$44 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 4, 2015 Check-out: May 7, 2015

Howard Johnson Inn Augusta-Fort Gordon

2 stars
View map of 4045 Jimmie Dyess Parkway, Augusta, GA 30909

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
100 reviews
Pleasantly surprised

I have not stayed at a Howaard Johnsons for many years. I was very pleased with the cleanliness of... See full review

  • rosemaryly
  • Nov 14, 2014
Weekend Visit

I enjoyed my night at the Howard Johnson Inn. The staff was very pleasent and they always provided... See full review

  • Chrisg93
  • Jan 20, 2015
Brand new hotel, open March 2009. Complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, free high-speed wired and wireless internet, interior corridors, business center, fitness center, meeting room. Conveniently located near Fort Gordon, one of the nations busiest military training centers. Walk to Amici Italian Restaurant conveniently located next door. Room amenities include 32in flat panel plasma TV, micro-fridge, coffeemaker, hairdryer, iron and ironing board. Pool closed until October 31, 2014 for renovations.

Top hotels

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
General
Air conditioned
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Security
Wake-up service
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Microwave
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Augusta National Golf Club: 6.9 mi
  • James Brown Arena: 9.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn Augusta-Fort Gordon

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
27 out of 100
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Augusta-Fort Gordon

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Elaine new grandmother
Business
Denver, CO
Mar 13, 2014

Visiting family

This hotel was central to everything that I needed, I liked the location. Everything else was dismal!! I have a long list of items that were wrong with this hotel. The floor was not vacuumed upon arrival. The second day we came back to a made bed and picked up dirty towels, no trash removed, no vacuuming, no clean towels left, no new coffee left. The third day they did not come in at all so same as above plus some!! The walls are very thin, could here the people next door chatting and so forth as couples do in bed at night, their bed squeeked horribly. I could here their words clearly. Aweful stay!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

There is a nice park behind the local library that has a great play ground, pond and entertainment venue plus picnic shelters, very nice!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Augusta-Fort Gordon

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 19, 2010

Ridiculous!

This was by far the worst experience I have had at a hotel! Our room was filthy, the toilet had not been cleaned, and you could tell that the shower needed to be scrubbed, and on top of that there was still trash in the trash cans and on the floor from the previous guest. The lamp shade was completely titled to the side and had trash on top of it! It was as if the room had not been cleaned at all. The room had not been restocked with certain items, such as tissues, pens, etc. My family and I wore socks while in the room and literally after one night the bottom of our socks were completely black. The beds had been made, but the sheets did not smell clean. The hotel is apparently only 2 years old, but it looked like it was in need of a remodel/repair. Also, our reservation confirmed a non-smoking room, and we were told we were given a non-smoking room, but our room smelt like smoke, and you could tell that it was a smoking room, because the non-smoking rooms had a sign underneath the door number saying "No smoking." We asked for another room, but we were told that all they had left were "smoking" rooms. But they never acknowledged that our room was not a non-smoking room. The walls were paper thin, and since the hotel seems to be occupied mainly by young adults its impossible to get a good night sleep because of the constant noise. Some of the staff are not the friendliest either. This hotel is a joke! Unfortunately, it may be the "nicest" or "newest" hotel on Jimmie Dyess Pkwy. I would recommend staying somewhere more in-town of Augusta.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Augusta-Fort Gordon

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Butler, MO.
Jul 7, 2011

The worst stay I have had in many years

The location and things to do in the area were great. The hotel however was bad. There were a couple of days that the housekeeping never entered our room to make the bed or pick up the towels. We had to go to the desk in the evening when we returned to request clean towels. the floor was never cleaned while we were there and overall apperance of the room didn't look like there had ever been much cleaning done in that room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Augusta-Fort Gordon

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbia, TN
Aug 1, 2010

Horrible Experience

We had called because we were going to be checking in late. When we arrived, we were told that the rooms had been overbooked [...] but someone had just checked out at Midnight. The room temperature was set to 60 degrees, the carpet was wet throughout the entire room, and the room smelled horrible. The next morning we were told by a different staff member that the room we had been put in had been blocked off so no one could stay in there. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Augusta-Fort Gordon

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Graciesustin
Business
Austin, Texas
Aug 7, 2014

Family emergency

Accommodations were okay for a 2 star rating. Did not feel safe in hotel environment ,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Book your flight and hotel accommodations separately, 4 & 5 star hotels were not part of my combo deal.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Augusta-Fort Gordon

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
army mom of 1
Business
augusta georgia
Dec 2, 2012

i don't think so

walls were thin enough to hear neighbors every move and room next door kept music up all evening and night and when complained nothing really done till i demanded another room. the first room they were going to give had holes in carpet and light out in bathroom. second room was adequate but had several lights out in bathroom too. going back to augusta in december but staying somewhere else

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Augusta-Fort Gordon

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
dmac321977
Business
Augusta,Ga
Mar 11, 2013

Great!!

Great price, and clean!! Great great great great oooooooooooooooooooooooooo

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Augusta-Fort Gordon

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
C the country
Business
Idaho
May 19, 2014

Easy to get to

The rooms were clean and everything worked. It would have been nice if the workout room had been cooler. The staff was very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Augusta-Fort Gordon

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tallahassee, FL
Aug 20, 2010

Overnight stay

It was fine. It served its purpose for a one night stay. The flat panel tv was a nice touch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Augusta-Fort Gordon

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tears
Business
Maryland
Jul 16, 2010

about right for the price

the staff were very nice. the housekeeping seemed a little disorganized. and the floor left our feet black. only one of the machines in the fitness room worked properly. we were also there when a basketball team was there and they were very loud at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top