$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 17, 2014 Check-out: Oct 18, 2014

W Atlanta - Downtown

4 stars
45 Ivan Allen Jr. Boulevard, 45 Ivan Allen Jr. Boulevard, Atlanta, GA 30308
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
43 reviews
Great weekend getaway

Great stay! Went for a concert at Phillips arena. Walking distance. We enjoyed out Cool corner... See full review

  • Gapeach17
  • Mar 24, 2014
Fantastic stay

I was more than happy here from the layout of the room and the design. I would stay here the next... See full review

  • Special K 2013
  • Dec 31, 2013
An oasis in downtown Atlanta
The W Atlanta – Downtown hotel bills itself as an urban oasis in the heart of downtown Atlanta. The hotel is stylishly designed with a mix of light and colors that seems to take just a little of the heat out of Hot-Lanta. With vibrant restaurants serving anything from snacks to American and French cuisine to the outdoor pool with the spectacular view of downtown, this hotel has anything guests need to get stimulated and productive, and easily help them chill out. The convenient downtown location puts the entire city right outside the doorstep.
Highlights
  • BLT Steak restaurant, specializes in enticing steak and other recipes
  • Whatever/Wherever service is ready meet requests (as long as they’re legal)
  • Outdoor heated pool and sundeck with spectacular view of downtown Atlanta
  • SWEAT fitness center with state-of-the-art cardio and weight equipment
  • Acura Experience – tour the city with a personal driver in a decked-out SUV
Rooms
The W Atlanta – Downtown hotel offers a wider range of rooms than many other W hotels. It offers eight different styles of rooms and suites ready to soothe guests with plush carpeting and Makassar wood. All of the rooms feature the signature W bed, with down comforters and goose-down duvets. Once guests are re-invigorated, the rooms provide all of the high-tech amenities needed to get wired. Each room has a plasma TV, iPod docking station, data port and DVD/CD player. All rooms have wired and Wi-Fi Internet access. The bathrooms include the refreshing rainforest shower. Accessible rooms are available along with knock lights and TDD phones. For those traveling with a pet, order a signature W pet bed. Cribs are available upon request.
Features
Even with the W’s ability to dazzle senses, it’s the service that really makes the difference with this hotel. There’s nothing out there quite like the W’s Whatever/Wherever service. When a guest makes a request, the W Atlanta – Downtown hotel staff is ready to make it happen. Another unique feature is the Acura Experience. Guests tour the city in a decked-out SUV, with a professional driver, all for free. The business-friendly atmosphere also is exceptional. The Wired business center offers PC and Mac workstations, laptops, wired and wireless Internet access, printers, scanners and telecommunications equipment.
Transportation
  • Hartsfield-Jackson Atlanta International Airport (11.2 mi/18 km)
  • Marta Civic Center commuter rail station (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • Greyhound Bus station (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Amtrak Atlanta station (6 mi/9.7 km)
  • Easy access to I-75/85, area interstates
Attractions
  • Centennial Olympic Park (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Georgia Aquarium (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • The World of Coca Cola (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Georgia Dome (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Jimmy Carter Presidential Center (3 mi/4.8 km)
Business
  • Wired business center, featuring Mac and PC workstations, laptops, telecommunications equipment, printers, scanners, fax machines
  • High-speed wired and Wi-Fi Internet access in all rooms
  • 8,906 square feet of meeting and event space

Hotel Map

33.7647 -84.3888
Area served
City Center
Nearby airports
Hartsfield-Jackson Atlanta International Airport, (ATL), 17.70, KM;
Area description
Airport, Airport

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed W Atlanta - Downtown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

W Atlanta - Downtown Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Maid service
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Childcare Service
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Porters
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Knock light (hearing impaired)
Room
DVD player
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
Iron
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • The Shakespeare Tavern Playhouse: 0.3 mi
  • Georgia Aquarium: 0.4 mi
  • Centennial Olympic Park: 0.4 mi
  • Bobby Dodd Stadium at Historic Grant Field: 0.6 mi
  • Fox Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Philips Arena: 0.8 mi
  • Georgia Dome: 0.9 mi
  • Martin Luther King jr. National Historic Site: 1.1 mi
  • Margaret Mitchell House and Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Piedmont Park: 1.5 mi
  • Atlanta Symphony Orchestra: 1.7 mi
  • High Museum of Art: 1.7 mi
  • Jimmy Carter Library and Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Grant Park: 2 mi
  • Forbes Arena: 2 mi
  • The Shakespeare Tavern Playhouse: 0.3 mi
  • Georgia Aquarium: 0.4 mi
  • Centennial Olympic Park: 0.4 mi
  • Bobby Dodd Stadium at Historic Grant Field: 0.6 mi
  • Fox Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Philips Arena: 0.8 mi
  • Georgia Dome: 0.9 mi
  • Martin Luther King jr. National Historic Site: 1.1 mi
  • Margaret Mitchell House and Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Piedmont Park: 1.5 mi
  • Atlanta Symphony Orchestra: 1.7 mi
  • High Museum of Art: 1.7 mi
  • Jimmy Carter Library and Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Grant Park: 2 mi
  • Forbes Arena: 2 mi
  • Carter Center: 2 mi
  • Atlanta Botanical Garden: 2 mi
  • Turner Field: 2 mi
  • Variety Playhouse: 2.2 mi
  • Zoo Atlanta: 2.3 mi
  • Atlanta Cyclorama & Civil War Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Michael C. Carlos Museum: 4.1 mi
  • Fernbank Science Center: 4.2 mi
  • Emory University: 4.4 mi
  • Swan House: 5.2 mi
  • Atlanta History Center: 5.3 mi
  • Georgia Governor's Mansion: 5.6 mi
  • Chastain Park Amphitheater: 7.2 mi
  • The Woodruff Arts Center: 7.8 mi
  • Gwinnett Center: 23.2 mi

