Howard Johnson Inn Augusta-Fort Gordon

2 stars
4045 Jimmie Dyess Parkway, Augusta, GA 30909
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
97 reviews
Pleasantly surprised

I have not stayed at a Howaard Johnsons for many years. I was very pleased with the cleanliness of... See full review

  • rosemaryly
  • Nov 14, 2014
one time stay

room was very clean and comfortable and spacies we were happy with what we saw See full review

  • qutie pie
  • Sep 9, 2014
Brand new hotel, open March 2009. Complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, free high-speed wired and wireless internet, interior corridors, business center, fitness center, meeting room. Conveniently located near Fort Gordon, one of the nations busiest military training centers. Walk to Amici Italian Restaurant conveniently located next door. Room amenities include 32in flat panel plasma TV, micro-fridge, coffeemaker, hairdryer, iron and ironing board. Pool closed until October 31, 2014 for renovations.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
General
Air conditioned
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Security
Wake-up service
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Microwave
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Hotel Map

33.4748 -82.1288
Area description
Business district

Nearby points of interest

  • Augusta National Golf Club: 6.9 mi
  • James Brown Arena: 9.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (97)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn Augusta-Fort Gordon

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
97 out of 97
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Augusta-Fort Gordon

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
J. D. A..
Business
Central Florida
Mar 13, 2012

Noisy Neighbors

The walls are thin enough that your neighbors loud talking will keep you awake, not counting a crying baby. Two of the bathroom lights were burned out and the tub drained really s-l-o-w-l-y. Hotel staff were very pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Close to many restaurants. Price fair.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Augusta-Fort Gordon

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Surgery at Fort Gordon
Business
Illinois, USA
Mar 1, 2012

For two star hotel it was good value

The walls are paper thin. First and second night guy left his tv on all night. We called front desk because it was so loud and he turned it down but could still hear it like it was in the room with us. The last night some guy woke us up at midnight going crazy on his phone speaking in some foreign language. We called front desk three different times and the guy never answered the phone. (which we heard in our room) He was on the phone til 5am and the lady at front desk never even came up to his room. We were so upset. Other than that bed comfy and donuts were good. Located close to Fort Gordon. Water smelt bad but for two star hotel better than what I expected. For $35.99 a night you can't beat it. So if you like a quiet night this isn't the place for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Augusta-Fort Gordon

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DirtyDogTruckin
Business
Ridgecrest, CA, USA
Jan 24, 2012

Very satisfied

Was very nice place. bed was super comfertable. well worth it and will stay again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Augusta-Fort Gordon

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SoonToBeWed
Business
Fort Gordon, Augusta, GA 30905, USA
Nov 28, 2011

Sudden Weekend Plans

I really needed a room to stay in at the drop of a hat (36hrs notice) that wasn't expensive. For what I spent ($114 for two nights) it wasn't bad at all. The room's decorating was a little spartan, and the furniture was a little beat-up (tears in arms of chairs, dents in woodwork) but it wasn't falling apart. Bathroom needed a bit more scrubbing above eye-line, but clean. The AC worked great, I was able to quickly change the temperature of the room by large degrees. No bugs! It was very clean in that respect. To be fair, the walls are quite thin, and my next-door neighbors weren't being VERY loud, but I could still almost hear every word. It didn't make for good sleep. Breakfast buffet is pretty standard, but good. Overall I really appreciated being able to check-in on such short notice for a good price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Augusta-Fort Gordon

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
2nd time
Business
Houston, TX, USA
Nov 21, 2011

SHORT TRIP

The hotel was good. Breakfast available and wi-fi. The hotel is pretty desent and clean. Nothing to complain about. Places to eat are pretty close to the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Augusta-Fort Gordon

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
trinitysmagic
Business
Long Island, NY
Oct 14, 2011

All I Expected

I didn't go in expecting a 4 star hotel. The staff was competent and helpful. And the rooms were clean. Worth the money!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Augusta-Fort Gordon

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tesa118
Business
Chapin Illinois
Oct 11, 2011

Easy access to Fort Gordon

I was visiting my son who is stationed at Fort Gordon. This hotel is is very well located to the base.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Many restaurants located near this hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Augusta-Fort Gordon

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sashico
Business
california
Sep 6, 2011

Close to FT. Gordon

The room smells of smoke eventhough I got non-smoking. Overall it was good.. Stayed there twice already. Walls super thin, neighbors tv kept me up til 4am. Staff was super friendly and nice. It was kinda clean, trash bags were in the halls for half a day before they got picked up. Room was clean. food places are close by so that's a plus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Augusta-Fort Gordon

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nursegold
Business
Miami, FL, USA
Aug 13, 2011

Nice accomodations on my visits

I have stayed at this hotel about 3 times now. I love the fact that it offers internet, breakfast and extras at no cost. It is an affordable good hotel with kind staff. I would like to have the linen smell better and the towels softer..oh, and the first floor rooms are so noisey..but other then that...I enjoyed my stays there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Augusta-Fort Gordon

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Butler, MO.
Jul 7, 2011

The worst stay I have had in many years

The location and things to do in the area were great. The hotel however was bad. There were a couple of days that the housekeeping never entered our room to make the bed or pick up the towels. We had to go to the desk in the evening when we returned to request clean towels. the floor was never cleaned while we were there and overall apperance of the room didn't look like there had ever been much cleaning done in that room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top