$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 23, 2014 Check-out: Sep 24, 2014

Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Savannah Historic District, GA

3 stars
320 Montgomery St, Savannah, GA 31401
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
184 reviews
Great Overnight Spot

Stopped in Savannah for just a night on the way back to Atlanta. This hotel was an excellent value... See full review

  • jeremyg484
  • Aug 25, 2014
Went to elope.

The room was small, but the bed was huge and all the furnishings were all very nice. The breakfast... See full review

  • David Cabiness
  • Aug 18, 2014
Southern-style decor and ample amenities in downtown Savannah

Nicely decorated rooms and a full roster of modern amenities make the Country Inn a great mid-range option in Savannah's downtown historic district. Located at the corner of Liberty Street and MLK Boulevard, this elegant property sits just steps away from the Savannah Civic Center and Savannah History Museum. Trolley tours stop outside the hotel and guests can walk to River Street, Colonial Park Cemetery as well as many restaurants, shops and historic attractions in downtown Savannah. Meeting space and private boardrooms are available at the hotel.

Highlights
  • Quiet location on the western side of Savannah's historic district
  • Indoor swimming pool and fitness center
  • Shuttle service offered to designated downtown locations
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel
Rooms

Country Inn and Suites boasts 101 rooms, including 12 suites decked out with rich wood headboards and plush linens. Guest rooms have king or queen beds, while suites have king bedrooms and spacious living rooms with sleeper sofas. All rooms have 32-inch flat screen TV, coffee and tea station, microwave, mini refrigerator, work desk and free high-speed Internet access. Guests can request cribs or rollaway beds.

Features

Located in the historic district, but slightly removed from the noisy areas around City Market, Country Inn sits in a quiet downtown nook that is still within walking distance of many popular attractions. The hotel offers on-site parking (fees apply) a heated indoor pool, fitness center and complimentary breakfast buffet each morning with hot items like waffles, eggs and bacon. A business center and free Wi-Fi throughout the property make it easy for business travelers to stay productive. The hotel offers an 850-square-foot flexible meeting space or a boardroom that accommodates up to 10 guests.

Transportation
  • Savannah/Hilton Head Airport (18 mi/29 km)
Attractions
  • Savannah Civic Center
  • Colonial Park Cemetery
  • River Street
  • Forsyth Park
  • City Market
  • Telfair Museum of Art
Business
  • Business center
  • 850-square-foot meeting room
  • Boardroom accommodates 10 people
Policies and Fees

  • Parking fee is $12 USD  per day. 

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

32.0747 -81.098
Area served
City Center
Nearby airports
SAVANNAH INTL ARPT, (SAV), 12.30, MI, SE;
Area description
Downtown, This hotel is located near downtown.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Savannah Historic District, GA also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Ice machine
Phone service
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Golf
Tennis
Outdoor tennis
Dining
Free breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Security
Shops/Commercial services
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Doorman
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Indoor parking
Truck parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Brailled elevators
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Fire alarm with light
Sofa bed
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms

Dining

Noble Fare
Steps away from hotel
Isaac's on Drayton
Historic District near Bay St
Chart House
Waterfront dining on River St
Crab Shack
Just west of Tybee Island off Hwy 80
Breakfast Room
Breakfast Room

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (184)

Ratings and reviews for Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Savannah Historic District, GA

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
184 out of 184
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Savannah Historic District, GA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Hendersonville, NC
Feb 27, 2010

Like home only better

We stayed from Sun to Fri. It is a beautiful hotel, with great staff. It is right in walking distance from EVERYTHING! We drove to the mall and to the beach on 2 different days. Other than that there was no reason to even crank the car. Great nearby local restaurants, museums, shops, etc. And the tour places will pick you up from the hotel. Warm cookies at night when you return. Great bed and linens. Disappointed in the pool. It goes from 3' to 4'. Very small, not even big enough to swim. A bunch of teenagers came in for a conference our last night there. They were very loud and disruptive. The rest of our stay was very quiet. Because of this the hotel gave us a voucher for a complementary night stay. We will definitely be back to this hotel when we return to Savannah.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

They even have a help desk there to help arrange your dining, shopping and other attractions. She was very helpful and would plot out the best way for you to do all that you wanted to do.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Savannah Historic District, GA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
waterval
orlando florida
Dec 31, 2010

excellent

Perfect location and it's very nice hotel also the room. the breakfast is very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The pink house and Vic on the river

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Savannah Historic District, GA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Merlin's Daughter
Flowery Branch, GA
Jul 31, 2013

Great weekend getaway!

