$51 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 1, 2014 Check-out: Aug 4, 2014

Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Columbus GA

2 stars
1011 Veterans Parkway, Columbus, GA 31901
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
105 reviews
a nights getaway

the lady at front desk was very friendly and was helpful in every way. the room had 2 remotes for... See full review

  • kuttazza
  • Jan 15, 2014
Georgia visit

This hotel was great for the price we paid!! Everything was clean everything was there nothing... See full review

  • Mr Keane
  • Oct 28, 2013
Take the family on a fun-filled trip to this Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Columbus GA near Fort Benning and the historic district. Take a scenic stroll along the Chattahoochee Riverwalk, or through the luscious Callaway Gardens. Experience local culture at Columbus Museum, or 19th century naval combat at National Civil War Naval Museum at Port Columbus. Learn about the NASA space shuttle program at Coca-Cola Space Science Center just eight blocks from this lodging. Walk to The Cannon Brew Pub for a beer and excellent wood-fired pizzas. Energize your morning with a complimentary Rise and Dine continental breakfast, swim in the outdoor pool, or lounge on the deck with a complimentary newspaper. Plan your exciting day from the comfort of your guest room with complimentary wireless Internet access, microwave, refrigerator and desk. Suites, smoke-free and handicapped-accessible rooms are also available.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Columbus GA also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

32.465 -84.9877
Area description
Business district

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (105)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Columbus GA

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
105 out of 105
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.5

59% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Columbus GA

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
texas
Jun 23, 2014

military graduation

Pool closed room was dirty and management was very poor

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Columbus GA

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
tamny
texas
Jun 23, 2014

poor hotel

No pool open ,old rooms, dirty , woke up with what we figuied to be bed bug bites they question when we ask for towels and managment would not get back with us to fix the problem it does not look like anything the advertisment . I will look into what can be done about false advertisement

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Columbus GA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
trav123
georgia
Apr 14, 2014

Cheap, what do you expect

My room was clean enough, but I asked for non-smoking and the room reeked of having had a long history of either weed or smoking for sure. The smell didn't last on anything I had on the room as far as I know, though. Obviously it's an old place but the cleanliness seemed fine for the level of hotel it is.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Columbus GA

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Daynite
Columbus Georgia
Apr 6, 2014

Want ever stay there again

When I checked in the first room was not cleaned and I checked in at 530 pm and the maid came to the room once the second night of my stay no one cleaned the room I checked out a day early I was not happy at all

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Columbus GA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kuttazza
opelika al
Jan 15, 2014

a nights getaway

the lady at front desk was very friendly and was helpful in every way. the room had 2 remotes for tv and neither one worked. didnt ask front desk about and forgot to tell her. but she commondate me with some toilet paper for the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Columbus GA

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
faith supermom
baker, fl
Nov 18, 2013

Night Mare

they stole my credit card information and went on a shopping spree. The place was run down, carpet was stained and very gross. hair (not from head) in the shower. Charged me about $10 more than this website price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Columbus GA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mr Keane
Harrisburg pa
Oct 28, 2013

Georgia visit

This hotel was great for the price we paid!! Everything was clean everything was there nothing wrong at all. Even breakfast was good! Staff was very helpful and there for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Columbus GA

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Boot Camp Grad Dad
Aiken, SC
Sep 14, 2013

Small, old, great staff

70's era motel going through changes. Room was extremely small. Non-smoking room was reserved. Upon check-in, smelled smoke in one corner of the room. Went to front desk to politely and kindly report and they offered $15 off the room, which I accepted rather than change rooms. Continental breakfast was sparse. Spoke with the manager while checking out and he was apologetic and pleasant. We discussed how there were fewer smoking rooms, so many contractors staying there were smoking in non-smoking rooms. A plan in progress to address this issue (requesting deposit). He also stated that many changes had been made since acquiring the property, but more is still to be done. Bottom line - small rooms, great staff, get what you pay for. If you are looking for nice, go someplace else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Ask the locals where to eat and don't be afraid of a less-than-pristine decor (diamond in the rough).

Review of Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Columbus GA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lupe Army mom
San Antonio
Aug 25, 2013

Good

Good location close to Ft Bennington close to restaurants

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Columbus GA

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
NanaHo
Atlanta, GA
Jan 14, 2013

You get what you pay for

We were looking for cheap and that is what we got. I am generally used to a little higher-end stays, but the Howard Johnson was well located and clean. There's apparent aging and it's obvious that many people have come through, but, overall, for the price, you couldn't ask for more. The front desk was courteous and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Find the Canon Brewery on Broadway. They have great burgers and brew their own beer in house! Great find and only a few blocks away!

Back to menu Return to top