jul 12, 2010

Great trip!

We were in town for a wedding at the Mackey House. We were less than 10 minutes from the venue so it was perfect. If we were going to stay at the beach, it would have been a little far, but there are tons of restaurants and shopping around to keep busy. Wonderful staff and delicious breakfast. Rooms were very spacious and clean. They even let us check in a little early!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Savannah Midtown, GA

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Travelin' Fool
Arizona
May 22, 2010

Good and Bad

We made a reservation for a room with refrigerator and microwave through [...], but the hotel insisted that it was for a standard room without the refrig/ microwave. We offered to pay for an upgrade, but they said we had to contact [...].When we checked in, they pointed out that we should have made our res with them direct because we would have gotten a better rate -- boy that made me feel good.They use Styrofoam cups & plates (I hate drinking coffee in Styrofoam) and plastic utensils. We forgot our cell phone in the room one day and it "disappeared". When we got back and noticed the phone was gone we looked everywhere for it. We saw a lot of trash near the bed platform like they only vacuum down the center of the carpet (we never found the phone). There are a lot of hotels in the same area, but check out the different ones to get the best deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

You can take the expensive tours around Savannah, but one economical way to get to the historic district (because it's a ways away) and avoid the traffic and parking is DOT Shuttle. It is free and has various stops around the historic district. Avoid CAT Shuttle which has a larger area with more stops but many of the passengers are homeless or drunks. You can park at the Visitors Center relatively cheap.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Savannah Midtown, GA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
we have arrived
Covington, GA
Apr 7, 2010

Satisfied in Savannah

Our experience was great!! We didn't realize until we arrived how close we were to so many locations. This was very important to us. The mall was in walking distance, restaurants were right around the corner, and it was a very short drive to Tybee Island as well as Downtown to the River Walk. Overall we had a wonderful time!!! Oh, did I mention the continental breakfast was wonderful. Hot food, not just cereal and bagels!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Make sure you have comfortable shoes, and cash to pay for parking and other items you may not want to use your card for. Take an umbrella to the beach or have cash to rent one!!! Enjoy, enjoy, enjoy!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Savannah Midtown, GA

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
North Carolina
Mar 15, 2010

Don't stay here-on army flight line!!

Hotel is in a central mid-town location, but it is literally across the street from the army base's runway! There were huge C-130 cargo planes landing every few minutes - they must have been doing touch-and-goes. Very, very noisy! Sounded like the planes were coming into the room. Will never, ever stay at this particular hotel again, and question why they would build a hotel on a flight line anyway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search