Dining

BLT Steak
BLT by Bon Appétit's 2007 Restaurateur of the Year Laurent Tourondel is cozy French bistro meets stylish American boite, elegant meets electrifying, and haute French classicism meets urban American sensibilities.
WETBAR
Escape to Atlanta’s only all-weather rooftop pool bar. Sip after you dip around the partially-covered zero-edge pool and soak up panoramic city views with a signature cocktail.
Living Room
Where do you lounge? Enter the Living Room, where we've knocked down the walls of traditional lobby design to create a place where you can open your mind and feel alive while indulging in salon socializing.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (43)

Ratings and reviews for W Atlanta - Downtown

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
43 out of 43
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of W Atlanta - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
stephanie romance for one
cleveland, ohio
May 14, 2012

romantic room for one

the hotel was definately the mood for romance, very nice view, shower is basicly in your room, very modernized hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

dont pay $30 to park, its only $5 directly across the street

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Atlanta - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
NYC
Jul 22, 2009

Atlanta, W Hotel Downtown

For the most part it was a good hotel. The electronic safe didn't work in my first room so they moved me to another immediately. That wasn't an issue, but on the second day, room service placed stained sheets on the bed. As disturbing and disgusting as that was, I had to call twice to have them replace the sheets. That took two hours. With the exception of those incidents, the hotel and staff were great. The room was small but very well laid out and quite beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the Aquarium

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Atlanta - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
That one
Columbia, MD
Aug 27, 2013

nice retreat from the hustle and bustle

The hotel is located conveniently near the public transportation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

BLT Steak has a great steak selection and excellent cocktails.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Atlanta - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
coldplay5467
Business
Atlanta
Aug 1, 2012

My First Experience!

I've always wanted to stay at the W Hotel and I finally did! Unfortunately, the power went out in all the rooms in the 16th floor where I was staying. I don't know how long it took for it to come back since I was tired and fell asleep. I sure hope this doesn't happen all the time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Atlanta - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Magdalena357
San Francisco, CA
Oct 13, 2009

Pretty Swanky

Our first impression of the hotel was fabulous. It exceeds any picture I saw online... and I looked at many. The front desk folks were great and the rooms were gorgeous. My husband and I met up there for a romantic anniversary weekend since he is currently stationed in Honduras. At this point I'd like to highly recommend spending a little more cash and getting a nice corner room. The room was fabulous! The bathrooms were smashing. The furniture was swanky. The bed was heaven.Our concierge, [...], really hooked us up when she made is reservations for dinner. The restaurant knew it was our anniversary and made every single effort (and lots of comps) to make it romantic. I love her for that.But here is my one problem with the place. The service was only so so. If my husband were writing this review he would only give them 3 stars. We ordered room service 3 times and they never really got it right... oatmeal but no spoon, waffles but no syrup, always shorted us on OJ, etc. We called the night before about a cab and called again in the morning yet still waited 25 minutes for one... on our ride to the airport. Our wake up call was on time, but our breakfast was 30 minutes late.. which wouldn't have mattered if it wasn't our departure morning. Overall I would go back to this hotel and I would recommend it to others... I just hope they clean up their service a little bit before I do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Atlanta - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Naomi J
Business
Decatur Illinois
Nov 19, 2010

Very Nice Hotel

Wonderful staff. Very contempary decor, very low lighting in rooms, elevator, and hotel lobby. The bath tub is great, super deep. The other person I was traveling with room had a shower that had a see through glass panel, that wouldnt be good if you were with kids. Overall great hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Peach Tree Center

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Atlanta - Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Orleans, LA
Mar 24, 2010

Good Location

The hotel rooms are fairly dark. The desk chair was too low. Additionally, there are inadequatte reading lights next to the bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Excellent Rest. in hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Atlanta - Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
businesstravelerjbw
Business
seattle, wa
Jul 26, 2009

The W Experience

It was fine - room was great but really noisy - i think the building was creaking???

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Atlanta - Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
etermonpar
Business
Pensacola, FL
Aug 2, 2010

Dark Hotel

Hotel has a great contemporary air about it, but the rooms were small and dark. Awful bathroom space!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Atlanta - Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Glendale, CA
May 16, 2010

Review of W Hotel Downtown Atlanta, GA

Arrived at the hotel on Saturday morning at around 1:00AM local time. Initially passed the hotel, thinking it was a night club. Several dozen college age kids in front of the main entry, dressed in party clothing. They were loud and many were under the influence of alcohol. The check in lobby, relatively small, was filled with the same crowd (I had to fight my way through). The front desk person who helped me check in was friendly. I was asked by one of the girls (quite flirtatious from being drunk, if any) in the elevator, if she could check out my room in the 15th floor. The room was clean and well kept. Poor sound proofing, perhaps. Could not sleep much because of the sporatic loud noise coming from the hallway (from the same party crowd). Saturday night was not as bad; but there was another party at night, and there were a lot of noise through out the night. I informed the front desk person of my experience on Saturday. He was apologetic and offered to move me to a dffierent floor. I did not want to bother.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search