$38 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 24, 2014 Check-out: Oct 27, 2014

Howard Johnson Inn Augusta-Fort Gordon

2 stars
4045 Jimmie Dyess Parkway, Augusta, GA 30909
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
96 reviews
one time stay

room was very clean and comfortable and spacies we were happy with what we saw See full review

  • qutie pie
  • Sep 9, 2014
hotel stay

the hotel was clean and peaceful thats what we were looking for See full review

  • qutie pie
  • Aug 16, 2014
Brand new hotel, open March 2009. Complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, free high-speed wired and wireless internet, interior corridors, business center, fitness center, meeting room. Conveniently located near Fort Gordon, one of the nations busiest military training centers. Walk to Amici Italian Restaurant conveniently located next door. Room amenities include 32in flat panel plasma TV, micro-fridge, coffeemaker, hairdryer, iron and ironing board. Pool closed until October 31, 2014 for renovations.

Hotel Map

33.4748 -82.1288
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Inn Augusta-Fort Gordon also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
General
Air conditioned
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Security
Wake-up service
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Microwave
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Augusta National Golf Club: 6.9 mi
  • James Brown Arena: 9.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (96)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn Augusta-Fort Gordon

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
96 out of 96
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Augusta-Fort Gordon

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bella Amore
Orlando, FL
Nov 2, 2012

Perfect Stay!

For the price it was wonderful. The hotel was clean. Breakfast each morning was good :-) the location was indeed convenient and my room was spacious, nice flat screen, comfortable king size bed, clean linens. The stay over all was perfect. I would definitely stay again and tell people about it. Thanx! :-)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Augusta-Fort Gordon

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Svb83
Business
Virginia
Feb 19, 2014

Disappointment

First time I stayed there I was so impressed with the room. I loved it so much that I decided to book with them again. This time it was horrible. After checking in we went to our room and the door was open tv on dresser broken and toilet clogged. Never staying there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Augusta-Fort Gordon

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Elaine new grandmother
Business
Denver, CO
Mar 13, 2014

Visiting family

This hotel was central to everything that I needed, I liked the location. Everything else was dismal!! I have a long list of items that were wrong with this hotel. The floor was not vacuumed upon arrival. The second day we came back to a made bed and picked up dirty towels, no trash removed, no vacuuming, no clean towels left, no new coffee left. The third day they did not come in at all so same as above plus some!! The walls are very thin, could here the people next door chatting and so forth as couples do in bed at night, their bed squeeked horribly. I could here their words clearly. Aweful stay!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

There is a nice park behind the local library that has a great play ground, pond and entertainment venue plus picnic shelters, very nice!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Augusta-Fort Gordon

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Pebbles31
Business
Jacksonville, FL
Jul 9, 2012

Not worth the discounted price

In town to help family with move out. Check in was easy but with no type of customer service. . A/C in room made weird noises that weren't bad until midnight. There is no number on room phones for front desk, so I called from cell phone and was told I could be moved to another room.Room change was a little better. Front desk clerk in pajama bottoms when I inquired about room safe and she would have to come to the room with a key to set up. Very Funny at 11:00 at night. Continental breakfast had doughnuts from local shop that were individually wrapped in plastic wrap. I guess the room change was not official because the second night we couldn't get in our room at midnight. This of course we found out after getting on the third floor to the door. Once again not so good customer service. Breakfast the second mroning had leftover doughnuts from the day before. Yuck!!!Lesson learned...you really do get what you pay for. I didn't want to pay alot because we only needed a place to rest our heads after being gone all day.Will not do that again. Definitely not there. The building looks good from the outside. That's where it stops.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Augusta-Fort Gordon

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Visiting from Virginia
Business
Virginia
Aug 28, 2013

Local visit

I chose this hotel because of the location and value. Although I read the negative reviews most were older so I decided to give this hotel a try. The entire hotel had the stench of a very strong cleaning chemical. It quickly became nauseating. The room walls seemed thin as paper. I was in between a room with an extremely loud TV set and another with a crying baby whose parents argued most of the night. In the end I won't be staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Augusta-Fort Gordon

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
you've been warned
Business
DC
Sep 3, 2013

you get what you pay for

It's a cheap rate for a cheap hotel. Dirty and dingy. Some staff helpful, some not so much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Augusta-Fort Gordon

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hunstville, AL
May 5, 2010

Not great.

When I checked in and went up to my room I found the ironing board and iron still out. There was napkins and Taco Bell sauce packets all around the room,on the tv stand night table and the computer desk. The room had not been clean completely. The bed was made but looked like it had been laid on. I was given a different room. Gave a suite which was nice. But then I had a very hard time with the key. I wouldn't stay here again. Staff is very loud in the morning when they are cleaning and there was kids running up and down the halls.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Augusta-Fort Gordon

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 19, 2010

Ridiculous!

This was by far the worst experience I have had at a hotel! Our room was filthy, the toilet had not been cleaned, and you could tell that the shower needed to be scrubbed, and on top of that there was still trash in the trash cans and on the floor from the previous guest. The lamp shade was completely titled to the side and had trash on top of it! It was as if the room had not been cleaned at all. The room had not been restocked with certain items, such as tissues, pens, etc. My family and I wore socks while in the room and literally after one night the bottom of our socks were completely black. The beds had been made, but the sheets did not smell clean. The hotel is apparently only 2 years old, but it looked like it was in need of a remodel/repair. Also, our reservation confirmed a non-smoking room, and we were told we were given a non-smoking room, but our room smelt like smoke, and you could tell that it was a smoking room, because the non-smoking rooms had a sign underneath the door number saying "No smoking." We asked for another room, but we were told that all they had left were "smoking" rooms. But they never acknowledged that our room was not a non-smoking room. The walls were paper thin, and since the hotel seems to be occupied mainly by young adults its impossible to get a good night sleep because of the constant noise. Some of the staff are not the friendliest either. This hotel is a joke! Unfortunately, it may be the "nicest" or "newest" hotel on Jimmie Dyess Pkwy. I would recommend staying somewhere more in-town of Augusta.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Augusta-Fort Gordon

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Butler, MO.
Jul 7, 2011

The worst stay I have had in many years

The location and things to do in the area were great. The hotel however was bad. There were a couple of days that the housekeeping never entered our room to make the bed or pick up the towels. We had to go to the desk in the evening when we returned to request clean towels. the floor was never cleaned while we were there and overall apperance of the room didn't look like there had ever been much cleaning done in that room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Augusta-Fort Gordon

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbia, TN
Aug 1, 2010

Horrible Experience

We had called because we were going to be checking in late. When we arrived, we were told that the rooms had been overbooked [...] but someone had just checked out at Midnight. The room temperature was set to 60 degrees, the carpet was wet throughout the entire room, and the room smelled horrible. The next morning we were told by a different staff member that the room we had been put in had been blocked off so no one could stay in there. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Augusta-Fort Gordon

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
deadeye 300
Business
rineyville ky
Jul 7, 2014

dissapointed

The first room had wet floor in front of air conditioner second room at bugs in bathroom some furniture had holes and tears like it was old was looking forward to pool but it was closed i didnt know this in advance or would have not booked this was advertised as new hotel it didnt look it on inside

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top