From the moment we checked in, we were sure it was going to be a great stay. The staff was friendly and helpful, the water with herbs and fruit at the front was delicious and refreshing! Our room was perfect. Nice comfy couch with a writing desk, internet connection was great and the bed was wonderful, not too hard or too soft (yes, I am Goldilocks ;) ). All was spotlessly clean, but soft linens and towels. The built in hairdryer was handy too! We needed directions to meet a friend for a beer and the lovely woman at the front desk knew exactly where to send us. I forgot my toothbrush, no problem, they sent up another one. My only issues were that I wish the pool were bigger (not much you can do without rebuilding) and would appreciate a little more varied and healthier selections for breakfast, but my oatmeal was yummy. We will definitely be staying here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Savannah Historic District, GA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Atlanta, GA
May 10, 2010

Great location!

The hotel was within walking distance of all the great spots in the historic district. The staff was helpful. Great breakfast!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Savannah Historic District, GA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Milton, WV
Oct 29, 2008

Great Place to Stay

The Country Inn and Suites in Historic Savannah was everything we expected and more. Our room was spacious and very clean. The room included a small fridge which was convenient for keeping snacks and drinks. They had free internet access at a station near the lobby. We were able to wash clothes and have breakfast there. The staff was very friendly and helpful. It was within walking distance of the entire Historic District. Great value and a very nice place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Savannah Historic District, GA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
evaolyma
Gainesville, FL
Aug 1, 2012

Great price, great place to stay

I read a bunch of reviews about this hotel and some of them made me feel a bit uneasy about staying here. However, upon arrival, all my worries were squelched. For those of you worried about the carpet, this is my perspective: the biggest issue is the interior designer's choice of light yellow carpeting, which is not forgiving if there happens to be stains. Breakfast was very nice and there were lots of choices. We did have brunch at J Christopher's, which I highly recommend. Worth spending a little dough. The pool was a nice temperature and perfect after a muggy day of walking around town. The rooms were comfortable and equipped with everything you would need. My only small complaint is that the sheet did not fit the bed - I am sure I could have asked for a change of sheets, but we forgot and it wasn't a huge problem anyways. But the bed was comfy and soft. All in all, I was impressed by the price of the hotel and its location. Everything in the historic district is a short, easy walk form the hotel and that made life easier. Parking was $12/night, up from the $10 we saw online, but it was nice not having to worry about where to park, as we kept the car int he garage, even on the day we checked out (for a few hours).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Crystal Bar and Grille is just south of the hotel - full bar and southern style food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Savannah Historic District, GA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Marietta, PA, USA
Nov 2, 2011

Service + Amenities + Price = AWESOME

We were extremely pleased & pleasantly surprised by the hotel (and the chain). We could not be happier with our honeymoon/vacation stay at Country Inn. The staff was courteous & accomodating. The room was clean & comfy. The breakfast was filling & was the perfect way to start our day. The pay in advance price could NOT be beat for everything that was included & offered. We most definitely will return AND continue to stay at Country Inn & Suites wherever we may travel. Very, very happy!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Distillery and Crystal Beer Parlor are 2 great destinations within a short walking distance to have a drink & a bite to eat.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Savannah Historic District, GA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
J and F from RI
Savannah, GA
Dec 9, 2012

Great hotel!

Everything about his hotel was wonderful. Both front desk personnel and concierges were particularly helpful. The rooms were very clean, and the complimentary morning breakfasts were delicious with plenty of eggs, sausage or bacon, bagels, juice, cereal choices. We appreciated the refrigerator and microwave in the room, too. We will definitely look for Country Inn and Suites the next time we are traveling.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Savannah Historic District, GA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mama Marian
Allentown, PA
Oct 28, 2013

Savannah With Style

It's a beautiful hotel, in a picturesque city. The staff was very friendly and continually accommodating. Look forward to our next stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Bring or obtain quarters for the meters when parking.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Savannah Historic District, GA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jeremyg484
Atlanta, GA
Aug 25, 2014

Great Overnight Spot

Stopped in Savannah for just a night on the way back to Atlanta. This hotel was an excellent value and everything was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search